Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you letting your teens go out and about

• 21-03-2020 8:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭

There still seems to be quite a few gangs of teenagers hanging around shopping centres and parks, as if they're on their Summer holidays from school.

Surely, even leaving selfishness aside, their parents should be concerned about the risk they're putting their own family at.

Just wondering if any of you are continuing to let your teenagers hang around with their friends, or how easy is it to stop them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

There's no point in the majority of the adults in the country exercising the precautions and safeguards needed to fight Covid-19 if their kids/teenagers/young adult children either don't know, don't care and therefore undo all the good work done by their parents.

I was stopped at lights in my car the other day and saw a few, maybe 12-14 yo girls meeting up. Lots of hugs cheek kissing and close chat. Y'know, the normal stuff kids do. These are not normal times!

I was going into a shop today and there were 3 younger kids 9/10yo outside, again, doing normal kids stuff (which does not involve social distancing) No idea where the parents were.

If you are a parent, it is totally up to you to educate your children properly and explain to them what is going on and what they have to do. Tell them in whatever way you feel is right (obviously without frightening the bejaysus out of them) but do tell them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Children, particularly infants, are more vulnerable than we might have thought. I think the very low mortality rate was observed and people (including me) jumped to the conclusion that they wouldn't come to harm. But there's a spectrum between being totally grand and dying.

They do catch it, and over 7% in the 1-5 age group get severe or critical forms that can lead to organ failure.

https://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/pediatrics/early/2020/03/16/peds.2020-0702.full.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

blergh wrote: »
    Children, particularly infants, are more vulnerable than we might have thought. I think the very low mortality rate was observed and people (including me) jumped to the conclusion that they wouldn't come to harm. But there's a spectrum between being totally grand and dying.

They do catch it, and over 7% in the 1-5 age group get severe or critical forms that can lead to organ failure.

https://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/pediatrics/early/2020/03/16/peds.2020-0702.full.pdf

Also it's not only about them contracting it. Even if they get it mildly they can still spread it and some vulnerable person could die.

Parents need to think about this when they're letting their kids hang around in gangs, or bringing toddlers with them to the supermarket unnecessarily. I saw two couples with a toddler each in Tesco yesterday. Very selfish of the parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,985 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

A big group of kids (numbering 6-10) have been out playing football on the green daily, including the parents of some of the kids joining in!!

2 of the kids, their mother is a nurse, and their father was out with them yesterday for about an hour.

Perhaps a hotline is needed so we can ‘rat them out’, and a local Garda can swing by and have a kind word with them or the parents reminding them of the importance of social distancing! I fear though if they get moved off the green, it’ll just be to one of their front rooms to play PlayStation!

We spend all the time bemoaning bad weather, always hoping for a nice spell of sunny weather. Oh how we’d all love a few weeks of miserable pi$$ing rain to keep all the kids indoors!!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,595 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I'm finding it's not just kids, large portions of the public, adults included, are just not taking advice seriously. I feel like we've a great chance of avoiding the worst of this but lots of people seem determined to make sure we'll be like italy in a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

A big group of kids (numbering 6-10) have been out playing football on the green daily, including the parents of some of the kids joining in!!

2 of the kids, their mother is a nurse, and their father was out with them yesterday for about an hour.

Perhaps a hotline is needed so we can ‘rat them out’, and a local Garda can swing by and have a kind word with them or the parents reminding them of the importance of social distancing! I fear though if they get moved off the green, it’ll just be to one of their front rooms to play PlayStation!

We spend all the time bemoaning bad weather, always hoping for a nice spell of sunny weather. Oh how we’d all love a few weeks of miserable pi$$ing rain to keep all the kids indoors!!

exact same thing happening where i am group of 8 kids approx 8 to 12 years old hanging out up the road chasing, playing football doing the usual. I was thinking to go over and say something but a friend of mine reckoned i would just be seen as the neighbourhood weirdo and keep out of it as it was none of my business :cool: so i kept quiet and said nowt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

I think this is going to be a major problem. Until recently I lived in inner-city Dublin. The kids and teens spend a lot of time outdoors with each other. Compliance with laws is not particularly high. I think these communities are going to be at particular risk because of their unruly kids.

While I'm not a particular fan of some of these families, I'd be sorry to see all their aul' wans and aul' fellas die because of the carry on if the youngsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

This is where parents actually need to parent their kids. I know it's hard and it's boring and that most parents these days seem to deem that parenting their kids means that they are best buddies with them.

