Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish bloggers..the truth coming out

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It can't be coincidence that sites like that along with the magazine's and television programmes like loose women which contain ****ty gossip slating people's appearances are almost exclusively aimed at, and written by/presented by women.

I'm in no way saying ALL women, but quite a large percentage must be interested for the industry to thrive.
    Well there is some truth in that. It's certainly not driven by male minds to any great degree, or the ever nebulous "patriarchy". Take body image and diversity of same. Porn is aimed mostly at men and mostly produced by men and pick any porn portal out there and you will find more diversity of body shapes, ages and ethnicities in a day then you will find in a century of the output of the fashion industry. Personally speaking and of course observing from outside, the fashion business is a helluva lot more covertly and overtly sexist and misogynistic and damaging to women than is immediately obvious.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

It can't be coincidence that sites like that along with the magazine's and television programmes like loose women which contain ****ty gossip slating people's appearances are almost exclusively aimed at, and written by/presented by women.

I'm in no way saying ALL women, but quite a large percentage must be interested for the industry to thrive.

It is a bit depressing, the magazines and reality shows etc, but maybe it is like supermarket food. If a lot of shelves are stacked high with gack then a lot of people will eat gack without thinking and just because it is there.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Likely very little of an effect. Humans adapt over time to new ways of societal and personal interaction, though the older generations find this difficult to fathom every single time. I mean take the example of what we think of privacy and the loss of it, but privacy as we understand or understood it was only "invented" quite recently.

I don't know..I think it might be more than you think..Not necessarily the removal of privacy as such..More the exhibitionist aspect of it..The whole 'everything being done for the camera'..the performative aspect..I fear the real might be lost..

Anyway..bloody women..turns out yer one's a bit of a coke head and lives on two takeaways a day..which is fine..but she pulls at the clothes when she models them after she does a haul..which is a bit of a faux pas apparently..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I don't know..I think it might be more than you think..Not necessarily the removal of privacy as such..More the exhibitionist aspect of it..The whole 'everything being done for the camera'..the performative aspect..I fear the real might be lost..
    Well again one could argue that being performative is very much at the core of being human and is present in damn near every culture throughout history. Just like talking to people, gossip, showing off one's value etc. If you read I dunno Roman writings in such things they often complain about very similar things. Doubly so if the young are doing something "new". The difference is tech has meant a much wider audience is available.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Likely very little of an effect. Humans adapt over time to new ways of societal and personal interaction, though the older generations find this difficult to fathom every single time.

Human beings do adapt for sure and hugely. But some things also do have effects, and large, culture shaping ones. For example a couple of decades ago, heck maybe more, I was transcribing at a conference in the UK where teachers were tentatively mentioning the extraordinary newly widespread use of Ritalin in their schools. It was gaining traction as a way to deal with so called hyperactive kids. It did so in the US even earlier. . Fast forward to now and honestly I see this pharmaceutical input in so many childrens lives at very young ages being manifest in the screaming hysteria on the streets to tear down the world and in maladaptive gender theories and other widespread neuroticisms and fragility. That (pharmaceuticals) and parental absence as people scramble to make ends meet in a corporate controlled world, thus only having time to touch in briefly with their kids, has had a definite societal and cultural effect.
    There are lots of other things going on but I think adaptation to change can produce big effects. And I think kids under a constant digital eye will have constructed a very different and externalised sense of self which will have big societal effects in 20 to 30 years.
    Not like there is a single damn thing that can be done about it though :)

Well again one could argue that being performative is very much at the core of being human and is present in damn near every culture throughout history. Just like talking to people, gossip, showing off one's value etc. If you read I dunno Roman writings in such things they often complain about very similar things. Doubly so if the young are doing something "new". The difference is tech has meant a much wider audience is available.

No..not that..of course there's always been an element of it..ah, I can't explain it..just a danger of the the entire personality being based on that rather than being congruent in the Rogerian sense..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,091 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

These people are going around filming everything on their phones. I have seen few examples of them taking the pi$s of someone who just happened to be in background, can’t remember exactly but have definitely seen this.
    Even more alarming, some are even doing video while driving. Hopefully they will be caught by police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

It’s sad that young girls, even ones lucky to be blessed with good looks, that it has become normalish now for them to be getting things like lip fillers and Botox. I have seen some even claiming they don’t need it now, but by getting it now it will benefit them when they reach older age.
    Then the young men on the other hand, strutting around in their best tops or even no tops, chests out, looking at all these muscle/gym influencers. Most of them are not even playing sports.

