Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wet Ass Pussy

• Registered Users Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Is there no such thing as a radio edit anymore. Explicit lyrics changed for appropriate ones. Which station did you hear explicit lyrics on as the main stations in Ireland and U.K. have codes of standards on profanity which prohibits its use pre watershed and restricted after.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,797 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

People: Its free speech, the girl has a right to express herself and inhabit her sexuality.

Also people: its terrible what young lads ideas of respect and healthy sexual relationships have been reduced to, how did it come to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

joeguevara wrote: »
    Is there no such thing as a radio edit anymore. Explicit lyrics changed for appropriate ones. Which station did you hear explicit lyrics on as the main stations in Ireland and U.K. have codes of standards on profanity which prohibits its use pre watershed and restricted after.
    The lyrics are censored and sound so stupid - nearly all of them are changed. The video is really raunchy - borderline soft porn. And that's obviously fine for adults of course but it's darn weird that it's mainstream. Your one Jenner is in it - young girls love her. I know because it's something to do with sex, people feel the need to pretend it's nothing (in case it might be thought that they're... not liberal!) but of course there is something up with this. You can be a sex-positive liberal (I am one) and think same. If anything, it's more sexually repressed to feel obliged to say this is all fine and dandy.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    People: Its free speech, the girl has a right to express herself and inhabit her sexuality.

Also people: its terrible what young lads ideas of respect and healthy sexual relationships have been reduced to, how did it come to this.

Me as a young lad listening to heavy metal: never heard a band say fcuck before...legendary

My ma after hearing it and absolutely leathering me with the wooden spoon: if I catch you listening to that filth again I’ll scour your mouth out with dettol and a Brillo pad.

She didn’t write to Sony complaining about the profanity from the band or shift blame from me.

The lyrics are censored and sound so stupid - nearly all of them are changed. The video is really raunchy - borderline soft porn. And that's obviously fine for adults of course (tacky as it is) but it's darn weird that it's mainstream. Your one Jenner is in it - young girls love her. I know because it's something to do with sex, people feel the need to pretend it's nothing (in case it might be thought that they're... not liberal!) but of course there is something up with this. You can be a sex-positive liberal (I am one) and think same. If anything, it's more sexually repressed to feel obliged to say this is all fine and dandy.

Ok, the OP said that it was explicit on the radio. It’s not so no issue.

If the music video is explicit, I doubt it’s on the den or CBeebies so the only way it can be seen is on an age inappropriate program. Again parental control is required.

YouTube won’t show explicit videos at the best of times but definitely not if a child lock on.

Jaysus people, if worried about kids seeing inappropriate things, be a parent and stop it. Don’t blame the artist. We are not in 1950s stepford.

Calling this tramp an artist is a bit of a stretch..

Ok, the OP said that it was explicit on the radio. It’s not so no issue.

If the music video is explicit, I doubt it’s on the den or CBeebies so the only way it can be seen is on an age inappropriate program. Again parental control is required.

YouTube won’t show explicit videos at the best of times but definitely not if a child lock on.

Jaysus people, if worried about kids seeing inappropriate things, be a parent and stop it. Don’t blame the artist. We are not in 1950s stepford.
    Nobody expressed any wish to be in 1950s Stepford - that's just going in the other extreme. It's the way it's mainstream, with the Jenner lass - tis creepy.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,260 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The lyrics don't seem much more explicit from several songs over the last 20 odd years.

The issue is that this stuff is more accessible for kids than ever before.

It more difficult to be trying to raise kids now, while limiting exposure to adult sexual life than ever before

• Registered Users Posts: 47 MzMurfy

Yes male artists / rappers have made equally crass songs through the years but come on. They're hardly deep meaningful lyrics? I'm far from a prude but jesus the lyrics make me cringe!

Made by dumb dumbs for dumb dumbs

It will probably be held up as feminism when the truth is it's anything but.
    Come on, there's nothing more feminist then women calling themselves whores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

The thought of Cardi B swiping someone's nose like a credit card on her soggy macaroni gee is is making me retch.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,797 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Me as a young lad listening to heavy metal: never heard a band say fcuck before...legendary

My ma after hearing it and absolutely leathering me with the wooden spoon: if I catch you listening to that filth again I’ll scour your mouth out with dettol and a Brillo pad.

She didn’t write to Sony complaining about the profanity from the band or shift blame from me.

Your Mam mightn't have, but plenty did.

But I take your point. For every Cardi B though, wheres another woman pointing out to lads that this bitch has no self respect and if you treat me like shes asking to be treated, ill kick your teeth in and wear them as a necklace.

Nobody expressed any wish to be in 1950s Stepford - that's just going in the other extreme. It's the way it's mainstream, with the Jenner lass - tis creepy.

It’s not mainstream though if a radio edit is played without explicit lyrics. If it’s accessible through the internet then a parental lock or shock horror supervision is all that’s needed.

Since there has been recording explicit lyrics have been there. I remember buying a vanilla ice tape in 1990 with my confirmation money with worse lyrics.

Parents should be parents if they don’t want their kids exposed to material that is inappropriate. What next, nightmare on elm street banned because little Johnny might see it?

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Your Mam mightn't have, but plenty did.

But I take your point. For every Cardi B though, wheres another woman pointing out to lads that this bitch has no self respect and if you treat me like shes asking to be treated, ill kick your teeth in and wear them as a necklace.

