Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landlord in Cork in trouble for tenants house parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Crimsonred

Heckler wrote: »
    I used to live on Barrack street and thursday nights with the students were a nightmare. Shouting and roaring like animals from 10-4am. My bins kicked over, piss all over my door. Freshers and Rag week a special treat when it went up a notch.

Kids let loose from home for the first time, can't hold their drink or know their limits. I live about 1 km from college road now and can hear them when the wind is blowing in the right direction. Must be a head wreck for residents living there.

I was no saint when I was young but managed to behave more or less. Anyone doubting me take a drive up around Bandon/college road and try to restrain yourself from running over the tenth drunk idiot with a slab who steps in front of your car.

What we have had this summer is one long Freshers week which has been going on since late May, the residents are resigned to having hassle from September to May each year which spikes at certain times but having it all summer long now aswell seems to have finally cracked them.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

beauf wrote: »
    Don't see anyone defending the students in all this.

The Garda and the college shouldn't be turning a blind eye to this.

In comments on social media including (paraphrasing here) "what do you expect when you live close to a uni", "If you don't like it, move"

All UCC and CIT did was write a joint letter. A letter.
    Bet they were quaking in their shoes on receipt of that!

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

In comments on social media including (paraphrasing here) "what do you expect when you live close to a uni", "If you don't like it, move"

What do you suggest UCC do to the students?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Why is it up to a landlord to police a tennants behavior be it a student or any other tennant ?? Surely once you are an adult its time to take responsibilty for your own actions.

Because for the same reason its landlords of pubs that face objections to the renewal of their licenses, of course, individuals should have personal responsibility for their own behavior, in this case, it is not about that. I wonder is its an Irish thing the idea that you do not have to run a business in a professional manner and that its someone else's falt when things go wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭DubCount

What do you suggest UCC do to the students?

Maybe they could reduce their grades, or suspend them from their courses, or stop them sitting their exams, or kick them out of their college. They are probably better placed to impact the misbehaving children in their care than the landlord.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 repulsebay321

Hang on...how do we know the youths are students at UCC or CIT?

DubCount wrote: »
    Maybe they could reduce their grades, or suspend them from their courses, or stop them sitting their exams, or kick them out of their college. They are probably better placed to impact the misbehaving children in their care than the landlord.

Hmm so maybe your employer will fire you the next time you make a fool of yourself down at the local pub after work.

Why did they even go to the bother of writing a joint letter if it was just a bunch of randoms occupying the houses? Not students? Nothing to do with us mate.

DubCount wrote: »

UCC did have a system of fines for acting the arse. Probably only applies during academic year though.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Crimsonred

College students are a major part of the mix, their friends too maybe and even some youths who would be leaving cert students, this is not in dispute.

I know people from Cork city and county whose kids have moved into the College road area for the summer.

With rooms available in a house share from as little as €50 per week it's tempting for them.

This is just a stopgap for landlords until college kicks in again.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Judge orders landlord of Covid party house to take steps to reduce noise levels
    Hah. It's a farce! The tenant knows that they can't be evicted, so will party on. The judge can fine the landlord, but the landlord can't do squat!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Hmm so maybe your employer will fire you the next time you make a fool of yourself down at the local pub after work.
    Not the same thing. Not at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭YellowBucket

Suckit wrote: »

How’s it not the same thing? The university is a service provider, not a parental figure and the student are adults.

If they’re causing major disturbances they should be evicted and/or charged with breech of the peace.

We are far too tolerant of this kind of stuff and it creates a living hell for neighbours.

If you’re over 18, you’re an adult and it’s long overdue that some of these people started to realise that there are responsibilities to living in a neighbourhood.

I still think we are infantilising grown adults when it comes to this. They’re not school kids going a bit wild. They’re fully grown adults engaging in serious anti social behaviour.

It’s no different from the problem family down the road who create havoc. We just excuse it because we’ve some notion that it’s grand as long as you’re a student.

You see exactly the same thing with an element of the J1 summer trips and a serious culture clash between Irish tolerance of drunken, loud, antisocial behaviour from student houses coming face to face with American law enforcement and shock at this behaviour.

