Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy Ritchie gets 6 month driving ban

• 23-07-2020 4:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8552401/amp/Guy-Ritchie-gets-six-month-driving-ban-cyclist-catches-texting-wheel.html

So a youtuber who likes to go around and record motor offenses recorded none other than Guy Ritchie using his mobile while driving. Said youtuber gives police the footage and Ritchie gets a 6 month driving ban.

Am I the only one who thinks both men are twats tho? :pac:
    Like Ritchie was using his mobile and got the ban. Fair enough. He shouldn't be doing that and had points for other offenses.
    But the other guy goes around looking for **** to record. Has he not got anything better to do? Like if he wants to catch motor offenses why didn't he become a police man? But that would be a hard job putting your life on the line. Can't have that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

So a youtuber who likes to go around and record motor offenses recorded none other than Guy Ritchie using his mobile while driving. Said youtuber gives police the footage and Ritchie gets a 6 month driving ban.

Sounds like the Youtuber is a d*ck who hasn't the balls to become a real traffic cop.
    <<mod snip>>

I'd imagine his identity has to be public knowledge as part of any court proceedings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

Well done that man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

I do hope he comes across a van load of travellers some day n does his spiel- his points and fines total may taper off a bit !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Nanny-state UK...

Fair enough you need rules, otherwise you would have anarchy in society... but the brits take it to a whole different level. They're way too uptight.

We're too laid back... they're too uptight! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Shouldn't there be a law for cyclists using their phones?

Far more dangerous than a person stuck in traffic texting they'll probably be late to wherever they are going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I don't think he should be naming and shaming people, if he truly wants to be a simple activist then blur out faces/plates or it will lead to doxing etc. and communicate these things straight to police. He gets a kick, clearly, and revenue, from doing it this way though, so I have a low opinion of what he's doing. Even this recent video where he boasts in the thread title that you can read this woman's reasonably-private text conversation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCHKktml_XA (at the risk of giving this - person - more views).

All - people - like this, are going to do, is drive a change in the law, which should happen: texting while stationary shouldn't be considered a problem until its a problem. In motion, grand, make it an offense. If you're stationary and you're obstructing the flow of traffic, you didn't notice a light change, etc., grand, make it an offense. This guy is preying on traffic jams in a way that not even the police would be willing to do because the public backlash would be understandable and loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Overheal wrote: »
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCHKktml_XA (at the risk of giving this - person - more views).

Just looked at that video, Jesus Christ on a bike, who does he think he is. I'm all for promoting cycling and motoring safety but publishing people's face and their registrations is not cool. That's all his channel seems to be, a name and shame channel. He's a little uptight and needs to check himself.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

what a sad existence Mikeys life is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

He's in a modern Range Rover with excellent Bluetooth to sync his phone and music from his phone yet the arsehole is using headphones, should have got a lifetime ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

He's in a modern Range Rover with excellent Bluetooth to sync his phone and music from his phone yet the arsehole is using headphones, should have got a lifetime ban.

CAREFUL now...
    you cant criticise people that drive motor vehicles..... :rolleyes:

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

That youtuber's gonna have a bad day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭BillyBiggs

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8552401/amp/Guy-Ritchie-gets-six-month-driving-ban-cyclist-catches-texting-wheel.html

Like Ritchie was using his mobile and got the ban. Fair enough. He shouldn't be doing that and had points for other offenses.
    But the other guy goes around looking for **** to record. Has he not got anything better to do? Like if he wants to catch motor offenses why didn't he become a police man? But that would be a hard job putting your life on the line. Can't have that.

Without a camera stuck to his head, Ritchie would tear him a new asshole. Guy has mastered several martial arts. This tool with his go pro is penalising road traffic offenders, as he himself blocks a public road, putting other road users and himself in danger. The video represents everything that’s wrong with the modern world. Go Pro Man is he himself only looking for fame and attention.

What a joke, he was stopped when texting shouldn't even be an offence.

That clown will meet the front grill of a car someday, hopefully something like a range rover and he will regret his pathetic antics.

And I'm sure he knows this but he may have reasons for using headphones also.

That clown will meet the front grill of a car someday, hopefully something like a range rover and he will regret his pathetic antics.

