Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know where we're going, but it can only be 5K away

• Registered Users Posts: 22,235 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

It’s D day in the land of Auto, mr auditor seems grand so far but wait till he starts reading my reports :D

Hope everyone is keeping well :)

In werk. A grand day on the capital. Counting the days to our little break in Kerry. Pints without needing food!! Oh the excitement :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

Work. Clock watching for the Apple event at 6 :D

Just home from work ,I haven't seen any news or headlines yet.

My own view on the covid situation is everything seems to be 'the government ' , people can't seem to decide anything for themselves, it's ridiculous that there has to be enforced rules re. pubs,restaurants etc, surely people know that they should wear masks,distance, wash hands and all the rest of the common sense information that's available to us all, just do it for yourself and your family even if you don't care about anyone else, the guards shouldn't have to patrol pubs etc., people should just cop dafuq on, it boils my blood that everyone else is blamed ie. government, guards, teachers etc. what is actually wrong with people.

I feel the same about seatbelts, babyseats in cars,wearing reflective clothing at night and all other common sense, self preservation actions, why should we need guards to monitor seatbelts, surely if you're able to drive you should want to wear one for your own safety. The mind boggles.
    Sorry for the rant and I know there'll always be the ones who won't abide by the rules but there seems to be so many people that wont do the right thing unless its mandatory.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

• Registered Users Posts: 21,826 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Any mention of older people?

Am open to correction, but same as it already is Sardonicat.
    Hope you can get to see the news or something , or someone can update you properly on it .

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Just home from work ,I haven't seen any news or headlines yet.

My own view on the covid situation is everything seems to be 'the government ' , people can't seem to decide anything for themselves, it's ridiculous that there has to be enforced rules re. pubs,restaurants etc, surely people know that they should wear masks,distance, wash hands and all the rest of the common sense information that's available to us all, just do it for yourself and your family even if you don't care about anyone else, the guards shouldn't have to patrol pubs etc., people should just cop dafuq on, it boils my blood that everyone else is blamed ie. government, guards, teachers etc. what is actually wrong with people.

I feel the same about seatbelts, babyseats in cars,wearing reflective clothing at night and all other common sense, self preservation actions, why should we need guards to monitor seatbelts, surely if you're able to drive you should want to wear one for your own safety. The mind boggles.
    Sorry for the rant and I know there'll always be the ones who won't abide by the rules but there seems to be so many people that wont do the right thing unless its mandatory.

DD for taoiseach

I am so sick of Covid. It isn't going anywhere anytime soon so like you say Duvet wash the hands, wear your mask and do your best. We are all touched by it but our experience will be different. I'm getting married next year and I'll be dammed if I'm letting it negatively impact my day.
    We can take precautions or we can lock ourselves up.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

DD for taoiseach

She talks sense, she'd never get voted in :)

So true DD. I remember visiting friends abroad once, years ago and they laughed at me for bothering with my seatbelt. Said 'it's ok, it's not the law to wear them here'. Eh I couldn't give a fuq what the law is. I wear a seatbelt cause I'm not a f*cking idiot!!! With covid.. I'm restricting myself as much as possible. Basically outside of work I do feck all. Even our little trip coming up is to self catering apartments as part of a hotel so we can look after ourselves for the most part. I'm interested in what the government have to say but I'll do my own sensible thing regardless.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Am open to correction, but same as it already is Sardonicat.
    Hope you can get to see the news or something , or someone can update you properly on it .

So completey unclear contradictory advice then?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

She talks sense, she'd never get voted in :)

We'll get you in as well pwincess :3

• Registered Users Posts: 21,826 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

So , the Minister for Health , after the briefing this morning , has gone to get tested for CV, the Dail has closed shop for at least the next week , everyone to self isolate ..

Wtf is going on if those powers that be can't follow the guidelines they expect us to adhere to ? It's like a comedy of errors without any laughter.

What frightens me more than covid is a half life. Being scared, not going places or doing things, not meeting new people or indeed any people. That for the rest of my life is just :(

Unless you are in the vulnerable category that does not apply to you. If you are than it applies until such a time as idiots stop being selfish.