I know. I will never, ever understand tinkering with lips. It never looks good. The plumping is obvious and looks like swelling related to a bee sting or being sick. Swelling that emulates inflammation is never, ever going to be a good look.

I’m also highly dubious of the whole preventative botox thing. Sounds like it was dreamt up as a way to drum up more business.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

I know. I will never, ever understand tinkering with lips. It never looks good. The plumping is obvious and looks like swelling related to a bee sting or being sick. Swelling that emulates inflammation is never, ever going to be a good look.

I’m also highly dubious of the whole preventative botox thing. Sounds like it was dreamt up as a way to drum up more business.

It's cheaper to put your head in a beehive,at least the swelling will go down if you don't like it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Made one great movie, then you never saw him again

He actually appeared in Street Fighter the movie as Dhalism...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Danzy wrote: »
    Are you a blogger about eating lemons?

No just glad mean greedy horrible people are being exposed

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

That plonker from the White Moose Cafe in Dublin has actually come out with a good one and banned all influencers who won’t quarantine after their Ibiza trips. I know he can be as bad as any of them but I love that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Credit where credit is due. One Instagrammer based in Cork is doing an amazing service for men today in her stories. Some of the responses are heart wrenching.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Credit where credit is due. One Instagrammer based in Cork is doing an amazing service for men today in her stories. Some of the responses are heart wrenching.

But is she doing it in her blog/business page or personal page?Is it for attention or genuine

• Registered Users Posts: 939 ✭✭✭bitofabind

I'm still a bit incredulous about the whole blogging thing and the normalising of what are blatantly narcissistic, embarrassing behaviours.

Maybe it's coz I grew up in the Kodak era where taking a snap of your own face was a guaranteed way of drawing slagging and utter mortification from several angles, including the pharmacist who'd end up developing your photos a few weeks later. Like are ya well pal? Fancy the look of yourself, do ya??

To have gone from normalising that to now it being not only socially acceptable but potentially a viable career to document yourself taking a shyte, going to the gym, shopping and other exciting events from dusk to dawn is just...bizarre. I still don't get it. There's no mystery anymore. No boundaries. Here's a shot of me pouring cereal into a bowl hashtag kelloggs cha-ching $10k for my troubles please and thank you. Here's me suffering from depression #sadface, oh look it's five minutes later and I'm wearing my fave lipstick from some random pharmacy #meagherspharmacy #discountcode. Oh and now I'm channelling the woke side of my personal brand by talking about #blacklivesmatter or is it #beirutlivesmatter

Bizarre.

Off topic but it's so sad to see young kids posing for social media pics for there parent's

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I was reading something earlier, maybe from the white moose cafe that was exposing ones just back from red light countrys and out shopping. No quarantining.

Love white moose. That owner is brilliant
    He doesnt give a flying fcuk. I remember years ago he had a go at the vegans. They all lost their minds at him and he laughed it off

bitofabind wrote: »
    Like are ya well pal? Fancy the look of yourself, do ya??

:pac: That really made me laugh out loud. I had an auntie when I was a teenager who would sit in the kitchen smoking and if you came in from the world she would look over the fag with a jaded expression and drawl at you..''Wellllll, did you meet anyone out there you like better than yourself?''

It’s not good for the brain to be continually looking at these never ending loops of Instagram stories, twitter feeds, Facebook whatever’s, snapchats and tik-toks. And it’s only getting worse. Hopefully it’s not long till we get to the VR stage where we can just put on a headset and veg on the couch while living out our best lives inside whichever story we pick. I cannot wait till I score a hat trick in the World Cup final in a 3-2 win over England in a packed nou camp.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

bigpink wrote: »
    Off topic but it's so sad to see young kids posing for social media pics for there parent's

Could be worse.

A girl I kinda knew a few years ago set up a Facebook account for the abortion she had. Kept it going for a few weeks too.

Like, I dont understand people who set up accounts for their kids.......I defo dont understand how someone could set one up for the abortion they chose to have.

Some people are just insane.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭TheDavester

Omackeral wrote: »
    JohnnyFlash just loves saying ''angry men'' over and over again and has a little tickle in his belly when EmmetSpiceland thanks it, which is always.

It's a gimmick at this stage.

edit - saw mod note...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,537 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

edit - saw mod note...

Good lad.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Could be worse.

A girl I kinda knew a few years ago set up a Facebook account for the abortion she had. Kept it going for a few weeks too.

Like, I dont understand people who set up accounts for their kids.......I defo dont understand how someone could set one up for the abortion they chose to have.

