Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you get on with your teachers at school?

• 07-06-2020 9:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 30,327 ✭✭✭✭

In primary school I got on with my teachers fairly well. I was a bit slow and went to resource also from 1st to 5th class. So, I saw a nice few teachers and got on with them.
    I had a teacher in 2nd class who I didn't get on with and I had him in 6th class and I really liked him.(I don't think people he connected with other classes).
    I secondary I got on with most of my teachers.
    Apart from a guy called Trampuss who treated people like crap including me. He has since passed away.
    Also had a teacher called Festy who had mood swing and would like me one day and loose his temper with me the next and almost throw something at me. Often for doing nothing.
    Apart from that I liked them or found the odd one a bit sly!

How did you get on with your teachers at school?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Mixed bag. Most were fairy incompetent if I'm being perfectly honest but a few were inspiring enough.

I had a total psychopath of a Biology teacher who killed the interest I actually had for the subject; she simply was not fit for teaching kids/young adults. Hideous wrench. We had many run ins.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Had one teacher that made my a life a misery even after they were removed from teaching ,still managed to cause issues regarding other teachers .
    Last primary school teacher was great and encouraged and supported me solidly are she seen what happened the previous several years,

Secondary teachers were fairly ok ,only got close to one , who encouraged me to read and explore not just books but literature and arts and culture , actually took me to several play's ,and art exhibitions to which I was extremely grateful for

• Registered Users Posts: 5,265 ✭✭✭This is it

I didn't enjoy school, primary or secondary. Most teachers were grand but I had no interest really so I did clash with a few.

Went back to college as a mature student and I got on really well with all of my lecturers. Obviously me being more mature helped, I also knew I had to put the work in if I wanted to pass and make a proper career in my field. I'm sure teacher & adult v teacher & child made a huge difference in interactions, both ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

Some good some bad, one awful, one legendary and one screaming hot!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭talla10

I was quiet in school and got on with my work so always got on well with them.

I've met one or two since leaving school almost 20 years ago and had good chats with them.

Like everyone else had some good and some awful teachers

• Registered Users Posts: 30,327 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Feisar wrote: »
    Some good some bad, one awful, one legendary and one screaming hot!

Didn't we all nearly have a screaming hot teacher or were they just the best of a bad lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Loved every teacher in primary school with the exception of one in 3rd class, she was a yoke and a half, a young teacher an absolute cûnt to be quite honest, a vindictive spiteful tramp. We didn’t have her for 4th class as expected which was a total relief, there was a cheer even with the principal present when announcing that.

Secondary was a mixed bag, up to my Junior Cert I had a gang of excellent teachers in fact I couldn’t think of anything negative to say about any of them, nice people who made learning fun, a very focused and pupil friendly form teacher who himself was one of THE best educators in the school. 5th year was dreadful, the standard nosedived, our form teacher was like Oscar the Grouch meets Benny Hill, he looked like he slept in the park and taught like he himself was educated there... a useless and complete psycho for Physics, a horrible creature in every respect, a lovely guy but complete alcoholic for Maths who stank of whiskey and chalk which was caked...well everywhere! Geography was the previous form teacher so great, history was another brilliant and nice educator who made the subject come alive... PE was a nice lady but two years of boring basketball in a class that contained some of the best footballers the school would ever see, an All Ireland schools final was proof.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

I didnt get on particularly well. Was never top of the class. That combination brought out the worst in the Christian Brothers .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

