Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grace - Wolfetones Number 1 Itunes

• 04-05-2020 7:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

After been in second spot yesterday Grace sang by the Wolfetones has risen to Number 1 today in the top 100 Irish Itunes downloaded.

Today is the 104th anniversary of the execution of Joseph Plunkett by British troops in Dublin , whilst many like Charlie Flanagan & Michael Martin want to forget the fight for Irish freedom it seems like plenty others will remember our patriot dead!

LuasSimon wrote: »
    After been in second spot yesterday Grace sang by the Wolfetones has risen to Number 1 today in the top 100 Irish Itunes downloaded.

Today is the 104th anniversary of the execution of Joseph Plunkett by British troops in Dublin , whilst many like Charlie Flanagan & Michael Martin want to forget the fight for Irish freedom it seems like plenty others will remember our patriot dead!

Great to see a few still remember. We’re not overtaken by the west brits just yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Great to see a few still remember. We’re not overtaken by the west brits just yet.

Anyone stupid enough in 2020 to use the term West Brit should be put up against a wall for the crime of being a gob****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Edgware wrote: »
    Anyone stupid enough in 2020 to use the term West Brit should be put up against a wall for the crime of being a gob****e

So there isn't a segment of irish society that dislays a fawning attitude to our former occupiers?

A fine father and daughter rendition. Delighted that Waterford train station is named after Joseph Mary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ah The Wolfetones those peace loving advocates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Odhinn wrote: »
    So there isn't a segment of irish society that dislays a fawning attitude to our former occupiers?

Not all of us want to go back to murdering or kneecapping people. And the same is said about the marching knuckle draggers. Some of us remember what happened and want to move on, not live in the past.

Sadly, looking at some of the crap online (FB, youtube and here) we are destined of another 300 years of hatred and sectarianism.

Putting people up against walls.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Today is the 104th anniversary of the execution of Joseph Plunkett by British troops in Dublin , whilst many like Charlie Flanagan & Michael Martin want to forget the fight for Irish freedom
    Or maybe, shooting people / being shot is not the sum total of Irish endeavor?

Personally, I just love this song for it's pure beauty - I'm not affiliated with either side - I'm on the side of beautiful song-writing

FanadMan wrote: »
    Not all of us want to go back to murdering or kneecapping people. And the same is said about the marching knuckle draggers. Some of us remember what happened and want to move on, not live in the past.

Who said anything about wanting to go back? The fact is that the state we live in today is a result of an entirely justified armed struggle, and - like other states - we remember the sacrifices that were made over the centuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

There’s something very needy about stunts like these being pulled. Doubt any Sassanach gives a damn about this, or, indeed, the iTunes chart.

I’d prefer Jim McCann’s version to those Wolfe Tones chancers.

Only in your little mind.

Eoghan Harris, Ruth Dudley Edwards, John Bruton, Conor Cruise O'Brien......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Eoghan Harris, Ruth Dudley Edwards, John Bruton, Conor Cruise O'Brien......

Who actually cares about any of these people?

There's a segment of the Irish population who thinks coronavirus is a 5G conspiracy, and they're rightly ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

If I could take any version and stand it against a wall and shoot it, it would be the Wolfe Tones one.

Vast amount of versions out there far superior.

There's a segment of the Irish population who thinks coronavirus is a 5G conspiracy, and they're rightly ignored.

...we actually have a thread on the current affairs forum that slags them off.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

The Sunday Independent? You don't see any of the 5g crowd writing articles in national newspapers on a regular basis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Personally, I just love this song for it's pure beauty - I'm not affiliated with either side - I'm on the side of beautiful song-writing

It's one of the greatest songs ever, god I love a song with a story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

How many downloads do you need to top the charts these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

colm_mcm wrote: »
    How many downloads do you need to top the charts these days?

34,000 yesterday....its a daily thing these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Is it people buying it or just streaming for free? Do a lot of people even normally buy songs on iTunes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Grew up listening to the Wolfies, but Grace belongs to the legendary Jim McCann
    the same as the Fields of Athenry belongs to Paddy Reilly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Went to Kilmainham a few years ago. Well worth the Visit for anyone, especially Irish People.

The British Executing Irish People for wanting the Freedom of their Country.

We will not Forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Kylta wrote: »
    Grew up listening to the Wolfies, but Grace belongs to the legendary Jim McCann
    the same as the Fields of Athenry belongs to Paddy Reilly.

Jesus, imagine where your head would be growing up listening to the "Wolfies". In fairness Grace is probably the least offensive of the toxic sludge they produced over the years. Still at least Dessie Ellis and Garda McCabes killers and all the other sociopaths have a soundtrack to accompany them as trawl through their brave and heroic history or pass the time dumping diesel sludge on the country they claim to love or beating boys to death in barns. Nice for them

Truthvader wrote: »
    Jesus, imagine where your head would be growing up listening to the "Wolfies". In fairness Grace is probably the least offensive of the toxic sludge they produced over the years. Still at least Dessie Ellis and Garda McCabes killers and all the other sociopaths have a soundtrack to accompany them as trawl through their brave and heroic history or pass the time dumping diesel sludge on the country they claim to love or beating boys to death in barns. Nice for them

Must be awful to be the type of person that hates where they’re from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Must be awful to be the type of person that hates where they’re from.

Dumping diesel sludge and murdering your neigbhours being such reliable indicators of patriotism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

ones head would be perfectly fine.
    the tones sing about our history, our herritage, our brave heroes who sacrificed themselves to give us our country.
    people dumping diesel whatever wherever has nothing to do with this.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Thanks mate, I also listened to the Clash and Bob Marley. ( I know what your thinking a punk rock Rastafarian ra head)
    Oh btw im not a nationalist or a republican. The only time ive an interest in politics is when the government hits me in the pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

former? they're still occupying your head, rent free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Joseph Plunkett would be sad to come back 104 years later and still see we don’t have a United Ireland ☹️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭CorkBlackbird

The Wolfe Tones donated all money they got for being back in the charts to charity, fair play to them!
    They did the same for Come Out Ye Black and Tans a few weeks ago.

Boooooringggg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I never download music, i must be one of the few who still buy the ould record/CD.
    Is that the downloads in Ireland or the downloads in the World?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Forget about the politics, that's not my biggest issue with this. What I want to know is why, whenever there's one of these efforts to get an Irish song to top a chart somewhere, is it always some sh*te rebel song? These songs were crap back in the day and they haven't gotten any better with age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Today is also bobby sands anniversary, have we any songs to commemorate his life and struggles

Yes google Bobby Sands Trust and go to multimedia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Joseph Plunkett would be sad to come back 104 years later and still see we don’t have a United Ireland ☹️

Why? The concept/idea of a united Ireland wouldnt have meant much in 1916.

Zaph wrote: »
    Forget about the politics, that's not my biggest issue with this. What I want to know is why, whenever there's one of these efforts to get an Irish song to top a chart somewhere, is it always some sh*te rebel song? These songs were crap back in the day and they haven't gotten any better with age.

Tens of thousands would disagree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

Zaph wrote: »

In fairness grace is a good song. Not the Wolfe tines version but anyone else version

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Don't worry, he won't.
    Zombies aren't real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I had planned a trip to Tehran to eat at the infamous Bobby Sands Burger. But the Corona virus had other ideas.

🙈🙉🙊

Obviously he doesn't even deserve his name in capital letters now.

debok wrote: »
    In fairness grace is a good song. Not the Wolfe tines version but anyone else version
    Good song, not a great song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

So many great versions of that song. Why the poxy Wolfe Tones?

And which version? The Continuity Wolfe Tones? The Real Wolfe Tones?

Don't worry, he won't.
    Zombies aren't real.

He’s probably spinning in his grave. Seems to be very common amongst Irish martyrs if you were to believe the rants of republican posters on sites like this, Twitter, journal etc.

Pearse seems to be the one who spins the most. Dude hasn’t stopped spinning since they lowered him down. Sands also seems to be one who spins a lot. You’d rarely hear about Griffith, Liam Mellows etc, but one would have to presume they are spinning as well. At what velocity we aren’t sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

The Wolfe Tones were formed in 1963, the same year The Beatles had their first UK record.
    The cause never gets old, a career for the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

He’s probably spinning in his grave. Seems to be very common amongst Irish martyrs if you were to believe the rants of republican posters on sites like this, Twitter, journal etc.

Pearse seems to be the one who spins the most. Dude hasn’t stopped spinning since they lowered him down. Sands also seems to be one who spins a lot. You’d rarely hear about Griffith, Liam Mellows etc, but one would have to presume they are spinning as well. At what velocity we aren’t sure.

If only we could harness the power of spinning dead patriots, great source of renewable energy.

Excellent idea. The ESB could close down Moneypoint early. Just get Eoghan Harris or some other former stickie to write a piece and you’d have hundreds of dead patriots spinning like hell.