STEP THE **** UP TO THE PLATE PEOPLE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,147 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I think some parents are finding out exactly why some teachers dislike their child.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

Thank God I no longer have teens!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They've only got phones and technology so they can communicate but they still hang around together like bad smells.

I think back to when I was a teenager, would have been great to been told to stay inside and play games! Load up some Half Life or Civ and play away away.

I suppose it would be very bad for Shauna's mental health to ask her to stay indoors like everyone else. And she's a very sensible girl and I've given her a bottle of hand sanitiser from the 50 or so I've got stashed under the stairs and I'm sure she'll be very careful and use it constantly.

Now I must dash to get my manicure done before this ridiculous government closes down all the nail bars as well.

Honestly it's like living in a third world country.

Saw a few lads playing footy in a park, smaller kids on swings and slides their parents sitting on benches together chatting, another 2 young lads going house to house knocking on door seeing if people want their grass cut.

2 young girls walking their dogs together, groups of teenagers together just been kids i know but jaysus have they been listening or been told by adults even teachers for fecks sake before school broke up to stay away from each other.

Adults are the same, 2 men in the fifties id say chatting to each other, then one of them said I was sent home from work to self isolate just in case, both laughing it off as if it were nothing, them mind boggles, wish i had said something now.

Curfews need to be implemented now while we are still able to cope with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭twomonkeys

Neither of my teens (15 and 18) have socialised with their mates since the day the schools closed. I sat them both down on day 1 and explained the reality in black and white. Had a difficult few days at the start, esp with the 15yo, and his mates are still all allowed to meet up, but he’s accepted the new ‘norm’ now.
    It angers me that other parents are still allowing their teens to socialise, just because its too hard to say “No” and put up with a bit of shouting and sulking for a day or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,509 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I think kids where I am are taking it on board. My daughters class "met" today on a video chat thing and they are all staying isolated and washing hands etc. If we go out it's for a walk in a quiet area, not playtime. Its really not that hard to impress upon them how serious this is. If you care enough of course. it's completely on the parents to educate them about it, which for those who dont do any parenting is hard obviously. Dicks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

I think some parents are finding out exactly why some teachers dislike their child.

:-D

No teenagers are not allowed out. They can talk on phone with friends as much as they like though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nope

She can go out for a short walk and that's it's

Feel sorry for her not an easy situation at that age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

BellaBella wrote: »
    Also it's not only about them contracting it. Even if they get it mildly they can still spread it and some vulnerable person could die.

Parents need to think about this when they're letting their kids hang around in gangs, or bringing toddlers with them to the supermarket unnecessarily. I saw two couples with a toddler each in Tesco yesterday. Very selfish of the parents.
    Yeah no more trips to the shops with my kid for a while alright.

He thinks the hardware store is a massive playhouse. With groceries he just sits in the trolley but in a hardware store he wants to play with everything.

Outdoor places like woods and parks are good. Unfortunately playgrounds are not and are largely closed anyway. The problem is that a lot of kids (including mine) will just want to go into the playground if they're in a park. So the local park is actually not really fit for kids now as a result of having a playground in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,228 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

could 16 plus be recruited into stocking stores, part time, that'll keep em busy for a part of the week and they'd get a bit of money

Nope

She can go out for a short walk and that's it's

Feel sorry for her not an easy situation at that age

Yes it's difficult but I suppose, like everyone, they'll really appreciate a lot of things they took for granted when all this is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I'm the only one leaving our house to go near town. Was on the beach with the kids this week.
    We're fortunate to have some land so the kids have space to roam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Sadly it will probably take the death of a child for all parents to step.

Given way,so many in media and social media sneer at kids/young people in general...and use age as a reason to insult/dismiss em...have you ever heard any media person use milenial/generation z in a positive context??

..kinda hard to expect.them to just,do as media expects now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,905 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

boombang wrote: »
    I think this is going to be a major problem. Until recently I lived in inner-city Dublin. The kids and teens spend a lot of time outdoors with each other. Compliance with laws is not particularly high. I think these communities are going to be at particular risk because of their unruly kids.

While I'm not a particular fan of some of these families, I'd be sorry to see all their aul' wans and aul' fellas die because of the carry on if the youngsters.

Yep, my gfs flat is beside Sheriff st. All the kids around there are behaving as usual. Gangs running around. Their parents wouldn't be the brightest people so they're never going to get them to stay home. As long as most of us comply we should have a chance of keeping it at bay, but there will be an element of society that are too ignorant and selfish and lacking in intelligence to grasp the situation and what's required of all of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Kerry25x

That is disappointing, as a nurse myself I'm completely self isolating outside of work to do my absolute best to protect my patients in the case of me picking up the virus in the community and to protect everyone else in the case that I pick it up in the hospital. I'm young and healthy but the thought of becoming a carrier is a huge worry to me (or even becoming gravely ill myself).

