Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1 in 5 women suffers from sexual dysfunction - Neuroscience study

• 23-02-2020 11:28pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭

https://neurosciencenews.com/sex-women-stress-15764/amp/

I honestly thought it would have been higher.

90%+ of males are hopeless in bed, so how they ever gonna get their women off?

In other news, neural and nerve sensitivity is governed by induction of neural action potential firing in the brain.
    i.e. the arousal process does not transpire sufficiently well for at least 1 in 5 women to get their rocks off (I thought it'd be a lot higher honestly - it probably is).

Conclusion?

Female to male nerve induction seems to go down just fine in the vast majority of circumstances.

Male to female nerve induction...... not so much.

KuAYNmN.jpg?1QdnOJlE.jpg?1

Is it any surprise?

That dude is probably good looking by typical irish standards (or male standards, period).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

"So , Eileen celebrated long into the night after the win at bingo .Frank , her husband , who drove a taxi at night ,collected her and dropped her home .
    When she told him the good news , he opened a jar of beetroot, one of the larger ones and ate the whole lot."

I'm doing a bit creative writing and was stuck for thread to tag it on , but found this one.
    What do youse think ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I'd wager those one in 5 women still get more action than poor LaptopGremlin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭creditcarder

In fairness, if you are not an active sex partner, then you are a boring one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

"So , Eileen celebrated long into the night after the win at bingo .Frank , her husband , who drove a taxi at night ,collected her and dropped her home .
    When she told him the good news , he opened a jar of beetroot, one of the larger ones and ate the whole lot."

I'm doing a bit creative writing and was stuck for thread to tag it on , but found this one.
    What do youse think ?

Then frank realised he left eileens best friend Mary behind. Fcuk says he. Frank jumps back into his Corolla and heads off to get her, he arrives with Mary standing in the rain with her tappers out.

Apologies Mary, says frank. No bother frank says Mary but me tappers are soaked. Not to worry, I’ll dry them for you says frank.

Frank asks Mary if it’s true you got your fanny waxed today?

Well frank, I’ll let you try to find that out.......

There is a simmering tension between Frank, Eileen & Mary, one of these evenings a fiver will be won on a scratchcard triggering a ménage a trois.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

There is a simmering tension between Frank, Eileen & Mary, one of these evenings a fiver will be won on a scratchcard triggering a ménage a trois.

Mary’s husband jurgen might have something to say about that though.

It’s not long before he gets out of the joy for riding his cat

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

The cat is due to finish his therapy and will be castrated immediately. He will not be happy with the threesome ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭bo0li5eumx12kp

An after hours thread previously quite openly explored the topic of female gratification.

One poster plainly commented, "I can't believe any female posters here even think it's possible to experience sensation or climax via vaginal penetration. This is a myth! There's a pleasant full feeling, but clitoral stimulation is a necessity. In no other way is a woman going to reach climax".

So basically it was saying, this poster - along with many others in the thread as I recall as there was communal agreement on the matter - plainly believes sensation via penetration doesn't really exist.
    And climax via penetration exclusively is basically an urban legend.

To me this neuroscience study basically asserts the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Maximum yawn this thread. It's enough to make me dysfunction. Bwahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I'd say Laptop Gremlin wears a thong thong thong thong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

I'd wager those one in 5 women still get more action than poor LaptopGremlin.

Clue in the name, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

And climax via penetration exclusively is basically an urban legend.

To me this neuroscience study basically asserts the same thing.

So you didn't actually read the article then?

Plopsu wrote: »
    So you didn't actually read the article then?

You're only looking at the grassroots of what it's actually alluding to.

I'm not saying "all males are hopeless" and whiteknighting women - it doesn't really work like that.

The overarching point I was making was - nerve induction.

This isn't even a consideration in male culture.
    Frankly Irish culture is quite oppressive when it comes to promoting it, especially in men - and nuns are the worst hypocrites here cause let me tell you, I know a thing or two - and behind closed doors, they some nasty ass chickens.

Article refers to general sexual well being - but it's all predicated on neural firing, that's the point.

The point I was really trying to make posting it in AH, or the rather the discussion I was trying to reignite was female posters basically exhibiting their lack of ability to experience sensation during the "in/out, in/out" stage of debauchery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

You're only looking at the grassroots of what it's actually alluding to.

I'm not saying "all males are hopeless" and whiteknighting women - it doesn't really work like that.

