Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Runaways wrote: »
    FAO aido79

Welfare Cheats Cheat Us All

Published: 18 April 2017
    From: Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection
    Minister for Social Protection Leo Varadkar has launched a hard-hitting publicity campaign designed to raise awareness of social welfare fraud and encourage members of the public to identify potential cheats.

Speaking at the launch, Minister Varadkar said: “The vast majority of people receiving payments from the Department of Social Protection are fully entitled to those payments and are compliant with the conditions. However, we take fraud very seriously and have a responsibility to taxpayers to ensure that people receive what they are entitled to. Nothing upsets people more than someone else cheating the system at their expense. That’s why we are launching a new campaign to encourage members of the public to report suspected or known cases of welfare fraud.

“Members of the public play a vital role as whistleblowers. Last year some 20,800 allegations of alleged social welfare fraud were dealt with by the Department. These are investigated and where warranted, payments are reduced or stopped and, in some cases, claimants are prosecuted. Overall, a range of anti-fraud and control measures in the Department of Social Protection saved taxpayers over €500 million last year.”

The hard-hitting publicity campaign promotes the Department’s online and telephone fraud-reporting services. It’s designed to encourage debate about social welfare fraud and challenge the perceptions of those who see it as a victimless crime. It kicks off in the next few days with online, print, and broadcast advertisements and a national poster campaign.

The majority of public reports in 2016 concerned Jobseekers Schemes, Supplementary Welfare Allowance and One Parent Family Payments. The most common reports allege issues such as working while claiming, cohabiting with a partner who is making a financial contribution, or claiming while living abroad. The Department estimates that approximately one in three reports results in a payment being reduced or stopped.

Last year, the Department’s Prosecution Service considered some 300 cases of which 194 were referred to the Chief State Solicitor’s Office for proceedings to issue. A further 160 cases were referred for prosecution to the DPP by the Department’s Special Investigations Unit.

Minister Varadkar continued: “The Department of Social Protection has the single biggest budget of any Government Department, spending €19 billion every year. Last year, 1.4 million people received a weekly social welfare payment. Even with a budget of this size, there are still many positive changes I would like to make but have been unable to do so due to budgetary constraints. That’s why savings are so important. And that’s why the public has a vital role in ensuring that we only target resources at those who most need them.”

Confidential reports can be made using:

a confidential facility on-line on the Department’s website www.welfare.ie/cheats where concerns can be reported
    the dedicated telephone facility 01 673 45 45 staffed by trained personnel
    reports by letter are also welcomed and encouraged (Fraud Reports, Central Control Division, DSP, Shannon Lodge, Carrick-on-Shannon, Co Leitrim)
    Reports can also be made to any of the Department’s offices nationwide.

https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/218fcc-welfare-cheats-cheat-us-all/?referrer=https://www.welfare.ie/en/pressoffice/Pages/pr180417.aspx

Is there something wrong with reporting welfare fraud?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

joeguevara wrote: »
    Is there something wrong with reporting welfare fraud?

That is not at all the topic at hand and a piss poor attempt at deflection but you do you.
    Do you know how much was spent on that spin exercise and how much it actually saved the state?

All for an ego ramp for Leo’s aspirations to be Taoiseach. And at the taxpayers expense

Ps where is denis o Briens tax domicile again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

You’re somehow Unaware of Leo’s ‘welfare cheats cheat us all’ campaign?
    The one he promised would save the state €500 million a year, which turned out to be a lie shock horror. He can’t help himself. Goes off script and suddenly has to reveal who he is. We’re better than You and a massive dose of disdain for anyone that isn’t him. The arrogance and entitlement aside, he just cannot help himself. The people currently keeping the country going: retail staff, student nurses, drivers, carers, hospital cleaners and caterers, are all low income WORKERS and he's still having a go.

Absolutely Shameful.

But I’m sure his cultist devotees here will rush to his defence presently.

And you all wonder why FG are the least popular party in the country. They’ve lost our trust and it’s pretty much all his fault.

The program was good, the problem was the bleeding heart Irish didn't report the welfare cheats!!

https://www.thejournal.ie/fact-check-leo-varadkar-welfare-cheats-3404165-Jun2017/

Some info here. No time to read it. Knock yourself out

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 5,374 Mod ✭✭✭✭aido79

FAO aido79

Welfare Cheats Cheat Us All

Published: 18 April 2017
    From: Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection
    Minister for Social Protection Leo Varadkar has launched a hard-hitting publicity campaign designed to raise awareness of social welfare fraud and encourage members of the public to identify potential cheats.

Speaking at the launch, Minister Varadkar said: “The vast majority of people receiving payments from the Department of Social Protection are fully entitled to those payments and are compliant with the conditions. However, we take fraud very seriously and have a responsibility to taxpayers to ensure that people receive what they are entitled to. Nothing upsets people more than someone else cheating the system at their expense. That’s why we are launching a new campaign to encourage members of the public to report suspected or known cases of welfare fraud.

“Members of the public play a vital role as whistleblowers. Last year some 20,800 allegations of alleged social welfare fraud were dealt with by the Department. These are investigated and where warranted, payments are reduced or stopped and, in some cases, claimants are prosecuted. Overall, a range of anti-fraud and control measures in the Department of Social Protection saved taxpayers over €500 million last year.”

The hard-hitting publicity campaign promotes the Department’s online and telephone fraud-reporting services. It’s designed to encourage debate about social welfare fraud and challenge the perceptions of those who see it as a victimless crime. It kicks off in the next few days with online, print, and broadcast advertisements and a national poster campaign.

The majority of public reports in 2016 concerned Jobseekers Schemes, Supplementary Welfare Allowance and One Parent Family Payments. The most common reports allege issues such as working while claiming, cohabiting with a partner who is making a financial contribution, or claiming while living abroad. The Department estimates that approximately one in three reports results in a payment being reduced or stopped.

Last year, the Department’s Prosecution Service considered some 300 cases of which 194 were referred to the Chief State Solicitor’s Office for proceedings to issue. A further 160 cases were referred for prosecution to the DPP by the Department’s Special Investigations Unit.

Minister Varadkar continued: “The Department of Social Protection has the single biggest budget of any Government Department, spending €19 billion every year. Last year, 1.4 million people received a weekly social welfare payment. Even with a budget of this size, there are still many positive changes I would like to make but have been unable to do so due to budgetary constraints. That’s why savings are so important. And that’s why the public has a vital role in ensuring that we only target resources at those who most need them.”

Confidential reports can be made using:

a confidential facility on-line on the Department’s website www.welfare.ie/cheats where concerns can be reported
    the dedicated telephone facility 01 673 45 45 staffed by trained personnel
    reports by letter are also welcomed and encouraged (Fraud Reports, Central Control Division, DSP, Shannon Lodge, Carrick-on-Shannon, Co Leitrim)
    Reports can also be made to any of the Department’s offices nationwide.

https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/218fcc-welfare-cheats-cheat-us-all/?referrer=https://www.welfare.ie/en/pressoffice/Pages/pr180417.aspx

Thanks for that. I didn't live in Ireland in 2017 so was unaware of it but do you really think there weren't people in Ireland committing welfare fraud?

Can you show me what is wrong with the statement please?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

aido79 wrote: »
    Thanks for that. I didn't live in Ireland in 2017 so was unaware of it but do you really think there weren't people in Ireland committing welfare fraud?

Can you show me what is wrong with the statement please?

I think they stopped that campaign before years end. Problem wasn't as big as projected if I recall.

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    The program was good, the problem was the bleeding heart Irish didn't report the welfare cheats!!

https://www.thejournal.ie/fact-check-leo-varadkar-welfare-cheats-3404165-Jun2017/

Some info here. No time to read it. Knock yourself out

They didn’t report them because they don’t exist in anything like the numbers In Leo’s imagination. Simple as that. Will read tho thanks. Trying to force some food in

That is not at all the topic at hand and a piss poor attempt at deflection but you do you.
    Do you know how much was spent on that spin exercise and how much it actually saved the state?

All for an ego ramp for Leo’s aspirations to be Taoiseach. And at the taxpayers expense

Portugal bud. Lovely country. Not a fan of Denis O’Brien.

You don’t answer whether benefit fraud is a bad thing. Fair play.

joeguevara wrote: »

Fraud is criminal no matter who’s doing it. Not paying taxes on your income is worse. Especially when a lot of it is derived from your companies magically procuring massive nationwide contracts from the state and then bailing off with the money.

Hello Dennis

Ps he’s escaped with faaaaaaar larger amounts of actual money than Leo’s imaginary 500 million

And still his companies are being hired and he’s profiting off us in the middle of this crisis.

Look at the van inthe back of Leo’s appallingly timed photo op in the convention center. On of Dennis’ companies.

Fraud is criminal no matter who’s doing it. Not paying taxes on your income is worse. Especially when a lot of it is derived from your companies magically procuring massive nationwide contracts from the state and then bailing off with the money.

Hello Dennis

Ps he’s escaped with faaaaaaar larger amounts of actual money than Leo’s imaginary 500 million

And still his companies are being hired and he’s profiting off us in the middle of this crisis.

Look at the van inthe back of Leo’s appallingly timed photo op in the convention center. On of Dennis’ companies.

I don’t like Leo. not a big fan of Fine Gael and Denis o brien is a pr1ck.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Ballso

Runaways thinks Denis O'Brien reads his internet posts

Ballso wrote: »

Dennis reads everything. You can’t even mention him on twitter without getting sued.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Probably reads them from his lair hidden inside a volcano while he strokes a white cat.

Hello Dennis

Stop deflecting every single post.

This is about social welfare fraud. Simple fact is loads of it is going on in Ireland. Standard response is "da foreigners" but in reality most is done by the Irish.

We have a society who rewards the waster, ahh look at that cute hoooeerr(how ever it is spelt) while it doesnt seem to register the cute lad is taking money out of our pockets.

Not saying the polticians either are saints in this, look at the carry on of a number of FG politicians. Look at the boys below in Kerry....nothign wil change. THe issue is for all the bad FG do, SF are 100 times worse

• Registered Users Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

This is about social welfare fraud. Simple fact is loads of it is going on in Ireland. Standard response is "da foreigners" but in reality most is done by the Irish.

We have a society who rewards the waster, ahh look at that cute hoooeerr(how ever it is spelt) while it doesnt seem to register the cute lad is taking money out of our pockets.

Not saying the polticians either are saints in this, look at the carry on of a number of FG politicians. Look at the boys below in Kerry....nothign wil change. THe issue is for all the bad FG do, SF are 100 times worse

Moriarty.

Probably reads them from his lair hidden inside a volcano while he strokes a white cat.

“And I would just say to anyone who is thinking of that, we are all in this together and nobody, in any walk of life, should seek to be better off, or seek to make profit out of this crisis.” - Leo

Meanwhile guess who owns the beacon hospital and will be profiting from the state hiring it and guess who owns the logistics company setting up the temporary hospital spaces?

And he isn’t doing it from the goodness of his heart

But yeah. Fvck poor people and shinners scrounging off the state

• Registered Users Posts: 27,208 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

You’re somehow Unaware of Leo’s ‘welfare cheats cheat us all’ campaign?
    The one he promised would save the state €500 million a year, which turned out to be a lie shock horror. He can’t help himself. Goes off script and suddenly has to reveal who he is. We’re better than You and a massive dose of disdain for anyone that isn’t him. The arrogance and entitlement aside, he just cannot help himself. The people currently keeping the country going: retail staff, student nurses, drivers, carers, hospital cleaners and caterers, are all low income WORKERS and he's still having a go.

Absolutely Shameful.

But I’m sure his cultist devotees here will rush to his defence presently.

And you all wonder why FG are the least popular party in the country. They’ve lost our trust and it’s pretty much all his fault.

FG are the least popular party in the country?

Are you delirious or something?

Rabid slobbering on the internet does not make FG the least popular party in the country.

I can’t take you seriously while you call everyone on welfare wasters.

300,000 people are Now out of job. You’d seriously want to adjust your tone although I doubt you refer to people as such in company. But you’re thinking it no doubt.

The contempt and disdain you guys hold people really really is disgusting.

blanch152 wrote: »
    FG are the least popular party in the country?

Are you delirious or something?

Rabid slobbering on the internet does not make FG the least popular party in the country.

Says blanch with over 100,000 posts on this forum all rabidly gnawing at the very mention of Sinn Fein

Laughable.

Ps you need to look up the most recent election results chuck x

I can’t take you seriously while you call everyone on welfare wasters.

300,000 people are Now out of job. You’d seriously want to adjust your tone although I doubt you refer to people as such in company. But you’re thinking it no doubt.

The contempt and disdain you guys hold people really really is disgusting.

When did I call everyone on social welfare wasters?

So at least have the manners to apologise the rest of the rant?

I know you seem to be incapable of admitting your wrong.....

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Nitrogan

Any update on how SF propose to form a government unless they've a threat of violence behind them?

Nitrogan wrote: »
    Any update on how SF propose to form a government unless they've a threat of violence behind them?

Seemingly they are not, but it’s everyone else fault

• Registered Users Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Probably checks under his bed each night.

When did I call everyone on social welfare wasters?

So at least have the manners to apologise the rest of the rant?

I know you seem to be incapable of admitting your wrong.....

You just did it in your previous post

‘ We have a society who rewards the waster, ahh look at that cute hoooeerr(how ever it is spelt) while it doesnt seem to register the cute lad is taking money out of our pockets.’

And no i won’t apologise. I didn’t insult you. I described you and ‘your sort’ very accurately and it stings you because it’s true.

You just did it in your previous post

‘ We have a society who rewards the waster, ahh look at that cute hoooeerr(how ever it is spelt) while it doesnt seem to register the cute lad is taking money out of our pockets.’

And no i won’t apologise. I didn’t insult you. I described you and ‘your sort’ very accurately and it stings you because it’s true.

Where in that post does it say everyone on social is a waster?

I wouldn’t expect anything better from you to be honest

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 54 ✭✭Griselda

The parties are all goosed . No money left after this to enact any policies in their mandate.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Griselda wrote: »
    The parties are all goosed . No money left after this to enact any policies in their mandate.

FG will be alright. All the contracts they have given out, tax reliefs, millionaires that they have made etc. Those people will all be queuing up to play their part and help give FG something back. That must have been why FG embed it every term that are in office.
    That's obviously why DOB is letting the State hire the Beacon..

Those smarmy geniuses, were getting things ready - 'expecting the unexpected'..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Suckit wrote: »
    FG will be alright. All the contracts they have given out, tax reliefs, millionaires that they have made etc. Those people will all be queuing up to play their part and help give FG something back. That must have been why FG embed it every term that are in office.

Those smarmy geniuses, were getting things ready - 'expecting the unexpected'..

They won’t in the slightest. The virus caught the public off guard and the indo and rte again sought to galvanise national unity in a cynical sense. However now the initial shock is over I can see people starting to ask questions and it’s become abundant that FG are using it in a power grab. Watch people get angry and watch the likes of the Spindo desperately trying to manage the optics around it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Nitrogan

smurgen wrote: »
    They won’t in the slightest. The virus caught the public off guard and the indo and rte again sought to galvanise national unity in a cynical sense. However now the initial shock is over I can see people starting to ask questions and it’s become abundant that FG are using it in a power grab. Watch people get angry and watch the likes of the Spindo desperately trying to manage the optics around it all.

Are SF going to form a government?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭satguy

Dinny will be very happy to see his Beacon Hospital full of SF voters.

So I guess the answer to the OP is No,, SF have not vanished.
    There'er just all at the Beacon being looked after by some very grumpy FG voters.