Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your disciplinary record on here?

123457»

• Registered Users Posts: 19,617 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I wonder could you get them to do an ask me anything. I would like to know why they do it.

It would be nice to re reg and vent on someone who says something bad to you but it's too much effort to bother with. Why would they re reg 5000 times. What do they get out of it

Can only assume someone re-regging 5000 times has deeper problems. Like imagine being rejected that many times and going back for yet another punt.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,081 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Can only assume someone re-regging 5000 times has deeper problems. Like imagine being rejected that many times and going back for yet another punt.

Don't you need a different address for each rereg too?
    Like that takes serious commitment.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭This is it

Don't you need a different address for each rereg too?
    Like that takes serious commitment.

You can generate a disposable email address in literally one second.

I'd love to know what exactly happened with Scanlas, why he was originally site banned, and why he continues to come back when he's banned within minutes almost every time.

I know there was a case a few years ago where a poster was reregging over and over again. I used to site ban on sight and wouldn't listen to any appeal they made. I can't remember the whole story but it turns out that originally the wagons were circled and he had actually been unjustifiably site banned and no one would hear him out. Some how he managed to get his "story" out and it was listened to and the site ban was reversed, after years of insta site bans if I remember right. He was better at hiding than some,. though he did use some specific usernames.

My memory is pretty bad so the above might not be fully accurate but the poster is still active so he can fill in the blanks if he wants. I think he was born in the USA :)

Sounds a lot like learning dating as a teenager.. Would you like to dance? Bam!* :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I'm banned from the politics forum for posting one too many silly memes
    Yeah that forum is a complete humour free zone. Got warned myself for posting a funny tweet, was told my standards were too low :pac:
    was that for posting a Donald Trump tweet, in the Donald Trump thread? saw someone carded for that...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,617 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

was that for posting a Donald Trump tweet, in the Donald Trump thread? saw someone carded for that...

yeah I got a card for that, I cant remember the exact tweet but it was to do with Trump on the Trump thread. As said Politics is a humour free zone, you have to act all serious all of the time. Its not surprising that the forum has gone pretty dead since Currant Affairs started up

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Couple of 24hr bans, couple of yellows, and no reds.

Can't remember what the yellows were for. 24hr bans were for flirting, and getting into conversation on an After Hours thread. Possibly deserved both of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

mike_ie wrote: »
    Honestly, yes. Short of posting porn or absolute hate speech
    Nope.
    I can't imagine a scenario where any user would get an instant site ban
    Yup.
    without going through a reasonable escalation of warnings to cop on, or cards.
    Nope.
    TL:DR - you really have to be acting the bolix to earn yourself a siteban in my opinion.
    Yup. Acted the total eejit. Unfortunately someone else had found the bug before I did, so I got the temp site ban. Did I deserve yet? Yup.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    24hr bans were for flirting

That was probably for sexual harassment, not flirting..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I wonder could you get them to do an ask me anything. I would like to know why they do it.

It would be nice to re reg and vent on someone who says something bad to you but it's too much effort to bother with. Why would they re reg 5000 times. What do they get out of it

In theory yes, but they'd to have some wit and self-awareness.

In reality they'd probably be incredibly dull and not well in the head.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I got infracted on my first night posting in years ratted out by The Zohan.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,348 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

2 yellows and a red. All from greebo while he was overlord on the golf forum. I got off lightly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

I'm ok on 99% of the site..I've probably picked up 2 or 3 yellows...a red or 2 in12 years.

Different story in rugby...
    think they've nicknamed me "Hallmark"

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

That was probably for sexual harassment, not flirting..

In my defense, it did take two.

yeah I got a card for that, I cant remember the exact tweet but it was to do with Trump on the Trump thread. As said Politics is a humour free zone, you have to act all serious all of the time. Its not surprising that the forum has gone pretty dead since Currant Affairs started up

Bit like Legal Discussion so. Don't on pain of agonizing death.

And Ranting & Raving: Watch out for resident snowflakes ready to pounce on your post.