Frankly Irish culture is quite oppressive when it comes to promoting it, especially in men - and nuns are the worst hypocrites here cause let me tell you, I know a thing or two - and behind closed doors, they some nasty ass chickens.

Article refers to general sexual well being - but it's all predicated on neural firing, that's the point.

The point I was really trying to make posting it in AH, or the rather the discussion I was trying to reignite was female posters basically exhibiting their lack of ability to experience sensation during the "in/out, in/out" stage of debauchery.

That was a lot of typing to say, "I'm making stuff up that's unrelated to the article". Most of the sexual dysfunction, the article talks about is poor body image and general disinterest in sex (or low libido). Nothing to do with 'nerve induction'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

What do youse think ?

Meh... if youre going to make it anyway believable, its got to be a jar of pickled onions. No one would eat a jar of beetroot.

Someone isn't doing it right, or more likely not doing it at all.

Plopsu wrote: »
    That was a lot of typing to say, "I'm making stuff up that's unrelated to the article". Most of the sexual dysfunction the article talks about is poor body image and general disinterest in sex (or low libido). Nothing to do with 'nerve induction'.

lolwut?

You really think a neuroscience journal is gonna publish an article they don't feel is relevant to neural activity?

What exactly do you think low interest and libido is a representation of?

Don't answer - it doesn't matter.

One last bump before I....

tumblr_n5eklbvdPR1rje51ao2_r1_400.gif

Topic is sensation (or lack thereof) via intercourse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

This study is about Australian women.
    The OP somehow links it to Irish men.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Your Face wrote: »
    This study is about Australian women.
    The OP somehow links it to Irish men.
    Mocking the afflicted is a tad ill mannered I grant you, but I'd not be surprised the only woman the OP has seen naked required clicking on a link. Never mind that his notions seem to be more read than experienced. The we have his decidedly odd and disjointed manner of presenting what he thinks is his case. There's a Walter Mitty thread hereabouts...

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Muppet Man wrote: »
    Meh... if youre going to make it anyway believable, its got to be a jar of pickled onions. No one would eat a jar of beetroot.

It's not that long ago that a regular poster here , spoke about eating a block of lard to celebrate a promotion in work.
    Brings a whole new meaning to the term "skid marks ".

hmmmm, I have met sexologists and I find them kind of toxic and kind of, well, lesbian...kinda.

Honestly, this lack of vaginal orgasm is overdramatised. IF the woman's into the guy (which is rare in fairness), she is active, and not blasting the clit off herself, then it is easier than a lot of sexologists make it out to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Do you own a fedora by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I have read this whole thread and at no time have I seen the mention of a Custard Slice, now every human, male or female loves a good Custard slice, so reading between the lines, the reason 1 in 5 of anything is down to your local baker

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

I mistakenly read that headline as "4 in 5 women having unreal sex".

hmmmm, I have met sexologists and I find them kind of toxic and kind of, well, lesbian...kinda.

Honestly, this lack of vaginal orgasm is overdramatised. IF the woman's into the guy (which is rare in fairness), she is active, and not blasting the clit off herself, then it is easier than a lot of sexologists make it out to be.

Umm, did I read a couple articles written by "sexperts" at varying times?

Possibly.

Yeah they're kind of.... creepy.

Overly dramatized?
    Overly dramatized how?

The whole societal setup is an absolute clusterfuck.

Fact remains that 99.999% of women can't get their rocks off with a dicking, to the point where apparently some women believe that any kind of sensation via intercourse is basically a myth.

That's nerve responsivity.

I was surprised that a neuroscience journal would publish an article based on nerve responsivity.
    Now it more directly alludes to the by products of lack of nerve activity - low libido, low moral, low self image etc - but it follows the general theme of neural activity and its direct correlation with life quality and sexual responsivity.

Umm, did I read a couple articles written by "sexperts" at varying times?

Possibly.

Yeah they're kind of.... creepy.

Overly dramatized?
    Overly dramatized how?

The whole societal setup is an absolute clusterfuck.

Fact remains that 99.999% of women can't get their rocks off with a dicking, to the point where apparently some women believe that any kind of sensation via intercourse is basically a myth.

That's nerve responsivity.

I was surprised that a neuroscience journal would publish an article based on nerve responsivity.
    Now it more directly alludes to the by products of lack of nerve activity - low libido, low moral, low self image etc - but it follows the general theme of neural activity and its direct correlation with life quality and sexual responsivity.

