Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Ah sorry of course 02 was the only one, totally forgot that. Suppose the point I was making still holds in that whatever heartbreak Clare have gone through in recent years, I'd gladly accept that if it meant having 4 AI's in that time compared to our 0!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

I agree except for 2017 I don’t think Galway were actually that great a side and could’ve been there for the taking, unfortunately we weren’t that great on the day ourselves.
    2008 we don’t need to mention we came up against a juggernaut but as Tony Browne rightly pointed out afterwards we kind of stumbled our way into an All Ireland final after being very poor all year after years of playing brilliantly but not getting to one. 2020 final again, we just weren’t good enough when we got there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭914

Yes same, access issue or some error like that. If I log out I can view the regional section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭letsseehere14

Ah I think 2017 version of Galway was a high peak that they reached in decades. They were a very good team.

It was a 3 year road in to it including coming close in 2015 and 2016. Once they hit the knockout stage of the league in 2017 they were a monster that year.

Beat Waterford by 3, Limerick by 10 and Tipp by 16 to win the league.

Dublin by 14, Offaly by 19 and Wexford by 9 to win the Leinster Championship.

Tipp by 1 and Waterford by 3 to win the All Ireland in what was a lot of pressure.

They backed it up in 2018 in Leinster too where they were imperious in the round robin, won the Leinster Championship again and nearly reigned Limerick back in in the All Ireland final. I Think 2 sets of replays that year caught up with them but it was a team that went toe with the big two of that era, Tipp and Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

Good analysis.. except that in all the Championships that Clare won,, Waterford were also playing the same championships against the same teams! We have 4 championship and to be honest we blew the opportunity for more with Davy Fitz in charge.. Thats something we share in common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

I don't think Waterford people realise how close they are to an all Ireland win. Last year with a bit of luck ye were there instead of Cork. No one would begrudge Waterford a win,, except who ever they are playing against.. A bit like Mayo there's breakthrough mentally, physically and skill wise to be made yet. But Waterford are close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Embarrassing carry on from some of the Ferrybank management team in Walsh Park earlier. If it was a closer game tensions would have been running much higher and things could have turned very nasty. Old fellas pushing players for no reason will get someone hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

can you elaborate. Did they ( ferrybank ) lose/win…?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

https://www.waterford-news.ie/sport/gaa/four-reds-as-mount-sion-reach-last-four_arid-28709.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

4 reds and only one for a player for two yellows…….da ‘mentors/mentalists even’ losing it and getting red carded is just insane. Has nobody any self control left or learned anything for the u15 melee that occurred earlier in the summer…😡😡😡

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭seananigans

the weather must be biblical ,v low scoring

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭skaface

Spot on, we're absolutely not far away.. just need a bit of belief and some luck to go with it.. Hopefully the Waterford Public will get behind the lads next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭tommylad1212

Of course mt sion had nothing to do with anything that went on !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,672 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

what chances do sion have of disrupting ballygunner , they look the best equipped from the games i have seen on clubber , i didnt see the 1/4 final yet but aussie looks back to his best is that going to be enough

Good win for Passage

Ballygunner on the ropes but back into now

Waterford Senior Hurling Quarter Finals

Mount Sion 0 21 Ferrybank 0 15

Abbeyside 2 19 Dungarvan 0 15

Passage 1 18 Roanmore 0 20

Ballygunner 2 21 De La Salle 0 21

Semi Final Draw

Abbeyside v Mount Sion

Ballgunner v Passage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭5948ai

Goal by Kevin Mahony crucial for BG. DLS really put it up to the Gunners. Some great entertainment with the hurling quarter finals this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭DeHorse88

Passage lost Kevin Cullinane to a straight red after 5 mins…a fair win for them.

Mount Sion look far too reliant on Gleeson imho don’t think they’d trouble Ballygunner.

Would nearly fancy Abbeyside to beat Mt Sion, is Neil Montgomery out long term? If they had him they’d be best equipped of what’s left to take on Ballygunner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 RichardBzero

Yeah Passage were excellent in the second half, the other Cullinane centre back was immense, Roanmore seemed to lose their way a bit and a few uncharacteristic missed frees from Gavin O'Brien cost them.

Second game was entertainig, DLS gave it a good go and were still in it with 10 minutes to go but Gunners always had the outlet of Dessie and Kevin O Mahony especially to hurt DLS. Mahony was excellent. Dessie was lucky to still be on the pitch for the second half, pulled straight across Conor Keane as they were going up the tunnel at half time which caused a bit of a melee.

Gunners vs Passage should be straight forward enough. Other semi will be interesting, Abbeyside look physical, might give them the edge.

Fixtures for next weekend

20240818_225158.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Fair play to Passage that’s a cracking result for them. I’m sure most would have tipped a Roanmore win, myself included. Also hats off to BG, they just know how to grind out wins and you’d be brave to back against them for another title.

Are those Cullinane lads with Passage sons of the great Sean Cullinane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭914

Ferrybank mentor had no business in shouldering Mount Sion's O Neill, Mount Sion mentor then had no business in shouldering the ferrybank mentor.

It was amusing when the ferrybank manager was sent off he only needed to remain behind the fence in the stand and not move to where the subs are placed, which makes no sense in the sending off.

The only way to cut out the nonsense is for any official that gets involved in this sort of behavior receives a very long time ban.

Post edited by 914 on

the Ferrybank coach that instigated the whole lot can disappear back to his native south Kilkenny without repercussion anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭DeiseX

@Mastermcgrath Are you talking about the selector or manager who got a red? You probably need to clarify as the selector is most definitely a Waterford man and managed the Waterford minor hurling team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Predictions for this weekends games?

I’ll go for Ballygunner and Abbeyside in senior semis. Ballysaggart and Brickeys in premier intermediate.

FB_IMG_1724373983010.jpg FB_IMG_1724373987288.jpg

----

Tallow gone down to Premier Intermediate. No surprise given they were struggling for a few years now

https://x.com/WaterfordGAA/status/1827071779799757142?t=6RjAAOLSu3OYTOTrGNo6_w&s=19