We put up with a lot of utterly yobbish behaviour here, particularly when it comes to wild drunken parties.

Even beyond student stuff, I gave up on Irish apartment living due to loud mid week parties from two sets of neighbours who weren’t students. I’ve also had people wandering into my garden from neighbours parties in a house. Woke up to find drink cans and glasses all over my back garden as a neighbours party spilled over the fence and when we tackled it we were told to f### off by his guests!

We’ve a huge problem here with this kind of stuff and we won’t even admit it never mind tackle it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭housetypeb

the_syco wrote: »
    Hah. It's a farce! The tenant knows that they can't be evicted, so will party on. The judge can fine the landlord, but the landlord can't do squat!

It is a farce.
    What happens if the parties continue as the landlord goes through the RTB process to evict?
    He could be up in court every week,racking up fines as the RTB ponders on it.

How is it not the same thing? Whether you like it or not this is taking place at PRIVATE properties. This isn’t accommodation owned by UCC.

How’s it not the same thing? The university is a service provider, not a parental figure and the student are adults.
    How is it not the same thing? Whether you like it or not this is taking place at PRIVATE properties. This isn’t accommodation owned by UCC.
    This is not somebody making a fool of themselves down the pub.
    Colleges around the World often have a disciplinary code or practice for students that are living on or off campus and are deemed to bring the college into disrepute.

I would imagine these tyopes of parties during lockdown are the perfect example of that, and the college should be seen to be doing something, unless the college itself doesn't mind being seen in a not so flattering light.
    The LL should not be held accountable, but is aware of what his rights are and what he can do.

I would like to know if the college itself has taken any steps, assuming that they are students that are renting it. Imo they should.

Colleges around the world don’t. American colleges do and they tend to treat 45 year olds like they’re in junior infants.

A university in Ireland quite literally has no interaction with students at that level.

I don’t think many people commenting on this understand just how distant the relationship is between traditional universities and students. It’s nothing like a school.

They present lectures. They offer tutorials and labs. You’re expected to motivate yourself, study, research and be interested in what you’re doing. If you don’t turn up, or don’t motivate yourself, they don’t see that as their problem at all. You simply fail the exams / continuous assessment and if you do that more than a few times you can’t continue. If you fail and repeat a year you also pay substantial fees to do so.

There are student support services on a drop in basis in most universities, but that’s all they are.

Beyond that, if you went missing for 6 months they might just about notice but in less hands on courses they actually might not unless you didn’t show up for exams. The relationship with your gym or cinema is about as close.

There’s no context to police this. There’s no legal basis for the university to do that either and you’re asking them to step into policing adults lives in their own private business.

Unfortunately this is an issue that needs to be dealt with by the Gardai & the landlords. The fact that we don’t deal with it is a societal and political failure, not a university issue.

The problem causing this is an overall Irish tolerance for extreme antisocial behaviour around people getting off their faces drunk and going nuts. We are very quick to sneer at English tourists in Spain for doing stuff like this but we do EXACTLY the same thing, but sure aren’t we great craic?

We need to take a look at ourselves sometimes and stop thinking our drunken puke smells like roses. It really doesn’t.

The LL should not be held accountable, but is aware of what his rights are and what he can do.

Why should the landlord not be in any way accountable for making sure that he’s housing respectable, empathetic young adults? Why are the students even down there in the first place? We’re in the middle of a pandemic and it’s questionable whether college will even resume in September. Why doesn’t the landlord look for proof of working / pay slips to show that they’re not going to be messing about?

mariaalice wrote: »
    Because for the same reason its landlords of pubs that face objections to the renewal of their licenses, of course, individuals should have personal responsibility for their own behavior, in this case, it is not about that.

Pubs and domestic rentals are not the same thing,in a pub the landlord,or his agents, are there and in charge so can be held to account, in a private rental the landlord is prohibited from being there and should not interfere with his tenants choice of how to live their life in their own home.

mariaalice wrote: »
    I wonder is its an Irish thing the idea that you do not have to run a business in a professional manner and that its someone else's falt when things go wrong.

Sure,you're guilty of that yourself, blaming the landlord for others' faults.
    If the tenants don't behave like good neighbors is that down to the tenant or the landlord?

