If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

Do we reckon it will be Croker for Dublin as long as they remain in the Championship.
    ( double headers for the 1/4’s for everyone)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,204 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The chat before today was a likely double header in CP with the Dublin hurlers.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

That would be superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Just back kind of expected a close enough call and it turned out a bit like that .A lot of our shortcomings are still with us ,lack of two pointers puts us at a disadvantage and no goals either .POCB has really improved and thought he was great tonight .At least we have a decent chance next week instead of a trip away to the likes of Kerry so should get two more games at least.

I would love to see that McFaul incident again. Happened right in front of me. Ball nowhere near and it was pure dirt.

Besides that was a great game.

Edit was better performance than Galway match in Salthill.
    First half was frantic. Hopefully it will stand to Dublin.

Just a word on Kilkenny he should get MOTM for tracking back in Dublin’s defensive line, and putting in great block at around the 56th minute. Fantastic.

Nice to see Cluxton on frees and nailing a two pointer as well. Enjoyed the trip to Newry. Lovely spot picturesque, and a nice stadium.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

• Subscribers Posts: 16,881 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

felt Dublin were the much better side, in the old rules it would have been a 10 point win easily, but Derry kept getting 2 pointers when it mattered and we just kept the scoreboard ticking over and couldn’t really finish them off. Looks like that was the game plan but we looked more likely to score a couple of goals than 2 pointers.

Wonder with Meath beating Kerry easily and us getting this solid win how big a wind change there will be from the pundits on Monday.

2 pointers from frees should be scrapped asap.
    No problem wth them from play but some of them are so easy and the refs are so easily conned of bringing tn the ball up 50 meters. ( another stupid rule ) Jim Gavin was on a podcast after the rules were brought in and said you did not have to hand the ball to the opponent. He said just drop it. 50 giving mad frees when Dublin did that yesterday.

It is a bit harsh alright. But the other argument is it stops gamesmanship of players trying to slow play down not giving the ball. Or players fouling to concede a one point free when two is needed.

Derry fans around me were wondering how they were level at HT. only for their good shooting at the 2 pointers. Would have been well behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭Trampas

The one against John was stupid. Ball was moving away from free location and he stopped it and dropped it and ref moves it. If anything it was going to quicken up the game as he stopped the ball going further from the location.

I was behind Dessie. Interesting listen to Dessie and Darren giving instructions to the team and how they handle the 3 player rule. Fair play to the players picking up the calls from the bench

Presume we can draw Meath again if we win next weekend. Wouldn’t mind another crack of them.

Anyones All Ireland. Every team beatable as has been proved already.

Its a shame that this is the last year of the group stages. I think its great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭MFPM

Next week - assume Dublin can't get Galway, probably Cork or Cavan (should they make it) are the best options. I wouldn't fancy Mayo if they make it over Cavan. Hard to be confident about Dublin given their inconsistent form but tend to think they'll make the QF.

You’d like to think we should beat cork, Cavan and a good chance against Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 930 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Don’t know what to expect with this dubs team week to week but you’d have to fancy us against any of those. I would of been worried getting Mayo, particularly not in an AI final!

In general Armagh are the best team and squad remaining and I would make them favourites but they are beatable. Monaghan look really good but the likes of Donegal and Kerry who've been hyped all year haven't really demonstrated strong credentials. It's very, very open.

Should be able to beat the Teams in the draw this morning just looking get through without injuries and game time for some of the lads to give us the best chance to go into a harder match the following week .

So it's Cork. Typical Kerry get Cavan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

OK draw Cork can put it up to us unless we can turn our possession into more scores,we should make it through .

Tailteann cup semi final doible header in Croke Park on Sunday which pretty much guarantees the Dubs will play on Saturday possibly a double header with the hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭frankled

Hurlers at 4 on Saturday, 6:15 for the footballers- both Croker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

They should let the hurlers have top billing, thats a mistake. Big game against Limerick? I know more people are there to see the footballers - but these 'fans' will not come early for the hurling, but might stay on afterwards for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 930 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

It’s also really hard to watch a football match after hurling. It’s like your watching a game in slow motion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

The footballers were always considered the main attraction hence why the other match is the curtain raiser.

Honestly think there would be a near mass exodus after the football so the the optics at least would look bad .There are not that many that will stick around for two games plus I don't think the crowd will be that big anyway .

ill go to the two games. Giving the hurlers absolutely zero chance but ill go anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

The GAA Ticketmaster page **** itself there at 11am. Couldn't get anything to work on pc in work or on my phone still isn't working. The Ticketmaster app itself I tried and was able to get 4 tickets but **** me seats kept coming and going and one minute was nothing next loads of areas appeared then they where all gone again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭I see sheep

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Forget about the GAA site go straight to Ticketmaster it works.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach