Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking in a bus stop

• 10-03-2020 7:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭

Hi all.
    It turns out I was parked on a bus stop last night (I didn't realize).
    Traffic corp car stops in front of me and guard gets out and takes a photo (I think) of my car and the car behind me
    I rolled down the passenger window to ask what was going on .
    As he's passing he says "you're parked in a bus stop" and gets back into the squad car.
    So did I get a warning or am I looking at a fine or what?.
    I can't seem to find the penalty online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Whocare

I say fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

shovel wrote: »
    Hi all.
    Traffic corp car stops in front of me and guard gets out and takes a photo (I think) of my car and the car behind me
    I rolled down the passenger window to ask what was going on .
    As he's passing he says "you're parked in a bus stop" and gets back into the squad car.
    So did I get a warning or am I looking at a fine or what?.
    I can't seem to find the penalty online.

Fine in the post.

Very similar scenario happened me when parked in a taxi rank not too long ago.

Thought I got away with it but the fine came then a couple of weeks later.

€40

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭shovel

Thanks for the prompt responses. I'd be happy enough with just a fine.
    My young lad went into a chip shop to get a portion of Curry.
    It looks like it will be the dearest portion ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Miscreant

callaway92 wrote: »
    Fine in the post.

Very similar scenario happened me when parked in a taxi rank not too long ago.

Thought I got away with it but the fine came then a couple of weeks later.

€40

Wonderful example of policing then if you were not even told to expect a fine. It is not like you blew past a speed camera at 20 above the posted limit or anything. I thought if a member of AGS caught you doing something you were not supposed to, that they at least had to have an interaction with you about it..... or is this another case of "Fish in a Barrel" policing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Wow, never see them doing anyone and people that park, pull in etc into bus stops makes my job so much harder and just shows how little respect people have for others especially when they have special needs and are older or in a wheelchair, even buggies....

Obviously op you didn't intend to do this but most likely fine will be on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Miscreant wrote: »
    Wonderful example of policing then if you were not even told to expect a fine. It is not like you blew past a speed camera at 20 above the posted limit or anything. I thought if a member of AGS caught you doing something you were not supposed to, that they at least had to have an interaction with you about it..... or is this another case of "Fish in a Barrel" policing?

Plenty of people have been pulled by the Gardai and told to drive on only for a fine to arrive a few weeks later, it's one of the least professional aspects of their culture along with not introducing themselves when they stop you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Seriously? You’re criticising an attempt to enforce the law or punish miscreants? Too often they simply drive by and do nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭yrreg0850

If a fine comes ,I would contact the Garda press office and ask them if this is normal policy.

That garda may have been on his way home to tea and, decided to justify his mileage without losing time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭kirving

Marcusm wrote: »
    Seriously? You’re criticising an attempt to enforce the law or punish miscreants? Too often they simply drive by and do nothing.

Strawman alert.

The criticism is very clearly about how the Gard doesn't even have the professional courtesy to discuss the matter, and is only interested in issuing the fine.

All too often people post on boards.ie after dealing with the Gardai, having absolutely no idea where they stand due to intentional poor communication on the Gards part.

I understand it - they don't want to get into an argument about it. Nevertheless, it's completely unprofessional and contributes to negative opinions people may have of the Gardai. If I treated people like that in work I'd be sacked in a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

yrreg0850 wrote: »
    If a fine comes ,I would contact the Garda press office and ask them if this is normal policy.

That garda may have been on his way home to tea and, decided to justify his mileage without losing time.

Another "Armchair Lawyers thoughts". For goodness sake, the OP was illegally parked. He will get a ticket which he seems ok with and you decide to make the Traffic Cop the bad guy ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Miscreant

Wow....

