Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

No such thing me h*le... didn't they arrest debenham workers who where standing outside one of debenhams shops, socially distant wearing masks!! Over 100 the other night marching not many without masks for candlelight vigil and all clumped together, the balloon release over 100 again clumped together nothing said,.

All 3 things had in common, all held in the middle of this pandemic, only1 of the 3 the police took direct action and it was the 10 protesters outside debenhams... i think you could call that two tier policing or am i wrong?

Yep, you are wrong. Find out what the Debenhams workers were arrested for.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

bubblypop wrote: »
    Yep, you are wrong. Find out what the Debenhams workers were arrested for.

Arrested under the "public order act" .....exactly like the two get togethers in dublin which where public order acts, why wasn't any of them arrested or made to disperse?

Which offence under the public order act did the people at the 'get togethers' break?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 285 ✭✭Hellokitty1212

bubblypop wrote: »
    What makes you think you should see arrests?
    Do you see all arrests gardai make?

Oh you know full well if any of those had been arrested there would have been protests.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And why the Guards were right at the time to not give them any martyrs or if things got ugly more nastiness. Best to back off and diffuse IMHO.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Never fails to amaze me how quick people are to criticise their new country, which has housed and offered them safety from whatever country they HAD to escape escape from. All cheerled on by our media.

Almost never a bad word about their homeland or wanting to improve it by recent arrivals or our media.

Ridiculous but unsurprisingly BS from the Indo, they might as well have Justin Barret on it...... Why the media indulge these people. Blindboy is a moron.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Never fails to amaze me how quick people are to criticise their new country, which has housed and offered them safety from whatever country they HAD to escape escape from. All cheerled on by our media.
    You'll tend to find those people who actually had to escape tyranny in their homeland are significantly less likely to pull the criticism nonsense. Most of the influx outside the EU before the birthright loophole was closed were coming here for purely economic reasons. Since that was closed and immigration was tightened up the vast majority, over 90%, of "refugees" from a number of countries are rejected. Georgia, Albania, Nigeria etc. Here's our old friend the Indo on the matter.

Asylum seekers are now believed to be avoiding Ireland since anti-immigration measures began to be introduced in the wake of the 2002 influx of 12,000 asylum seekers, the highest annual number of immigrants in the State's history.

Interestingly the same article suggests our more recent rigorous approach has meant politically Ireland has headed off much of the hardening anti immigrant attitudes and rise of more right wing parties in the rest of Western Europe. In essence they're acknowledging most native populations don't want too many non EU migrants and the same populations don't think multiculturalism is the wonderful thing they're always told it is. That piece was written in 2016, I would bet attitudes have hardened since. Yet we have the minister for justice pushing for legalisation of "undocumented" AKA illegal migrants here and another bunch want to roll back on the overwhelming majority of Irish electorate's vote against birthright citizenship.

Secondly most Western European nations are seen as a soft touch and that was certainly the case with Ireland, though the above changes have made for a positive shift in that. However for a percentage of those already living here the soft touch attitude is still running quite strongly. Add in identity politics, the media, NGO's and government support, or lack of pushback and here we are.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Almost never a bad word about their homeland or wanting to improve it by recent arrivals or our media.

Ridiculous but unsurprisingly BS from the Indo, they might as well have Justin Barret on it...... Why the media indulge these people. Blindboy is a moron.

Aontu are ahead of pb4p now in opinions polls

The pb4p people who posted on SM about the Nkencho shooting didn't get the reaction they expected i guess. The anti establishment stance only gets you so far. They failed to read the room and assumed the "f**k the gardai" approach would have them seen as heroes. But people saw the video and know the actual story of what happened.

The general public want to feel safe in their own neighbourhoods and a feral mob behaving like that won't garner public support. The constant large gatherings going against public health guidelines also make people feel like 2nd class citizens in their own towns etc. If Coppinger had any plans to run in the next GE she might find her words and actions in last few weeks cost her votes.

This was one of Brid Smiths posts. The reactions are fairly damning

https://twitter.com/Davependo/status/1350610774956380167?s=19

Burkie1203 wrote: »

The pb4p people who posted on SM about the Nkencho shooting didn't get the reaction they expected i guess. The anti establishment stance only gets you so far. They failed to read the room and assumed the "f**k the gardai" approach would have them seen as heroes. But people saw the video and know the actual story of what happened.

