Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American vs Irish police officers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Raconteuse wrote: »
    I've come to the conclusion that there are people who are literally incapable of distinguishing between some and all. Not just on the right, but people who ironically complain about racism at the same time.

Jaysus, the anti Irish WASP crowd would have been saying that. But that kinda prejudice is ok.
    Of course, you don't mean ALL WASPs?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Yanks would win hands down.

Unless they were playing hurlin.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

seamus wrote: »
    The 3 strikes rule neither reduces crime or reoffending rates.

Like all harsh penal systems, it's based on the fallacy that the only reason people don't commit crimes is because of the risk of punishment.

That's not the reality; people don't burgle houses, because they don't want to. People who burgle houses, want to. The risk of capture is merely a hindrance, nit a deterrent.

All the 3 strikes rule actually does is fill prisons up with poor people. It's popular in the US because prisons are private and get paid by head. So the US system is not interested in preventing crime, its primary motivation is getting people into prisons for profit.

Someone in prison does not burgle a house.
    Of course it reduces further offending on the outside if the crim is banged up.

We are FAR too soft here. All about the offender and their 'rehabilitation' rather than protecting everyone else from their criminality.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Some good, some bad, same as any population.

I've met some wanker Guards who go way too hard on people, and others who aren't idiots & try to help young people away from crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

I would.

I was talking to a taxi driver in Vegas. Her son was doing 5 years in the slammer. The sum of his crimes were:

Stole a car - strike 1
    Caught with an 8-ball of blow - Strike 2
    Stole a DVD from a shop - Strike 3, go directly to jail, mandatory minimum 5 years.

Sounds harsh, but if you had 2 strikes against you, why the flip would you risk jail to steal a DVD?

Meanwhile in Dublin, Anto is wandering around Crumlin with 56 convictions.

Justice system here is a joke. Theres a bigger chance that I'd end up in jail protecting my property than the intruder would. The whole country is out of control. Rural crime, drugs, young lads think their gangsters. Life should mean life in jail, hard labour should be a thing and bring back the hanging as the grandmother said.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

Criminologists say it's not harsh punishment that deters people (well they do up to a certain point) but the certainty of getting caught.

In NYC, they've put various law enforcement agencies around the city (NY State Trooper, NYPD, SWAT, FBI) so its hard to commit crime and even think about doing things when there are so many police officers around

• Registered Users Posts: 51,497 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You’ll likely get proper policing when you get proper sentencing from the courts.
    They go hand in hand imo.
    How demoralising must it feel to be dealing time after time with some lad who’s still walking around the town after having 56 charges in court yet never spent a minute locked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

Justice system here is a joke. Theres a bigger chance that I'd end up in jail protecting my property than the intruder would. The whole country is out of control. Rural crime, drugs, young lads think their gangsters. Life should mean life in jail, hard labour should be a thing and bring back the hanging as the grandmother said.

You seem pretty excited. Do you need a hanky for your willy?

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

You seem pretty excited. Do you need a hanky for your willy?

All good thanks. Nothing like a good rant.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Irish Americans are often an embarrassment.

HEAR, HEAR! When an American of Irish descent says to me "I'm Irish!" all I think is no you're not. Your racist embarrassing ways are a shame to be associating with us. You are not Irish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

TJ Hooker, now there’s a cop

• Registered Users Posts: 20,507 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Life means Life, Three Strikes and your in for Life, is not working out great for the Americans. Their prisons are filling up with mostly infirm prisoners in their 80's and 90's.

I don't see the sense of locking up 18 year olds here for 70 or 80 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

chrissb8 wrote: »
    HEAR, HEAR! When an American of Irish descent says to me "I'm Irish!" all I think is no you're not. Your racist embarrassing ways are a shame to be associating with us. You are not Irish.
    My cousins over there have an Irish father (he emigrated in the 1970s) and one of them is married to a man whose father also emigrated to the U.S in the 70s. They are both very much in touch with their Irish roots and very interested and knowledgeable, visiting ireland frequently. I think that's only a positive. :confused:
    Better than the self loathing nut jobs here.

Also they are not racist. Don't know where that came from...

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭feartuath

When I read the thread title I remembered the UTube clip of the sulky race on the Mallow / Cork road when the participants would not stop for the Guards as oncoming cars and trucks moved into the hard shoulder to avoid collision.

In the US the riders and horses would be put down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Shady Grady

seamus wrote: »
    Most local sherriffs in the US are the guy who won a popular vote. They give him a badge, a gun, a budget and the right to apply the law as he sees fit, with no legal or police training.

Taken as a whole, the Gardai look like elite special forces compared to US cops.

Sorry but your wrong there. Anyone in a law enforcement role has to complete and certify as an officer and agent of the jurisdiction they are in. With annual recerts done to keep their accreditations.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Nearly got run over by a guard the other day, on his phone doing his serious police work as he drove into a shops car park unaware of anyone in front of him.

Would have a 50-50 rate of usefulness in any dealings I would have with them.

Main issue would be why are they allowed use their phones whilst driving but noone else is? Dont they have "tech" for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,507 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Nearly got run over by a guard the other day, on his phone doing his serious police work as he drove into a shops car park unaware of anyone in front of him.

Would have a 50-50 rate of usefulness in any dealings I would have with them.

Main issue would be why are they allowed use their phones whilst driving but noone else is? Dont they have "tech" for that.

