Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ways to occupy yourself if you are self-isolating due to Covid-19

• 01-03-2020 8:13pm

Isolating yourself could be frustrating, demoralising and boring, but in today’s world of instant communication we are at least virtually connected to the outside world. Self-isolation could be used an an opportunity for doing something you always considered doing but e we had the time.

Here’s a few of my own suggestions:

1) Learn a new language or brush up on one you partly know. There are lots of internet resources.

2) is there an untouched musical instrument in the house? Now would be the time to start learning to play it. Maybe achieve a little competency by learning g off a tube within the two weeks.

3) Is there a paintbox, brushes and paper or canvas in the house? How about trying to produce a little work of art.

4) Try a bit of creative writing. Could have a short story well-honed within the couple of weeks.

5) Do some home decoration you hadn’t been able to get around to doing. Opening that gun of paint that was lying in store waiting for the opportunity.

Any more suggestions? ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Johnny Sausage

Be on boards all day every day making holier than thou comments and then run away when the mask slips

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,630 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Sort out the hotpress.

Clean the inside of your cupboards.

Create a Walter Mitty Boards account.

Get sectioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

A big bag of cans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

Become a new generation of boomers?

Actually wait no, don't do that, the planet is fcuked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Determine how many faps required to top oneself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭greasepalm

Reruns of Oireachtas Report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭wing52

Sweep the chimney.

With petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Put all them spuds you bought in a panic buy to use .make poiteen and stay in spendid isolation for months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I tend to browse charity shops while in my local town for books, currently have 12 on the shelves that I have not got around to reading. Between that and a good store of coffee beans (and food obviously) I am pretty much sorted.

Flick the bean

greasepalm wrote: »

Love this :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Go on the main Corona virus thread and instill as much fear as possible.

We could post our descriptions and files of little achievements during self-quarantine, boost our morale. Eg our little work of art. Our nicely tended balcony. A poem we wrote. Keep up our morale, have fun. Post up our own Corona cartoons and decent jokes.

I wonder could one make an untrue panic stricken call to their GP, explaining how one was unfortunately exposed and needed to self quarantine?

Would a GP automatically furnish one with a 2 week medical certificate for work?

If the answer to all of the above is yes my answer is go on holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,275 ✭✭✭✭banie01

If anyone is self-isolating and at a loose end...

I have a couple of essays due that I just cannot motivate myself for yet ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,871 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Buy a Kindle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,437 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Sort out the hotpress.

Clean the inside of your cupboards.

Create a Walter Mitty Boards account.

Get sectioned.

1. &2. NEVER!
    3. Could you be bothered?
    4. Looking increasingly likely with each passing day, as it is.

banie01 wrote: »
    If anyone is self-isolating and at a loose end...

I have a couple of essays due that I just cannot motivate myself for yet ;)

The trick is to wait til you have roughly 24hrs left. I always found panic to be my greatest motivation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Flick the bean

Going by your username I'd wash my hands first if I were you. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

Flick the bean

Wash your finger first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,275 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Sardonicat wrote: »
    The trick is to wait til you have roughly 24hrs left. I always found panic to be my greatest motivation

Ya see in my previous life I always found that to be very true.
    Some of my very best work, was laid down in deadline inspired rushes...

But!

I'm trying to put the "mature" in mature student and set the example of well planned work to the kid!

It's not going great :pac:

Results are good ;) but actual workflow is let's just say...
    Old habits die hard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

donvito99 wrote: »

It’s already rubbed raw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭greasepalm

I wonder could one make an untrue panic stricken call to their GP, explaining how one was unfortunately exposed and needed to self quarantine?

Would a GP automatically furnish one with a 2 week medical certificate for work?

If the answer to all of the above is yes my answer is go on holiday.

But they will be checking up on you daily to see any change in your condition,2 week holiday and coming back with a deep tan cough cough.

banie01 wrote: »
    Ya see in my previous life I always found that to be very true.
    Some of my very best work, was laid down in deadline inspired rushes...

But!

I'm trying to put the "mature" in mature student and set the example of well planned work to the kid!

It's not going great :pac:

Results are good ;) but actual workflow is let's just say...
    Old habits die hard!

I thought that too. I must tell you, you're doing it wrong, banie. Let the kids show you the way it's done. Enjoy your life between panic striken interludes. You're guaranteed to never grow old. And if I ever find out if any of those feckers has grown into a boring old fart while I've being making a public spectacle of myself for years based on their influence I will come down hard on them.

Get all the achievements for each paradox title on steam, and finish the main campaigns on the older titles. HOI series, Stellaris, EU/CK, Imperator Rome.

There you go. Your next year mapped out.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Going on current if personal "research", I'd likely have full arm failure from acute RSI in each joint long before I succumbed to a directly masturbatory demise.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

greasepalm wrote: »
    But they will be checking up on you daily to see any change in your condition,2 week holiday and coming back with a deep tan cough cough.

Jaundice. Sure I might need more time off for that.

But what if there was an outbreak where you are on holiday? You'd have to be quarantined at the beach side resort for even longer, which would be a crying shame, wouldn't it?

Quarantinception.

I'm warming to the idea, unless it's a fever of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

I enflamed my foreskin once from too much fappage.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

4 hours is better. Started one at 4pm one day after work for 8pm submission and nailed a rare 85%.

How long do ye reckon you could get away with not going to work for?..a couple of weeks?.. could you just rock up again afterwards going "ah, I'm grand"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Feisar wrote: »
    I enflamed my foreskin once from too much fappage.
    An acronym of your username for you good sir. (With a slight cheat.)

Foreskin Enflamed Incandescent & Scalding After Rubbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Wankin all day probably and watch movies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

A big **** off jar of Nutella.

How long do ye reckon you could get away with not going to work for?..a couple of weeks?.. could you just rock up again afterwards going "ah, I'm grand"?

The beauty of it is that you don't actually have to be sick, you just stay at home on the off chance you might be incubating it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Make a fortune charging 50 euro a go to 'collect a few messages' for those hiding from the plague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Isolating yourself could be frustrating, demoralising and boring, but in today’s world of instant communication we are at least virtually connected to the outside world. Self-isolation could be used an an opportunity for doing something you always considered doing but e we had the time.

Here’s a few of my own suggestions:

1) Learn a new language or brush up on one you partly know. There are lots of internet resources.

2) is there an untouched musical instrument in the house?

Any more suggestions? ...

Are you high?! My work will make me work from home and my laptop isn’t as good as my pc with two screens. I read in my spare time anyway. Enjoy making stuff out of drain pipe cleaners and toilet roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Imagine self isolating for two weeks , then opening your front door and finding everyone is dead or a zombie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

A big bag of cans.

Which reminds me, I must stock up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Flick the bean

Flick someone elses bean?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Smoke an ounce and do pushups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Learn to code

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Imagine self isolating for two weeks , then opening your front door and finding everyone is dead or a zombie.

28 days all over again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

I've two kids I go to work for a break there is only so may times I can hear in one day I'm bored.

Sleep I've about a 7 year deficit so I'll sleep most of the first week - this will also conserve food
    I just bought a bike so early morning cycles in the park will be on the cards.
    Give the neighbors some thing to look at I'll dig 3 gave size holes in the garden one day then fill them in the day after.
    I might take up hacking and hack into a bank to steal an Nigerian Prices legacy from his dead King / Father...
    When I was a kid I used to love MacGyver and the A-Team so I'll see what I can make out of the random stuff in the shed, make be a paint tin cannon or a lawnmower drone

^^^^^
    You've got a random stiff in your shed? Maybe you should start digging those grave size holes now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

^^^^^
    You've got a random stiff in your shed? Maybe you should start digging those grave size holes now.

OK grammar police chill, I can't "tpye" for sh1t

Not grammar policing at all! Thought it made a good post great, actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Read all of Proust.