The general public want to feel safe in their own neighbourhoods and a feral mob behaving like that won't garner public support. The constant large gatherings going against public health guidelines also make people feel like 2nd class citizens in their own towns etc. If Coppinger had any plans to run in the next GE she might find her words and actions in last few weeks cost her votes.

Good to see but “murder”??? No.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Troll posts deleted, don't feed it please folks. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Burkie1203 wrote: »

Another one of our leading lights of socialism put up a racebaiting Facebook post about the Gardai shooting this fella and she was absolutely ratioed to death, dogpiled in the comments by people telling her where she could go. Facebook tends to be full of normal people who vote rather than the mentally ill weirdos that infest Twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Bambi wrote: »
    Another one of our leading lights of socialism put up a racebaiting Facebook post about the Gardai shooting this fella and she was absolutely ratioed to death, dogpiled in the comments by people telling her where she could go. Facebook tends to be full of normal people who voter rather than the mentally ill weirdos that infest Twitter.

Murphy or Coppinger?

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dog_pig

https://twitter.com/tobiL22/status/1350420888940908544

Are country people the main barrier to making POC feel safe and comfortable in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

dog_pig wrote: »

Are country people the main barrier to making POC feel safe and comfortable in Ireland?

Thats just one racist troll to be fair

https://mobile.twitter.com/tobiL22/status/1350810162819424256

People like that on both sides are the biggest obstacle

She posted this nonsense too. Isn’t one of those words a racist term ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

"Maybe I’m just too empathetic but I actually feel sorry for some black people who behave like coons 😭 I just feel like a lot of them are just a product of their environment and are so accustomed to dulling their blackness to be accepted by white people. The sunken place is real."

This crap highlights the problems that a lot of people have with multiculturism. Integration into a predominantly white country is seen as being a race traitor, "coon" or uncle Tom.

These people don't want equality and don't want to be part of society. To them white people and black people who integrate into western society are the enemy. And it's all crap picked up from BLM gob****es.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

More proof twitter is a play zone for the mentally ill or the hard of thinking

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

She does not even realize she is racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭fantaiscool

statesaver wrote: »
    She does not even realize she is racist.

As white people we have no idea of what racism she has experienced and continues to experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

As white people we have no idea of what racism she has experienced and continues to experience.

What’s this “we” business, paleface?

I’m kidding with you, but your point is silly. It’s not because I’m white that I have no idea what racism she had experienced, it’s because I don’t know her, and frankly from the kind of race baiting shyte she posts, I don’t want to know her.

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭fantaiscool

I’m kidding with you, but your point is silly. It’s not because I’m white that I have no idea what racism she had experienced, it’s because I don’t know her, and frankly from the kind of race baiting shyte she posts, I don’t want to know her.

I don't know her either but I have friends of different races and have personally witnessed them taking abuse for no reason. I was with an Asian lad one time and someone going past in a car screamed a racial expletive at him. We were just walking down the street. He shrugged it off in a way that made it clear it's something he experienced quite a few times. When I asked him he said as much. I'd have no idea of anything like that happens to him at all if I had not been walking with him that specific time.

Oh I do hope that is heavily disguised sarcasm.

I don't know her either but I have friends of different races and have personally witnessed them taking abuse for no reason. I was with an Asian lad one time and someone going past in a car screamed a racial expletive at him. We were just walking down the street. He shrugged it off in a way that made it clear it's something he experienced quite a few times. When I asked him he said as much. I'd have no idea of anything like that happens to him at all if I had not been walking with him that specific time.

We all saw a clear video of a black mob racially abusing white people barricaded in a shoo for their own protection.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

And your friend didn’t turn around and abuse you, or blame you for the actions of someone else who isn’t you, and that’s the difference between your friend, and that idiot. Nobody is obligated to entertain someone who comes out with that sort of nonsense, no matter how someone treats them, that doesn’t give them an entitlement to take their anger out on anyone else. Race or ethnicity or anything else just doesn’t come into it.

I get what you’re alluding to, that people should try and understand why she would say such things before they criticise her for what she’s saying, but I already understand why she’s saying those things - for no deeper reason other than she’s an idiot.

We all have plenty of friends of all different races, colours, creeds and ethnicities, and they don’t go on like that, because they’re not idiots, and that’s why I wouldn’t have any inclination to entertain her or try to understand where she’s coming from. I know already where she’s coming from, and experiencing racism and discrimination doesn’t give anyone an entitlement to take their anger out on anyone else. I would say the same of anyone who imagined they had a right to take their anger out on anyone else, they should simply grow up and take responsibility for their own actions and the way they regard other people and treat other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Bambi wrote: »
    Facebook tends to be full of normal people who vote rather than the mentally ill weirdos that infest Twitter.

