Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE 1: 'Today' with Claire Byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭sully123

Alison - after ALL the rte reporters have been tru over the last few months.

Ugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,375 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Fair play Colie, lit a Fcukking fire under Byrne and her acolytes.

Never let’s me down, does that lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

Colm brophy is right.rte are peddling such anti farmer propaganda every week it’s fair upsetting as a farmer trying my best to be made feel like a criminal from Pravda.Christ even last Friday on morning Ireland aine lawlor was suggesting that farmers should be forced to sell up.

have no time for Fine Gael but it’s great to see rte overpaid talent get it put up them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Don't recall there ever being an ad break in this slot...

Lots of egos needing to take a breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,741 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I agree that colm brophy was spot on with his comments on rte an the rest of the panel trying to shut down industry. its easy to say when your an rte waffler or presenter.

I'm not sure where these people think the money comes from.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

It was a fair question that she asked. How do you reconcile the dire warnings, changes and increased costs and taxes that the general public are expected to lap up.. with government campaign to jet meat to the other side of the world. If it was exports to Europe etc, no one would bat an eyelid. But there's a strong hint of hypocrisy coming from Brophy and his pals today.

I'm very pro farmer and in particular for the smaller family farm units. This campaign to fly meat to Korea and China etc is more geared to the big beef barons.

Amazing how Byrne and her friends reacted when Colie spoke his mind about RTE.

O’Riordán coming across as arrogant person rightly taken down by Colie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,802 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Brophy constantly gets caught trying to slither down the holier than thou line.

Made an absolute show of himself there when there were valid points on both sides. Ended up personally attacking other guests.

Does more damage to the image of FG than that blueshirt salute photo does. Arrogant party man is all he is, i.e, more stuffed shirt than blue shirt. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Yer one, nearly in tears after all rte have been through, none of the panel give a flying fcuk about anything apart from feathering their own nest,

O'Riordan, some slimy fecker

Hehheh next thing you will be telling us the white shirt black tie parade at Storeys funeral was insignificant compared to Colm's statement.

Can tell you this Francis, the country needs more people like Colm who lifted Byrne out of her cosy complacency .

Pity more wouldn't have the cahunas to do it.

Wake up from your slumber Francis and embrace reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,099 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I suppose we can expect more of this in the run up to the next election.

The Government saving us from nasty journalists and pressure groups.

well, saving us from the nasty nest of liggers and chancers out in Montrose would do this poster for starters.

Not much to expect I would opine.

Eh?

Is Alison O’Connor on the payroll in rte.she’s a walking expert on everything from farming to bashing mickey d in the aras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,405 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Claire Byrne on the ropes due to her ridiculous salary.

Hardly a mention this week of the mess at RTE on her programme. Plenty of time for other rubbish.

Yourself and Brophy need to realise (and Brophy did this AM) you can't arrogantly start hurling insults just because your party gets questioned.

He lost the plot there, regardless of the topic or who else was out of line.

Brophy will, like Enda before elections and Harris and Eoghan Murphy, be locked away in the run up to an election.

Constantly making a fool of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭serfboard

Brophy made an absolute tit of himself on the radio this morning. Started lashing out the ad hominems when his bullshít was called out. Ludicrous allegations of people wanting to shut down beef farming and close Dublin Airport.

What a gobshíte.

Brophy is a complete liability. He'll be reined in for another while.

Well one of the panalists I think called Elaine wanted everyone to go vegan/vegetarian.so if that’s not trying to shut down an industry I don’t know what is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,503 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Brophy is the gift that keeps on giving. Never fails to be loud, obnoxious, disingenuous and/or ridiculous

I thought FG had given his gig as mouthpiece of choice to Jennifer Carroll-McNeil recently - perhaps she was unavailable

Don't always agree with you Francie but you're right on the money there. I've heard Brophy trying to throw around his weight before and it doesn't go down well. The Bendar above would do well to read the room..

Furze…. Quiet taken aback by your post…..I usually agree with your views.

The RTE. people and the media are used to people deferring to their ‘superior intelligence’ ..fair play to Brophy for

putting Byrne and her cohort in their boxes.

We need more of that. Well done Colie, you won’t be a lapdog for RTE.

Not one of Brendan's strong points sadly. Routinely hears stuff on the radio nobody else hears. Reception not good in Chez Brendi.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Trophy might have been heavy handed but he had a v point. There is a problem in this country that for Josey O’Sheas lately there has to be blatant bad guys in RTEs views and they should be shut down. Sage with rental where landlords were vilified. RTE are too much on the climate bandwagon at present. I agreed it’s a major issue but I don’t see a C lot of objectivity out in Montrose

Dreadfully dull stuff. Stop listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,603 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Why would CAB bring in these (confiscated shoes, handbags..) to a radio show? https://x.com/RTERadio1/status/1722576500472381672

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,741 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Neil ring, opening clubs longer makes people shove white powder up their noses. nothing to do with it being a cheaper buzz than alcohol.

what a completely blinkered viewpoint.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭avfc1874

So not a caller driven show?

They saw his article and contacted him 😒

Liveline no more than a gossip show, so to speak

I think the answer is in your link.

It's so people could see them on X.

Reaches a bigger audience, helps publicise CAB and plugs the show.

Claire covering Tubs new career and maybe trying to pick up ideas for her own future!