Hopefully she will soon cop on.

Of course not having kids myself I could be underestimating the challenge of keeping them inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭appledrop

I think a lot of the problem is parents not been honest with their kids + trying to 'shield' them. You have to be honest with them. I have a toddler + he knows that we cant go to playground, play centre, creche, see nana + granddad as there is a virus that makes people sick.

Yes we explained it in simple terms but he needs to understand why he cant see all his friends. We have been getting out to park every evening no problem once I finish work. I'm actually delighted playgrounds are closed because when he asks to go I just keep showing him the closed playground + he is happy then to play football in park or go for walk. No problem where we go with social distance. Huge green areas so everyone just keeps their distance. Hope we dont go into totally lock down as not good for anyones mental health to be stuck inside all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

This video is made by a doctor in the US: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIrTMCPGFZs he answers a lot of questions about social distancing and he has kids himself so he's quite understanding. The first part of the video is all social distancing questions, I'd just leave it after that section (unless you aren't already sufficiently scared about the virus).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,791 ✭✭✭corks finest

exact same thing happening where i am group of 8 kids approx 8 to 12 years old hanging out up the road chasing, playing football doing the usual. I was thinking to go over and say something but a friend of mine reckoned i would just be seen as the neighbourhood weirdo and keep out of it as it was none of my business :cool: so i kept quiet and said nowt.

Deadbeat irresponsible parenting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Who is letting their teens out?

What the funk is modern communications technology for? I have to subject myself to standard def Netflix to make sure there's bandwidth for all these people to shoot the sh!t so they better bloody make use of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭tscul32

I think back to when I was a teenager, would have been great to been told to stay inside and play games! Load up some Half Life or Civ and play away away.

That's my teen. No problem keeping him in. Getting him to move is the only difficulty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

tscul32 wrote: »
    That's my teen. No problem keeping him in. Getting him to move is the only difficulty.

I've got his clone.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

tscul32 wrote: »

I recommend tasty snacks. You're teen will find themselves in the kitchen very quickly.

In case of emergency turn off the router and your teen will be literally standing right behind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭piplip87

No not going with friends they have plenty of apps to keep in touch with. We do go for a 5K family walk with the dogs every day. Luckily enough we've plenty of fields and Forrest's around here to keep distanced.

It's great.my lad has got into gaming again so my Xbox has come in handy for him. It's great to as I am work from home so that's one less temptation for me.

As for the 8 year old holy God keeping him occupied is a nightmare. Well that's another story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭little bess

My teen is not going out with friends and hasn’t since the schools closed. I feel bad for her but hey what can you do, we all have our bit to do!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Children do not always do as they’re told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Fleetwoodmac

None of mine ( mid teens) going out. I took them out of school a week before schools shut. They've been surprisingly good despite them seeing friends posting their socialising adventures on Snapchat etc. The thing they are missing most is sport so lots of pent up energy. Beyond me how parents are ok with their kids hanging around and then possibly bringing it back to parents and younger siblings. Hearing about groups of teenagers pretending to cough or sneeze on elderly ( don't know if this is true) is heart breaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

No - I collected our 13 year old son from school the day they closed and brought him home. He has not left since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I think until they get into the habit of social distancing they should ONLY go to social distancing events that are supervised like we saw in rings end etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,946 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Given way,so many in media and social media sneer at kids/young people in general...and use age as a reason to insult/dismiss em...have you ever heard any media person use milenial/generation z in a positive context??

..kinda hard to expect.them to just,do as media expects now??

Oh ffs. No doubt that was typed while you're enjoying a few pints down the local. Its nothing to do with the media, its common sense and parents who don't make sure there kids comply should be jailed when this is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I work in town and they aren't many teens around now to be fair apart from a few.

There are some siblings who might go out for a walk but they aren't in shops.(This is acceptable to some and not to others.).

I do know of one mother who's all about social isolating and how she's a strict mother and her kids are inside, etc. The funny things is they are the one's who sneaking out behind her back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Absolutely, get em into Half Life, they won't want to ever go out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

I haven't seen teens out, mostly adults with the their kids who are not adhering to advice. There was a couple in aldi the other day with both their kids, kids who were running about having lots of fun.
    There will always be idiots

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,444 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged