If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

i hope it keeps going well for you and the bin of meal last the year.

Glanbia have dumped this years peak management policy for 2022 altogether now

https://www.glanbiaconnect.com/news/glanbia-removes-peak-milk-limits-for-2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Getting extremely hard to take anything they say seriously now going forward, every second f**King week its something else they decide to change/abandoned, the new milk payment crap, that anyone you talk to reckons it's a balls of a set-up, they've got everything they wished for re slashing supply, and if they had any wit they'd scrap the scheme altogether, you'd get savage odds in paddy Power that 2023 will mirror this year re milk volumes our might track lower again if anything, but their still trying to tell themselves they'll get their extra half a billion litres by 2025 to even justify the new plant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Maybe fact other co ops aren't increasing much they can handle the extra milk. See lots of different trucks in Nenagh. Would arrabawn get much for processing that milk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

My pto powerwasher is gone poor power wise filters all clean does the turbo nossel wear over time I have it about 6 years only doing few weeks work a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Gillespy

My experience is they stop spinning when there's wear in them. Be worth testing it with a known good lance to see if it's the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Surprised at drop in milk, outside of glanbia suppliers, few wet weeks in middle of spring but not the worst spring weather wise. Lads holding back the kg or two on ration with the price maybe along with the price of culls more heading for road that may normally be kept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Grass growth was poor enough up till a week ago in parts of the country, definitely here in North Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Worth feeding atm with 0.40 c a kg to 50+c a litre...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,322 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bull gone in with cows this evening, did 4 weeks ai. Still calving though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭straight

1 week of AI nearly down here. It's a viscous cycle. Grass is flying. Best spring ever around here I'd say. Will start breeding the heifers Monday.

Started last tues, if they keep coming as they are it will go well, bar the full crush that walked out the side gate some bollix left open 🤦 all heifers will be done Wednesday. Week later than last year starting. First cut should be on in the next week hopefully as well

Waiting on a lad to come put in a new water system. Do ye put bases under the troughs or just put them straight down? 300gln top fill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Is it used slates they use under water troughs

Got a load of 804 for mine but didn't use that much of it. A few shovels under each trough to level it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Usually put some 804 under them here, makes it very easy to level them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭older by the day

Aaaah,,,,, tbc 5, cell count 65... Got a text thermoduric is 1400. First month that there is a fine in the coop. Water temp for the tank washing is only reaching 43 ( max temp on the tank clock). I suppose that's it. I must get a plumber. I'm chlorine free for a year. No problems up to now. Any one this problem. Would something like this fix the problem https://www.mccabefeeds.com/product/hydrosan-liquid-25kg-asepto-cool?gclid=Cj0KCQjwsdiTBhD5ARIsAIpW8CI0wGJjhoWSuBAEFjHMqSDyNBzl_fh7_nFR06aXcf-oUFe33j_ue2AaAiGwEALw_wcB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

once had a termo problem,acid descaler sorted it ,as had not being using it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Gillespy

aka milk stone remover. Fell out of the routine of using it and thermo exploded.

43 degrees on the tank display isn't bad is it. That's about the range our one gets to I think.

How's breeding going for everyone. I've one week down and was a bit disappointed. Felt that some heats were weak and short. Some first calvers were due after their pre heat but never came in to heat. I ran the figures and it turns out I got 30% so that's ok. Starting the heifers today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Wouldn't fill a lad with much confidence, it's like looking at a 3 card trick

16521869797246557689449930283828.jpg

Day 8 at 37% served going well enough, still have a few only calved 2 weeks so would be going well to hit the 90%. Number of cows i won't serve either. Heifers synced will be served 2moro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

day 16 here this morning, just over 80% done

we scanned 9 cows prebreeding, 5 needed intervention with wash out and pg or cidr programme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Day 5 here, 28%. Synced the heifers and did them all yesterday

First year using collars, be interesting to see how they get on. The app tells you what hour of heat they are on and gives you a window for conventional and sexed services, keeping track of that to see if theres any pattern

6BAED920-9391-4A36-A641-8E6D7E6898A6.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Can anyone answer me a question thats wrecking my head. Were all paid A+B-C=CPL which is perfect. Coop send a text saying your getting x cpl this month, but how do you calculate what they are actually paying per kg of protein and per kg of fat?

So we'll say coop is paying 50cpl, A (3.3% P) + B (3.6% F) - 4 = 50 How do we find out the actual value of A and B at standard constituents?

😣

It should be on your statement, coops have slightly different weightings for bf and p.

That's dairygold for last March

Do you ai twice a day? Only do oad here. Dont quiet understand why the sexed optimum period isn't somewhere within the conventional optimum period?

Ya, I’m close enough to the AI man so he picks me up on his way out in the morning and evening.

Not sure either, I was always told your odds of having a heifer were greater the later you AI’d but you’d think that wouldn’t be relevant when it’s 90% female. Allflex reckon this is what their data shows works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

What Kerry give is the following

"The Maximum Attainable Price at 3.30% Protein and 3.60% Butterfat is 47.028 CPL (VAT Inc.)" but on the breakdown it gives the value of

(A)Prot @ €8.0464/Kg (B)Bfat @ €5.3643/Kg. I can't seem to figure out where this value comes from based on the CPL for the month. Without knowing the value of the protein per month and value of the fat is there anyway to calculate how much we are actually getting for A or B?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,531 ✭✭✭tanko

It is, it’s towards the end of it. Apparently because of the process it goes through, sexed semen doesn’t survive as long as conventional in the cow so Ai’ing too early with sexed will result in the semen being dead by the time the egg arrives, “too late” is usually better than “too early” with conventional too. You don’t have to be as particular with the timing of conventional because it survives a lot longer in the cow.

The advice with sexed seems to be am/am and pm/pm instead of am/pm and pm/am with conventional.

For your base price its:

€8.0464 x 3.3% = 26.553c

+

€5.3643 x 3.6% = 19.3115c

less your volume charge, plus your VAT and any bonuses gives you the base price

If your protein is 3.7% then it goes to

€8.0464 x 3.7% = 29.772c