Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Pandemic Information- Local and Worldwide

• Registered Users Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

wrangler wrote: »
    The Lleyn open day neither had masks or distancing, had the delta variant been there it would've had a free run

Is tbe Delta not here though?

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

According to primetime 1500 cases a day by the middle of September is the best case scenario in the nphet modelling

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

_Brian wrote: »
    That’s not correct about the cervical check issue, amd an independent review clarified. Yet that doesn’t stop people rolling it out as a “fact” when it’s a lie.

The most senior Government health adviser advised against a review of CervicalCheck the day after Vicky Phelan called for an investigation into the screening programme.

Instead, Tony Holohan, Department of Health chief medical officer (CMO), urged the health minister to opt for a report which Dr Holohan himself would prepare. He advised Simon Harris that the “appropriate way forward” was to “state that you have asked me to provide a report on the matter, including whether further actions or steps are required”.

He added: “I strongly advise that you do not commit to a review of CervicalCheck arising from the recent court case.”

His warning was issued the day after Ms Phelan stood on the steps of the High Court and said publicly that CervicalCheck had essentially failed her and she now had terminal cancer.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30910324.html

• Registered Users Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

Most vulnerable and elderly are done at this stage, the risk to people under 60 is negligible, it's about time they opened things up.

I've Indian friends who have been hospitalised in India with Covid. Kids are dying from it. Risks to under 60s is high and we've not even seen the delta plus variant on this side of the world yet.

In at our GP today, the young lad still has his cough (he's been tested). GP was very frustrated at how covid presents itself, is it just a cough, is it hay fever/asthma, is it covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

I've Indian friends who have been hospitalised in India with Covid. Kids are dying from it. Risks to under 60s is high and we've not even seen the delta plus variant on this side of the world yet.

Luckily enough we have vaccines here, what's this other variant going to do? The delta one is more infectious but it doesn't make people sicker.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,116 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Is it not a bit of a joke that so many unqualified people are criticising them, the fact is that Nephet took everything into consideration and told them to closedown.
    Similarily they've considered everything now too and advised it unsafe

If they come out and explain exactly why it’d be something ……it’s very hard looking at things here with so many vacines given ,vulnerable groups covered and still under restrictions snd a govt that appears hamstring on something that happens months ago …..then look at Europe ,look at big crowds in stadiums ,etc and not be scratching your head wondering what’s going on

• Registered Users Posts: 18,520 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Neddyusa wrote: »
    The most senior Government health adviser advised against a review of CervicalCheck the day after Vicky Phelan called for an investigation into the screening programme.

Instead, Tony Holohan, Department of Health chief medical officer (CMO), urged the health minister to opt for a report which Dr Holohan himself would prepare. He advised Simon Harris that the “appropriate way forward” was to “state that you have asked me to provide a report on the matter, including whether further actions or steps are required”.

He added: “I strongly advise that you do not commit to a review of CervicalCheck arising from the recent court case.”

His warning was issued the day after Ms Phelan stood on the steps of the High Court and said publicly that CervicalCheck had essentially failed her and she now had terminal cancer.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30910324.html

He was cleared in an independent review. But hey, who needs truth on the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,526 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Neddyusa wrote: »
    I cannot think of a less trustworthy or reliable group of people to manage anything - even a children's picnic - than a bunch of HSE bureaucrats.

And yet they are effectively running this country without fear of question for the last 16 months.
    Led by a man who tried to hide the cervical check scandal.

Dosent it take a very special type of sociopath to drag dying women through the courts rather then admit their failings, tony basically has soviet type stalin powers at the minute over the Irish people

_Brian wrote: »
    He was cleared in an independent review. But hey, who needs truth on the internet.

Is he culapble for the nursing home fiasco with ferrying covid positive people back into homes at the start of the pandemic our did a independent review clear him of that aswell, the abandoning of nursing homes in 2020 and not providing any help while nurses sat twidling their thumbs in alot of hospitals was narcissistic

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Is he culapble for the nursing home fiasco with ferrying covid positive people back into homes at the start of the pandemic our did a independent review clear him of that aswell, the abandoning of nursing homes in 2020 and not providing any help while nurses sat twidling their thumbs in alot of hospitals was narcissistic

Was the abandoning nursing homes,not essemtially the logical endpoint of FG policies??....

whereas it involved minimal state input into privatised service providers,this is to me the logical endpoint of privitisation of state services

That being said,i hope i live long enough to see what exactly happened around cervical check scandel as the tribunal has been hamstrung to point its ineffectual and the 223 group pulled out.....whole thing stinks

• Registered Users Posts: 11,096 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

mahoney_j wrote: »
    If they come out and explain exactly why it’d be something ……it’s very hard looking at things here with so many vacines given ,vulnerable groups covered and still under restrictions snd a govt that appears hamstring on something that happens months ago …..then look at Europe ,look at big crowds in stadiums ,etc and not be scratching your head wondering what’s going on

They're unlikely to come out and say what I've said, ie that the public have been irresponsible and can't be trusted to protect themselves,
    If you look around at what's going on and imagine what it'd be like to move it indoors.
    They are taking the hard decisions not the popular ones
    Get ninety percent of the population vaccinated first, open up then and see what happens,
    At least if it's a wrong decision there won't be a holocaust of cases

They're unlikely to come out and say what I've said, ie that the public have been irresponsible and can't be trusted to protect themselves,
    If you look around at what's going on and imagine what it'd be like to move it indoors.
    Get ninety percent of the population vaccinated first, open up then and see what happens,

If the government tries to enforce mandatory vasccination of under 18's, youll see mass civil disobedience, its fairly sad that Irish peoples only hope is that Europe intervenes and saves us from our own government

I didn't think that there was talk of mandatory vaccinations for anyone.

If we wait that long how many business will be left ???imo indoor dining should be opend with entry either guaranteed by this vaccination cert or a clear antigen test .these are controlled environments ….loads of house parties dinner parties now where there isn’t so much control …people are pissed off now snd the charade of last few days won’t help keep people on side they have to explain and be questioned fully on yesterday’s modelling figures because best and worst case seem far fetched considering amount vaccinated nephet like the govt have lost the public now and with no guarntee of any sort of further opening on July 19’itll get worse ….there’s a living with Covid plan we should start doing it

Tbh,if delta is as catchy as suggested an awful lot of people would be failing antigen tests and not getting into indoor dining anyway if that's the requirement

We'll also be faced with 100's if not 1000's in quarantine abroad after being denied boarding for flights home from holidays because they failed pcr tests

If we wait that long how many business will be left ???imo indoor dining should be opend with entry either guaranteed by this vaccination cert or a clear antigen test .these are controlled environments ….loads of house parties dinner parties now where there isn’t so much control …people are pissed off now snd the charade of last few days won’t help keep people on side they have to explain and be questioned fully on yesterday’s modelling figures because best and worst case seem far fetched considering amount vaccinated nephet like the govt have lost the public now and with no guarntee of any sort of further opening on July 19’itll get worse ….there’s a living with Covid plan we should start doing it

There was a pub owner on telly this morning saying he wasn't going to be asking for tests aor vaccine certs.
    Any way any computer would print off all the vaccine certs you'd want

There was a pub owner on telly this morning saying he wasn't going to be asking for tests aor vaccine certs.
    Any way any computer would print off all the vaccine certs you'd want

Fair play to him and he won’t be the only one if brought in as is nothing short of discriminatory ….and what are families meant to do if they want to go out for a meal etc parents if vaccinated in ye go little Johnny snd Mary aged say 5/10 yer not ye can stay outside …ridiculous stuff
    Then there the cohort that are in agreement with all this ..that’s fine too stay locked in yer house don’t go out but leave rest of us get on with it

Fair play to him and he won’t be the only one if brought in as is nothing short of discriminatory ….and what are families meant to do if they want to go out for a meal etc parents if vaccinated in ye go little Johnny snd Mary aged say 5/10 yer not ye can stay outside …ridiculous stuff
    Then there the cohort that are in agreement with all this ..that’s fine too stay locked in yer house don’t go out but leave rest of us get on with it

Every person that allows themselves to get infected lengthens the lockdown, probably hte best way of getting around it is don't get tested.
    ie, be all butch and brave ignoring the rules if you like, but don't go whingeing to doctors then if you get it. Lockdown won't be lifted at 360 cases a day

Again your speaking of something by looking at a headline and not understanding what was actually happening.

At the beginning of the pandemic all health information was being taken from the only country with experience in a serious covid outbreak which was Italy.
    All information from doctors and scientists in Italy was “clear your hospitals” make space in the hospitals at all costs. Noting is more important than immediately clearing and preparing hospitals for an avalanche of patients.
    Amd so the decision was taken that this was the only thing to do. In hindsight a mistake but people can only act on the best current information available in an emergency.

After that the majority of nursing homes are private for profit businesses who failed to provide for staff and customers.

This constant hindsight review is childish behaviour, if your going to look back at what was done, try and appreciate what information was available at that time amd the pressure the crisis in Italy was creating. Looking back amd applying current understanding to decisions made without this information is flawed amd what we see connsistantly online by keyboard experts.

Tbf the indoor dining,the majority of those doing the serving are likely not vaccinated yet...its a bit unfair to ask em to take on risks without being vaccinated

If the government relisted that anyone who caught covid at work,as a work place injury and people allowed sue from such in event of catching it at work...would the same demand be there from pubs/restaurants to reopen??

Its no easy decision,but for sake of 3 weeks to a month in vaccinate everyone who wants one...its well work it....you wont outrun it via vaccines,any Living with covid plan is in tatters after what happened last xmas/january

Every person that allows themselves to get infected lengthens the lockdown, probably hte best way of getting around it is don't get tested.
    ie, be all butch and brave ignoring the rules if you like, but don't go whingeing to doctors then if you get it. Lockdown won't be lifted at 360 cases a day

Don’t know anyone that would deliberately go get infected …vaccinated or not there’s a chance of picking it up all u can do is follow what we’re told helps slow it down wear a mask wash your hands social distance etc etc some aren’t happy with that level …if that’s the case they can’t hold everyone else’s life to ransom we simply have to live with this
    If I get it I won’t be whinging as everything in life carries risk I’m young healthy and work outside so I’m quite happy if I do get it there’s a fair chance won’t be too severe u say it won’t be ended at 360 cases a day at what figure should it because 2/300 cases a day will be as good as it gets once tourists start comming it’ll creep up but as long as hospitalisation remain low so be it

Tbf the indoor dining,the majority of those doing the serving are likely not vaccinated yet...its a bit unfair to ask em to take on risks without being vaccinated

If the government relisted that anyone who caught covid at work,as a work place injury and people allowed sue from such in event of catching it at work...would the same demand be there from pubs/restaurants to reopen??

Its no easy decision,but for sake of 3 weeks to a month in vaccinate everyone who wants one...its well work it....you wont outrun it via vaccines,any Living with covid plan is in tatters after what happened last xmas/january

We had no vacines at Christmas …we do now snd still not much better off freedom wise ….Covid will still be here next year and will be more variants so we stay in lockdown …….some life to look forward to .all we’re going to do is stay kicking the can down the road 3 more weeks ….in the mean time rest of Europe and the world moves on and lives with this ….everyone is entitled to a view on this but without insulting anyone a year and a half of this ****e snd ultra cautious govt approach now is clouding judgement for lots if it’s zero Covid people want we won’t get it nor will we get 100% people vaccinated …..the vacines are undoubtedly giving short term relief but long term who knows what will develop from it ….up to this week Jansen snd az weren’t authorised for use in under 50s due to clotting issues suddenly there fine ….why both these don’t need ultra cold storage and I understand govt has big orders of both …which would go to waste if they didn’t change approach …..was that decision in best public health or just financial related

The under 50s are much more likely to die from covid,than develop blood clotting....the risk analysis about the vaccines never made much sense to me there

(afaik women are more likely so maybe a case to be made to keep the pzier etc for them and give johnson and az to men?)

But to my eyes noone should be expected to work in a public facing job without being vaccinated for sake of a few weeks until everyone who wants one has gotten one,seems fairest and most common sense to me anyway??

We are the most indebted nation in the Eu we have passed into 50k owed by every man,women and child in the state, and state debt is gone past a quater of a trillion, financially as a country we havent a pot to piss-in, but our public servants and goverment dont seem to grasp this....
    They have destroyed the Tourism sector our hellbent on torpeoding the agricultural sector and all this in the context if the bond markets stopped lending in the morning we would become a 3rd world country over-night, any of us with substainal assets are going to be taxed into extinction to pay for all this

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

The under 50s are much more likely to die from covid,than develop blood clotting....the risk analysis about the vaccines never made much sense to me there

(afaik women are more likely so maybe a case to be made to keep the pzier etc for them and give johnson and az to men?)

But to my eyes noone should be expected to work in a public facing job without being vaccinated for sake of a few weeks until everyone who wants one has gotten one,seems fairest and most common sense to me anyway??

So the people working throughout the last 16 months in supermarkets and shops without vaccination were grand, but now lads are concerned because it's pubs and restaurants?

Most of people in these jobs are in teens or early 20s …it’ll be a long time before they get there jabs …they follow the guidelines re mask wearing etc and majority of places I e been to are adhering to these guidelines ….they have to be given a chance and those of us that want to live something like near normal also have to be given that chance ….we learn nothing re living with Covid as is
    Undev50s more likely to die from Covid ??????anything I’ve seen so far said it was older and vulnerable groups at greatest risk hence vacines prioritised for them …and rightly so ….young fit healthy people at much lower risk of acute sickness snd hospitalisation
    On the changing of use of Jansen and az that needs closer scrutiny ,that change was made double quick despite the risk ….remember both were pulled due to clotting issues and recommended then only for over 50s when re licenced

So the people working throughout the last 16 months in supermarkets and shops without vaccination were grand, but now lads are concerned because it's pubs and restaurants?

Yea.
    So people are saying open up the pubs amd restaurants now amd let everyone in. Doing this means the unvaccinated staff have to deal face to face with vaccinated and unvaccinated public with the latter being a greater risk to them.

But when the government suggest opening up and only letting vaccinated people on which would be safer for any unvaccinated staff - suddenly then it’s a problem.

So doing something safer for the staff is somehow a problem.

I think at this stage just open them up, while I support nephet amd the government on their covid policies, they have created grave inconsistencies by allowing indoor dining in hotels and not in restaurants. That’s a big mistake. Policy should be consistent, even if restricted and cautious, it should be consistent.

Just heard of a lad I know working at sea, in Europe, there's ten of them on the boat. Nine have Covid, the fella I know is the only healthy individual onboard. All were tested before boarding.

Wife was in A&E with youngest yesterday..

Anyway usual auld gowls about giving out about everything.. best one was "and it turned out it wasnt even covid he had anyway, it was coronavirus, where ever the fcuk he got that"