Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calls for Minister for Children Roderic O'Gorman to resign..

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭VillageIdiot71

Truthvader wrote: »
    So far all I have seen is a one off photograph.
    Grand. Everyone else noticed the accompanying personal endorsement of Tatchell by our new Minister for Children.

Try looking at it with the good eye.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭Fleetwoodmac

I remember the furoe around Tatchell in the late 90s. Seeing his name resurface was a blast from the past. I remember because at the time I was volunteering for a group who supported victims of child sexual abuse and Tatchells claims that paedophile abuse is "sex" and that being abused is "having sex" triggered an avalanche of trauma and we received many many calls around Tatchells views. Tatchell wrote the obituary for Dunn, the co founder of the Paedophile Information Exchange. Tatchell wrote an essay for a book complied by members of PIE. This is a book that apparently can only be viewed under supervision in libraries where it is held such is it's content. He has very regularly advocated for age of consent to lowered to 14. This guy isnt just some academic who advocates for LGBT rights, he has a dangerous viewpoint and to see minister for children whose job is to safeguard children espousing that Tachtell is a legend is worrying. O Gorman needs to publicly condemn Tatchells ideology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

I remember the furoe around Tatchell in the late 90s. Seeing his name resurface was a blast from the past. I remember because at the time I was volunteering for a group who supported victims of child sexual abuse and Tatchells claims that paedophile abuse is "sex" and that being abused is "having sex" triggered an avalanche of trauma and we received many many calls around Tatchells views. Tatchell wrote the obituary for Dunn, the co founder of the Paedophile Information Exchange. Tatchell wrote an essay for a book complied by members of PIE. This is a book that apparently can only be viewed under supervision in libraries where it is held such is it's content. He has very regularly advocated for age of consent to lowered to 14. This guy isnt just some academic who advocates for LGBT rights, he has a dangerous viewpoint and to see minister for children whose job is to safeguard children espousing that Tachtell is a legend is worrying. O Gorman needs to publicly condemn Tatchells ideology.
    Of course O' Gorman needs to condemn this ideology because he is now the Minister for Children in this country. The fact that he is remaining silent only allows the story to gather traction. Being called homophobic just because people in Ireland want clarity just goes to show the true intolerance of those who want to shut down the conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭noddy69

I think he's actually done a lot of good in his career but has expressed stupid views. He has clearly stated he doesn't condone paedophilia and appears to actually write a lot about combating child abuse. Generally the main thing that comes up is that letter and a load of conspiracies. Frankly, I didn't even know much about him until this thread and I'm educated.

Your simple Googling seems to amount to weird blogs more than anything else I suspect. So do you condemn any children's minister who associates or praises Richard Dawkins?

Point of order He doesn't condone it when it isn't mutual ...that's still paedophilia in any normal persons book.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 droimlis

The map stuff is conspiracy nonsense. However, to be photographed with and to call a known paedophile-apologist a legend absolutely deserves clarification from anyone let alone a government minister. The people defending O'Gorman would be quick to condemn the likes of Danny Healy Rae if he called someone who was a white supremacist (for example) apologist a "legend" and was proudly photographed with them. How anyone could have anything to do with that sinister Tatchell is beyond me.

That exactly, his views are abhorrent, however all people look up on google is his denials of wrongdoing and two articles.
    His denials aren't even denials , what he doesn't condone is child sex abuse. He however does condone 9 year olds in sexual relationships with adults as long as its a mutual benefit in his eyes. He doesn't see that as abuse. That's paedophilia in any normal persons view.

The current childrens minister will have known that. That is a problem. You now have a childrens minister with a history of publically calling a man who advocates sexual relationships between minors and adults a legend.

I really don't understand why people don't think that's a problem.

As far as Map tweet, it just adds to the flames whether you believe its a conspiracy or you don't. You can laugh it off in isolation, and people would if there wasn't the Thatchell endorsement. It could be an injoke hidden in plain sight. That's not even a stretch.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭take everything

But muh homophobia...

Good post. Brings a bit of reality to things.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

The term "Map Porn" was first observed in the John Podesta Wikileaks dump.

Certain posters on here are asking other posters myself included to believe that cartographers, Land Registry staff, architects coo "Mmmm...Map Porn" when they're viewing Ordnance Survey drawings.

Sure, whatever, it's Friday!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,816 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Certain posters on here are asking other posters myself included to accept that cartographers and other personnel such as Land Registry staff, architects, coo "Mmmm...Map Porn" when they're viewing Ordnance Survey drawings.

Do you not realise the absolute off the wall ridiculousness of your conspiraloon drvel. Maybe not.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Certain posters on here are asking other posters myself included to believe that cartographers, Land Registry staff, architects coo "Mmmm...Map Porn" when they're viewing Ordnance Survey drawings.

No they aren't. But sure lets focus on the less important piece of the thread to deflect shall we.

noddy69 wrote: »
    No they aren't. But sure lets focus on the less important piece of the thread to deflect shall we.

Yes they are. Read all the posts emphasising Roderic O'Gorman's interest in actual maps.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,816 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yes they are. Read all the posts emphasising Roderic O'Gorman's interest in actual maps.

Jaysus

He really is a Satanic paedo because he shares an unhealthy interest

https://www.reddit.com/r/MapPorn/

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Yep , just an unfortunate coincidence he has an interest in Maps and thinks someone who advocates sexual relationships between consenting children and adults is ok.

The second piece of my statement is important...deflecting to the first is not

• Registered Users Posts: 15,306 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I’ve read a bit more about tatchell

It’s hair raising stuff.

This is the guy who a seemingly well informed and well educated politician sought out to praise on Twitter????

Wtf like ??

O’Gorman NEEDS to publicly disavow Tatchells views or else, resign.

it’s too problematic to just leave “without comment”.

I’ve read a bit more about tatchell

It’s hair raising stuff.

This is the guy who a seemingly well informed and well educated politician sought out to praise on Twitter????

Wtf like ??

O’Gorman NEEDS to publicly disavow Tatchells views or else, resign.

The difficulty for O'Gorman is Tatchell has done some good work alongside the dubious comments. He was also a vocal opponent of the NI gay cake court case and viewed it as counterproductive to the LGBT cause. To criticise Tatchell might court some general support but alienate him within a large sector of his own community.

Tatchell keeps saying the paper edited that infamous letter, that is not credible. I would expect any writer to rip a Fleet Street newspaper a new ****hole in damages if they edited your letter portraying you as a paedophile.

Here is in the words of our minister for children "the legend" and context on the book he has a chapter in. Its not easy to digest

He has a chapter in a publication by the Paedophile information exchange FFS...was tricked of course, but never sued for some reason.
    Oh and wrote the obituary for Ian Dunne one of the founders of PIE...but of course he was tricked ….lots of trickery alright

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/obituaries/obituary-ian-dunn-1151494.html

https://twitter.com/TatchellWatch/status/1061180707563847680

• Registered Users Posts: 15,306 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I was just thinking This situation is akin to the minister for justice calling the likes of the kinahans “legends” on Twitter

Is O’Gorman an arrogant “don’t question me” type?

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭VillageIdiot71

It should be problematic. But there no media coverage of this at all.

And, seemingly, UCD gave Tatchell an award for human rights in 2016. FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,841 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

redunited wrote: »

The refereal to MAPS Porn is strange as MAPS is known as for Minor-attracted person (MAP) is an umbrella term for people with any condition that means they ... Pedophilia - attraction to pre-pubescent children.
    redunited wrote: »
    Do you think its normal for a Politician to post "MAP PORN".

For you red and drunkmonkey. His tweet says Map porn. Not MAP or MAPS. ACRONYMS are written in CAPS, which you guys used. RoG did not use caps. You are witch-hunting and putting words in his mouth.
    I'd expect him to know the double meaning, did I expect it to cross his mind, hardly. Does it look like a bad choice of words now considering his affiliates, absolutely.

Cop on would you.
    Couldn't make this **** up.

That pretty much sums up this thread, with your daft remarks being up there with the worst of it.

OP has a lot to answer for starting this nonsense

• Registered Users Posts: 28,118 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Seve OB wrote: »

Would you mind explaining how you understand pedo code? No caps it's just maps, all caps gather up the children. Is there a laymans guide somewhere you can share? It's crazy you would appear with that sort of defence, it's all right lady's he didn't use caps. :rolleyes:
    Why are you even trying to explain it we all know it's nonsense.

Look he's hanging around with people who have questionable opinions about children. Is he influenced by such people is the question. If he's not he needs to clarify that position and disassociate himself from Tatchell.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,841 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Jaysus I hope Dave Gorman never becomes a politician, he would be lynched for discussing this type of thing. God only knows what he really meant!:rolleyes:

Seve OB wrote: »
    For you red and drunkmonkey. His tweet says Map porn. Not MAP or MAPS. ACRONYMS are written in CAPS, which you guys used. RoG did not use caps. You are witch-hunting and putting words in his mouth.