I am in no way criticising this attempt to enforce the law in my post. The interaction, as cited by the OP, in my opinion (FWIW) would be unfair if they were to receive a fine in the post. The Garda made no real attempt to engage with the OP to get them to change their behaviour other than to take a picture. If the OP had not queried what was going on then it sounds like the Garda would have driven away without a word said. This situation should not happen and there should have been a verbal interaction between them (over and above the "you're parked at a bus stop") to give the OP a chance to correct their behaviour and move their vehicle or for the Garda to issue a fine there and then.

I am not a lawyer, solicitor, judge, Garda or other law enforcement/legal professional so my opinion should be taken with a pinch of salt on this. However, as someone who works in a professional environment on a daily basis, I expect to be treated with professionalism in my dealings with "officialdom" and not have an interaction such as the one the OP has described.

In any case @OP - I hope you do not receive a fine in the post as I think it would be unfair but I fear you may have no comeback in this case if you do.

Strawman alert.

The criticism is very clearly about how the Gard doesn't even have the professional courtesy to discuss the matter, and is only interested in issuing the fine.

All too often people post on boards.ie after dealing with the Gardai, having absolutely no idea where they stand due to intentional poor communication on the Gards part.

I understand it - they don't want to get into an argument about it. Nevertheless, it's completely unprofessional and contributes to negative opinions people may have of the Gardai. If I treated people like that in work I'd be sacked in a week.
    Hardly a straw man. If the photo was taken I would assume it was for the purpose of sending a fine. Personally if I was the guts, I would have checked the discs and given the driver an earful (and no, failing to spot that it was a bus stop is not an excuse but rather an admission of driving without due care and attention). However, the particular guard did not and I find it difficult to see how there can be any cribbing.

Wow....

I am in no way criticising this attempt to enforce the law in my post. The interaction, as cited by the OP, in my opinion (FWIW) would be unfair if they were to receive a fine in the post. The Garda made no real attempt to engage with the OP to get them to change their behaviour other than to take a picture. If the OP had not queried what was going on then it sounds like the Garda would have driven away without a word said. This situation should not happen and there should have been a verbal interaction between them (over and above the "you're parked at a bus stop") to give the OP a chance to correct their behaviour and move their vehicle or for the Garda to issue a fine there and then.

I am not a lawyer, solicitor, judge, Garda or other law enforcement/legal professional so my opinion should be taken with a pinch of salt on this. However, as someone who works in a professional environment on a daily basis, I expect to be treated with professionalism in my dealings with "officialdom" and not have an interaction such as the one the OP has described.

In any case @OP - I hope you do not receive a fine in the post as I think it would be unfair but I fear you may have no comeback in this case if you do.

The person who parked in a bus stop without realising it is hardly worth dealing with on that basis, however. Either they have done so deliberately and will only react to a fine appropriately collected or they did not take sufficient care to see where they are.

Attached is a photo I took this morning at 7.05am. This is what I encounter on a daily basis. It is a 4 way junction and one of them is a one way street (with a van exiting the wrong way). The artic is not exiting the junction, it is parked across a disabled bay and right out into the street.

I cannot get the local gardai to deal with this in any sensible way.

This is why I applaud any Garda willing to make the effort to issue a fine!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

or is this another case of "Fish in a Barrel" policing?
    How on earth could it be "fish in a barrel policing" when the OP admits to a mistake and the garda takes action immediately?
    The garda told the OP about the offence so what's the issue? That the garda didn't go into detail about the possible punishment? Maybe it means that the garda can choose from a potential number of offences when they review the image.
    Anyhow, I'm sick of this entitled attitude expressed by a growing number of drivers who believe that they can drive and park with no consideration for anyone but their own selfish selves! It's about time that AGS became firm with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What’s the country coming to when you can’t park your car in a bus stop to go get some curry?
    Dey should be going after the real criminals. The bankers et al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,577 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Discuss the matter? To what end?

He parked in a bus stop, he was caught and will get a fine, what discussion is needed? The only thing that could come from a discussion would be the guilty party whinging or inventing excuses and who does that serve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,816 ✭✭✭Markcheese

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What’s the country coming to when you can’t park your car in a bus stop to go get some curry?
    Dey should be going after the real criminals. The bankers et al.

And the people speeding ,and lane changing,except when I do it ...

I assume it's quicker and easier to stop ,take a picture and head on .. than get into a debate or argument ..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

Hardly a straw man. If the photo was taken I would assume it was for the purpose of sending a fine. Personally if I was the guts, I would have checked the discs and given the driver an earful (and no, failing to spot that it was a bus stop is not an excuse but rather an admission of driving without due care and attention). However, the particular guard did not and I find it difficult to see how there can be any cribbing.

I imagine he was using one of the new Active Mobility phones issued to some Gardaí. They can take a photo of a reg plate and get all details direct to the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

It's not unprofessional on their part. There's no obligation to 'discuss' or debate with or comfort a driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,894 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I don't consider a car parked if a person is in it ready to drive off. Not as if a bus was trying to park and car was blocking him. It's just typical Ireland, Garda should have had some manners and told him to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,507 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Reading some of the responses above, it's no wonder the country is such a clusterfcuk for driving.

Pay the fine if it arrives and learn from your mistakes.

If you believe an exception should be made for you then dial 1850 715 815, there's an overpaid public service contractor at the end of the line who specialises in getting people out of situations like this, and in doing so makes things worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I thought if a member of AGS caught you doing something you were not supposed to, that they at least had to have an interaction with you about it?

They had an interaction about it though.

Inconsiderate people park at bus stops all the time. Making it harder for every other road user. Garda probably has better things to be spending time on than arguing with a driver.
    yrreg0850 wrote: »

"Hi, Garda Press Office? I realise this is absolutely nothing to do with your department, but do you believe it's normal policy to receive a fine for breaking traffic laws?"
    I don't consider a car parked if a person is in it ready to drive off.

I see it all the time outside my local supermarket. Car parked up with the driver in it, while someone has nipped into Tesco. Forces cyclists out of the cycle lane, into traffic, and busses to pull out of the bus lane, into the regular lane. All because people are too lazy to walk 100m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭elperello

KevRossi wrote: »
    Reading some of the responses above, it's no wonder the country is such a clusterfcuk for driving.

Pay the fine if it arrives and learn from your mistakes.

If you believe an exception should be made for you then dial 1850 715 815, there's an overpaid public service contractor at the end of the line who specialises in getting people out of situations like this, and in doing so makes things worse.

I don't see Liveline getting involved in a case like this and find it hard to imagine how any radio programme would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Strawman alert.

You understand it, but it is unprofessional?
    A lot of people have negative opinions about guards because they allow knackers/scobies park where ever they like. Guards cannot win.

elperello wrote: »
    I don't see Liveline getting involved in a case like this and find it hard to imagine how any radio programme would.

The Niall Boylan Show would probably love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Effects wrote: »
    The Niall Boylan Show would probably love it.

I forgot about him.
    Not that I ever listened to his show.
    I saw him on TV a few times though.

It'd want to because very slow news day for an open and shut case like this one.

I don't consider a car parked if a person is in it ready to drive off.
    It's irrelevant what you think it is. The legislation makes it clear!
    Not as if a bus was trying to park and car was blocking him. It's just typical Ireland,
    Typical Ireland thinks it's ok to park in bus lanes or cycle paths. It's fine to park in disabled spots if they're empty also. Traffic laws don't apply if you're going to Mass. Etc. :rolleyes:
    Garda should have had some manners and told him to move on.
    The garda did their job and not got into a debate with a member of the public for a traffic violation. How were they not mannerly?

Discuss the matter? To what end?

He parked in a bus stop, he was caught and will get a fine, what discussion is needed? The only thing that could come from a discussion would be the guilty party whinging or inventing excuses and who does that serve?

