Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I killed my girlfriends dog

• 27-06-2020 8:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭

My girlfriend and I started to live together during the lock down and we are almost 3 months living together so far. She moved from the city and brought her dog here to my old family home. She wanted to bring the dog into the house as she had been used to previously. I am not a dog person and I hate dogs in the house so I refused to allow the dog in here as I tend to be OCD with cleanliness, she didn't like it but my house my rules sort of thing, a compromise. I had given him a nice nest with straw in one of the haysheds and he was ok there.

The Dog did not initially get along with the working collies here and was constantly barking and causing them to bark in response, this caused friction between us as honestly I couldn't get a wink of sleep as some mornings he would wake me up at 5 or before it. We finally solved this by putting each dog in isolation with her dog far away from the house so his barking wasn't as loud then also.

Anyway a few weeks ago she had him loose and out around the yard and was not watching him and he killed a lamb here in our farm in a paddock next to the house, these lambs belong to my father. I was enraged with the dog but it was decided by my father to give the dog another chance only he needs extreme supervision, mainly it was done out of consideration for her attachment to the dog and to avoid problems in the relationship.

At the time I wanted him put down as he was a threat to our sheep and lambs and his barking was extreme and only tolerated for her sake, if it was one of our working collies who did it then he would be put down that evening but her

Anyway thus morning the dog managed to come free from his collar and killed another lamb. I just carted him away and got the Vet to euthanize him as this was the second lamb he had killed, my father who is elderly was on the phone all upset and said he must go now, the dog was already put down when my father found the dead lamb.

Now I am the villian here and being blamed for not allowing the dog indoors, for his conditions etc. She has told me she is leaving and that the relationship is over because I put her dog down. This house and farm belongs to my father who has kindly allowed us to live here during the crisis, we both lost our jobs and couldn't continue with the rental costs in Dublin.

I am saying nothing because in my eyes I did nothing wrong, the dog killed twice and I feel justified in euthanizing him. The lambs were animals too and did not deserve that, the dog was uncontrollable and not suited to this environment.

It's a messed up situation but I feel her ending the relationship with me is not warranted as I am being blamed for everything and made into the villain here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

If I was her I'd go full John Wick on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jay1988

Seriously? You had her dog put down, you had no right to do that, it wasn't your dog, she is better off as far away from you as possible, if I was her I'd have the guards at your door over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Cocobean1

What kind of dog was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Huntline

What colour was the dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Wow. Is this a pisstake? Did you tell your girlfriend you were getting the dog put down before you brought it to the vets? Of course the relationship is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭sallyanne12

I’m afraid I agree with her. It’s awful you put her dog down truly awful. The poor dog didn’t belong on a farm but didn’t deserve that. It’s unforgivable in my eyes. It’s clear you have no attachment whatsoever to the dog and don’t care about your girlfriend whatsoever to put her beloved dog down. The dog should have been moved away from the farm or alternative arrangements could have been agreed. Can’t understand you taking the animals life to be honest and can’t understand how a vet would agree to it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Has to be a wind up (although maybe not for an account over a year old)?

You wouldn't just ask to find the dog another home etc? Fúcking disgusted reading that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I'm not clear OP, do you want advice on how to fix the situation? You seem confident with your decision?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Indestructable

You absolute cretin. I hope this is a wind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

You put a healthy dog down because you couldn't look after it properly. It is entirely your fault. Why was the dog not properly secured?

At the very least you should have found another home for him. Your girlfriend is completely in the right. Also it was not your dog to put down.

My god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Class MayDresser

Please, this is a wind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

That is full on psychopathic behaviour. Not just the act itself, but the lack of empathy for your girlfriend. Leave the poor girl alone to mourn her dog and move on with her life without you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Huntline

#doglivesmatter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Xcellor

What a **** thing to do. It was beyond you to find a solution that didn't involve killing her dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 cookiemonster80

Wow from where I'm sitting, your girlfriend is well rid of you and has well and truly dodged a bullet. Your attitude towards pets in general would have been enough to have me running for the hills.

Sorry OP if this is not a wind-up, you are a disgusting piece of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭grinder23

jay1988 wrote: »
    Seriously? You had her dog put down, you had no right to do that, it wasn't your dog, she is better off as far away from you as possible, if I was her I'd have the guards at your door over this.

He was 100% right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Simi

I know farmers lack empathy, but ****ing hell OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

This has to be a joke, a bad one.
    If you did that to my dog you'd be following him fairly lively.
    She needs to get away from you ASAP and I hope she tells anyone who will listen what you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Simi wrote: »

Farmers generally know how to secure dogs though if they have sheep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭statto25

Huntline wrote: »
    What colour was the dog?

Howya Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

I'm not clear OP, do you want advice on how to fix the situation? You seem confident with your decision?

