Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

GE Exit Poll 10 pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Mick Barry is no James Connolly, my friend.

No one in Dail Eireann is a James Connolly my friend.
    And it is a lesser place for it.

But some at least aspire to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Bannasidhe wrote: »

I dunno, I thought Richard Boyd Barrett's dabbing was a novel introduction into the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If Mick Barry was around in 1916 he would have denounced Connolly for throwing his lot in with Nationalists.

As Connolly said after the rising: "The socialists will never understand why I am here; they will all forget that I am an Irishman.”

Mick Barry is no Connolly, he's just another zealot.

Bambi wrote: »
    If Mick Barry was around in 1916 he would have denounced Connolly for throwing his lot in with Nationalists.

As Connolly said after the rising: "The socialists will never understand why I am here; they will all forget that I am an Irishman.”

A socialist can't be a nationalist now? Well gosh.

And as a point of order it could be argued that it was the Nationalists (some of them anyway) who threw their lot in with Connolly. Connolly and the ICA were going to Rise Up whether or not the others joined in.

But it's good to see that there are people who can be venerated by both Communist Party of Ireland and those who find left-wing politics anathema.

Perhaps in your haste to criticise Mick Barry you missed where I said he was in the tradition of Connolly - not that he was a Connolly.

If anyone here thinks Connolly wouldn't be out on the picket lines today or would be willing to go into govt with FF or FG they obviously know nothing about the man bar a few quotes and a sanitised version of who he was and what he believed in.

Connolly wanted a socialist Irish republic as he believed that was the only way the working people of Ireland would be treated fairly. And anyone who shares that belief is in the tradition of Connolly.

And yes, he was prepared to do the armed version of going into coalition with FF/FG (back when both were Sinn Fein) to achieve his goal. It's a shame that like every other 'small party' who did that he ended up getting s*it for thanks and his role downplayed. Wonder if he would repeat that decision if he knew how the Irish Republic was going to turn out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,247 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Bambi wrote: »

you cant be a nationalist and a socialist, somebody better go back and tell an entire political movement from 1920's-40's germany so... theyll be fuhrerious

Except those 'socialists' were about as socialist as Bertie Ahern.

But nice Godwin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,098 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Do you have to be schooled again about Hitler and nazis "Eric"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Yes because executing people who weren't the right religion or skin colour is a very socialist thing to do - you need to read a few history textbooks my friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,282 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Mentioning Bertie, don't often agree with him, but he was correct today in saying FF and FG should have Greens and SD also in the Govn't to reflect change and take on some radical ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Suckit wrote: »
    How did Helen McEntee (among others) get voted in again. She seems to be incapable of speaking her own thoughts. Even today she was back repeating "the onus is on Sinn Fein to form a government, they wre elected by the people..." Could somebody please coach her in FG's latest line.
    She is bd enough without having to repeat the repeated.

Another example of people voting for the party and not the person.
    Someone has been in coma for the last two years. She been a very good spokesperson on Brexit and a lot of people in Meath like her is the simple answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Water John wrote: »
    Mentioning Bertie, don't often agree with him, but he was correct today in saying FF and FG should have Greens and SD also in the Govn't to reflect change and take on some radical ideas.
    SDs might tag along. Roisin just wants Slaintecare anyway and I'd say they'd both happily give Health to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If he wants to be in the Socialist Party he can't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,247 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Yes because executing people who weren't the right religion or skin colour is a very socialist thing to do - you need to read a few history textbooks my friend

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persecution_of_Christians_in_the_Soviet_Union

stop pretending socialist = good and not bigoted, theres lots of evidence.

but the point was that nationalism and socialism are compatible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭amadangomor

And as a point of order it could be argued that it was the Nationalists (some of them anyway) who threw their lot in with Connolly. Connolly and the ICA were going to Rise Up whether or not the others joined in.

But it's good to see that there are people who can be venerated by both Communist Party of Ireland and those who find left-wing politics anathema.

Perhaps in your haste to criticise Mick Barry you missed where I said he was in the tradition of Connolly - not that he was a Connolly.

If anyone here thinks Connolly wouldn't be out on the picket lines today or would be willing to go into govt with FF or FG they obviously know nothing about the man bar a few quotes and a sanitised version of who he was and what he believed in.

Connolly wanted a socialist Irish republic as he believed that was the only way the working people of Ireland would be treated fairly. And anyone who shares that belief is in the tradition of Connolly.

And yes, he was prepared to do the armed version of going into coalition with FF/FG (back when both were Sinn Fein) to achieve his goal. It's a shame that like every other 'small party' who did that he ended up getting s*it for thanks and his role downplayed. Wonder if he would repeat that decision if he knew how the Irish Republic was going to turn out?

Ah here. If Connolly came back now he would be amazed at how prosperous and equal we are as a society. Yes under successive FF and FG governments! The country isn't perfect but the problems of people are minor compared to what life was like in Connolly's time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,469 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Who would they be, my friend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

Have no time for these Dudes who keep harping back to 1916 !

We are in different times now and while we will always respect the people who won our freedom we have to recognise that the world of today is a far different place.

The qualities required to shake off the employers yoke in the early part of the last century are not the qualities of leadership required now ...people need to look forward ...not backward .....and be prepared to accept that Unions can sometimes be the biggest threat to the prosperity of working people .

Think change my friend ....think change ....

Have no time for these Dudes who keep harping back to 1916 !

We are in different times now and while we will always respect the people who won our freedom we have to recognise that the world of today is a far different place.

The qualities required to shake off the employers yoke in the early part of the last century are not the qualities of leadership required now ...people need to look forward ...not backward .....and be prepared to accept that Unions can sometimes be the biggest threat to the prosperity of working people .

Think change my friend ....think change ....

Correct, Parsnipp, trying to equate people like Barry with the folk of 1916 shows the paucity of understanding of the difference between these two periods.and the ideals of those under discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

is_that_so wrote: »
    Someone has been in coma for the last two years. She been a very good spokesperson on Brexit and a lot of people in Meath like her is the simple answer.
    I've been watching and I haven't seen anything. She doesn't seem capable of thinking for herself. Another entitled runner.

No experience.... with anything at all iirc.
    She featured at a few free concerts with Leo and the gang. Those appearances have been the height of her career as a TD thus far.
    What count did she get in her Meath East consituency? 6th? 7th?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Water John wrote: »

As a mudguard he really meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,414 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I've been watching and I haven't seen anything. She doesn't seem capable of thinking for herself. Another entitled runner.

No experience.... with anything at all iirc.
    She featured at a few free concerts with Leo and the gang. Those appearances have been the height of her career as a TD thus far.
    What count did she get in her Meath East consituency? 6th? 7th?

Seems a very capable woman. Never put a foot wrong on the Brexit gig. Well got locally too.

Second to SF in first preferences. Passed quota on 7th count following O'Doherty's elimination.

She has a Masters in Media and Communication. If she isn't giving anything away it's because she doesn't want to not because she has no opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,282 ✭✭✭✭Water John

She was sent out simply to hold the line and say nothing. The FG TDs haven't met yet. Most party reps doing the same thing.

elperello wrote: »
    Seems a very capable woman. Never put a foot wrong on the Brexit gig. Well got locally too.

Second to SF in first preferences. Passed quota on 7th count following O'Doherty's elimination.

She has a Masters in Media and Communication. If she isn't giving anything away it's because she doesn't want to not because she has no opinion
    I've not seen anything to allow her to really put a foot wrong. She may be capable, but again, she has not really shown much.
    She hasn't put that masters to any use at all.. She has been there three years now, maybe now would be a good time to prove she's not just relying on the sympathy vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I would be the first to criticise the standard of the average FG TD but Helen McEntee definitely comes across as one of their better and most capable TDs. I think she is in it for the right reasons.

Cannot say that about some of the others with the biggest portfolios.

I've not seen anything to allow her to really put a foot wrong. She may be capable, but again, she has not really shown much.
    She hasn't put that masters to any use at all.. She has been there three years now, maybe now would be a good time to prove she's not just relying on the sympathy vote.

I think she is one to watch.

Seven years a TD and worked for her late father in Leinster House for 3 years before that.

Well past the sympathy stage.

She understands the media game. "Know when to hold em........etc."

I think she is one to watch.

Seven years a TD and worked for her late father in Leinster House for 3 years before that.

Well past the sympathy stage.

She understands the media game. "Know when to hold em........etc."
    I've been watching.. Not seeing anything.
    Time will tell, even though I believe she's already had plenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,566 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

When was she grilled about the Brexit process though? Very good at delivering the message from party HQ's, no doubt about it. But an original thinker or a force in getting or delivering something?...as yet totally unproven tbh.

I reckon she is at least the equal of many of the FFG front benchers.

We might not have too long to wait to see how she performs under pressure.

I've been watching.. Not seeing anything.
    Time will tell, even though I believe she's already had plenty.

Maybe you should listen, she put O’Reilly in her box fairly sharpish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I think we're headed for another G.E going by the headlines in the Indo this morning, first line in the article says Leo states bluntly that they're off to the opposition benches.

Something's gotta give.

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1229339692577050624?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,566 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Patrick O'Donovan on So'R, FG's walking huff. Priceless.