No discussion is needed per se, but if you were to pick up your car for a mechanic and got a big bill, wouldn't you think it to be a professional courtesy for the mechanic to explain why. Or should he just hand you the bill and refuse to discuss?

Maybe the OP's car had broken down, maybe they were sick, maybe it was 2am with no busses running. All maybe's I know, but the Gard didn't bother to even ask.

We could just police the entire country via AI and algorithms if we don't see the point in a relatable police force.
    Traumadoc wrote: »
    You understand it, but it is unprofessional?
    A lot of people have negative opinions about guards because they allow knackers/scobies park where ever they like. Guards cannot win.

Something can be understandable behaviour but also unprofessional at the same time, what's so odd about that? People getting angry at work would be an example.

They won't win if they treat ordinary members of the public with as much disdain as they have the OP. If you're going to be handing out fines, then have the decency to say why and for how much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I don't consider a car parked if a person is in it ready to drive off. .

And this here is the problem. We have cities full of dickheads "stopped" all over the place oblivious or not giving a **** about any hassle they are causing to anyone else.

If you were to pick up your car for a mechanic and got a big bill, wouldn't you think it to be a professional courtesy for the mechanic to explain why.

If I knew a service cost €150 before I dropped my car into the mechanic, and then when I picked the car up from the mechanic he handed me a bill for €150, I wouldn't bother trying to debate it or haggle him down.

No discussion is needed per se, but if you were to pick up your car for a mechanic and got a big bill, wouldn't you think it to be a professional courtesy for the mechanic to explain why. Or should he just hand you the bill and refuse to discuss?

Maybe the OP's car had broken down, maybe they were sick, maybe it was 2am with no busses running. All maybe's I know, but the Gard didn't bother to even ask.

We could just police the entire country via AI and algorithms if we don't see the point in a relatable police force.

Something can be understandable behaviour but also unprofessional at the same time, what's so odd about that? People getting angry at work would be an example.

They won't win if they treat ordinary members of the public with as much disdain as they have the OP. If you're going to be handing out fines, then have the decency to say why and for how much.

One is providing a service while the other is enforcing the law. Can you see the difference? There was an interaction and it was sufficient to alert the driver to his offence. There hardly needs to be any further discussion. I find it odd that the driver did not simply repark the car in a lawful place.

It would be lovely if we had sufficient policing resources for them to engage in a spirited or lively debate. Personally I would like to see more enforcement. Red light cameras, bus lane cameras, ANPR cameras on passing Garda cars which issue fines without further interaction.

Since moving back from the U.K. I can see that the minuscule likelihood of being challenged or getting a fine means that some people contravene traffic rules on an hourly basis. While in the U.K. I thought the use of camera based fines excessive but frankly I would rather see that excessive rather than the self-centred approach which I encounter on a daily basis.

What possible additional explanation did you actually expect the Guard to provide?

Park illegally and get caught by Guard = you will likely receive a fine.

It's that simple.

Effects wrote: »
    If I knew a service cost €150 before I dropped my car into the mechanic, and then when I picked the car up from the mechanic he handed me a bill for €150, I wouldn't bother trying to debate it or haggle him down.

Nor would I, which is why I said "big bill". The OP was left without a lot of info, which IMO is bad practice.
    One is providing a service while the other is enforcing the law. Can you see the difference? There was an interaction and it was sufficient to alert the driver to his offence. There hardly needs to be any further discussion. I find it odd that the driver did not simply repark the car in a lawful place.

It would be lovely if we had sufficient policing resources for them to engage in a spirited or lively debate. Personally I would like to see more enforcement. Red light cameras, bus lane cameras, ANPR cameras on passing Garda cars which issue fines without further interaction.

There isn't a difference in how the public should be treated by either. IMO it was insufficient as the OP doesn't know whether they'll get a fine, points for dangerous parking (arguable in some cases) or a summons for something or other.