Cop on would you.

That pretty much sums up this thread, with your daft remarks being up there with the worst of it.

Nonce sense more like ...some people keep deflectig to the MAP link rather than the Tatchell link which is actually what the thread is about.

The Green party in defence mode online it seems..yet noone saying its ridiculous can defend Tatchell.

https://twitter.com/TatchellWatch/status/1061180707563847680?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1061180707563847680%7Ctwgr%5E&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.boards.ie%2Fvbulletin%2Fshowthread.php%3Ft%3D2058092327page%3D20

There will be several approaches to deflect attention away from the primary concern: that of O Gormans hero worship of Tatchell.
    - use the homophobia slur ( always a worrying reflection of someone's thinking that they assume someone is more likely to be homophobic than concerned about paedophilia and safeguarding children)
    - shoot the messenger. I'm not a fan but Gemma O Doherty is only one of many highlighting this
    - discredit it entirely by citing the conspiracy theories .. in this case, MAP or whatever it is.

And so, conveniently the actual initial concern gets lost. Don't fall for it!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,303 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

This Tatchell guy is a very disturbed individual.

The above post will be ignored though by people who think he is a legend.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,680 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

There will be several approaches to deflect attention away from the primary concern: that of O Gormans hero worship of Tatchell.
    - use the homophobia slur ( always a worrying reflection of someone's thinking that they assume someone is more likely to be homophobic than concerned about paedophilia and safeguarding children)
    - shoot the messenger. I'm not a fan but Gemma O Doherty is only one of many highlighting this
    - discredit it entirely by citing the conspiracy theories .. in this case, MAP or whatever it is.

And so, conveniently the actual initial concern gets lost. Don't fall for it!

The “actual initial concerns” amounting to nothing more than shìt stirring then.

I can understand why anyone wouldn’t feel a need to entertain nonsense. It legitimises the nonsense and lends it the appearance of credibility.

“Have you stopped beating your wife?” sort of stuff.

It’s nothing more than a shìtty characterisation which I wouldn’t demand that anyone should have to entertain.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

The far right are absolutely and utterly leading the charge on this. Gemma, Irexit, Renua - they are frothing at the mouth with hate porn over it

Since when did it become controversial to be against paedophilia and those who advocate for its normalisation?

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

I was just thinking This situation is akin to the minister for justice calling the likes of the kinahans “legends” on Twitter

Is O’Gorman an arrogant “don’t question me” type?

A Minister for Children being photographed hanging with Peter Thatchell is like a Minister for Justice being photographed out for pints with the Kinahans.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

This whole latching onto the Map Porn thing as some sort of coded pedophile term is some Q-Anon/PizzaGate levels of batsh*t craziness that I thought we'd never see over here.

It really shouldn't need explaining but, Map Porn is a term commonly used for content online that focuses on maps to a level that most people would find pointless or geeky. Content such as this:

https://www.reddit.com/r/MapPorn/
    https://twitter.com/MapPornTweet
    https://twitter.com/TerribleMaps

I seem to recall David McWilliams coining the term Property Porn for the property sections in newspapers. Do people think he was also hiding his really intent behind that term. Jesus Christ....

DelaneyIn wrote: »
    Since when did it become controversial to be against paedophilia and those who advocate for its normalisation?

Abhorrence at Tatchells ideology is a very normal human response and those that see it as "**** stirring" or "homophobic" shows a distorted level of thinking.
    That the minister for children and the green party feel it doesn't warrant some explanation has been about the worst PR possible. Damage control at this stage will take some serious spin.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,680 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Abhorrence at Tatchells ideology is a very normal human response and those that see it as "**** stirring" or "homophobic" shows a distorted level of thinking.
    That the minister for children and the green party feel it doesn't warrant some explanation has been about the worst PR possible. Damage control at this stage will take some serious spin.

What damage control are you talking about?

How have ridiculous conspiracy theory nonsense done any damage to the Ministers reputation and he’s not even in the job a wet week? If he were to try and introduce a policy which suggested that all children will be collected by the State and holed up in a warehouse I might justifiably raise an eyebrow, because such a policy would be ridiculous.

His hero-worship of some numbnuts nobody? Can’t say I’m all that bothered tbh.