I took the dog to the vet as he had killed 2 lambs in 3 weeks, the last time she actually said he was only playing with the lambs etc. she would be detached from the reality of rural life unlike me.

I made my decision solely based on safety of the livestock and out of respect for my father, when he killed the last lamb it was clear that the dog was on thin ice and if it was our own he would be put down.

I really can't see her point in ending what was a good steady solid relationship over this. I am confident in what I did was right, rehome him and he cause havoc somewhere else for some other farmer maybe. She had really humanized that dog beyond reason.

The dog was a staffordshire german shephard mix, a large and substantial dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

You should have told her you were going to kill the dog before doing it so she had a choice of actions, then she could have broken up with you and moved away with the dog. You took that opportunity away from her, you killed her pet and you're surprised you're the bad guy?

At the very minimum it was a horrible thing to do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Did the girlfriend have any say? Did she get to hold her dog in it's last moments?

Unforgivable and she's well rid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

theguzman wrote: »
    My girlfriend and I started to live together during the lock down and we are almost 3 months living together so far. She moved from the city and brought her dog here to my old family home. She wanted to bring the dog into the house as she had been used to previously. I am not a dog person and I hate dogs in the house so I refused to allow the dog in here as I tend to be OCD with cleanliness, she didn't like it but my house my rules sort of thing, a compromise. I had given him a nice nest with straw in one of the haysheds and he was ok there.

The Dog did not initially get along with the working collies here and was constantly barking and causing them to bark in response, this caused friction between us as honestly I couldn't get a wink of sleep as some mornings he would wake me up at 5 or before it. We finally solved this by putting each dog in isolation with her dog far away from the house so his barking wasn't as loud then also.

Anyway a few weeks ago she had him loose and out around the yard and was not watching him and he killed a lamb here in our farm in a paddock next to the house, these lambs belong to my father. I was enraged with the dog but it was decided by my father to give the dog another chance only he needs extreme supervision, mainly it was done out of consideration for her attachment to the dog and to avoid problems in the relationship.

At the time I wanted him put down as he was a threat to our sheep and lambs and his barking was extreme and only tolerated for her sake, if it was one of our working collies who did it then he would be put down that evening but her

Anyway thus morning the dog managed to come free from his collar and killed another lamb. I just carted him away and got the Vet to euthanize him as this was the second lamb he had killed, my father who is elderly was on the phone all upset and said he must go now, the dog was already put down when my father found the dead lamb.

Now I am the villian here and being blamed for not allowing the dog indoors, for his conditions etc. She has told me she is leaving and that the relationship is over because I put her dog down. This house and farm belongs to my father who has kindly allowed us to live here during the crisis, we both lost our jobs and couldn't continue with the rental costs in Dublin.

I am saying nothing because in my eyes I did nothing wrong, the dog killed twice and I feel justified in euthanizing him. The lambs were animals too and did not deserve that, the dog was uncontrollable and not suited to this environment.

It's a messed up situation but I feel her ending the relationship with me is not warranted as I am being blamed for everything and made into the villain here.

Honestly, I’d never forgive you and I’d end the relationship immediately. Because of your view of dogs as working animals you’ve completely disregarded the bond she had with hers.

That being said if I had been her I would have ensured my dog could not become free from where he was kept in a working farm for his own and the safety of the farm animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Idle Passerby

Jesus OP! Very unfortunate for the poor lambs and I fully understand a dog who does that can't be allowed remain on the farm but to have it put down without even consulting your girlfriend! Of course she won't want to stay with you after that! I'd be surprised if she ever looks you in the eye again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

The girlfriend should have re-homed the dog after the first attack / kill.

She is responsible for this.

How well trained was her dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

From my experience once a dog has the taste of a kill they run with it. It’s too hypothetical to say what would happen if the dog was removed from that environment no one knows what it might do in the future. As you said yourself it’s a mess of a situation. I’m sorry for everyone involved in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Have you had a conversation about this post the first lamb being killed? What did you both agree to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Simi wrote: »

How do you know that? What a statement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭sugarman20

You should have given her the chance to rehome the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Assuming this is real, it wasn’t your dog to kill. You could have told her the dog had to go and let her decide. You allowed a staffy cross onto a farm It would seem making good decisions is not something you excel at. She’s well shot of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Pistachio19

While I understand the need to have put the dog down for killing the lambs, the whole situation can be blamed on both of you. She should not have moved in with you when you didn't want the dog indoors. I gather it was a hasty decision to move, due to lockdown, therefore you probably didn't get a chance to discuss your differences properly and didn't figure out a plan to ensure her dog fitted comfortably in to its new environment. I'd let her go as she won't see your point of view. You'll be to blame as you wouldn't allow the dog stay indoors. She'll be to blame her for not having control over her dog. The dog was let down by both of you and is certainly not to blame.

sugarman20 wrote: »
    You should have given her the chance to rehome the dog.