Good God, that's obscene.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

It’s not good for the brain to be continually looking at these never ending loops of Instagram stories, twitter feeds, Facebook whatever’s, snapchats and tik-toks. And it’s only getting worse. Hopefully it’s not long till we get to the VR stage where we can just put on a headset and veg on the couch while living out our best lives inside whichever story we pick. I cannot wait till I score a hat trick in the World Cup final in a 3-2 win over England in a packed nou camp.

I want to experience surfing huge waves in Hawaii from my Huawei...VR superstar...

Even Prime Time Miriam is tweeting now about her staycation in Dingle. I wonder if she got it as a freebie??
    I know she has a lot of kids to keep control of but I doubt she spends her vacation in Kerry in regular year, which is fair enough, she works hard and is talented unlike these bloggers.

Good God, that's obscene.

Obscene struck me as such an appropriate word in that sentence (and one that perhaps should be aired more often) so I looked up the etymology. I found this though it is debated as being exact.
    Classical Greek dramatists believed that it was degrading to show extreme emotion on stage. Some action had to be implied off stage (ob skene) because it was unfit to display explicitly. The classical idea of obscenity included sexual conduct, but would also include expressions of anguish.

I thought the idea of ''Off Stage'' applies very well to the subject matter of the thread in that some people are being on stage too much. Personally I think it is what happens off stage or secretly, privately, inwardly, in some treasured quiet manner, that gives life depth.

Could be worse.

This could be an idea for an episode of black mirror. The abortion Facebook page becomes mega popular, and a crazy fan stalks and eventually murders the mom who started the page. The crazy fan story is being told in parallel to the mom/Facebook/abortion story, she is a normal decent young woman who tragically loses her only child at birth and cannot conceive again. So she becomes obsessed with hatred for the other mom and plans for her brutal murder. This all happens in US so the crazy fan ends up getting the death penalty and dies in the electric chair 20 years later. Even then the Facebook page is still live and popular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

Gruffalox wrote: »
    It's kind of a pity for the state of the world that there are some serious and interesting thinkers who write in online places and who have 7 followers, 2 at least of whom have personality disorders or love Aleister Crowley, and yet somebody with strange eyebrows who opines vapidly about the way things are and accompanies their musings with photos of their bikini bottom wedged up between their buttocks has 50 bazillion excitable admirers who cling to their every word. Like, why is it always bottoms these days? What happened to boobs? It's all about the arse. Boobs just don't have the intellectual cachè they should have.
    bitofabind wrote: »
    I'm still a bit incredulous about the whole blogging thing and the normalising of what are blatantly narcissistic, embarrassing behaviours.

Maybe it's coz I grew up in the Kodak era where taking a snap of your own face was a guaranteed way of drawing slagging and utter mortification from several angles, including the pharmacist who'd end up developing your photos a few weeks later. Like are ya well pal? Fancy the look of yourself, do ya??

To have gone from normalising that to now it being not only socially acceptable but potentially a viable career to document yourself taking a shyte, going to the gym, shopping and other exciting events from dusk to dawn is just...bizarre. I still don't get it. There's no mystery anymore. No boundaries. Here's a shot of me pouring cereal into a bowl hashtag kelloggs cha-ching $10k for my troubles please and thank you. Here's me suffering from depression #sadface, oh look it's five minutes later and I'm wearing my fave lipstick from some random pharmacy #meagherspharmacy #discountcode. Oh and now I'm channelling the woke side of my personal brand by talking about #blacklivesmatter or is it #beirutlivesmatter

Bizarre.
    Exactly what I think - it's nothing to do with jealousy. Your posts are thoughtful. "Hurrrrr begrudgery" isn't.

I recently watched a documentary about how social media is affecting our mental health - a topic which interests me, even if the programme was presented by Vogue. She went and had a chat with some of Ireland's most successful influencers, some of whom were so quick to express concern about the pitfalls of social media for impressionable people. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Anyone can call themselves an "influencer" - and many do - but for most is all bollocks.
    For those who genuinely are influencers then fair play and hats off. Money for old rope. Talking ****e but earning mega money.

But for every one who makes money there are thousands of not millions who claim the crappy title.

Ok..so having finished that thread on yer one from limerick i'm currently 10 pages into a thread on some double barrel name family where yer man is grooming young ones online and his missus has an eating disorder..I think I actually came a cross a couple of their videos years ago..Anyway..I'm considering signing up to tattle.com..I know we'd be half slagging here sometimes and can come across as rather crass the odd time..but women are vicious..