There could be a good reason why the OP was parked there, but the Gard had no interest whatsoever. As much as people online think every law should be strict liability, I think a good dose of discretion actually builds better communities and mutual respect for the Gards.

By that, I mean we should throw out fines like confetti for red light breaking. But the guy who crawls through a red at 4am, on the way to hospital with his wife in labour, isn't exactly deserving of a fine.

I'm totally with you on the enforcement, there's basically none for the most irritating things like terrible parking and bus lane usage in Dublin rushour.
    donvito99 wrote: »
    What possible additional explanation did you actually expect the Guard to provide?

Park illegally and get caught by Guard = you will likely receive a fine.

It's that simple.

Believe it or not, I did manage to work that out. That isn't my contention anyway.

If it's so simple, why doe the OP have a question as to what comes next? Can you tell me, with 100% certainly, what fine the OP will get? Could be a range of things.

There isn't a difference in how the public should be treated by either.

One person broke the law and the other brought a car to be fixed and you are suggesting they ought to be treated the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I agree with Kevin on this one. If anything its a bit of common courtesy to let the person know.

I was in Rathmines a few months ago and a BMW was parked on the path. Looked like some tosser had parked up there due to a lack of on street parking. 2 guards came along and looked like they were about to book it. Thankfully I noticed people help the owner push it onto the path 10 minutes earlier as it had konked out at the lights and was blocking the main street. I told the guards this and they seemed happy with the explanation. The owner may have lived closed by and had to race off for a few mins.

Nor would I, which is why I said "big bill". The OP was left without a lot of info, which IMO is bad practice.

There isn't a difference in how the public should be treated by either. IMO it was insufficient as the OP doesn't know whether they'll get a fine, points for dangerous parking (arguable in some cases) or a summons for something or other.

There could be a good reason why the OP was parked there, but the Gard had no interest whatsoever. As much as people online think every law should be strict liability, I think a good dose of discretion actually builds better communities and mutual respect for the Gards.

By that, I mean we should throw out fines like confetti for red light breaking. But the guy who crawls through a red at 4am, on the way to hospital with his wife in labour, isn't exactly deserving of a fine.

I'm totally with you on the enforcement, there's basically none for the most irritating things like terrible parking and bus lane usage in Dublin rushour.

Believe it or not, I did manage to work that out. That isn't my contention anyway.

If it's so simple, why doe the OP have a question as to what comes next? Can you tell me, with 100% certainly, what fine the OP will get? Could be a range of things.

For all you or the OP knows, the guard may indeed intend to check the vehicle record to establish whether to exercise discretion although that is a component of the action to take. A parking offence is a strict liability offence, it does not require intent but merely the commission of the act. The OP not alone admitted the unlawful parking but made an unprompted admission that he had parked so carelessly as you admit he was unaware that it was a bus stop.

We Irish seem to have a genetic need to flout the law backed up by an absolute absence of any reasonable enforcement even in built up areas.

It‘a probably appropriate that the OP has squeaky bum time while he waits to see if there is a ticket. There are no penalty points so it’s a minor enough matter. He will likely think before parking there again; can the same be said for the many others who simply get away.

As a case in point, Mick Wallace could not even recall being the recipient of Garda discretion in the infamous driving & mobile phone incident. I suspect the same is true of many who are told to move on rather than receiving a ticket.

I can certainly remember the tickets I have received and it informs my driving behaviour.

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    I agree with Kevin on this one. If anything its a bit of common courtesy to let the person know.

I was in Rathmines a few months ago and a BMW was parked on the path. Looked like some tosser had parked up there due to a lack of on street parking. 2 guards came along and looked like they were about to book it. Thankfully I noticed people help the owner push it onto the path 10 minutes earlier as it had konked out at the lights and was blocking the main street. I told the guards this and they seemed happy with the explanation. The owner may have lived closed by and had to race off for a few mins.