I had pretty good relationships with teachers in school but when I went to college there was a lecturer and pretty early on we just clashed, 2 completely different people.
    I'm pretty laid back don't stress about things but will get things done and have the odd smart remark if someone challenges me.
    This particular lecturer was intense and serious about absolutely everything and expected everyone in his lecture hall to be the same, he didn't like how I didn't get involved in lectures(I hate speaking in front of people for one and generally not arsed anyway unless if feel really strong about something.) and we clashed a number of times.
    I eventually walked out of a lecture one day and told him where to shove his lectures and continued the module but didn't go to the lectures from there on in but got all the work off my housemates each week and made sure to produce good assignements as I knew he'd go out of his way to mark me strict and I did really well, Id say that hurt him.
    Anyway midway through the year the college was running a football/soccer tournament,enter your own teams, courses made their own teams, lecturers made their own teams and groups of friends made their own teams and it was a reasonable standard and taken pretty seriously.
    We made the final and so did the lecturers(few former LOI players.)
    I was about 21, training and playing a lot, fit as a flea and playing on the right wing and guess who was left back on the opposition side, none other than my lecturer friend, prob mid 40's not as fit as he once was, but got me with a crunching tackle at the start of the game and gave me a bit of lip and got booked, I said to myself I'd make it my mission to make the man's life hell.
    I ran up and down that wing like a man possessed and broke his heart, he couldn't keep up with me but being as bad in front of goals as I am I couldn't score and the game was 2-2 last few minutes I picked the ball up about halfway between midfield and his box, knew his legs were gone so knocked it past him and ran onto it but took a bad touch,almost taking it to the end line, pulled it back, my lecturer buddy has caught up on me by now and swings a kick at me at the same time my teammate taps in my pullback for what turns out to be the winner.
    Running back to celebrate the goal and the ref pulls out a second yellow and sends off the lecturer, genuinely one of the must smugly satisfying moments of my life.
    He wouldn't even shake hands afterwards, pricks like that shouldn't be working in education.

Didn't we all nearly have a screaming hot teacher or were they just the best of a bad lot.

This lady was savage!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭uch

I was that fúcker in school that was always in trouble, I wasn't allowed in sceince labs cause I'd set things on fire, I wasn't allowed do clay or pottery cause everybody would come out grey, I wasn't one for authority because I'd punch anybody that preached to me.
    But I had this one teacher who I respected and he respected me. I had to stay back a year into a special needs class in 1984, and this lad, to make a point to the class singled me out and knocked ****e out of me on the first day, he then told the class that if I was the best on offer he'd have a handy time with the rest of them, after the class he explained why he done it, his words were, You've stayed back from a normal class into this class, they're all nuts and only respect solid action, you are, in their eyes the hardest cnut in the year because you've stayed back a year, so you already have their respect, if I give you a couple of clatters and nothing happens the rest of them will fall in line and we'll all have a grand year. Funny enough at the time his explaination made perfect sense, and for the next 3 years we had probably the best teaching in the school.

21/25

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

There was a chemistry teacher I had who always use to get particularly angry every month and we figured she was on her period.

My mother was the principal of my primary school by the time I reached 5th class (she was a teacher there before), so my teachers tended to leave me be. But then, i have fond memories of my teachers there. Lovely and gentle Marist brothers for the most part.

My father was a teacher in my secondary school, but my teachers were a mix bag there. After junior cert, i did a year at a seminary, and that was very different. Nice teachers overall, but very strict (Jesuits). Still, I have good memories of them... i did need some discipline, and they were very good at encouraging motivation/interest in the subjects. I returned to my secondary school later, and found my English and History teachers to be superb. They pretty much laid the groundwork for my next decade of development.

While school itself was very... difficult (learning/study difficulties), my experiences with teachers was generally very good. But then, I knew most of them outside of school, through contact with my parents, so I knew their kids, or I'd seen them drunk with my parents. that tends to color the impression you might have about teachers. To see them as people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

grand for the most part. I was always one of the swots, so I had a good bit of leeway banked up if I had forgotten my homework or whatever.

My infants teacher clearly hated her job, I can’t think of a single pupil or parent who had anything nice to say about her. I was bored ****less during the junior and senior Infant years because my mother had taught me how to read and write before I started school. I was always fidgeting or speaking over the other kids because I knew the answer and got frustrated. She was the only teacher who ever sent my mother summons and notes about me! ��

• Registered Users Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭touts

Got on well with most of them. Was quite and hard working so that's what they wanted.

Also I went to school ~30 years ago so I hadn't seen all these movies about inspiring teachers leading their students to greatness. Therefore I had the, no longer PC, belief that what I achieved was down to me not the teacher. I know that's no longer the expectation as now most students demand Robin Williams and Michelle Pfiffer will hold their hands through 6 years of secondary school before giving them a glowing predicted grade despite all their bad behaviour thus securing them a scholarship to TCD followed by a 100k a year entry level job with Amnesty international.