Why ?? whats your problem with him?
    Just sticking up for fellow motorists? Irrational hatred for people on bikes?

If one of your loved ones ended up on the front grill of a texting driver would you stick up for them too ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

astrofluff wrote: »
    Just looked at that video, Jesus Christ on a bike, who does he think he is. I'm all for promoting cycling and motoring safety but publishing people's face and their registrations is not cool. That's all his channel seems to be, a name and shame channel. He's a little uptight and needs to check himself.

Turns out the guy is question lost his father to a drunk driver so he has his reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Mod

Can we cut out the petty vendetta style posts against cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

He was stopped in traffic, what a little tosser - needs to get a life ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Whatever happened to that really angry cycling dude in Dublin who used to upload videos to YouTube? He had serious anger issues.

Turns out the guy is question lost his father to a drunk driver so he has his reasons
    TomSweeney wrote: »
    He was stopped in traffic, what a little tosser - needs to get a life ...

But hes not the one calling people names....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Whatever happened to that really angry cycling dude in Dublin who used to upload videos to YouTube? He had serious anger issues.

Was wondering the same about that gobsh1te as I read the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When Dash cams and helmet cams started off they were a good thing.
    However, Especially with the UK videos people are desperate to get hits on YouTube and social media.
    The cam driver will be driving/cycling down the road and they’ll see somebody coming out of a side road, changing lanes and they’ll continue to drive at the same speed and take no real evasive action until the last minute. They’ll then yell a few swears and blow there horn.
    I can see it ending badly some day for them but they’ll be fine they’ve it on camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

When Dash cams and helmet cams started off they were a good thing.
    However, Especially with the UK videos people are desperate to get hits on YouTube and social media.
    The cam driver will be driving/cycling down the road and they’ll see somebody coming out of a side road, changing lanes and they’ll continue to drive at the same speed and take no real evasive action until the last minute. They’ll then yell a few swears and blow there horn.
    I can see it ending badly some day for them but they’ll be fine they’ve it on camera.

you shouldn't need to take evasive action when a car pulls out from a side road. the car pulling out should leave sufficient room for that not to be necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

That dude on the bike weaving through traffic looked to have a hand held device, so is a effing danger to himself and others.
    As for texting in traffic, the same. When the traffic moves so do you WITHOUT looking in front of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

In the article it says the cyclist claims to have lost his father at the age of 19 in a motorist accident. Hence "why he records".

Honestly I don't believe that. It sounds like what an ars*hole says to excuse their behaviour. Am sure his father did die. Maybe even at 19. But a Car accident? Not buying it.

Sure didn't Batman's parents die when he was young too thus pushing him on the path to be the caped crusader :pac: what about Peter Parker and uncle Ben? Lol.

I think this guy might be a spacer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

was literally wondering about that guy when reading this thread. He was unreal, he used to be having mexican standoffs with motorists and the like. Always thought he wasnt quite right in the head.

This english guy seems to be on a crusade to do the polices work for them. In one of the videos linked he claims to be responsible for £35,000 odd of motoring fines in 2019 and stacks of penalty points too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Muahahaha wrote: »
    was literally wondering about that guy when reading this thread. He was unreal, he used to be having mexican standoffs with motorists and the like. Always thought he wasnt quite right in the head.

This english guy seems to be on a crusade to do the polices work for them. In one of the videos linked he claims to be responsible for £35,000 odd of motoring fines in 2019 and stacks of penalty points too

I always thought he was a Boards.ie user going around with his cards yelling out peoples number plate numbers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

"putting your life on the line"

Give over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Ritchie had already accumulated 9 points for driving offences. This pushed him up to 12 and resulted in the ban. I wouldn't have much sympathy for him, he seems to have difficulty in understanding/obeying road traffic legislation. Its probably best that he's not driving.

In the article it says the cyclist claims to have lost his father at the age of 19 in a motorist accident. Hence "why he records".

Honestly I don't believe that. It sounds like what an ars*hole says to excuse their behaviour. Am sure his father did die. Maybe even at 19. But a Car accident? Not buying it.

