Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

I don't know where we're going, but it can only be 5K away

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭GoatBoy74

I don't think two people leaving the country and remaining out of the country for the foreseeable future have impacted todays case numbers.
    Unless you know something about Phoenix parents that she doesn't.

Just assumed they were going on holidays

Aer an auld apple turnover for me? :p

I'll have to make more next weekend! :D

GoatBoy74 wrote: »
    Just assumed they were going on holidays

It doesn't matter why they are leaving. Todays case numbers have nothing to do with them and when they done return I'm sure they will quarantine.

I'll have to make more next weekend! :D

Probably for the best given my food intake today :(

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Hotel bedroom in Cork, just outside the city.

Smooth motorway drive down earlier today in glorious Indian summer weather. :)

Down here to attend a good friend and old colleague’s mother’s funeral tomorrow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭GoatBoy74

It doesn't matter why they are leaving. Todays case numbers have nothing to do with them and when they done return I'm sure they will quarantine.

Hmmm, if I was the kind of person to travel to a country not on the green list, would I also be the kind of person to quarantine in my return!?
    Sure knows, anyway it’ll be grand.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Can't really say anything unless circumstances are known

More importantly, apple turnovers weekly please :)

Can't really say anything unless circumstances are known

More importantly, apple turnovers weekly please :)

And even then. This damn Covid has turned half the population in to witch hunters. I hate the damn thing.

Mammy loved apple turnovers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,807 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Did Mam's crumble inspire you to make the apple turnovers, Buile?
    Do any of you ever pick autumn products to cook with? Like crab apple jelly or sloe gin?

To thine own self be true

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Did Mam's crumble inspire you to make the apple turnovers, Buile?
    Do any of you ever pick autumn products yo cook with? Like crab apple jelly or sloe gin?

Rhubarb tart and custard was lovely, though maybe that's half because of the ungodly amount of sugar used stewing the rhubarb :pac:

I find rhubarb too tough and stringy.
    Next year I vow to make my own elderflower presse. We have an abundance of elderflower on our hedges in this area.

Me mam's apple crumble, few sultanas in there, cinnamon and nutmeg with a buttery crumbly top. Never made anything better myself..

Oh gooseberries, my jaysis paws after picking AND THEN topping and tailing the pesky buggers, great jam though

Me mam's apple crumble, few sultanas in there, cinnamon and nutmeg with a buttery crumbly top. Never made anything better myself..

I actually wouldn't put anything bar apples in it. I think the bitterness of the apples with the really crumbly pastry does the talking for itself. I like the edges a teensey bit burnt too.
    I'm hungry now :(

Not hungry, planning on doing some baking ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Bedside after a lovely, relaxing, doing nothing weekend. Need one of these every so often.
    The cat still hasn't come in but was too tired to wait up for him. Presume he got a better offer for lodgings tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,968 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Sil next door makes elderflower cordial, it's lovely, is that the same thing as presse?
    If you reply and I don't respond, I'm glitched out again :pac:

https://forumofgames.com/

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Sil next door makes elderflower cordial, it's lovely, is that the same thing as presse?

I think the cordial is more concentrate.
    I absolutely love elderflower. It's my go to drink, which isn't bad I guess because it could be sugary drinks.
    Every time you mention your Sil next door, I think for a minute of an old gentleman called Sil and I think you're talking about him :D

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Bedside after a lovely, relaxing, doing nothing weekend. Need one of these every so often.
    The cat still hasn't come in but was too tired to wait up for him. Presume he got a better offer for lodgings tonight.

Does he have a flap to come in through?

I think the cordial is more concentrate.
    I absolutely love elderflower. It's my go to drink, which isn't bad I guess because it could be sugary drinks.
    Every time you mention your Sil next door, I think for a minute of an old gentleman called Sil and I think you're talking about him :D

Now i'm thinking of an elderly gent trying to crawl into a kitchen through a cat flap :D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

left the utility small window open for him. Mr Sam wanted to lock him out but I said no.

Mam of 4 wrote: »

My partners sister makes it as well and it's absolutely unreal. She's makes a ginger one too and that's even more gorgeous. To answer your question Purple Mountain, I was inspired to make them because that same sister gave us a load of apples but Mam's always making me hungry with her food descriptions. It's like an m&s ad in here some days. If I'm not craving toast and honey, I'm wanting some crumble and if it's not that it's onion rings!

This is a closet tummy porn thread :P

Grem, you're a big weirdo :)
    I think it's time for bed now and get off looking at celebs on Instagram.
    I raised this in a Covid thread but there still seems to be a hopping social life going on in London by some celebs. Maybe they're within guidelines, but they seem to be bumping and grinding like it's 2019.
    That and all the Covid pregnancy announcements by celebs. There was definitely more bedroom workouts going on during lock down.
    There definitely seems to be more bumps around when you go out shopping etc. Good news for a change!
    Anyway, night peeps.

Purple, you got me, i can be even worse in real life if the humour is on me, feeling a touch giddy at the minute

Now Sam's going to bed picturing a man coming in her utility room window :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,185 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Samsgirl wrote: »
    left the utility small window open for him. Mr Sam wanted to lock him out but I said no.

Well the absolute cheek of him 😾😾

😛

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,185 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Now i'm thinking of an elderly gent trying to crawl into a kitchen through a cat flap :D:pac:
    Now Sam's going to bed picturing a man coming in her utility room window :D

My days of crawling in through utility flaps are over I'll have ye know 😏😏

😛

My days of crawling in through utility flaps are over I'll have ye know 😏😏

😛

Feck!. Seph copied the keys :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

GoatBoy74 wrote: »
    Hmmm, if I was the kind of person to travel to a country not on the green list, would I also be the kind of person to quarantine in my return!?
    Sure knows, anyway it’ll be grand.

I live in England and I came home and quarantined. I've been here for three weeks now and didn't leave the house for the first two so please don't assume people coming into Ireland are all idiots who don't give a sh1t. This attitude drives me insane. I purposely stayed away until now but I'm sure you'll appreciate that not seeing any family or friends in 7 months is quite difficult.