Interesting to see why some posters see their yellow / red cards as a badge of honour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Interesting to see why some posters see their yellow / red cards as a badge of honour

I wouldn't say I wear it as a badge of honour, but I'd rather get one for a joke that a mod didn't get, for calling a racist a racist, or for criticising a poor mod decision, than for losing my cool and hurling abuse at someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

3 reds, 2 yellows.

Probably getting easier in general to get carded as the world in general is more PC and fragile than back when I joined in 2005.

Most of the cards would have been for things that could be considered adult humour, nothing that Tommy Tiernan or Eddie Murphy when he was doing stand up wouldn't have said.

3 reds, 2 yellows.

Probably getting easier in general to get carded as the world in general is more PC and fragile than back when I joined in 2005.

I joined boards initially in late 2009.

A noticeable change in handing out cards by the mods was noticed around 2014. The rate of card handouts is now 20% higher than it was in 2014.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭This is it

I joined boards initially in late 2009.

A noticeable change in handing out cards by the mods was noticed around 2014. The rate of card handouts is now 20% higher than it was in 2014.

Source for that?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,454 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I wouldn't say I wear it as a badge of honour, but I'd rather get one for a joke that a mod didn't get, for calling a racist a racist, or for criticising a poor mod decision, than for losing my cool and hurling abuse at someone.

One fellow in politics pointed out that Corbyn was indeed an anti semite and was endorsed by Nick Griffin and David Duke, he got a red card for it, bans are often about disagreement with the mod views, many are reasonably given and include a few of my yellows.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭endainoz

I got a yellow for taking the piss out on a misinformed vegan who was talking through his hole about farming. I stand by my choice

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭endainoz

Bit like Legal Discussion so. Don't on pain of agonizing death.

And Ranting & Raving: Watch out for resident snowflakes ready to pounce on your post.

Legal discussion is the worst forum by a long way. Full of self entitled pricks who know everything. True to life I suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

2 yellow.

One for saying something in a "no chat" thread
    One for calling Joe Duffy a sick or thick C U next Tuesday.

A friendly PM warning for calling Ray Darcy a little bo££ix in a thinly veiled Fr Ted quote. Mod saw the funny side .

A yellow from Beasty for calling someone a troll. Rescinded after a PM conversation. Fair play. Said troll got the bullet a day or two later.

I love those arguments from the type of user who’s here a wet weekend and yet goes on about the power tripping mods.

Most people on this site get along just fine, with one or two mod actions every once in a while, but to the other type of poster it’s always the power tripping mods who are to blame, along with their sheeple.

3 yellows, 1 red here

Yellows were for what I considered 2 jokey comments and 1 “you really are too thick to breath” type
    Red was for a bit of overreaction but still deserved. Last one was 2017

Why am i not surprised

• Registered Users Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

This is it wrote: »
    I'd love to know what exactly happened with Scanlas, why he was originally site banned, and why he continues to come back when he's banned within minutes almost every time.

I know there was a case a few years ago where a poster was reregging over and over again. I used to site ban on sight and wouldn't listen to any appeal they made. I can't remember the whole story but it turns out that originally the wagons were circled and he had actually been unjustifiably site banned and no one would hear him out. Some how he managed to get his "story" out and it was listened to and the site ban was reversed, after years of insta site bans if I remember right. He was better at hiding than some,. though he did use some specific usernames.

My memory is pretty bad so the above might not be fully accurate but the poster is still active so he can fill in the blanks if he wants. I think he was born in the USA :)
    That's a story I'd like to hear

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Got a Red for posting when I was told to not post again even though it was never explained why I received the ban originally but after appealing to the MODS we smoothed things over and been a good poster since :D
    It felt like being at school and getting the blame for something I didn’t do, never abused anyone or put anyone down. It can be a strange world here but I do really like it. Boards should have an app I use it so much and others do to :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

No infractions on this account. My previous account was a different story though. I tend to stick to the lighthearted threads these days.