Colleges around the world don’t. American colleges do and they tend to treat 45 year olds like they’re in junior infants.

Colleges around the world do.

UK, Australia, USA, etc.
    Ireland does as well. For the most part, they don't have to discipline anyone, this is a different level. This is the perfect example of why they have them.
    https://www.ucc.ie/en/buslaw/currentstudents/rules/

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30966017.html

Colleges around the world do.

UK, Australia, USA, etc.
    Ireland does as well. For the most part, they don't have to discipline anyone, this is a different level. This is the perfect example of why they have them.
    https://www.ucc.ie/en/buslaw/currentstudents/rules/

https://lfpress.com/2017/11/07/western-university-probing-one-students-behavior-at-fake-homecoming-bash/wcm/b0d5260c-0c6d-0673-30cf-9aa477d86a36

A $55,000 policing bill and 11,000 students on one street at a university in Canada. That’s a different level. Not maybe 50-100 students of a 25,000 student college.

I'm not sure you are reading what I am saying, It comes across like you are agreeing with me, that link is proving my point that colleges around the world do have disciplinary codes.
    As does this one linked above in Cork - https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30966017.html
    This one in Queens Belfast - https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-50580167

It goes on and on. You can look up loads of them. The point is, they exist, and should be called upon to act here.

The issue with that is you’re asking a university to take on a whole load of duties, responsibilities and serious legal risks.

Let’s just say a university disciplines someone in a way that damages their grades, reputation or anything else. They would have to have a procedure that guarantees due process. A quality of evidence that proves guilt beyond reasonable doubt. They would need to be prepared to have an appeals process and be open to judicial review. If they make any errors such as identifying the wrong person, they could be expensively sued, including for defamation.

You can’t just go in like a school principal shouting the odds and threatening detention anymore than an employer could do or a service provider like a gym.

If someone gets charged and convicted of an antisocial behaviour type crime that’s a different story and in that case you could probably safely move to cancel someone’s membership of the university.

What your asking is impossible. A university can’t be judge, jury and executioner when it comes to what someone does in a private house, not on university campus or property and in a private capacity, not claiming to represent or actually representing the university.

In many cases like this nobody’s even sure who the people involved are. They might be students. They might be people of student type age. They might be guests. You could end up being the student living in a house with a chaotic party who ends up being identified and landing in trouble with the university, despite having nothing to do with it.

It’s a legal minefield and it’s very different to on campus accommodation or what may happen in the USA.

The issue needs to be adequately addressed by the Gardai & the landlords. It’s not really something that the universities are equipped to deal with and the circumstances around student accommodation here are often very casual arrangements.

The reality is that throwing a wild party in a house in Ireland usually has absolutely no consequences and nobody intervenes. That isn’t the case in most other European countries or North America. You’d find the police would be along and there would be serious risks of being criminally charged.

You can’t just go in like a school principal shouting the odds and threatening detention anymore than an employer could do or a service provider like a gym.

Or a landlord? He just supplied the house.
    ...If someone gets charged and convicted of an antisocial behaviour type crime that’s a different story and in that case you could probably safely move to cancel someone’s membership of the university.

What your asking is impossible. A university can’t be judge, jury and executioner when it comes to what someone does in a private house, not on university campus or property and in a private capacity, not claiming to or representing the university.

It’s a legal minefield and it’s very different to on campus accommodation or what may happen in the USA.

The issue needs to be adequately addressed by the Gardai & the LANDLORDS.

Why is the landlord treated differently than the university? All that's true for the university is true for the landlord.
    The guards should issue fines or penalties for breaking the law to those actually breaking the law, and then the landlord uses that to evict, is how it should go.

The issue is taking place on the landlord's premises and in breech of any normal lease. The university is a third party.

The assumption being made is that the university has some kind of duty of care and responsibility for students behaviour in their own private lives outside of any kind of university context.

Should they also be reported to their mobile phone operators and banks who should take disciplinary action? I mean the bank may well have processed transactions for the beer and the party could well have been organised by virtue of the fact that they all have mobile phones. Should their employers be informed and take responsibility for their staff if they've part time jobs / summer jobs? Should the parents of adults be involved?