I often see people driving and using their phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Shady Grady

Exactly, it is pointless making laws if no one enforces them. Recently they put up new signs in my neighbourhood about dog fouling increasing the fine to 4000 euros. But not one time do you see anyone strolling along enforcing it. Sidewalks are still a mine field.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I often see it too but thats just idiots driving not people who are paid to enforce the no phones whilst driving law.

Often is a terrible word, I am shocked if I dont see someone using their phone whilst driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭Stretch1432

I have a quick question in relation to the difference between Irish and UK/American police. Is it true that a lot of investigation s are done by detective s or specialists units and the regular police just arrest and detain suspected offenders. Like do they just gather the evidence preserve scene and take statements and then it gets passed further up the line . Is there less paperwork in other police forces in comparison to Irish police .

• Registered Users Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I personally don't rate the Irish or US police highly tbh, although I suppose I shouldn't tar every police officer with the same brush. US police officers seem to be trigger-happy at times. Like I've seen videos of cops pulling their guns or tasers on people for minor offenses and getting pretty aggressive with them. Some of them just lack the social skills to be able to communicate in a way that doesn't scare people when confronted or make them think they might get shot and killed by them. That's just terrible policing. Irish police just seem to be lazy or scared at times. I guess it doesn't help that our justice system is a joke and criminals don't fear them and aren't afraid of lashing out at them, but even the police response times can be shockingly bad. You could end up waiting for quite some time before the Gardaí shows up.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,355 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

It really doesn't with study after study showing how ineffective it is at reducing crime. You caught 1 person and stopped them from committing more crimes but it doesn't stop the people outside the prison. There are also many reports showing how some communities have lost so many of the population to jail that they can't function. Once the prisoner gets released they also can't get any job so have little or no option but to turn to criminality to survive.

You will have to leave Ireland if you don't want rehabilitation in prison because it is part of our constitution because of how brutal the British prison system was and how it was used against the poor.

There is also the fact people are kept in prison for profit and used for labour which sounds a lot like slavery

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Every time I was in the states I was impressed by the US cops, granted I was never really in rural areas, but they were polite, professional and present

The gardai, like a lot of public institutions in Ireland are not competent and a few decades behind their peers.

The racism accusation thing is pretty standard for some types these days, they just throw it out by default, it's a bit like how other religious nut jobs end every sentense with "Praise god"

When you say poor people fill prisons you mean criminals fill prisons.

Most poor people will never land themselves in prison so don't you dare lump poor people in with criminals just to excuse them,

I don't know a single person who did time because they were poor, they were all sent down because they either delinquents or addicts who needed money for drugs, which is a completely different thing to being poor.

Law abiding people in poor neighborhoods have to rear their kids surrounded by little scumbags who should not be on the streets so the likes of you can feel virtuous.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,754 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Decades or even centuries of being marginalised and cut off from society has especially affected some black communities in the USA and that's why they are over represented in US prisons.

I know you think it's their own fault because you're that narrow minded, but these people are far more likely to end up as addicts or criminals, due to the environment they grow up in.

Anyway the last police force we want to be like is the American one. The amount of videos I've seen of them acting like complete power tripping nazis. I know ours can be pretty limp alright but I'll take it over those psychos any day.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭opinionated3

The only guards I see in our area are the lads in the traffic corps tuscons. Quick to dish out the penalty points for doing 60 in a 50 but never seen to walk the beat or take on the local drug dealers. I'm assuming that's either laziness or a lack of belief that the offender's will be prosecuted correctly in the courts. Either way it's disappointing to say the least.

My only dealings with American police were on holidays, specifically NYPD and Boston police. In fairness it was good to see so many of them on patrol, walking/cycling the beat in the city, gave us a decent sense of security.

I reckon it's not right to tar all members with the same brush. I imagine there's bad eggs in all police departments across the world. And then there's service men/women who will go out of their way to assist in any way possible. None of them are totally perfect. I suppose our issue here locally is the perception that real criminals get away with a lot, and ruin communities as they go, and not a guard to be seen. Then again, are they even afraid of the guards??

• Registered Users Posts: 11,480 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Want to ask the Hillsborough victims families about the "professionalism" of the English police?

You can't have the best of both worlds. Either you want a system that is hard on crime or the belief that all criminals can be rehabilitated. It is easy for people to judge other countries policing but yet don't ask or wonder why they came to that point.TBO your police force don't have the scenarios or experience in daily crimes other countries have to deal with on a daily basis. So it is ridiculous to even compare US police to your Irish equivalent.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭NSAman

Don't forget, Policing in the USA is dependent upon where you live and how much tax is paid.

Where I live we have a city police and also a county police. They do mix rolls at time. We also have State Police.

The level of training each get is amazing. All are armed. All seem to be ex-military (with a serious chip on their shoulders).

Intelligence wise, the vast majority are like robots with zero thought process. Some are fantastic, some are just awful. The problem I see in the States especially where I am, it's who you know, not justice and the law!

I'm lucky in that a very good friend of mine, employs police outside of hours and everyone would know that I am a friend of his.

The difference between police here and in Ireland, the time they take to arrive. Here it's almost instantaneous, compared to hours for Ireland.

You see police (even in rural areas) far more frequently. A complaint about a police officer here is a serious thing. Not doing the job properly, means the sheriff gets voted out next election.

Ireland, not so much.