If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,008 ✭✭✭straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,853 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Looks value but will probably make 30-50% minimum above the guide price. Looks like a bit if a scrub issue on part of it but looks a decent bit of ground. Fairly good sheds. At 6.3k an acre it would be costing you a million Inc stamp duty and legal fees. If you had a youngster that was a young trained farmer you'd have 23k of a sfp. The vacant house grant would come into play

A mulcher for a week would make ĺa fine job of the place. If you had a decent house worth half a million ( not outrageous around that area) a bit of savings, maybe an investment property you could have a right cut at it. Heard a story of a lad that paid 750k for 55 acre. Some lad said it was expensive to him, your man replied it was only the price of a house. Not sure I would totally agree with him but it's another way of looking at it.

But if I could gather 700k I would have no issue having a cut at that place. I be disappointed if it fails to make up towards a million........sure there us a lot of Kerry group share money floating around

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

It's still priced at 1.5 times pre covid.

Highest and last farm on the road and clapped up to the neighbours yard, it'd want to be cheap and local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭ginger22

Only fit for forestry. Might be in an SAC so might,t be allowed plant. It never stops raining back there.

A handy outfarm for nitrates. Plenty acres if it is within 30km. Sheds seem OK. Tourism potential. It would raise away the few replacements or fr bull calves. Nice area but gets flooded with jackeens on their way to dingle. The house has alot of potential too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

You'd struggle to grow stock well on that kind of a farm, and those kind of houses are moneypits.

There's smoke coming out the chimney. Price of houses around there and air bnb is crazy. Even that stone shed in the yard has a chimney and windows. Sorry I told ye all here now. I might check it out at the weekend.

I'd say you're safe enough. Best of luck with your retirement home. :)

I'd say we're getting near the top of the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,853 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I see very little wrong with it for the money. There is furze on it generally an indication that it is dry underneath. As the expression goes in parts of Limerick "you are close to the rock". Fence it, put 30 water trounghs on it, mulch anìd spray the scrub ( Grazon 90 is your friend) and I cannot see why you would not slaughter 80-100 cattle a year off it. Yes a lot of tidying up. It's advertised at 4.5k/ acre. You will have to go to nearly 7k/ acre IMO to buy it. If comes south of 6/kac it's great value. 20k would do a lot tiding up the sheds and yard. If you are not using TAMS for anything else it makes the fencing and roadway very cheap. Because there is sheds and slurry capacity you can go to 220kgN/ HA beyond the 30km anyway.

Too many see the problems, most problems are solvable,

Those sort of place will not drop much in value. Forestry land is 5+an acre AFAIK . It puts a base under all land suitable or not. You could sell the farmhouse for 150k. Those sheds are capable of being small holiday units probably 2 to 3 units a couple of studio units and a two or three bed unit.

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭dmakc

A favourable move in terms of calf nitrates being 1kg for first 3 months and 20kg from there until 12 months. Instead of 24kg, to hold a calf for a year now works out at 18kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mike3215

For context 35 acres Urlingford county kilkenny made 895000 today at auction. Split by a main road aswell so not even in one block

For context the climate in Urlingford would be much kinder than up the mountain in Aunascaul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭older by the day

A farmer used of land, would starve in places like these. But there must have been great work going on there to keep those boggy hills green.

When I was doing my three months for the green cert, I worked on a real good dry farm, dairy/tillage. It was a complete eye-opener to see how much extra work and being so careful to keep land like myown green. Drainage, fertilizer ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I covered the whole lot with urea this week and I can honestly say I have never seen things looking this bad.since 2022 we have been restricting the amount of bag we spread due to price and then regulations and I think it's coming home to roost.grass just dosent have the vigour it used to have to withstand periods of poor growth,wet/dry/cold weather and difficult traffic conditions and winter growth is much less than it was and swards are much less dense than they were and i noticed it has become more difficult to maintain reseeds .this applies more so where land quality is poorer and I suspect that the days of lads make a living off poorer quality land are numbered as many of the tools used in the battle to survive in poorer land are being restricted.bass mentioned fattening 100 cattle on the farm in an annascaul but the only way you fattened cattle in that place is out of a bag.there just isn't fat in that type of land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,311 ✭✭✭cosatron

in all fairness, the hurricane burnt the place, especially when there was allot of salt from the sea in the gusts. it's going to take time to recovery.

17413481101618276502238359631529.jpg

For context, beats the side of a mountain for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭older by the day

Thats the only grass that grew here last week, and that's because he was inside at 20 degrees. You need heat to drive grass, temperatures are low so far

I didn't even reply to the post about fattening cattle in the bog. He's away with the mixer.

Fellas in good land are clueless, on about mulching, and he getting bogged every hour. 18.6.12 and rushes spray, and clear the mouth of every drain annually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭dmakc

I would imagine this year. It wouldn't make sense to continue calling them 24kg when it's known to be false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

True will make a nice difference to the lads in calf the beef systems

Sure that place is a completely different offering and three times the price. I actually know that but of land and it is actually not far off the side of a mountain with the height of it. Plenty poetic licence from the auctioneer and nowhere near the same value or potential as the other option imho.

The thing is peat soil requires the least amount of fertilizer of any soil type yet the idiots want to re wet it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I think we ll soon be finding out how much fertiliser peat soils need.look I ve no doubt you could do alot with the place and to be fair it does look like the people here and in the neighbours place were trying but you d want a bit of a stomach for a battle.you re not talking about bringing back land ,you're talking about making land

I wasnt referring to that farm. You would be insane to bring that much misery on yourself. I was referring to lowland drained peat. It is the most fertilizer efficient land available yet the powers that be want to re wet it.

I was at a discussion group meeting during the week. Well It was more of a lecture than a discussion tbh. No more advice about the bag of urea in January, the 500kg cow producing 500kg Ms off 500kg meal never materialised. The small crossbred and stock them high advice is gone too. It's all clover now, didn't work last year but we're going to keep talking about it anyway. It works great in solohead with a Ph of 7 apparently. Sexed semen is like a new discovery to them and a perfect solution to the calf issue. The host farmer is a good farmer in fairness and follows all the teagasc playbook and supplied about 350kgMs in the Co-Op report. Not too many lads taking the teagasc advice seriously at this stage I would think. It's grand with a dollop of salt like but not on its own.

Much the same price no?

I thought the Ovens bit looked like good land but I'd be far from that neck of the woods.

If you're spending that big you'd want to make sure of the sums?

47 × 20k vs 147 x 6k (and value at that according to our in house agricultural answer to Eddie Hobbs)

Sure if you fancy the place it's worth it, I was only looking at the offering.

I won't be bidding on either

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭WoozieWu

most teagasc advice for the last 5 years has been propaganda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,315 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Choosing clover/mss/ and protected urea as their hills to die on, just prefaces that their not a farmers advisory body anymore, their a government vehicle, to help implement emissions reducing policies and f**k the impact on farms, doctoring research findings, lying about protected urea during last summer when their was obvious quality issues and then doubling down on the above when it came to light