Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

hayoc wrote: »
    Thats whats happening in the schools right now.

A friends kid - 12s kid absent in her class because of varying "cold" symptoms. All 12 got referred for tests and could not go in until they got the all clear (none positive).

Another school, kids back in 4 days and one kid tested positive, whole class sent home for 2 weeks.

The above type situations doesnt seem to be getting reported on in the media.

Ive absolutely no idea how the teachers are supposed to get through the years curriculum with that kind of disruption to classes.

It’s madness.
    A friend and her husband went to a christening on Sunday, they would both be very clean living types and Sunday was their first time having heavy food and alcohol in quite some time.
    As a result her husband had a dodgy stomach on Monday and couldn’t go to work, his workplace is very strict regarding absenteeism so he rang the doctor for a cert to cover him.

Despite having NO other symptoms and not being in close contact with a confirmed case, the doctor insisted on referring him for a covid test because diarrhoea is apparently a symptom of the virus.
    He tried explaining he just has a sensitive stomach but it fell on deaf ears.

They are now isolating until they both get tested later this week, even though his stomach has settled, he’s no longer ill and hasn’t shown any other symptoms.
    My friend works in an autism unit and all the children have been sent home for 2 weeks and/or until her results are back.
    These kids regressed big time during the lockdown and she’s very upset that they’re now losing out on the support they and their parents badly need for no good reason.

It’s a massive overreaction if you ask me, it’s bad enough that seasonal coughs and colds are going to be flagged as covid during the winter months but we’re rightly fecked if they’re going to be making everyone with a dodgy stomach isolate and be tested too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Gina Daly from The Daly Dish (food influencer type couple, herself and her husband) just posted about her nightmare, a miscarriage she had a few weeks ago. Her husband wasn't allowed to be with her for the checks and the scans, and the final scan.

Imagine how heartbreaking that must have been.

Stupid, stupid restriction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,859 ✭✭✭✭road_high

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    This RTE R1 interview with our Swedish guest is painful. Trying to undermine him at every turn all so the narrative is maintained

Par for the course, hope he was fore warned. His common sense thesis is the antithesis of Rte drivel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

Is the Tomas Ryan the neuroscientist from Trinity, whos been in the media day in day out for the past 6 months cheerleading harsh restrictions and lockdown, actually qualified to speak on the pandemic?

RTE, Newstalk etc seemed to state he was an immunologist but he just works at the School of Immunology. He is not an immunologist? He's even stated this on his twitter bio now, the cat must be out of the bag, but why is his opinion given such prominence if this isn't his field?

Is the Tomas Ryan the neuroscientist from Trinity, whos been in the media day in day out for the past 6 months cheerleading harsh restrictions and lockdown, actually qualified to speak on the pandemic?

RTE, Newstalk etc seemed to state he was an immunologist but he just works at the School of Immunology. He is not an immunologist? He's even stated this on his twitter bio now, the cat must be out of the bag, but why is his opinion given such prominence if this isn't his field?

Is he a neuroscientist? I assumed immunologist or something. Ah jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

road_high wrote: »
    Par for the course, hope he was fore warned. His common sense thesis is the antithesis of Rte drivel.

He didn't seem to be unfortunately. Interviewer threw things like greater Irish class sizes and differences in sick pay entitlements to try to discredit his points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

funnydoggy wrote: »
    Is he a neuroscientist? I assumed immunologist or something. Ah jaysus.

Not a single word mentioned on any expertise in virology or epidemiology: https://www.tcd.ie/research/profiles/?profile=tryan6

Also, zero publications on those topics. But sure, he is an expert.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

walus wrote: »
    Not a single word mentioned on any expertise in virology or epidemiology: https://www.tcd.ie/research/profiles/?profile=tryan6

Also, zero publications on those topics. But sure, he is an expert.

As my friend Noxx would say "I would rather listen to experts than people who post on boards.ie"

Little does he know - we here are just as knowledgeable (and more practical and real actually) than this "expert" with guaranteed pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Sweden will be back to full normality in 2021 while we'll still have Glynn and our cowardly politicians finger-wagging at us and telling us how deeply concerned they are about the case numbers.

And telling us a a vaccine is maybe only another year or two away...

Are there any of you ex fg voters, that would now not vote for them, given then spinelessness and lack of leadership? I mean its nothing new, but some of us have shorter fuses than others ...

Glynn just said next 10 days are critical!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

rob316 wrote: »
    I do think if this was another generation the reaction wouldn't of been so severe. I can go back to early march and the calls for a lockdown across the media, especially social media were deafening. The fear machine was in full flow. Its endemic in our society now, over reacting is, I just think of the storm warnings which in reality are a bit of rain and wind I spent my years kicking a ball in and working in without a care. People lose their minds over these storm warnings.

If I contracted the virus tomorrow and ended up in hospital, my opinion would not change that this is largely harmless.

It's the modern philosophy of slowing everything down to the pace/ability of the weakest. If you are nervous or overly cautious you will shout to have anything that you find frightening or unsettling stopped, not just for you but for everyone. I always go back to an incident during a 'storm'. There was an offshore wind that made conditions ideal for wind surfing. Some experienced wind surfers were having a ball at a Dublin beach when a 'concerned' passerby called out air/sea rescue to 'save' them. The bemused windsurfers made their way back to the beach to see what the fuss was about. The caller insisted that it was right to get them off the water as it was, in his view, dangerous activity. He wasted the time of air/sea rescue. Yet, incredibly,on this site and others, a huge number of people defended his actions. If he didn't want to take any risk in his life then no one was to take any risk. The same thinking has been applied to Covid. And many other things too. The people who would like to wrap up in cotton wool would like everyone to wrap up with them.

Mystic meg here predicts tomorrows update from Glynn. " the next ten days are critical " ! Insuffereable baxtards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Pure trolling at this stage. :rolleyes:

Parody at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,939 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

rob316 wrote: »
    I do think if this was another generation the reaction wouldn't of been so severe. I can go back to early march and the calls for a lockdown across the media, especially social media were deafening. The fear machine was in full flow. Its endemic in our society now, over reacting is,

Its a modern thing, people today are just event junkies, something that doesn't just apply to U2 concerts or popular referendums. Once something gets into the public consciousness there is always a wave of virtue signaling, instagramming vapid people who will just go all in on whatever the headlines are.

Clapping for the health services for example, just the sort of useless slacktivism that passes for action these days.

Its no small thing either, because lets be honest, a large part of the response to this pandemic was driven by social response, I have no doubt that 30 years ago a government making decisions with less public interaction would have made very different decisions.

Its a modern thing, people today are just event junkies, something that doesn't just apply to U2 concerts or popular referendums. Once something gets into the public consciousness there is always a wave of virtue signaling, instagramming vapid people who will just go all in on whatever the headlines are.

Clapping for the health services for example, just the sort of useless slacktivism that passes for action these days.

Its no small thing either, because lets be honest, a large part of the response to this pandemic was driven by social response, I have no doubt that 30 years ago a government making decisions with less public interaction would have made very different decisions.

Makes you wonder about how Regan, Thatcher and Haughey would have dealt with the whole thing alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,859 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Are there any of you ex fg voters, that would now not vote for them, given then spinelessness and lack of leadership? I mean its nothing new, but some of us have shorter fuses than others ...

Borderline yes but Jesus what is the alternative?
    The party should have went to the right economically and planted itself there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

As my friend Noxx would say "I would rather listen to experts than people who post on boards.ie"

Little does he know - we here are just as knowledgeable (and more practical and real actually) than this "expert" with guaranteed pension.

I have been saying here before that so called experts suffer from an “ expert problem” - they think they know more than they really do. Depending on the field that could be as much as 15-30% outside of their true expertise. Whereas the same phenomenon for an average Joe is 2-5%. So, the more we know as humans, the more we are biased towards thinking we know even more.

The tendency is to take expert’s advise without critically examining the logic and thought processes behind it.

But what is the point of including in the panel someone who has no proven expertise in the field is beyond my understanding.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dalyboy

He was saying the same thing when we were having 3,4,3,6 cases a day.
    Oh and he was also saying “we are very concerned” quite a lot then too

road_high wrote: »
    Borderline yes but Jesus what is the alternative?
    The party should have went to the right economically and planted itself there.

Not with the egotist and social media crusader Varadkar at the helm they wouldn't. Populism all the way.

And before that Enda whose primary goal was to maintain the status quo and set personal "bests"

We really are missing a decent, viable alternative to the various degrees of left that we currently have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,398 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Makes you wonder about how Regan, Thatcher and Haughey would have dealt with the whole thing alright.
    Regan probably wouldn't have known what was going on or forgot it.
    Thatcher would have blamed the unions and or europe.
    Haughey would have washed his hands more thoroughly after taking kickbacks

Time for a shot? It has to be some sort of drinking game at this stage.

Glynn reminds me more of the boy who cried wolf every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

dalyboy wrote: »
    He was saying the same thing when we were having 3,4,3,6 cases a day.
    Oh and he was also saying “we are very concerned” quite a lot then too
    Don't forget "double-down on our efforts". The man is clueless and just throwing around random phrases at this stage.

We can't go on like this - lockdowns, restrictions, opening and closing businesses on a whim. Coming into the cold, long, dark winter nights now and they expect us to sit at home twiddling our thumbs and slowly going insane for 6 months.

They haven't a fcuking notion what to do next.

Glynn in January 2021 - "The next 10 months are crucial"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

The virus is a non event.

The reaction to the virus is a modern day example of burning down a house to catch a mouse.

Incidentally a lot of legal professionals have always questioned the restrictions, lord Sumption, an ex supreme court judge in the UK is one that springs to mind.

The medical professionals have turned out to be twisted crooks with a vested interest in fuelling hysteria like Mr Luke O Neill. 400 million his company sold for yesterday. Laughable stuff.

Slowly but surely the wood will become visible from the trees

i'm genuinely curious Fintan, what did you make of the scenes in iran, new york and italy back in april? was it all fake, or had you forgotten or what?

Lundstram wrote: »
    Don't forget "double-down on our efforts". The man is clueless and just throwing around random phrases at this stage.

I think he's probably well intentioned but he can't see beyond his own field.

Also I think the job is maybe too much for him (a bit like Cowen after Bertie) and the fact that the Government is delegating almost all of the decisions to him and his colleagues isn't helping matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Time for a shot? It has to be some sort of drinking game at this stage.

Glynn reminds me more of the boy who cried wolf every day.

Cillian De gas goon is even funnier imo.
    On the herald I was reading today he states “Dublin faces further restrictions if cases continue to rise”
    Ahhh cillian ,,, Dublin has nothing else to actually restrict! Everything is already closed down since last Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

This RTE R1 interview with our Swedish guest is painful. Trying to undermine him at every turn all so the narrative is maintained

The benefits of NPHET having a familial link to RTE.

No way would the Swede be allowed show up the actions taken to date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

dalyboy wrote: »
    Cillian De gas goon is even funnier imo.
    On the herald I was reading today he states “Dublin faces further restrictions if cases continue to rise”
    Ahhh cillian ,,, Dublin has nothing else to actually restrict! Everything is already closed down since last Friday

If he is comfortable in making such a statement in a national newspaper it's clear our elected government is not doing their job.