The dispute is with between the neighbours and the property owner and his tenants. That's a fairly clear line of responsibilities and it would seem that's what the court has followed. That's nothing new and it's not unusual for a landlord to be expected to have some degree of oversight of how their property is being used and maintained.

The issue with that is you’re asking a university to take on a whole load of duties, responsibilities and serious legal risks.

Let’s just say a university disciplines someone in a way that damages their grades, reputation or anything else. They would have to have a procedure that guarantees due process. A quality of evidence that proves guilt beyond reasonable doubt. They would need to be prepared to have an appeals process and be open to judicial review. If they make any errors such as identifying the wrong person, they could be expensively sued, including for defamation.

If someone gets charged and convicted of an antisocial behaviour type crime that’s a different story and in that case you could probably safely move to cancel someone’s membership of the university.

What your asking is impossible. A university can’t be judge, jury and executioner when it comes to what someone does in a private house, not on university campus or property and in a private capacity, not claiming to represent or actually representing the university.

In many cases like this nobody’s even sure who the people involved are. They might be students. They might be people of student type age. They might be guests. You could end up being the student living in a house with a chaotic party who ends up being identified and landing in trouble with the university, despite having nothing to do with it.

The issue needs to be adequately addressed by the Gardai & the landlords. It’s not really something that the universities are equipped to deal with and the circumstances around student accommodation here are often very casual arrangements.

The reality is that throwing a wild party in a house in Ireland usually has absolutely no consequences and nobody intervenes. That isn’t the case in most other European countries or North America. You’d find the police would be along and there would be serious risks of being criminally charged.

All nonsense, but let's just say that a college knows how to take the correct action upon students that break their rules and/or practice anti-social behaviour.
    This, I believe is a lot more serious though.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭RCSATELLITES

I found it strange as well that the landlord was taken to Court and not the tenants?
    Perhaps it was that he turned a blind eye to it and should have issued them with warnings/ start the eviction process and failed to do that allowing it to go on longer then it should?
    I feel so sorry for the residents there constantly having to deal with college eejits hopefully the pup payments will stop for them and with college possibly taking place online they might feck off home and torment their parents instead

Have the garda or council been brought to court for not doing anything?.

All nonsense, but let's just say that a college knows how to take the correct action upon students that break their rules and/or break the anti-social laws.

So basically what you're saying is that if you go to a university, as an adult in Ireland, you'd want the university to act in loco parentis ? These are not minors. They're fully fledged adults who happen to be in 3rd level education. They're at a stage in life where they can vote, sit on a jury, marry, have serious jobs, run businesses, sit as directors of companies, raise children, sign contracts...

We are talking about adults here, not children. There should be no "ah but they're students" opt out from the law.

If you throw a wild party in your house or perhaps your family members or housemates do, will your employer intervene? Or, would you find that acceptable? Perhaps a meeting with HR and maybe demotion or loss of employment?

There's a legal basis for the landlord to intervene as it's a condition of the lease.
    There's also a legal basis for the Gardai and the local authority to intervene. However, in Ireland it's grand and that almost never happens.

It's not the same thing at all.
    And yes, I agree that they should be brought to court themselves, but the college has it's own rules that everyone that attends it must abide by.
    If those laws include anti-social behaviour and bringing the name of the college into disrepute, then they can and should take action.
    An employer/employee relationship is not the same thing at all.

In what way is it not the same. You can bring your employers name into disrepute if "a group of people associated with (Insert Name of Company here) caused a disturbance".

If that ends up in the paper, do you expect your employer to take action such as suspending your employment, demoting you or possibly terminating your employment?

Would you expect your local GAA club to kick you out?

Or, would that be a private organisation extending its reach into your personal life?

The university would be stepping into an argument between two third parties because one of those parties happens to be one of its students. I don't really see how that's reasonable tbh.

You're talking about basically requiring a university to take legal responsibility for the behaviour of its students in their private and personal lives, which is one hell of a stretch of responsibilities and also an enormous overhead to inflict on it and also a rather huge intrusion on people's personal lives.

It just seems that the appropriate routes are the Gardai, the City Council (noise pollution etc) and the landlord (owns premises + has T&Cs about how that premises can be used in the lease).