I don’t think songs or computer games influence kids. I played Pac-Man as a kid which was a character in a warehouse, with repetitive house music Munching pills and......oh fcuck I’ve changed my mind.

Has someone called for it to be banned? Not that I can see. :confused:

Nobody has disputed the need for parental supervision either. You're putting a heck of a lot of words in people's mouths, and that's some leap about Nightmare on Elm Street.

What people are talking about is a culture of sexualisation of adolescent girls.

Like when I was a kid, there was Madonna - but she was never about teaming up with some young girls' icon the likes of Kylie Jenner, she was never about being promoted to kids. Her Justify My Love and Erotica videos were only shown late at night, her Sex book was adults only.

These ones are one trick ponies - they're one and only raison d'etre is to be provocative.

The lyrics being censored don't do much to hide the song's sentiment either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

Unfortunately this is what your kids want to hear. Hence likely number 1. Although yeah I personally find it grotesque and a sign of how disjointed and debased young people are becoming.

It will probably be held up as feminism when the truth is it's anything but.

No hippies, no punks, not even NWA or Rave. The heroes of this generation would appear to be outspoken but barely literate sluts, and limp wristed foppish male "singer-songwriters". Yeuk.

Not want, told

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

From 2000, 20 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

i_surge wrote: »
    Not want, told

Have you tried telling a group of teenagers what to do, or what to listen to?

Taylor Swift released an album a few weeks ago, at the very least they have two varied options.

From 2000, 20 years ago.
    Don't recall that being mainstream. The internet was only fledgeling then too.

It's not the material, it's how accessible it is; it's who it's promoted to.

Has someone called for it to be banned? Not that I can see. :confused:

Nobody has disputed the need for parental supervision either. You're putting a heck of a lot of words in people's mouths.

What people are talking about is a culture of sexualisation of adolescent girls.

Like when I was a kid, there was Madonna - but she was never about teaming up with some young girls' icon the likes of Kylie Jenner, she was never about being promoted to kids. Her Justify My Love and Erotica videos were only shown late at night, her Sex book was adults only.

These ones are one trick ponies - they're one and only raison d'etre is to be provocative.

So Madonna’s like a virgin which was listened to by every 12 year old girl wasn’t explicit? But that’s irrelevant. Pointing at recording artists for sexualising young people is shifting the blame.

But Tik tok, insta, Facebook, WhatsApp groups is a much bigger issue. Access to these is a much bigger factor than the likes of cardi b which can be restricted. For instance a well known Irish tik tok woman whose majority of fans are under 15, has recently started promoting her only fans site on her tik tok and saying it’s empowering for women to take control of their body. I think kids are getting smart phones way to early. I was 19 when I got a mobile and I see communion ages getting iPhones.

Obviously I was being flippant previously and if I had a daughter I would be disgusted by the video in the op. But there is way worse to be concerned about.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Whose yer wan in the leopard print?

Don't recall that being mainstream. The internet was only fledgeling then too.

It's not the material, it's how accessible it is; it's who it's promoted to.

If accessibility is the issue then supervise accessibility, don’t allow smart phone and have access to internet history. But from time immemorial adolescents looked at playboy or euro trash etc.

If accessibility is the issue, surely the ease to access hardcore porn0graphy is a bigger concern than videos like cardi b

So Madonna’s like a virgin which was listened to by every 12 year old girl wasn’t explicit? But that’s irrelevant. Pointing at recording artists for sexualising young people is shifting the blame.

But Tik tok, insta, Facebook, WhatsApp groups is a much bigger issue. Access to these is a much bigger factor than the likes of cardi b which can be restricted. For instance a well known Irish tik tok woman whose majority of fans are under 15, has recently started promoting her only fans site on her tik tok and saying it’s empowering for women to take control of their body. I think kids are getting smart phones way to early. I was 19 when I got a mobile and I see communion ages getting iPhones.

Obviously I was being flippant previously and if I had a daughter I would be disgusted by the video in the op. But there is way worse to be concerned about.

Sexual lyrics are nothing new, they just hid them a bit more cleverly depending the age f the song.

Openly wanting a sugar daddy so they can live like Jendal without working is new though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Great video. Funny though too. Offensive enough to get loads of views. That’s what’s it about baby.

It’s all fun and games until Nikki comes looking to beat her ass again though.

Sexual lyrics are nothing new, they just hid them a bit more cleverly depending the age f the song.

Openly wanting a sugar daddy so they can live like Jendal without working is new though.

A woman exploiting her sexuality to get a rich guy to give her gifts is new?

But there is way worse to be concerned about.
    The lyrics to Like A Virgin are nowhere near as overt.

And yeah nobody is saying there isn't far worse to be concerned about, but you could say that in relation to any topic. Doesn't stop discussion of it though.

You say the artists shouldn't be blamed but I don't think the parents should be either. I guess music companies/promoters/marketeers are the sweet spot for this cynicism.

I don't think I know any adult who likes Cardi B.

Just as a comparison, i remember bopping along to this on top of the pops in 1987 as an 8;year old. Every kid in the country from 8-18+ would watch top of the pops every week.

https://youtu.be/f7EtMpm1vAQ

A woman exploiting her sexuality to get a rich guy to give her gifts is new?

The scale and shamelessness of it is if tinder is anything to go by.

None of us worshipped Sabrina or Sam Fox though - they were marketed to lads.

Although there were girls in the UK doing page 3 at 16. The minimum age was changed ultimately.

The scale and shamelessness of it is if tinder is anything to go by.

No it’s not.