Sure didn't Batman's parents die when he was young too thus pushing him on the path to be the caped crusader :pac: what about Peter Parker and uncle Ben? Lol.

I think this guy might be a spacer.

So you wont believe all he says, just some of it ?
    Why ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Wishing violence or even death on someone who poor little you finds annoying speaks volumes about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Give over.

maybe you should wake up my good man and look outside your bubble. I don't have a lot of good things to say about the Guards. A topic in itself. However it can be a tough job. I guess you must have missed this: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/killing-of-det-garda-colm-horkan-was-random-and-for-no-purpose-commissioner-1.4282551

What about this https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Garda%C3%AD_killed_in_the_line_of_duty

what about all the gardai stabbings etc. But hey, I guess I should give over, right? Being a gardai is easy according to you.
    greenspurs wrote: »
    So you wont believe all he says, just some of it ?
    Why ?

I've came across two types of spoofers in my life as I am sure many have. Some who spoof about anything and everything. All fairy tales. All in their head.
    Others who are "half truth" spoofers as I call them. Which are worse in my opinion. There's an element of truth to the lies. Like i dunno, someone saying how they were a barman in a strip club in spain for years. Riding the strippers and doing mad amount of drugs. Then you find out they were indeed in spain but for only 3 months and did a barman job for 3 weeks before they got the boot.

Now, be it full spoofer or half truth this guy clearly has not all his dogs barking by doing what he does. So I think he is a spoofer. Should we really be talking about what level of degree of spoofer? lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Wishing violence or even death on someone who poor little you finds annoying speaks volumes about you.

Ah, it's just impotent internet big talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,202 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If you are going to get all hot and bothered about poor, dangerous or illegal driving on the roads... the best you can do to enable you to throw your toys out of the pram is filming a dude checking messages on his phone for a minute while stuck in a long traffic jam ? Right, absolute fûckwit. Man is operating a bike without any due care or attention towards his fellow road users, he is careless, distracted and he is deliberately attempting to distract and harass the driver of the Range Rover.

If I get in a car now or jump on a bike, say a 2km round trip... I WILL for certain see people driving in contravention of the road traffic act. It’s not my job to police them, get their attention, start a conversation with them, to film them or otherwise. I’m just going to be responsible for myself, my own driving, get where I’m going legally, safely and without hinderance or distraction to my fellow road users, let the police , police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

This guy is preying on traffic jams in a way that not even the police would be willing to do because the public backlash would be understandable and loud.

In my Garda days, I did stop a good few people for driving while holding the phone, texting, etc (the offence in Ireland* is holding, not using, easily avoidable), but if I ever saw someone stopped in traffic doing that, i'd stop beside them, give them a couple of seconds to see if they realise there's a Garda staring at them. If they didn't, they'd get a quick flash of the lights, and a quick 'bwoop' from the siren. Used to love the look of pure fear they'd respond with. Made my day. Unless they were talking on the phone, I'd leave them off with the stare and finger wag, while trying to hold in my laughter. I'd also take the reg in case they did it again, you got one chance with me. Nearly as much fun as catching people shagging in the car at night.

Give over.

Because it happened in the UK, here's a list of all the UK officers killed in the line of duty: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_British_police_officers_killed_in_the_line_of_duty

Apt username though.

Anyway, there's no need for him to upload the videos, that just means he craves the attention and possibly money he gets from YouTube (I don't care enough to check if he gets enough views for that). If he really just wanted to highlight it, like others have said, he wouldn't show reg's or faces imo, but he also strikes me as someone who can't edit videos other than start/stop anyway.

I also don't understand the headphones while driving. Again as someone pointed out, he's in a fancy "jeep" which no doubt has all the mod cons of phone connectivity. People in older cars with no phone connectivity, maybe I can understand, but still dangerous to other road users (about as dangerous as those who want the entire population to hear what they're listening to).

*Unless it has changed in the last 4/5 years, I don't keep as up to date as I used to have to

Strumms wrote: »
    If you are going to get all hot and bothered about poor, dangerous or illegal driving on the roads... the best you can do to enable you to throw your toys out of the pram is filming a dude checking messages on his phone for a minute while stuck in a long traffic jam ? Right, absolute fûckwit. Man is operating a bike without any due care or attention towards his fellow road users, he is careless, distracted and he is deliberately attempting to distract and harass the driver of the Range Rover.