She had that chance after the first kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

jay1988 wrote: »

The dog killed two sheep on the farm.the dog was lucky it didn't get lead in his head.
    He had the dog put down by a vet very humane way of doing it.
    He had every right to have the dog put down and the law would back him up.
    When a dog kills once that's it ,
    It has the taste they will just keep doing it.

He brought his girlfriend to his father's farm and home with the said dog.
    Where was the dog kept when they lived in city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭Mike3287

Does she have a case if solicitor involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

I'm afraid you made an error of judgement. The girl is being very reasonable in her response to your actions. At the very very least you give the dog owner a choice to leave with the dog and pay you for your lambs. After all it prob cost you more to get a vet to euthanise a dog than the lambs were worth plus disposal of the dog. Although back in the day problem dogs got disposed of with a gun rather than a pricy trip to a vet.

Is this a wind up though you cant think what you did was ok ?

OP I know it's a tough thing to do but a dog that keeps at that won't stop and god forbid it was a child he went playing with the next time he got loose from his collar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

What an absolute dirt bag move. Sickening behaviour.

Mike3287 wrote: »

OPs father would have a case for compensation for his dead lambs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Simi

Bullocks wrote: »
    How do you know that? What a statement!

I refer you to the numerous posts by farmers in defense of the op's psychotic behaviour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

ZX7R wrote: »
    The dog killed two sheep on the farm.the dog was lucky it didn't get lead in his head.
    He had the dog put down by a vet very humane way of doing it.
    He had every right to have the dog put down and the law would back him up.
    When a dog kills once that's it ,
    It has the taste they will just keep doing it.

He brought his girlfriend to his father's farm and home with the said dog.
    Where was the dog kept when they lived in city

Get a grip will ya, what sort of a psycho brings the dog off to be put down without even telling her first and then expects things to be grand. Get yourself looked at OP as well as any knobs who agree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

she didn't like it but my house my rules sort of thing, a compromise.

This should have been the first red flag for the poor girl. Your house your rules but seen as a compromise on your end. That's the exact opposite of a compromise.

Car99 wrote: »
    I'm afraid you made an error of judgement. The girl is being very reasonable in her response to your actions. At the very very least you give the dog owner a choice to leave with the dog and pay you for your lambs. After all it prob cost you more to get a vet to euthanise a dog than the lambs were worth plus disposal of the dog. Although back in the day problem dogs got disposed of with a gun rather than a pricy trip to a vet.

Is this a wind up though you cant think what you did was ok ?

That would be fine the first time. Not the second time.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I took the dog to the vet as he had killed 2 lambs in 3 weeks, the last time she actually said he was only playing with the lambs etc. she would be detached from the reality of rural life unlike me.

I made my decision solely based on safety of the livestock and out of respect for my father, when he killed the last lamb it was clear that the dog was on thin ice and if it was our own he would be put down.

I really can't see her point in ending what was a good steady solid relationship over this. I am confident in what I did was right, rehome him and he cause havoc somewhere else for some other farmer maybe. She had really humanized that dog beyond reason.

The dog was a staffordshire german shephard mix, a large and substantial dog.

But your first post reads, very different to a steady relationship

she didn't like it but my house my rules sort of thing

You knew she had a dog before you moved in together. Did you not discuss what would happen with the dog before they moved in?

That ship has sailed now I suppose. But you said it yourself, its your house your rules. She doesn't like your rules so she left.

Mike3287 wrote: »

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭sallyanne12

Bullocks wrote: »
    OP I know it's a tough thing to do but a dog that keeps at that won't stop and god forbid it was a child he went playing with the next time he got loose from his collar.

If it were a child I’d agree but it was lambs on a farm. Presumably the dog never attacked a person before and had he not been brought to the farm, he wouldn’t have killed at all. The worst part is the OPs lack of compassion for his girlfriend. He knew she loved her dog and took that away from her knowing it would break her heart, it’s psychopathic behaviour to do it behind her back without demanding the dog leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'm a rural girl so I can well understand the threat of dogs to livestock and how angry you and your father would be and that you suffered a loss of income and a threat of further if the dog continued.
    However, the fact you went behind your gfs back to have her beloved pet put down is just cruel.
    You say she did not understand farm life, well you clearly don't understand an attachment to a pet. There's nothing weird about that. He was obviously very important to her.
    Ultimately, this relationship is doomed on either side now.
    But, seriously think about how wrong you were to go behind her back.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

Hardly for a dog he willingly gave shelter to on his farm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

You should have told her that the dog can't stay and it would be up to her then to either leave or to rehome him.

To kill her dog behind her back is inexcusable behaviour, and the way you're happy with it and cannot understand her upset just points to an absolute lack of empathy and social skills. I hope that she runs fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Would he now.

Grand. Hello old farmer how much for the two dead lambs. €100. No problem.

G’luck.

No need to kill a dog over it. Psychotic behaviour.