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    So , the Minister for Health , after the briefing this morning , has gone to get tested for CV, the Dail has closed shop for at least the next week , everyone to self isolate ..

Wtf is going on if those powers that be can't follow the guidelines they expect us to adhere to ? It's like a comedy of errors without any laughter.
    Where we're they meeting? Was the room ventilated? Did they remain 2 metres apart? We're the wearing masks? It would seem the answer is no if everyone has to isolate pending his results. I wonder will help be left waiting almost a week like I was?

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Unless you are in the vulnerable category that does not apply to you. If you are than it applies until such a time as idiots stop being selfish.

Do you not remember The Great Sickness of 2018???? It was a time of much hardship and suffering in Casa Persepoly. Imagine if that was Covid and not flu + infections × twice!
    Not to mention the semi sickness of 2017.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

We'll get you in as well pwincess :3

I'm way too lazy for politics..... Oh actually :)

Please vote for yer wan in the tiara :D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,235 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Do you not remember The Great Sickness of 2018???? It was a time of much hardship and suffering in Casa Persepoly. Imagine if that was Covid and not flu + infections × twice!
    Not to mention the semi sickness of 2017.

The poor foot :(. Tough times Diamonds ;)

Autosport wrote: »
    The poor foot :(. Tough times Diamonds ;)

I'm an incredibly boring person so a half life suits me well! Having said that I'm enjoying spending time socialising in different ways than the 'norm' - pub etc. Like I discovered some gorgeous walks with my friend that we had never bothered with before and didn't have a clue how beautiful they are. Or just planning this trip with my partner and looking at mainly outdoorsy stuff - added bonus of bringing the dog. I do acknowledge when this lovely Indian summer ends and the weather turns it will be much more of a challenge but my job puts me in contact with the vulnerable and then there's my compromised family members so I'll just have figure it out. I suspect I'll read more than ever this winter!

Side note: anyone else finding boards very slow and struggling with the thanks button? It's gone a bit glitchy again for me as well.

I'm an incredibly boring person so a half life suits me well! Having said that I'm enjoying spending time socialising in different ways than the 'norm' - pub etc. Like I discovered some gorgeous walks with my friend that we had never bothered with before and didn't have a clue how beautiful they are. Or just planning this trip with my partner and looking at mainly outdoorsy stuff - added bonus of bringing the dog. I do acknowledge when this lovely Indian summer ends and the weather turns it will be much more of a challenge but my job puts me in contact with the vulnerable and then there's my compromised family members so I'll just have figure it out. I suspect I'll read more than ever this winter!

Do you feel you have a half life? I think it's when you feel the life you have is being curtailed against your wishes and you're unhappy with that. You seen quite content Buile which is great :)

Oh for sure, in that I don't get to see my family half as often as I used to. Nowhere near half as often. Don't get to see all my friends, especially those further away. And I've stopped doing lots of things I used to do. But I'm happy that I've found other ways to occupy myself and I just try to remind myself it's for the best for me and others and it won't be forever! (Right!? Right!?!?!)

It won't be forever. Definitely not. Mind yourself though. Live as best and as much as you can.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Couchside after an extremely busy day work-wise.

Looking wearily at the laundry in the basket that needs hanging out on the airing rack...and wishing it would hang itself up! Lol :D

For anyone on FB, have a look at Cork Beo ,they just posted about those spiders and said we will have an influx in Cork this year due to the weather conditions, they can travel half a metre a second making them the Usain Bolt of insects..bejaysus 😂.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

Same as in post yesterday just no telly :p

For anyone on FB, have a look at Cork Beo ,they just posted about those spiders and said we will have an influx in Cork this year due to the weather conditions, they can travel half a metre a second making them the Usain Bolt of insects..bejaysus 😂.

Sweet Jebus! I'm now quite glad I cant go anywhere. I'll probably not sleep tonight, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,083 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

No Covid talk from me despite loving to express a full on opinion.:D

However I must get back to the story of Spiders. Watch out for this dude around your house. I have one outside that is hard to catch. Soft enough feckers, but if disturbed on your couch/armchair or bed, their bit can be nasty. just saying.

download%203.jpg