Most I got along with Grand. Odd asshole that enjoyed torture more than teaching but was balanced by the ones that were really motivated and good at their jobs.

My biology teacher dragged me to a respectable C in honors. Still don't know how cause I was rubbish.

Had to resit Irish many years later after failing it originally. Oh how the teacher laughed when I slunk into the room to sit the exam surrounded by snotty 17 year olds. Considering the disinterest he had to put up with for 6 years, he deserved his chuckle at my expense. I got a B second time round.

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭the-island-man

Got on with most.

One of many stand out memories was our business teacher. We had a double class with him on a Friday either side of lunch. I have a clear memory that he'd always return after lunch with an apple in his hand but also smelling of fags and either sweat or drink (I could never tell which). The question on my mind was whether it was us he was trying to fool by eating an apple or himself?!

<Snip personal identifyable info Snip>

Seemed like a nice person but definitely not an inspirational teacher, just there to draw a wage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I was taught by a young teacher fresh out of teacher training back in 1980 and then in 1984. ( Small school teachers moved around). I looked forward to going to school those particular years. He taught my oldest son his last year in primary. His passion for teaching hadn't dimished and I'm happy that he can count my son and myself as his past pupils but more importantly his friends. He predicted my son's future and he was right. My son is a member of AGS.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

We used to hold hands down the corridors. Parading our love for the world to see

grand for the most part. I was always one of the swots, so I had a good bit of leeway banked up if I had forgotten my homework or whatever.

My infants teacher clearly hated her job, I can’t think of a single pupil or parent who had anything nice to say about her. I was bored ****less during the junior and senior Infant years because my mother had taught me how to read and write before I started school. I was always fidgeting or speaking over the other kids because I knew the answer and got frustrated. She was the only teacher who ever sent my mother summons and notes about me! ��

God, a long time since I heard that term!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

In Primary school I had a few teachers that were unfit for the role.
    In Secondary school I didn't pay them much heed, I tended to do my own thing.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Looking back I got on well with the ones who treated me more as a person to interact with than as a student who should stay quiet and do what they're told. It was a respect thing I think.
    I didn't like rules for the sake of rules (had arguments with Ma many times over this too) but if the teacher, or person of authority actually took the time to explain the reason behind the rules instead of just barking at me (us) I was far more likely to cooperate.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,298 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Very well

• Registered Users Posts: 10,298 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Feisar wrote: »
    God, a long time since I heard that term!

What's the new term for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭MrMiata

I got on fine at school, only went to see my friends but I still managed fine in class.

I'm out of school nearly 4 years (Jesus) and I still maintain some of those teachers are grossly incompetent and only there for the holidays.

I went to a public school, I'd nearly pay for private if I was to ever have kids, at least I'd have some comeback if they'd a **** teacher.

I don't care if you played county, you're not a maths teacher.
    I'm here to have the craic and get my points, not listen to some corner forward bumble on about Pythagorus.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Some great, others not so.

One in particular that I didn't... some sadistic bitch that probably relished it when she pinched students ears with her nails, or whacking the upper fingers spread out with the side of a ruler as her form of discipline.

Swear, if I ever met her today I'd punch her head so hard... couldn't care less if she's probably 70 now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Got into trouble a fair bit in secondary school but personally got on OK with all the teachers except one who I clashed with a lot, even got me suspended but in retrospect, it was just a clash of personalities and them trying to do the right thing albeit in a clumsy way.

Met her some years after school and it was fine. Couldn't have been easy teaching in a school like that and school is tough for kids sometimes. Time gives you a bit more perspective in these things.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,973 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Anyone have the PE teachers who sometimes taught Geography or History

• Registered Users Posts: 30,327 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Anyone have the PE teachers who sometimes taught Geography or History

Yep, he wasn’t the worst in the World to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Some of the primary teachers I had were not great definitely not suited to teaching got on well with all the teachers in secondary school bar one, as an adult I realise that some of them had what in today parlance would be described as having mental health issues.

The lack of professional jobs and opportunities right up to the 1990s here meant a lot of people not suited to teaching ended up teaching for lack of any other choice.