It would probably have involved less effort to push it to a safe place on the road than to push it up on to the pavement where it has no place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Strawman alert.

what is there to discuss? they were parked in a bus stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,577 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

That is a ridiculous comparison quite frankly and barely deserves a reply. A mechanic trying to get paid has sweet **** all to do with a guard quite rightly taking action over a clear and obvious traffic violation. Its not even in the same ballpark.

Maybe the OP's car was a cleverly disguised minibus? Maybe the OP was secret service searching for corona virus's's'? Or maybe he was a guy happily sitting in his car at a bus stop because god forbid he spend any time looking for a parking space. I am quite confident that it was clear to the guard which scenario was most likely here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Hi all.

How did you not realise it was a bus stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,894 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

And this here is the problem. We have cities full of dickheads "stopped" all over the place oblivious or not giving a **** about any hassle they are causing to anyone else.

I don't mean some dickhead sitting in a bus stop waiting for someone who has gone shopping, or into shop.

I'm just talking about pulling in, to take a call, or take a drink. I have no time for dickheads who sit in loading bays and bus stops. I deal with it too often, dickheads who are in a loading bay in their big seven seater jeep, pointing at there commercial tax disc as a justification for taking up a loading bay as they sitting there reading their newspaper.

Dickheads like that I want to drag out of their vehicle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

It would probably have involved less effort to push it to a safe place on the road than to push it up on to the pavement where it has no place.

There was no space along that stretch of road and with no power steering or servo assist brakes it was probably best to get it parked up off the road as soon as possible. Thankfully the path was wide enough for buggys to get passed.

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    There was no space along that stretch of road and with no power steering or servo assist brakes it was probably best to get it parked up off the road as soon as possible. Thankfully the path was wide enough for buggys to get passed.

It’s still no excuse for it to be parked on the path and the fact that the owner had abandoned the car necessitating that a passerby had to explain the situation merely demonstrates that he was not effectively trying to remove it. In a built up part of Dublin, a tow truck could have been secured by phone in 15-20 minutes (trust me, I’ve had to do it). A footpath is for feet not for cars and if it blocked the passage of traffic so be it. And I speak as a resident of Rathmines who drives more than he walks and who could easily have been put out by the traffic than the blocked pavement. It’s the assumption of drivers that they can dump on the pavement that astounds me. I have seen people justify blocking the pavement such that pedestrians are forced into the road. No no no. It just takes the pressure off the motorist to sort the problem. Sure it can stay there a few hours etc etc.

OP here.
    Thanks for all the replies.
    I have only ever got one parking ticket before now.It was in 1997.The ticket was left under the wiper.
    Since then,my only interaction with the guards on the roads were tax and insurance roadblock checks.
    I parked on a unfamiliar street.it was dark and raining.there were cars parked in a row and i parked at the end of the row.
    He sounded very unfriendly as he said "your parked in a bus stop".

The reason i asked the question was,that i had or have no idea what was actually happening last night when the guard stepped out of the garda car and said what he said.
    I mean what the process was.
    Was it a warning?
    Was i to get a ticket?
    Was i to wait in the car until he came back to me with a ticket?
    Was he going to check my details.?
    Why was he pointing a phone at me?
    Am i in more trouble because i drove away when my son came back and he was still in the garda car?
    Thats why i asked the question.
    As i said,not a clue.

OP here.
    I have only ever got one parking ticket before now.It was in 1997.The ticket was left under the wiper.
    Since then,my only interaction with the guards on the roads were tax and insurance roadblock checks.
    I parked on a unfamiliar street.it was dark and raining.there were cars parked in a row and i parked at the end of the row.

The reason i asked the question was,that i had or have no idea what was actually happening last night when the guard stepped out of the garda car and said what he said.
    Was it a warning?
    Was i to get a ticket?
    Am i in more trouble because i drove away when my son came back and he was still in the garda car?
    As i said,not a clue.

OP here.

