Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beef price tracker 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,367 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

@ready4road when on adlib or virtually adlib( anything over 6-8 kgs) bullocks are 110 days max and bulls 150. The stomachs go. When feeding that level you need yeasts and with bread soda or cubicle lime. Are crows eating much of it. Much bird sh!t around. I have a few finishing, 4 sucklers and three dairy cross since early October. 4 kgs until December, 5.5 kgs since and are going on to 6.5 until slaughter in 15-30 days. At the start they were on a grass finishing ration maize barley hulls, I was feeding a bit of maize and a bang standard 16% ration . Since late November Maize and the beef ration. They have been getting a yeast, mineral and cubicle lime mix @17 euro a bag, they are on the third bag. They are on a high DM late may silage.

They are doing 1.1kg per day over the last 70 days. Your cattle are gone stale

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Aly Daly

Yes cattle too long on meal you will see it in there eyes along with fighting over nothing when they are feeding they have had enough at the 120 day period,this man is buying good stock it seems & is willing to feed which is all important, the issue with the duration has been well absorbed by himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Robson99

You would be better of carrying them as stores over winter and finishing them from July onwards if the system allows you. 5kgs at grass for 70 days would leave you with more money in your pocket

If that system doesn't suit then sell them as stores shortly before you buy back in the weanlings [ maybe give them 3kgs for a month before sale ]

Contenintal cattle only come into themselves once near [ sometimes just over ] 30 months IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭WoozieWu

if youre happy to feed meal then 3kg 16% with silage after purchase until turnout

graze well and finish hard on 12/13/14% hi-maize ration for the last 90/100 days

might pay you to do it seeing as you have stock with potential to put on big weight

do you feed meal for the first winter at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 ready4road

Lads. Thanks to everyone for the info and advice. Looks like I'm simply just overfeeding and it has no advantages in DWG and has actually a negative effect after a while. I'm looking at all the suggestions and will be altering my regime for next year. To answer wooziewo yes I'd give them 1.5kg nuts each for first winter approx 4 months cut it about 3 weeks before turn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Who2

I know I’m going against it here but unless your silage is excellent I’d be inclined to feed 2.5kg. Good continental cattle will take it in the first winter.
    most lads finishing those sorts as bullocks around me would start giving them 1.5- 2kg then from august on. Then another kg or two when they go into the shed until a couple of months before killing. Most don’t cross 7kg .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭148multi

was always of the opinion that cattle you are keeping, to feed meal up to end of December, then Jan,Feb silage only. Out to grazing March and get the benfits of compensatory growth. Then fattening over 90-100 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭morphy87

Angus bulls, 6€ flat, south east

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

I bought a group of plain 380kg Angus bulls last spring. I squeezed them (which is a rare event round here) to get whatever bonuses are available for them. They are being fattened now but I’m sorry I squeezed them at all.

They’ll probably kill out 330kg. Had I left them as bulls the higher weight gain and good flat price with a batch of other bulls would have left me better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭kk.man

Of all bulls AA can be the nastiest next to Fr and JE breeding. Totally different to continental bulls. Gave up bulls years ago as they were a hard sell at times.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Would usually have a few every year as bulls. yeah they can be tough to handle in a crush alright but when in a settled group found them grand.

interesting comments here from a man who finishes dairy beef stock and has sucklers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

In fairness that is a very good honest video of what anyone trying to finish dairy beef is experiencing especially anyone bring then from calf to beef.

Yeah there’s a big variation between dairy stock, you really need a good type of cow

https://youtube.com/%40waltonsbeeffarm

i was talking to someone a year or two ago that had a friesan as a recip to carry an embryo

he was saying that it would frighten you what she was eating compared to his big show type commercial cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Fine Day

I would well believe it. Noticed the same over the years. Don't bother with them anymore as its difficult to get a half decent one.

Thanks for details. I've gotten the same message from most of ye more experienced lads on here that shorter finishing period is best. Would you think good quality ch/ lim suckler weanlings should do >1kg LWG on say 5kg good quality hi maize finisher and good silage for 100 days or so.

Also would 100 days at 5kg or 180 days at 3kg be best. I mean for overall weight gain . I'm not overly concerned about feeding the extra silage or housing costs for the few I keep

Very informative.

You can choose to see what you want to see from.that video. Notice one thing even though he has an issue with Friesians he did not go 100%sucklers. He used friesians to enter the dairy beef game. He us buying straight from dairy farmers as its a struggle to get dairy farmers to enter the sire info otherwise its a requirement for the 30c for those typevof schemes.

His Friesians normally hit 310-320kgs he said and mostly seem to be O- probably with a spattering of O= and 30-40% P+'s hewill struggle with that this year because of the grass year this year. Assuming a normal year if this year was at a base of 5.6 taking an average of 0.27 off the base giving him 0.9 average QA and 20c of the 30c factory under.24 month bonus(although I thi know they pay it on P+'s at present those Friesians would average 1800 euro.

His problem is they do not suit his system. He is very heavily stocked probably in derogation an ideal candidate to promote beefquest 500. However he is busy weighti g cattle every 3 weeks to draft them. His He and AA will average probably less but many will be gone earlier at a worse base price. If they have averaged 5.3/4 base that is it's spme are gone off grass he was ralking about the heifers averaging 260 probably normally 280 of a base of 5.4 full QA full Factory U24 bonus and 20c average HE and AA bonus grading O+ they come into 1660.

The heifers probably average 80-100 cost wise the Friesians if got off a dairy farmer should co.e with 20-30L of beating or other nondairy milk.

For his system the AA and HE suit better. However those FR bullocks stored and carried to grass next spring woukd be serious money in June in another stystem. He is doing a good job but is very busy at 170 kgsN / HA he is stocked at 2.4 units per acre for the AA/HE cattle.

The sucklers are probably a draw on his system if calving very early March and earlier as cows require grass if he is able to graze his silage ground before closing he has to reserve a lot of it for cows. His Friesian bullocks would complement the system if the sucklers were gone.

Slava Ukrainii

are you not stocked at 170?

difficult to keep up with your story sometimes

its interesting to see that he cant get the weight up on friesans even though he has excellent reseeded ground good management and is finishing them on tmr

a farmer like him who is doing two different systems has a lot of good information to offer

you must have a picture of a cow and calf put in front of a dart board, obsessed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Aly Daly

If he mentioned what age the friesan bullocks are I missed it,I suspect they are well below the point where beginning to finsh is practical which is approx 32 months in my expierence,these cattle are still growing & are too young to finish,trying to feed a friesan before then would require a conveyor belt of meal,a 500/550kg approx friesan bullock is a store,excellent video & very professional set up.

Before we go any further Woozie give your analysis of the video, I only watched it once and in its entirety. You put it up with a comment

"interesting comments here from a man who finishes dairy beef stock and has sucklers"

Now give you analysis of his system. It's the first time I ever watched a video of his.

Slava Ukrainii

are you a teacher or something

i appreciate that he put together a video showing how his dairy beef animals are doing without cherry picking figures

its the poor ones that catch you out, no point in patting yourself on the back for a few highlights when the average is middling

he showed the reality of dropping out of spec with cattle, on one hand he will be up money due to the beef price but had they met spec he would be up a lot more and it looks like he is understandably frustrated at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Conorkcp

We have continental steers going to the factory this week. Mainly R grades, couple of u grades. Average 680kg, 22-24 months. One factory offered 6.10 per kg flat rate, another 5.65 base price on the grid. Went with the flat rate. Did we do ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭Dunedin

yes. Flat price best option going on your info here.
    U+ is 24c bonus so adding that to the 20c QA, the max off the grid price would be €6.09 but I’m sure they won’t all be U+ grade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭grass10

Always go flat if possible that decision was a no brainer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭kk.man

I am convinced some plants grading machine are rigged. Go flat it's always insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭valtra2

Just got a quote 5.70 on the grid mostly u maybe 1 or 2 r. Plus transport. South east. Only 8