If I get in a car now or jump on a bike, say a 2km round trip... I WILL for certain see people driving in contravention of the road traffic act. It’s not my job to police them, get their attention, start a conversation with them, to film them or otherwise. I’m just going to be responsible for myself, my own driving, get where I’m going legally, safely and without hinderance or distraction to my fellow road users, let the police , police.

Its better to get 'all hot and bothered' on internet forums ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,264 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

You're supposed to be paying attention to what's going on around you when you stop, not catching up on your WhatsApp groups.

The person reporting @cyclingmikey is responsible for 574 penalty points and £35,400 in fines. He should be knighted.

It's a shame the Garda reporting processes here are so bloody awkward that it makes it very difficult to make such reports, let alone hear back the outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I dunno, I don't drive but this having one rule when in motion and exempt from rule when not in motion but still on the road in the driving seat, well that's not workable for me. You are still distracting yourself from what you're doing. What if someone responds when your are in motion later? Just going to completely ignore it? At the very least you have a convo going on in your mind whether you answer it or not, and that's a distraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

BillyBiggs wrote: »
    Without a camera stuck to his head, Ritchie would tear him a new asshole.

You make Ritchie sound like a right scumbag.

Maybe he needs locking up.

AllForIt wrote: »
    At the very least you have a convo going on in your mind whether you answer it or not, and that's a distraction.

I can have a handsfree phone call or respond to texts by voice while driving, what's the difference?

Also, a conversion in your head is a distraction?? you have to be kidding - we would never get out on the road at all if that was considered a distraction considering how many things are far more distracting we do every time we drive.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

I started using a camera to record my commute after an awful incident a year and a half ago.

A car pulled out under me while I was in a cycle lane tossing me onto the road. As I lay there dazed a car in the oncoming lane didn’t want to wait to see if I were dead and drove over me and off on their way. It was a busy junction with many cars waiting in traffic. Nobody stopped to help except the first driver who claims he didn’t see me. I was lit up like a bloody Xmas tree in a cycle lane. Just before that junction another driver veered into the cycle and mounted the footpath to undertake traffic and I had to slam on.

So now I record my 25km commute. The quality of driving by distracted, lazy and reckless drivers in Dublin is appalling. They run red lights constantly. They’re buried in their phones, they aggressively overtake, they park in mandatory cycle lanes, they park on footpaths. There’s a serious problem with driving standards in Ireland.

I’ve sent a few videos to traffic watch and I’ve had one result in a fine and penalty points and a couple of others in warnings.

Reading the responses here is disheartening, it’s just like the drink driving debate all over again. Put your ****ing phone away and drive properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I don't think he should be naming and shaming people, if he truly wants to be a simple activist then blur out faces/plates or it will lead to doxing etc. and communicate these things straight to police. He gets a kick, clearly, and revenue, from doing it this way though, so I have a low opinion of what he's doing. Even this recent video where he boasts in the thread title that you can read this woman's reasonably-private text conversation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCHKktml_XA (at the risk of giving this - person - more views).

All - people - like this, are going to do, is drive a change in the law, which should happen: texting while stationary shouldn't be considered a problem until its a problem. In motion, grand, make it an offense. If you're stationary and you're obstructing the flow of traffic, you didn't notice a light change, etc., grand, make it an offense. This guy is preying on traffic jams in a way that not even the police would be willing to do because the public backlash would be understandable and loud.

Holy fúck, the guy on the bike is an absolute arsehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Maybe he needs to do it as the police don't seem to be capable and a lot of drivers and cyclists seem to think the rules don't apply to them.

Why does anyone think it's acceptable to phone/text/WhatsApp just because their stopped at traffic lights/junctions?

You're still driving the car/cycling. It's not that difficult to keep the inane and pointless calls and text til later.

I can have a handsfree phone call or respond to texts by voice while driving, what's the difference?

Also, a conversion in your head is a distraction?? you have to be kidding - we would never get out on the road at all if that was considered a distraction considering how many things are far more distracting we do every time we drive.

