Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I probably my should have worded it better. I admire a farmer who has acquired the funds for land purchase from his own efforts, what ever that be. Those are the sort of lads I’d be picking there brains on stuff

I wouldn’t be putting anyone on a pedestal that bought land through motorway money, inherited a ball of cash etc or is a non farmer looking for an investment etc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭morphy87

great post and one thing about you,your always very honest and it comes to your figures and breakdown costs

• Registered Users Posts: 18,380 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

No matter what I was an underbidder on I was never bitter about/with the lad that bought it. I was often annoyed I did not go a bit more myself after. However a year or two later something better fell into my lap.

Slava Ukrainii

Bass, my folks have bought land in their time. I know well what’s involved They started out themselves with nothing and atm they’re signing me over a business worth an awful lot of money

The fact I have machinery has nothing to do with it, a lot of it historical and once you have it it’s a lot easier and less costly to change them. I wouldnt like to be fully reliant on a contractor for everything, that’s just me

I’d be fair stuck with out the zero grazer this year. It’s allowed me turn grass off a newly rented farm that cows can’t walk to into milk very quickly and all I’ve put on what I’m zero grazing is lime, slurry and fert. It filled what could have been a very costly fodder deficit with my own feed instead of buying, I’d rather to not have to do it but I’m very happy I have it

My time time will come when something suitable comes up.I jumped through all the hoops last year to try buy 50 ac out of a 200 ac farm near by to us here. Only for the fact the farm was sold in the entire we would have had a fair crack at it. For a business that’s paying for every acre it’s farming and has done alot of cap ex in the last 6 years I think it’s a fair achievement to be getting that type of money approved

Congratulations on your purchase and I hope it’s lucky for you. I should have worded my post better and it wasn’t directed at you

• Registered Users Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭straight

Ya, I was brought up to believe that the highest bidder wins fair and square. There are plenty people out there that believe they have a right to something because they are boundsing it or renting it or stuff like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,976 ✭✭✭alps

• Registered Users Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭ginger22

Behind every good man there is a good woman, she obviously wasn't idle either seen as she chipped in. Have one of those here too.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaymla627

At a hypothetical nitrates of 170kgs/n ha, your projected yearly land costs given up in cashflow projections must of been in the 15-20 cent a litre range, when getting approval,

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Just for the crack.which do people think will be the better investment in 10 or 20 years time ,land or a house.i suspect that land is in alittle bubble at the minute and if the tax law was to change we would see a return to bank financing of land in commercial way rather just people with money to invest.land sold near us recently and the going rate for land rent would pay roughly 15 % of just the interest nevermind the principle.and that's not a once off.i m aware of 2 more at similar values.

This lad was been sold as a fresh semen option this year, fr7904, his dams milk recording for 1st lactation are really poor

Its crazy the above bull made it into ai, the weather been blamed for plunging milk production i reckon is only half the story, breeding heifers of the above will handily knock a couple of 100 litres of your herd average

• Registered Users Posts: 11,155 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

a glorified goat …% excellent but only a small drop of milk to carry it ….milk sub index figure is ridiculous ….and also yet another pivotal son

Has to be a rental house, brother bought a nice 3 bedroom house in town last year for 160k, had 30k deposit...

His mortgage is circa 800 a month and hes getting 1500 renting it out, hes not even in the country at the minute, is in australia, rental income is easily covering mortgage/tax/repairs/maintance etc

No doubt there is fair muck in the catalogue. I'm still using some American here Fr7824. Used my own Ai bull a good bit, and some local bulls that are around for a few years and their figures are holding to some degree. Fr7929, Fr5803, Fr7860. Some of my top used bulls the last couple of years. Fr4482 made fine cows. Not huge milk but a fine strong cow.

Fr9016, Fr9316 are two newer bull I used this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭visatorro

Fair going. Wouldn't buy a set of gates around here for 160k. Just be afraid of the one wrong bad egg moving in. Tenant has a lot of rights in this country. Some of them rightly so, other not so much. I know someone who was renting out a house to a civil servant for cash. She basically started to blackmail him saying she'd report him to revenue etc if he didn't lower the rent and various demands.

Is it more generational. Older people would veer towards land. Younger people go with something they think they will get a quicker return from? Older and wiser perhaps

• Registered Users Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Grueller

Older and wiser or an ingrained desire for land that's not there with younger generations?

we’ve 2 years mortgage payments left on home place. We were simply just replacing it again

What intrest rates

It was a repo house, theirs a rule that the local council cant buy the above, it would of been snapped up by them otherwise, he's cute enough has the 3 rooms rented out to 3 friends/friends of friends that where vouched for….

Its unbeliveable the amount of enquiries he had for the place, theirs no rental houses locally available at all

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭Kerry2021

Rental properties leave land absolutely for dead.

The first houses I bought 7 years ago are yielding me 25% per year what they originally cost and they’ve more than tripled in value and the tenants in those houses absolutely never ever contact me and they have never been late with the rent, not once.

The other houses I bought in more recent years since then are worth 50% more today than what I paid them for and are yielding me around 10% of their original cost.

Don’t get me wrong though, land is an absolutely excellent investment as well. What makes land such a good investment is the way it allows the transfer of wealth from one generation to the next, it’s virtually tax free if done right.

Basically if a person is in their 20’s, 30’s or 40’s they’re better off buying rental properties but if they’re in their 60’s or 70’s they’re better off buying land in case they die

Rent pressure zones kind of finished the whole thing for investors unless you have a new property. I'm letting my place 1000 euro per month under the market price. And interest is gone up 7k per year on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,363 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I think alot of landlords are very disillusioned with it all. Tenants seens to have too many rights. We're dealing with a total bitch in our rental atm. Working our way through getting her out , hopefully in October. Dont need the stress tbh. There's a new database between rental companies now blacklisting tenants, so people dont get caught out with them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Unfortunately I can relate.

Myself and herself are accidental landlords for a house we bought as a family home in 2007. It's out of negative equity now, nearly 20 years later but that's another story.

The first tenant paid nothing and stole everything that wasn't nailed down. She even took the coal bunker. The estate agent who was supposed to be looking after it for us got his receptionist/secretary to send her an eviction letter but she got the details wrong, giving her 24 days notice instead of 28. She went to the PTRB and we spent months trying to get her out. The PTRB took the case to court so we didn't have to - don't ask me how it all works!

All the tenants since then have been grand but you're always just a phone call away for a broken lawnmower, leaking tap, a new dog/cat moving in, rent being late, etc.

The house will eventually leave us a few bob but given the chance, I'd invest in land now. There might be less money out of it, but cows and cattle are easier to deal with than people.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 29,363 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

This tenant had us run ragged, final straw came this time last year, when my dad blew a fuse. She has only realised now there are no houses to rent and definitely none that will take a dog. She's also on single mother's payment and has been married a few years. The main reason my dad accepted her as a tenant was she was supposedly a single mother with 3 kids. She couldn't lie straight in bed...

If you threatened a call to the social re the above youd get her at quicker id say, is the husband working our a dole head, they take the above extremely serious, no a case where a friend was seeing a single mother like above and actual married her, but a neighbour reported them to welfare a few months into the realationship and she lost her hap payment over it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Maybe she's milking that off under 200kgs of supplementary feed, and or maybe she's on a heavy fatm that had an early winter and ropey silage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭cosatron

that's an average of 14 litres a day for 299 days. so she peaked at 20 litres and dried up at september but f*ck it she goes in calf first services and doesn't affect my 6 weeks calving pattern so thats all that matters

This lady from the same herd

100kgs ms in the differance for 1st lactation ,theirs no rhyme our reason to the sire selection process in ireland its a lucky dip/throw **** at the wall and some of it will stick

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭Kerry2021

What do the rest of ye think this farm is worth? €1.6 million looks cheap when it’s only 59km from Dublin City (according to the advert itself anyway). 97 acres of what looks like the best of land and a mansion

https://www.property.ie/commercial-property/Monasteroris-On-C-97-Acres-Edenderry-Co-Offaly/19494300/

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/an-bord-pleanala-refuses-permission-for-kildare-dairy-farm/

We really are turning into socialist eutophia, with whats installed in goverment, goverment funded ngo's and civil servants with clear policies to destroy agriculture going forward