This.

Twitter is arguably the most societally divisive invention in the modern world since organised religion.

A tiny proportion of assorted loons can, with a willing media, shape the national narrative on issues that most people in the real world would have a completely different viewpoint on.

Go down your local pub (when the bastards let us back in) and listen to how many lads are discussing how we should have birthright citizenship. How we should be bringing in more people from refugee camps in Greece. How George Nkencho was murdered. How "believe women" should be the first reaction to an allegation instead of investigation, trial and conviction by a jury of ones peers based on evidence presented. How asylum seekers should be granted an immediate council house/ subsidised rental home, and to hell what this does to the housing list, the cost of rent, the people breaking their bollix to save for a home of their own.

The above issues are things that, at the very most, a few thousand (and that might be generous) students, upper class types and working class unemployables who don't read The Sun et al and fancy themselves as revolutionaries/ republicans would hold. 90% plus of these people with their preferred gender pronoun in their profile bio- I would say in the general public less than 1 in 500 would be daft enough to label themselves with this shiet.

Yet the mainstream media treats them as the views of the public at large, based on Twitter shares.

It is little different to how a few thousand priests, nuns and community Holy Joes regulated wrongthink in Ireland from the 20's to nearly the 80's almost completely unchallenged.

What an addition to the country. Someone who clearly hates us irish people and is disgusted by her own people who make an effort to integrate.

Why do anyone even bother.

What an addition to the country. Someone who clearly hates us irish people and is disgusted by her own people who make an effort to integrate.

Why do anyone even bother.

She is clearly a devotee at the Church of St Ebun.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

She is clearly a devotee at the Church of St Ebun.

And their patron saint of martyrs St. George.

I would argue that what makes any group of sufficient numbers who are obviously different feel discomfort is Western liberal multiculturalism itself. Tack on identity politics, generous social supports which engender a feeling of entitlement and insecurity among many, a slanted media, online echo chambers of different stripes, academics with a political axe to grind and pockets to fill, historical revisionism, NGO's with the ever open hand out and government and often big business backing them and that's what you inevitably end up with; a divided society. One that is overwhelmingly urban(that she kinda references but doesn't know why). And over time as history has proven time and time again doesn't get better.

Intersectional identity politics example.
    And if I was a continuing victim of same I'd either leave such a society, never go to one in the first place, or do what most do settle in areas surrounded by "my own".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

This.

Twitter is arguably the most societally divisive invention in the modern world since organised religion.

A tiny proportion of assorted loons can, with a willing media, shape the national narrative on issues that most people in the real world would have a completely different viewpoint on.

Go down your local pub (when the bastards let us back in) and listen to how many lads are discussing how we should have birthright citizenship. How we should be bringing in more people from refugee camps in Greece. How George Nkencho was murdered. How "believe women" should be the first reaction to an allegation instead of investigation, trial and conviction by a jury of ones peers based on evidence presented. How asylum seekers should be granted an immediate council house/ subsidised rental home, and to hell what this does to the housing list, the cost of rent, the people breaking their bollix to save for a home of their own.

The above issues are things that, at the very most, a few thousand (and that might be generous) students, upper class types and working class unemployables who don't read The Sun et al and fancy themselves as revolutionaries/ republicans would hold. 90% plus of these people with their preferred gender pronoun in their profile bio- I would say in the general public less than 1 in 500 would be daft enough to label themselves with this shiet.

Yet the mainstream media treats them as the views of the public at large, based on Twitter shares.

It is little different to how a few thousand priests, nuns and community Holy Joes regulated wrongthink in Ireland from the 20's to nearly the 80's almost completely unchallenged.

Indeed.

You look at social media and everyone is saying "trans women are real women"
    Being gay is normal etc

In the real world, or down the pub or in the canteen at work or simple conversation away from ear wigging nosey people you will find, as you say most people dont like this immigration raping the country.
    Do not like the importation of foreign criminals when we have enough of our own

Trans women are not real women, as we have a factual science called biology
    Travellers are NOT a race but a class and for the most part a criminal class.
    I believe live and let live, but draw the line when people try to hoodwink me and lie to my face and try alter facts to fit some pc agenda.

Things like this are commonly said, but because social media is dominated by attention whores who want to force their agenda upon everyone else it gives a false impression of what people really feel.