Here's the difference:

From the RSA;
    The World Health Organisation report on ‘Mobile phone
    use: a growing problem of driver distraction’ states that phone conversations on a mobile are more distracting that conversations with passengers in the vehicle because: ‘passengers are more aware of the driving situation and road environment, and can moderate, adapt or delay the conversations during challenging driving circumstances, a phenomenon that does not occur during phone conversations.’

From down under:
    • CARRS-Q’s Advanced Driving Simulator enables researchers to study drivers in critical situations with a high degree of realism. Simulator-based research has been valuable to develop insights into our understanding of distracted driving and mobile phone use. Recent research findings include:
    ° Mobile phone conversations impair the reaction times of young drivers when confronted with a traffic event that originates in their peripheral vision (e.g. a pedestrian attempting to cross a road from the footpath).14,15
    ° The braking of mobile phone distracted drivers is abrupt or aggressive.16
    ° Drivers’ responses to traffic light changes at intersections are influenced by mobile phone conversations.17
    ° Mobile phone distraction impairs the speed selection, acceleration,
    deceleration and headway distance of drivers during car-following.18
    ° The safety margin during gap acceptance at roundabouts is lower for distracted drivers than non-distracted drivers.19
    ° Effects of hands-free and handheld mobile phone conversations tend to be similar for reaction time, speed selection, gap acceptance and braking behaviour of drivers, suggesting inattention rather than manual dexterity
    is a crucial factor.15,16,

Just concentrate on driving, would you please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

Having a look at his phone while stuck in traffic? Scandalous, he should be shot by firing squad.

A bit harsh perhaps? The usual penalty is fine, though given that he already had nine penalty points, it was a bit dumb to expose himself like that. Can he not afford a driver so he can text to his heart's content?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

There are now specific requirements in the UK. Looking at the screen is not illegal, you need to see interaction. There was a high court case that ended up setting it out.

https://thedrivingsolicitor.co.uk/2019/08/28/high-court-clarifies-the-law-in-2019-on-using-a-mobile-phone-whilst-driving/

The key part to what @CyclingMikey does is:

“performing an interactive communication function.”

He captures the drivers doing exactly this. Not glancing at their phone but prolonged usage. He has videos where he follows along side with cars as the zombie driver, head buried in phone, moves along in stop start traffic with significantly reduced reaction to the flow of traffic.

Not only is this extremely dangerous driving, he’s right by their window and they don’t see him so they’re not checking mirrors, they’re also contributing to congestion.

Maybe he needs to do it as the police don't seem to be capable and a lot of drivers and cyclists seem to think the rules don't apply to them.

Why does anyone think it's acceptable to phone/text/WhatsApp just because their stopped at traffic lights/junctions?

You're still driving the car/cycling. It's not that difficult to keep the inane and pointless calls and text til later.

Sitting in traffic is boring, the phone rarely leaves my hand when in stop start traffic as I’d be texting, reading the news, browsing boards etc (a not insignificant number of my posts have been while driving in slow traffic) etc. Thinking it’s dangerous to use your phone when stopped is just plain stupid, pc gone mad rubbish.

I also specifically “save” calls I have to make if I know I’ll be doing a long drive as it passes the time and is a very good use of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

5uspect wrote: »
    There are now specific requirements in the UK. Looking at the screen is not illegal, you need to see interaction. There was a high court case that ended up setting it out.

https://thedrivingsolicitor.co.uk/2019/08/28/high-court-clarifies-the-law-in-2019-on-using-a-mobile-phone-whilst-driving/

The key part to what @CyclingMikey does is:

“performing an interactive communication function.”

He captures the drivers doing exactly this. Not glancing at their phone but prolonged usage. He has videos where he follows along side with cars as the zombie driver, head buried in phone, moves along in stop start traffic with significantly reduced reaction to the flow of traffic.

Not only is this extremely dangerous driving, he’s right by their window and they don’t see him so they’re not checking mirrors, they’re also contributing to congestion.
    I take your point about congestion, but calling what Guy Ritchie did "extremely dangerous" is ludicrous. What is dangerous and causes congestion is blocking oncoming cars while on a bike, to the point where they are flashing you to get out of the way. Which is what happens in the video.