Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why doesn't Simon Coveney have a Cork accent ?

• 23-06-2020 10:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭

He must be the only Cork man I've ever come across that doesn't sound like he's from Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

He went to a prestigious school in the pale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

He spent his youth on a sailing holiday on his fathers yacht that we all paid for - for charity

Unbelievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Coveney attended Bilderberg as Peter Sutherland's gopher so he is probably a lizard or lizard/human hybrid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Damian F wrote: »
    He must be the only Cork man I've ever come across that doesn't sound like he's from Cork

There's a bit of a twang there, but as said he went to school in Kildare.
    Also, I believe he has a speech impediment that he has to focus on as well.

https://www.hotpress.com/culture/simon-coveney-interview-14356299
    Does it recur in moments of stress?
    It’s not normally stress-related for me. It's a really weird condition. No one has a solution to it. Everything has been tried from breathing programmes to hypnosis to drugs. I think individuals have to find a way through. You’ll rarely see me read a speech, because I like to choose my words as I speak. People who stammer know the words and the syllables that they will have difficulty with, and so they tend to avoid them. Often, for example, people stutter on words that begin with C. So instead of talking about cows in the field, I might talk about the Friesians in the field (laughs). My stammer started to get a lot better when I was 15 or 16. Who'd have thought that a spotty teenager, as I was, with a stammer, would end up as a government Minister who’s literally giving three or four speeches every day? And speaking on television debates without having any difficulty with my speech, most of the time. Hopefully the two or three per cent of people in
    the country that do have a stammer, particularly younger ones, will get some encouragement from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,414 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

paw patrol wrote: »
    Coveney attended Bilderberg as Peter Sutherland's gopher so he is probably a lizard or lizard/human hybrid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

The Coveney's don't breathe the same air as most of us Corkonians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Truthvader wrote: »

He spent his youth on a sailing holiday on his fathers yacht that we all paid for - for charity

Unbelievable

I didn't pay a single cent for the late Hugh Coveney's yacht.

Neither did anyone else I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭daithi7

Oh ffs, pressfortruth , press-for-harassment more like. Coveney handled himself with a lot of class there, as usual , in fairness to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The dude had a pretty bad speech impediment as a kid and is quite deliberate in his way and manner of speaking. He’s also from a well-to-do Cork ‘merchant prince’ family. Neither fact should negate him from being a public representative, and a very effective one at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

That video is ludicrous - pure harassment.

Reminds me of the episode of the Simpsons when Homer is being accused of sexual harassment and he goes on air to clear his name - the interview is doctored & presented in such a way to make it all seem sinister.

All it's missing is a pair of cartoon horns on the 2 lads while they are walking around

I didn't pay a single cent for the late Hugh Coveney's yacht.

Neither did anyone else I know.

Er..... you kinda did but just didn't know

In March 1998, it became publicly known that the Moriarty Tribunal had questioned Coveney about whether he had a secret offshore account with Ansbacher Bank, a bank which had become notorious for facilitating tax-evasion. . His son, Simon Coveney, insisted that his father had never held an Ansbacher account.[3] It later emerged that Hugh Coveney had $175,000 on deposit in the secret Cayman Island-based bank. The account was closed in 1979.[4]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Because he's just very lucky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Seamai wrote: »
    The Coveney's don't breath the same air as most of us Corkonians.

They don't spell like you either!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Risingshadoo

Is coveney a foreign surname

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,316 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

What aboutp05nc7b2.jpg:D

Ah, he does have a twinge. I know plenty of Cork people who don’t have the ludicrous Cork accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

An educated Cork accent is kind of neutral like. Almost not an accent at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

Attack his policies. Fair enough
    Attack the fact that his only experience before inheriting his family seat was working for a "sailing charity" (whatever that is). Fair enough
    Attack his parties handling of the homelessness and health crisis. Fair enough

But attack the way he speaks. I'm sorry but that is just a gutter tactic. I'd love to hear the OPs accent. I'll bet its a howl. Most people who criticise the way others speak generally have an accent that does them no favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

saabsaab wrote: »

Quite so. Niall Toibín went to de North Mon biy, but his own (non-performing) accent was quite upmarket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭chite

Why's that relevant? Google tells you that...well you can google it for yourself.

When you see a surname that doesn't look 'irish', it could easily be an irish name that got anglicised. E.g. Clifford, while an english surname, people with the surname (particularly those from Munster) are most likely those descended from those with the name Ó Clumháin/ Ní Chlumháin.

Anyway the origin of one's surname doesn't matter so *shrug*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

No-veney

He went to a prestigious school in the pale

Strictly speaking, Clongowes Wood College is in the Earldom of Kildare. Coveney was suspended and eventually even expelled for boozing and partying. Fair focks! :cool:

Er..... you kinda did but just didn't know

In March 1998, it became publicly known that the Moriarty Tribunal had questioned Coveney about whether he had a secret offshore account with Ansbacher Bank, a bank which had become notorious for facilitating tax-evasion. . His son, Simon Coveney, insisted that his father had never held an Ansbacher account.[3] It later emerged that Hugh Coveney had $175,000 on deposit in the secret Cayman Island-based bank. The account was closed in 1979.[4]

By what convoluted attempt at smearing a dead man can you claim that the fact that Hugh Coveney had an Ansbacher Account means that I helped to pay for his yacht?

Incidentally, there is and was absolutely nothing illegal in having an offshore account - with any bank anywhere in the world - so long as Revenue is informed of its existence and that tax is paid on any interest received.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Mod: Moved to AH - I think it will be more fitting there. Local charter now applies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

saabsaab wrote: »

Which is why a Corkonian with a neutral accent is as rare as hen's teeth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

From Irish Mac Coibheanaigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

From Irish Mac Coibheanaigh.

Thank goodness! What a relief. Imagine if the people of Cork had unknowingly voted for a protestant with a quare surname.

Was Flor Wycherley Protestant, or did he just have the quare surname? :pac:

Could well be prod with that name. West Cork is full of them. You can nearly smell it off of some of them. There is a saying back in west cork, even the pigs are protestant.

They say that mainly about Bandon in particular. Odd, I've never noticed a smell from Woman. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

i thought he did but anyway

jimgoose wrote: »
    Was Flor Wycherley Protestant, or did he just have the quare surname? :pac:

https://www.corkbeo.ie/culture/family-kids/arundel-wycherley-corks-most-unusual-17490159

I see it is interesting he was an independent. The usual parties probably wouldn't have him on their ticket as in rural areas I'd imagine it could be bad for them. Then being an independent candidate in West Cork, he probably had enough support from his own kind to get in.
    Slightly going off, but I could never understand it why they would vote in elections for a state which they are aligned against. It just never made sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Figel Narage

I always thought it was just an upper middle class Cork accent, I've heard it from one or two other people so seems reasonable enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

What about his brother, who sounds exactly like him?

...I could never understand it why they would vote in elections for a state which they are aligned against. It just never made sense to me.

It would be startling news indeed to the vast majority of Protestants living here that they were "aligned against" the State! :pac:

Anyway Coveney, he is from Carrigaline. You can't really say carrigaline these days is a Cork town anymore because it is basically all populated by imported blow-ins. I was going to call it a westbrit town, but it probably isn't even that, it's worse - its just blow ins with working in the pharma plants there with no accent and no nothing. I suppose I mean americanised millenials with no appreciation for the their celtic heritage.
    I'd say if you asked 10 people in that town where are they from, 1, hardly 2 would be actually from carrigaline, as in they and their fathers before them were from there, rather than just blew in on some wind.
    jimgoose wrote: »
    It would be startling news indeed to the vast majority of Protestants living here that they were "aligned against" the State! :pac:

Well whatever about they themselves, their parents and grandparents were most probably against the very existence of the state.

Anyway Coveney, he is from Carrigaline. You can't really say carrigaline these days is a Cork town anymore because it is basically all populated by imported blow-ins. I was going to call it a westbrit town, but it probably isn't even that, it's worse - its just blow ins with working in the pharma plants there with no accent and no nothing.

What the very devil is wrong with you?? :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Anyway Coveney, he is from Carrigaline. You can't really say carrigaline these days is a Cork town anymore because it is basically all populated by imported blow-ins. I was going to call it a westbrit town, but it probably isn't even that, it's worse - its just blow ins with working in the pharma plants there with no accent and no nothing.

Damn Pharma plants !

should all get out of Cork Boy---and take those thousands of jobs with them.

...Well whatever about they themselves, their parents and grandparents were most probably against the very existence of the state.

Um, no - very unlikely. Most of them are descendents of farmers/landowners and of Anglican Communion/CoI stock, they would have thought the State was just fine. My OH's uncle is the only person I am personally aware of who was shot at by one of the Black and Tans, he was a 14-year-old Protestant farm boy below near Ballycotton, where they landed at one stage. Also BTW, Theobald Wolfe Tone was a Protestant.

Just for some balance, I remember dealing with Coveney a few times in a summer job I worked in years ago. He came in with his younger brother, who had a really bad stammer, and was really kind and caring to him. It was really nice to see. And for what it's worth Coveney was really decent too, no bull**** or pretentiousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I think he spent a semester in the states one time.
    Although I have an uncle in New York for 50 years and he still has a Borrisokane accent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Tij da feen

Anyway Coveney, he is from Carrigaline. You can't really say carrigaline these days is a Cork town anymore because it is basically all populated by imported blow-ins. I was going to call it a westbrit town, but it probably isn't even that, it's worse - its just blow ins with working in the pharma plants there with no accent and no nothing. I suppose I mean americanised millenials with no appreciation for the their celtic heritage.
    I'd say if you asked 10 people in that town where are they from, 1, hardly 2 would be actually from carrigaline, as in they and their fathers before them were from there, rather than just blew in on some wind.

Well whatever about they themselves, their parents and grandparents were most probably against the very existence of the state.

"None of you know man, I was here before it was cool"

You smokin’ Satan’s Lettuce, pal? Your thinking is all over the place, and there ain’t much thinking going on in the 1st place one would opine.

By what convoluted attempt at smearing a dead man can you claim that the fact that Hugh Coveney had an Ansbacher Account means that I helped to pay for his yacht?

Incidentally, there is and was absolutely nothing illegal in having an offshore account - with any bank anywhere in the world - so long as Revenue is informed of its existence and that tax is paid on any interest received.

Whatever - with your pretendy outrage. Why did he deny it so? Normal people did not have Ansbacher accounts.

Google it and do your own research. Ansbacher accounts were set up by Des Traynor for Charlie Haughey and the usual crew - and Coveney. Could well be entirely innocent. I don't think so but equally not the worst crime.

Taking an extended sailing holiday and dressing it up as virtue signalling charity is worse in my book. If you want to give to charity you can do so without alerting the media. But sure what do I know. Only have the one account in AIB

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Whatever - with your pretendy outrage. Why did he deny it so? Normal people did not have Ansbacher accounts.

Google it and do your own research. Ansbacher accounts were set up by Des Traynor for Charlie Haughey and the usual crew - and Coveney. Could well be entirely innocent. I don't think so but equally not the worst crime.

Taking an extended sailing holiday and dressing it up as virtue signalling charity is worse in my book. If you want to give to charity you can do so without alerting the media. But sure what do I know. Only have the one account in AIB

Mod:

And that is relevant to the OP of this thread how? Drop this line of conversation or don't post in this thread, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Damn Pharma plants !

should all get out of Cork Boy---and take those thousands of jobs with them.

F*ckin blow-ins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

There's a slight tinge there, very slight. His voice rises in pitch a little bit when he sounds exasperated, which is about 50% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭setanta1000

Wow you're some gowl...yeah, why not let Carrigaline go back to what it was in the '80's - dire, dreary and depressing....oh wait....it had a lovely cinema, not!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Simple explanation - private schooling. Boarding school especially knocks the strongest aspect out of most regional accents. Not remarking on this fact with any begrudgery as I went to private secondary school myself.

I think Simon Coveney has been one of the most capable, hard-working and competent ministers in government over the last five years and I am by no means a FG supporter.. He has handled Brexit very well. Personally, I think he would have made a much better Taoiseach than Varadkar.

His father certainly had serious questions to answer in relation to Ansbacher and other issues. It has to be seen, however, in the context of the level and extent of corruption in Irish politics in the 1980s and early 90s.