Was it a warning?
    Was i to get a ticket?
    As i said,not a clue.

Perhaps the person to ask was the Garda....at the time. I had assumed from your original post that he took your phot after interacting with you and then he left. If he took the photo and returned to your car and there was confusion on your part, why would you not clarify it before you drove away? That action might have been viewed positively by the Garda, ie you got out of the bus stop, or negatively, you drove off while he was checking your details. We can’t help you with that; it would be uninformed speculation.

Perhaps his desire was to create this uncertainty in your mind to encourage you to take additional care in choosing future parking spaces. We shall never know.

For all you or the OP knows, the guard may indeed intend to check the vehicle record to establish whether to exercise discretion although that is a component of the action to take. A parking offence is a strict liability offence, it does not require intent but merely the commission of the act. The OP not alone admitted the unlawful parking but made an unprompted admission that he had parked so carelessly as you admit he was unaware that it was a bus stop.

I am not debating that the OP was in the wrong.

All I'm saying is the Gard could very easily have asked why the OP was parked there. Be it broken down, or having a heart attack, the Gard couldn't care less.
    what is there to discuss? they were parked in a bus stop.

Yeah, we get that. The "Why?" (as above) is important in my view. My contention is that the Gard could have explained the process, but he didn't bother. I know he isn't required to be courteous, but in that case they can't very well expect respect in return.
    That is a ridiculous comparison quite frankly and barely deserves a reply. A mechanic trying to get paid has sweet **** all to do with a guard quite rightly taking action over a clear and obvious traffic violation. Its not even in the same ballpark.

Maybe the OP's car was a cleverly disguised minibus? Maybe the OP was secret service searching for corona virus's's'? Or maybe he was a guy happily sitting in his car at a bus stop because god forbid he spend any time looking for a parking space. I am quite confident that it was clear to the guard which scenario was most likely here.

There are strong similarities in both.
    1. A law was broken, the car owner is liable to pay.
    2.The work is done, the car owner is liable to pay.

He doesn't just walk away and fire off a bill in the post as the Gard does.

Do you think it's important for people who engage with the public, in a professional capacity, to be up front and clear in their communication.

I am not debating that the OP was in the wrong.

All I'm saying is the Gard could very easily have asked why the OP was parked there. Be it broken down, or having a heart attack, the Gard couldn't care less.

Did you read the OP’s posts? The guard got out of the car on a wet night and informed an illegally parked driver that they were illegally parked. That was the OP’s opportunity to advance any lawful excuse they might have. It seems they neither had one nor attempted to excuse their behaviour. I’m confused as to what further action was needed at that time other than for the OP to apologise and leave provided permitted to do so (irrespective of whether the child was still in the chipper).

I can’t imagine the guard particularly wanted to leave the warm dry car on a wet (undoubtedly cold) night. Trust me, I am no apologist for the guards but generally I find them indolent and unwilling to engage in situations like this. Hence why I commend that guard for doing so. Likewise, having some appreciation for the discouraging effects of minor anxiety, I think it entirely appropriate that the OP is now on tenterhooks.

On this, you and I are irreconcilable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

The person who parked in a bus stop without realising it is hardly worth dealing with on that basis, however. Either they have done so deliberately and will only react to a fine appropriately collected or they did not take sufficient care to see where they are.

Attached is a photo I took this morning at 7.05am. This is what I encounter on a daily basis. It is a 4 way junction and one of them is a one way street (with a van exiting the wrong way). The artic is not exiting the junction, it is parked across a disabled bay and right out into the street.

I cannot get the local gardai to deal with this in any sensible way.

This is why I applaud any Garda willing to make the effort to issue a fine!

Them bastards delivering their goods for you to buy, you realise how hard it is for drivers to get spaces to park not alone 60 feet of unit and trailer, the other 2 vehicles are also delivering goods, think of that the next time you're in a shop nearby

Troll alert :rolleyes: