Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ISOLATE NOW! THIS IS NOT A DRILL!

• 18-03-2020 1:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭

I've posted this in our Covid19 thread but I said I'd post it here as well in the hope that some who don't follow that thread will follow the advice.
    Hi Buford,
    I feel obliged to inform you on the state of play here.

The **** has hit the fan.
    They waited too long to go total lockdown and now things are quickly deteriorating.
    Just this morning I’ve a puncture that won’t be repaired, a pulsation problem in the milking machine, a bust hydraulic pipe, and need antibiotics for eye problems in a few cows...and the hassle involved to get it sorted. I’ll get the antibiotics this evening but the other problems will have to wait...until God knows when.

I’ve been ringing relatives and friends to tell them how bad this is going to get, and to isolate immediately. Not one took me seriously!
    You are a respected mod, use it please to raise awareness!!!!!!!

We’ve been notified that if Ag is shown to help spread the virus, it will be locked down.

Proper self-isolation is our last hope. People NEED to know this and act immediately.
    I know you’ve an underlying health issue so please take care.

In my lifetime I’ve never witnessed such a game changer. Things won’t ever be the same again. Max, a former employee in his twenties, is only hanging on by a thread. His mother got the virus last night and when the ambulance called they left her at home saying that she’s better off there...triage at the home. Sad.

Please get the message across Buford.
    I cannot emphasize this enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,222 ✭✭✭endainoz

I've posted this in our Covid19 thread but I said I'd post it here as well in the hope that some who don't follow that thread will follow the advice.

Is there a lockdown coming in the next few days do you think? Heading to the local Kerry store to get a few stakes and things to keep me going for a while. Few bits of fencing to do before the few cows and calves go out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

endainoz wrote: »
    Is there a lockdown coming in the next few days do you think? Heading to the local Kerry store to get a few stakes and things to keep me going for a while. Few bits of fencing to do before the few cows and calves go out.

I don't know, Enda. I thought a lockdown would be announced last night. But I can't see a lockdown not coming.

Leaving aside a lockdown, we all have it in our own hands to isolate as much as possible and stay away from anybody and everybody unless it's vital. This virus now seems to be in general circulation so I would treat anybody as a potential source of infection. I can deal with getting it myself but the thought I may be responsible for passing it onto someone vulnerable doesn't sit easily with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I don't know, Enda. I thought a lockdown would be announced last night. But I can't see a lockdown not coming.

Leaving aside a lockdown, we all have it in our own hands to isolate as much as possible and stay away from anybody and everybody unless it's vital. This virus now seems to be in general circulation so I would treat anybody as a potential source of infection. I can deal with getting it myself but the thought I may be responsible for passing it onto someone vulnerable doesn't sit easily with me.

Remember allot of people are being forced to work as their workplace is open and they absolutely need the job, particularly since we are looking at another major recession, holding a job is a big deal.
    I had this very conversation with my boss this morning about job security.

Both my brothers want to stop but must continue, one has a wife with a cardiac issue and her consultant warned her to stay safe.

I wouldn't argue with that at all, Brian. But I think we all need to be looking at minimising exposure. Get messages delivered. Pay by card. Tap and pay. Order what you need and collect it if it can't be delivered. Go at the quietest times you can.

Every bit helps to delay the spread.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

_Brian wrote: »
    Remember allot of people are being forced to work as their workplace is open and they absolutely need the job, particularly since we are looking at another major recession, holding a job is a big deal.

Both my brothers want to stop but must continue, one has a wife with a cardiac issue and her consultant warned her to stay safe.

That's what Leo Varadkar should have spoken about - businesses forcing staff to endanger themselves and others.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Syncpolice

That's what Leo Varadkar should have spoken about - businesses forcing staff to endanger themselves and others.

It was.up to vardkar to stop business, business won't do it voluntarily

The virus is being allowed to spread at a slow.rate, that's the strategy

Syncpolice wrote: »
    It was.up to vardkar to stop business, business won't do it voluntarily

The virus is being allowed to spread at a slow.rate, that's the strategy

I don’t think spread is on the plan, it’s inevitable but it would be too risky to plan any speed of spread. I think it’s lobbying by IBEC and other groups against closing business.
    Vintners got into talks so they weren’t forced to close, that way they get to choose when to open. I think stronger action is needed but worry Leo doesn’t have the stomach for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

_Brian wrote: »

I'm in the civil service. Went in today after taking holidays for a few weeks.came back to 15 of us in the same room, feet apart, all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Where's your union? This is a Health and Safety issue.

I'm in the civil service. Went in today after taking holidays for a few weeks.came back to 15 of us in the same room, feet apart, all day.

You should have walked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭nhg

I'm in the Public Service, all given laptops with remote connection to our PC's so that we have access to the server, working from home on rotation so that there is no more than 1 person in each office at a time, everyone must adhere to 2m apart in common areas. Option to work outside the normal working hours if children need to be minded. Luckily our offices are in an old building so lots of small rooms available, this wouldn't work in a big open plan office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 revsperminute

Hi all, i don't post that much.. but a heads up on my situation. I can work from home and have done it sporadically in the past for different reasons and the company i work for knows this. They issued a memo last week with regard to their measures to combat and protect us employees from this virus, the usual basis HSE guidelines like washing your hands and social distancing, cancelling all external meetings and no site visits. However they said in principle working from home will not be allowed.

I didn't think much of it last week, but the seriousness of the situation has grown on me and we need to act and limit our interaction with people. For example working in an office, so on Tuesday i contact a manager that i would rather work from home on Wednesday in order to avoid unnecessary contact with people and protect my and my families health. However yesterday while working away at home i was told that in principle the guidelines to be followed are not to work from home and that i wouldn't be paid for Wednesday as i would be marked absent. So today (Thursday) i am back in the office with 40 to 50 others at work.

The company keep telling us to follow HSE guidelines, they have posters stuck up on the walls but they are ignoring the working from home where possible guideline. It is possible to work from home in this case but we are not allowed too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Where is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

This is a worrying thought from the OP.

“We’ve been notified that if Ag is shown to help spread the virus, it will be locked down.“

Is there a fear that it could be spread by animals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

This is a worrying thought from the OP.

“We’ve been notified that if Ag is shown to help spread the virus, it will be locked down.“

Is there a fear that it could be spread by animals?

No, the industry and any movement around it. Drivers, processors, marts etc

Mooooo wrote: »
    No, the industry and any movement around it. Drivers, processors, marts etc

Ok. Thanks. Makes sense.

RobinBanks wrote: »
    Where is this?

Genghis gave you the link above but there's another thread going with answers from a consultant in a hospital dealing with coronavirus.

Questions thread below if you want to ask a question.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058062217

Answers thread below where they might already have answered some questions you might have.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058062219

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

This was written by a micro-biologist, worth a look if you have a few minutes,

https://medium.com/@phoebetickell/i-need-you-to-read-this-and-decide-about-coronavirus-6dd184745b33

In a nutshell the longer the virus is curtailed the better chances people have.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,222 ✭✭✭endainoz

blue5000 wrote: »
    This was written by a micro-biologist, worth a look if you have a few minutes,

https://medium.com/@phoebetickell/i-need-you-to-read-this-and-decide-about-coronavirus-6dd184745b33

In a nutshell the longer the virus is curtailed the better chances people have.

She lost me as soon as she said she wasn't a doctor or even a health professional.

Excellent link Blue, a good read.
    Seems some employers haven't got the memo, in this country also.
    We are on day 4 or 5 from day Zero ( when we had 100 positives) Note the graph is a log.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

A video from a church in Bergamo on the 15th showing the reality of the situation there.
    https://www.ilmessaggero.it/italia/coronavirus_bergamo_bare_chiesa_video-5112930.html

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Every cloud has a silver lining, clear water with fish visible in the canals in Venice.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

Anyone out there after drinking beistings from a vaccinated cow as a precaution?

Wonder would it help?

Could we sell it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Gudstock

Hi all, i don't post that much.. but a heads up on my situation. I can work from home and have done it sporadically in the past for different reasons and the company i work for knows this. They issued a memo last week with regard to their measures to combat and protect us employees from this virus, the usual basis HSE guidelines like washing your hands and social distancing, cancelling all external meetings and no site visits. However they said in principle working from home will not be allowed.

I didn't think much of it last week, but the seriousness of the situation has grown on me and we need to act and limit our interaction with people. For example working in an office, so on Tuesday i contact a manager that i would rather work from home on Wednesday in order to avoid unnecessary contact with people and protect my and my families health. However yesterday while working away at home i was told that in principle the guidelines to be followed are not to work from home and that i wouldn't be paid for Wednesday as i would be marked absent. So today (Thursday) i am back in the office with 40 to 50 others at work.

The company keep telling us to follow HSE guidelines, they have posters stuck up on the walls but they are ignoring the working from home where possible guideline. It is possible to work from home in this case but we are not allowed too.

In a very similar position here, government directing everyone to work from home where possible, I'm in the public service too, my job is very possible from home but there is no appetite to permit us to do that. Very frustrating. Public service moving at snail's pace again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Certainly puts a damaged lawn into perspective or at least it should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

alps wrote: »
    Anyone out there after drinking beistings from a vaccinated cow as a precaution?

Wonder would it help?

Could we sell it?

Would explain all the toilet roll lads are buying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

The one thing about this situation for farmers creed has not come out said one thing about where agriculture is going and also nothing by the new ifa president.

I've heard that the IFA caused this thing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Gudstock wrote: »
    In a very similar position here, government directing everyone to work from home where possible, I'm in the public service too, my job is very possible from home but there is no appetite to permit us to do that. Very frustrating. Public service moving at snail's pace again.

Yes one of the siblings here the same... A government department
    She is recovering from cancer and has a lung condition, currently fine but they want her to travel into work all day and mix with god knows who
    Its beyond disgraceful and totally beyond the image portrayed at press conferences :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 revsperminute

Gudstock wrote: »

I work in the private sector and the company response to this is poor to say the least. There is even a suspected case of a family member of an employee now and the company line is still not to work from home and if you do you wont be paid. In fairness to the employee he has stayed away but it is very unfair as he is willing to continue to work.

There has been a few instances of employees also having to stay at home to mind kids and again no working from home even though it is possible. If you are not in the office you wont get paid is the line and they are sticking to it.

Also, just to add on a separate note. Air quality has improved around the world from this lock down and reduced air travel while agricultural activity has continued as relatively normal. Makes you wonder will the powers that be focus on the real culprits of air pollution when this all blows over.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0320/1124295-air-pollution-is-down-will-we-take-heed-of-lessons/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Plenty of press releases about it here

https://www.ifa.ie/

Also an item by tim himself in todays IFJ.
    Loads of advice on IFJ Today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I work in the private sector and the company response to this is poor to say the least. There is even a suspected case of a family member of an employee now and the company line is still not to work from home and if you do you wont be paid. In fairness to the employee he has stayed away but it is very unfair as he is willing to continue to work.

There has been a few instances of employees also having to stay at home to mind kids and again no working from home even though it is possible. If you are not in the office you wont get paid is the line and they are sticking to it.

Also, just to add on a separate note. Air quality has improved around the world from this lock down and reduced air travel while agricultural activity has continued as relatively normal. Makes you wonder will the powers that be focus on the real culprits of air pollution when this all blows over.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0320/1124295-air-pollution-is-down-will-we-take-heed-of-lessons/

Global airtravel as we know it is over i reckon, their will be a huge amount of airlines going bust the next few months and those left standing will have to charge massively inflated fees to cover their losses due to the current pandemic, disposable income worldwide will be decimated too plus the added fear of traveling by the general public will see demand crash also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

If you really want to force the issue go onto glass door and give them a review saying they stopped payment to people who worked from home curing the COVID-19 outbreak. Let them know and it's there nobody takes a job these days with out checking reviews of the company.

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Global airtravel as we know it is over i reckon, their will be a huge amount of airlines going bust the next few months and those left standing will have to charge massively inflated fees to cover their losses due to the current pandemic, disposable income worldwide will be decimated too plus the added fear of traveling by the general public will see demand crash also

Be nice to get away for a few days in the sun though, after all this..🥳🥳

Ah, the sun is coming to us.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Decided to act in the past week and got a shot of calves off farm and have sold a shot of older animals which brings me back to just 3 bunch s of animals-calves ,heifers, cows.and giving serious thought to getting a.fr bull calf that i have fighting to keep the life in the last 3 weeks put down.logic behind decision s
    First i want to streamline my system in case the covid knocks me out.the lads could probaly cope but id like to keep the system as simple as possible.also they could be knocked too and if anybody is running it .im not sure you can do the normal flu job of milk the cows and throw silage and back to bed with this one.

Next money decided to throw a wad of cash in the bank rather than on the hoof.
    The danger that i might have to keep the calves for whatever reason and end up under pressure stocking wise.
    The fish thing spooked me abit and i m wary of beef returns in the future as i think people will be eating as cheap as possible for a while.
    Have ye been pplanning for you yourself getting sick and what will happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Mortelaro wrote: »
    Yes one of the siblings here the same... A government department
    She is recovering from cancer and has a lung condition, currently fine but they want her to travel into work all day and mix with god knows who
    Its beyond disgraceful and totally beyond the image portrayed at press conferences :mad:

She needs to draw their attention to the official FAQs issued on the Gov.ie website re Covid 19. It would have been emailed to her also, by the official side and union.
    There is a duty of care on the employer to risk assess for staff who are health-compromised.
    Essentially, she needs to drop an email to her local HR, or PO, depending on her desire for privacy (some chance, with HR in civil service) and declare herself out on health grounds. Get GP advice immediately. Drop GP an email.
    But remove herself immediately. And best wishes to her.

https://www.gov.ie/en/news/d2536d-covid-19-faqs-for-hr-in-the-civil-and-public-service/

K.G. wrote: »
    Decided to act in the past week and got a shot of calves off farm and have sold a shot of older animals which brings me back to just 3 bunch s of animals-calves ,heifers, cows.and giving serious thought to getting a.fr bull calf that i have fighting to keep the life in the last 3 weeks put down.logic behind decision s
    First i want to streamline my system in case the covid knocks me out.the lads could probaly cope but id like to keep the system as simple as possible.also they could be knocked too and if anybody is running it .im not sure you can do the normal flu job of milk the cows and throw silage and back to bed with this one.

Next money decided to throw a wad of cash in the bank rather than on the hoof.
    The danger that i might have to keep the calves for whatever reason and end up under pressure stocking wise.
    The fish thing spooked me abit and i m wary of beef returns in the future as i think people will be eating as cheap as possible for a while.
    Have ye been pplanning for you yourself getting sick and what will happen?

If you were able to do those jobs above, you didn't have a proper flu. A flu means a temperature of 103+ and your legs gone and you wouldn't mind dying.
    I get your point though. A bad dose, fair enough.

mf240 wrote: »
    Certainly puts a damaged lawn into perspective or at least it should.

Fairly twisted logic there. It puts everything into perspective, including the bitching and moaning about the damage your assets caused to someone else's asset.
    Bizarre post and logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

An Ri rua wrote: »
    Fairly twisted logic there. It puts everything into perspective, including the bitching and moaning about the damage your assets caused to someone else's asset.
    Bizarre post and logic.

Welcome to F&F. I hope you went back over the last few weeks in this forum before you replied to the above. Please look to your left. You will find a grey stone. Probably very similar to the one you crawled out of. I dont think I could tell ya to fcuk off any nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Lads , please, civility and on topic .If ye feel the need to debate the finer points keep it to pm.

Thanks.
    GC

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

An Ri rua wrote: »
    If you were able to do those jobs above, you didn't have a proper flu. A flu means a temperature of 103+ and your legs gone and you wouldn't mind dying.
    I get your point though. A bad dose, fair enough.

Oh yes you do these jobs.over the years i have milked cows with broken ribs and 6 days after appendix removed.(couldnt milk on day 4 and 5 as i was mowing and buchraking)😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Oh yes you do these jobs.over the years i have milked cows with broken ribs and 6 days after appendix removed.(couldnt milk on day 4 and 5 as i was mowing and buchraking)ðŸ˜

When there is nobody else to do it you don't have much choice in the matter. Got the proper flu for the first time in Dec before any dry off was dragging myself around the place just about. Put the cow's once a day ended up with cell count spiking and a couple of mastitis cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Oh yes you do these jobs.over the years i have milked cows with broken ribs and 6 days after appendix removed.(couldnt milk on day 4 and 5 as i was mowing and buchraking)😁

Milking a with a broken rib was ok until I was putting the clusters in the washing cups. That motion was unbearable pain. Laughing with broken ribs is too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Mooooo wrote: »
    When there is nobody else to do it you don't have much choice in the matter. Got the proper flu for the first time in Dec before any dry off was dragging myself around the place just about. Put the cow's once a day ended up with cell count spiking and a couple of mastitis cases

Got it a few years ago in dec. I was still milking. My help was away. It was hell. One morning I couldn’t physically rise until 10 o clock. Then milk feed etc. Dragging myself around for the day.

Welcome to F&F. I hope you went back over the last few weeks in this forum before you replied to the above. Please look to your left. You will find a grey stone. Probably very similar to the one you crawled out of. I dont think I could tell ya to fcuk off any nicer.

Hi, welcome to F&U too.
    Long time reader and contributor but thanks for the back seat moderation.
    @KG, it's all about limiting the downside. Try to set things up that the lads can do what's needed for a week or so, safely. Had to do the same ourselves when we were barely 12/13, and we got through it. Looks like you're planning ahead and taking it seriously and dealing in realities. Common sense beats pigheadedness in most situations.