Look just take a holiday to Shagaluf or somewhere like it. Be grand.

Rufeo wrote: »

Shagaluf?

lol - I assume that's a satire on Magaluf?

Isn't that where the billy-bad-ass high school graduates and their trash-wanna-be girlfriends go on their parents dime when they get the LC results?

Pfff, I sometimes enjoying partying with high school gals, mostly college 1st years, sure - but being stuck around that mob relentlessly for more than 24 hours straight?
    It's not, my idea of a good time.

We're not talking a drunken fumble here however.
    We're talking about, life sustaining, long term, real world boinking. The kind those frustrated 9 to 5 women need to feel at the end of a long week - but apparently, don't.

Inside the mind of Laptop Gremlin:

giphy.webp

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

billy-bad-ass high school graduates and their trash-wanna-be girlfriends go on their parents dime when they get the LC results?
    Save for the Leaving Cert reference I'd have thought this was written by a 19 year old American. "Parent's dime"?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Save for the Leaving Cert reference I'd have thought this was written by a 19 year old American. "Parent's dime"?

Also, boinking. Oh lawd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Candie wrote: »
    Also, boinking. Oh lawd!

Don’t “knock” it until you’ve tried it, C.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,181 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Isn't that where the billy-bad-ass high school graduates and their trash-wanna-be girlfriends go on their parents dime when they get the LC results?

No, it's where the scondary school leavers go on their parents Euro.

It was the "high school graduates" that made my eyes roll, I had always thought that we finished/left secondary school.

Rufeo wrote: »

You know men get a better ejaculation with a foreign woman due to male competition?* As in, apparently, your seed is more powered to impregnate her. Stands to reason that it would be the same for a woman in reverse tbh.

*This is one theory on why cuck is becoming more popular, but I doubt the female focused liberal sexologists would talk about the reverse too often :D

You know men get a better ejaculation with a foreign woman due to male competition?* As in, apparently, your seed is more powered to impregnate her. Stands to reason that it would be the same for a woman in reverse tbh.

*This is one theory on why cuck is becoming more popular, but I doubt the female focused liberal sexologists would talk about the reverse too often :D

I don't think too much about it. I just do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,440 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

What an odd thread. I read the article though and this quote was interesting:
    Women who habitually monitored their appearance, and for whom appearance determined their level of physical self-worth, reported being less sexually assertive and more self-conscious during intimacy, and experienced lower sexual satisfaction.

Which could probably feed a lot of toxic stereotypical nonsense, unfortunately.

Also, boinking. AW LAWD!

Fixed that for you.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/man-woman-evolution/202002/when-it-comes-mating

Fuckin' Darwinism, mating rituals, procreation algorithms.

You know the problem with these "sexperts"?

They use all the rhetoric mumbo jumbo as as smoke screen from the truth.

"Sexual selection", for real?

Chicks are young and hormones running wild, you think they're concerned with gene compatibility, appropriate partner selection?

Whoever can make them hot and get them off - that's it, period.

At that age it's social status forever, so puff your chest out and hope for the best.
    But away from the crowds, alone in the bedroom, one on one - all that macho nonsense doesn't count for a damn thing, period.

How do I know this?
    I know this cause when I'm partying with 1st year college girls, the "tough guys" are forever trying get in my face to stop me stealing their girlfriends.

That's billy bad ass complex, versus genuine nerve induction.
    The allusion of potential pleasure, versus genuine ability to induce sensation during the pounding.

That what sexologists, "sexperts" never address - cause why?

Cause most of them are too unstable and they'd probably piss themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Ah auld Lappy is growing on me (yes, like an STD). At least he's having a laugh with no malice. :)

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Ah auld Lappy is growing on me. At least he's having a laugh with no malice. :)

A bit of a one trick pony though.

Nevertheless, I shall get my nerve induction thoroughly checked at my next service.

A bit of a one trick pony though.

Nevertheless, I shall get my nerve induction thoroughly checked at my next service.

Maybe an oil change as well. :D

What I hate about these threads is the 'women' thing. Women do this, women do that, twiddle that knob and push that button and you have the secret to 'women'. I read it in a study that I can't interpret or put into context, never mind understand.

From my reading of these threads in AH and the internet in general, it's something that guys with little romantic success fall prey to. They think they can read up on women and find out ways to crack the code, instead of seeing them as just other people to have a bit of a chat and a laugh with. And it guarantees they'll continue the unsuccessful route because they become unable to just interact normally, because they're focused on the goal and applying the formula and of course that comes across as unnatural and a bit creepy or offputting.

It becomes obsessive, and eventually seems to lead to bitterness. They do 'everything' right, and still fail and it's all womens fault.

Oil change and new filter to be safe.

The one thing always missing is the importance of communication - what does someone actually like? What can I do to make that work for you? What else can we try?

But no, reduce people to body parts and faulty body parts.

Most women in long term relationships don't find their partner sexually attractive. I think this contributes to women having difficulty orgasming.

I wish there was, say, a YouTube video that could explain it all.

Maybe then it'd be less of a chore and I wouldn't have to waste so much time distracting the cuck while I seek out the 10% of men having all the sex with all the women while the husband is left at home raising someone elses child.

Or something like that, eh?

I think your numbers are a bit off there but you make a good point overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,946 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Mods, can you please move to Sex & Sexuality forum. People are having fun and talking about sex on this thread and its simply not the AH way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

This isn't medical advice but any men/women who want to get hornier should try antidepressants. Was taking 40mg of an antidepressant (escitalopram I think) every day for a month which totally killed my ability and desire to masturbate

When I went off, I was the horniest I've ever been in my life, even hornier than when I first beat it as a teen. I'm a virgin but I can imagine that I would have had a very good time with a woman...lol.

I think that the mechanism would be the same in a woman.

It's not placebo. Serotonin is the 'break' and dopamine is the 'gas/accelerator' in sexual arousal so it's science fact.

Maybe an oil change as well. :D

What I hate about these threads is the 'women' thing. Women do this, women do that, twiddle that knob and push that button and you have the secret to 'women'. I read it in a study that I can't interpret or put into context, never mind understand.

From my reading of these threads in AH and the internet in general, it's something that guys with little romantic success fall prey to. They think they can read up on women and find out ways to crack the code, instead of seeing them as just other people to have a bit of a chat and a laugh with. And it guarantees they'll continue the unsuccessful route because they become unable to just interact normally, because they're focused on the goal and applying the formula and of course that comes across as unnatural and a bit creepy or offputting.

It becomes obsessive, and eventually seems to lead to bitterness. They do 'everything' right, and still fail and it's all womens fault.

That's a little bit the pot calling the kettle..... no?

I mean cause clearly this thread is getting you rustled and you sound frustrated.

As for teh focus on "women"; I mean, I'm a man.
    I guess if I was a woman I'd focus on men - but alas, this is not the case.

To me understanding the gender divide is the great unknown, a frontier too vast and fraught with obstacles and danger for man to have really adequately explored, let alone understood.

All that aside though, facts remain facts.

I've bedded down more bar sluts than the number of men you've probably held hands with, and to the point of the thread itself - 99+% of men can't make the woman they're jimmy'ing feel a damn thing with the hog alone (aside from, you know - a "fullness")
    I make their eyes roll back and their body go limp - **no hands**

How'd you like me now!!??
    instead of seeing them as just other people to have a bit of a chat and a laugh with

As for this, you sound like a soccer mom that doesn't wanna concede to the other soccer moms that her sex life is horrible and she's one more rejection away from giving up on men completely and going lambo. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject71

This isn't medical advice but any men/women who want to get hornier should try antidepressants. Was taking 40mg of an antidepressant (escitalopram I think) every day for a month which totally killed my ability and desire to masturbate

When I went off, I was the horniest I've ever been in my life, even hornier than when I first beat it as a teen. I'm a virgin but I can imagine that I would have had a very good time with a woman...lol.

I think that the mechanism would be the same in a woman.

It's not placebo. Serotonin is the 'break' and dopamine is the 'gas/accelerator' in sexual arousal so it's science fact.

Just jumping right out of chute, not just easing it in,heh.But glad to see your still with us amigo. I thought it was a bit quiet around here lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject71

Oil change and new filter to be safe.

The one thing always missing is the importance of communication - what does someone actually like? What can I do to make that work for you? What else can we try?

But no, reduce people to body parts and faulty body parts.

Make sure you get your tires kicked,heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

I thought this was a genuine thread until the "high school" and "parents dime" **** kicked off.

WTF like, this is Ireland??