Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know who your voting for?

• 04-02-2020 10:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,503 ✭✭✭✭

I don't want this to be another election debate but do you know who are voting for on Saturday?

Do you know who your voting for? 194 votes

Yes
    65% 128 votes
    No
    26% 51 votes
    I'm unsure waiting for the debates to be over
    7% 15 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭storker

Yes.

I'm voting for Pedro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,283 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

I'm voting for Pedro.

Vote for Summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Cody montana

I vote for no pants Friday!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

More importantly

Do you know who you are voting against ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

I'm torn between Sinn Féin and the Soc Dems. Will probably end up giving the Soc Dem candidate my No. 1 because the SF guy is home and dry and she's probably more likely to need it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I'm voting for the thread title to be corrected to show the correct spelling of you're! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Zaph wrote: »
    I'm voting for the thread title to be corrected to show the correct spelling of you're! :pac:

Your crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Eyes to the left and knows to the write

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭wetlandsboy

Not SF after that performance tonight! Definitely the ‘gotcha’ moment of the campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭dmc17

I'm voting no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,505 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I know who I am not voting for.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

More importantly

Do you know who you are voting against ?

I'm tempted to just go with my first preference, but that would be foolish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Whomever produces the biggest Cake

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

FG one, Labour two, FG three, might give the Greens and the Social Democrats four and five, and leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,810 ✭✭✭quokula

It will be some combination of FG / Lab / Green but I haven't decided the order. Also considering a local independent who's done great work on the council, but not sure I'm on board with the concept of sending independents to the dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,875 ✭✭✭Feisar

Yes, not them cùnts

First they came for the socialists...

I'm torn between Sinn Féin and the Soc Dems. Will probably end up giving the Soc Dem candidate my No. 1 because the SF guy is home and dry and she's probably more likely to need it.

This

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Now getting serious, and that's not something I've ever said before in my life, I think I'll vote for whoever calls to me door, now I live in a fairly average council estate but for some reason nobody calls to me door, so the first man or woman that does, is getting my vote and if no one does I'm going for PBP, because My Da used to vote for Fianna Fail, he told me his Da did too, and I always got the opinion that culchies voted the way their Da and granda did, and I dont like that mallarkey, vote for yer own choice, have your own opinion and see where we end up

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭PoisonIvyBelle

I know who I'm not voting for, and I'm fairly set albeit hesitant on who I am voting for.

IMO none of them have a fcuking clue what they're doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,680 ✭✭✭Nollog

uch wrote: »
    Now getting serious, and that's not something I've ever said before in my life, I think I'll vote for whoever calls to me door, now I live in a fairly average council estate but for some reason nobody calls to me door, so the first man or woman that does, is getting my vote and if no one does I'm going for PBP, because My Da used to vote for Fianna Fail, he told me his Da did too, and I always got the opinion that culchies voted the way their Da and granda did, and I dont like that mallarkey, vote for yer own choice, have your own opinion and see where we end up

We only get prepay power round here. Not giving them my number 1.

I don't know who I'm voting for, just who I'm not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

Not a clue. Will do my homework Friday after work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,804 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Yup, all left, but I've no expectations of change actually occuring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 EthelSouthern

Still undecided. Who do you recommend ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,804 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Still undecided. Who do you recommend ?

its a personal decision, you ll have to do your own homework for this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

If only there was some way not to have either FF or FG in government I would be happy, nearly 100 years and these two have always been either the government or the senior partner in a coalition (usually with Labour as the junior). Not time for a change no, another century of the same **** with us getting pats on the head from America from time to time.?

Maybe Irish people just like pain & humiliation?

Like somebody else said I'd be happy if the Social Dems, Greens or SF somehow pulled it of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Also should say whom instead of who

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Will probably end up giving the Soc Dem candidate my No. 1 because the SF guy is home and dry and she's probably more likely to need it.

There is no need to game it out like that - vote for who you want. Your vote will either help elect the SF guy or be transferred to help the SD person after the SF guy is elected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

SF getting my vote.

FG/FF are the same thing, there is very little difference. There’s no point voting for either because they will just go back in together given the chance and nothing will change.

I think FG will lose seats, FF will make some gains. And again we will have supply agreement which is just bollox when you get FF abstaining on votes in the Dail.

Labour are dead to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

501910.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I am actually not voting. It all happened so fast and I had not reregistered out here and the time it would take to get the paperwork done made it impossible, Housebound and would need a postal vote. Not fit to get to get to the Gardaí etc, for the needed signatures.

Also the seat here is totally "safe"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

uch wrote: »
    Whomever produces the biggest Cake

One young kiddie on Cake cried all the water out of his body. Just imagine how his mother felt. It's a f***ing disgrace.
    - Bernard Manning:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

First time voting in this country and I'll be voting for Sin Fein.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Yes i will vote for independents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

I'm glad to see more people being open to vote SF, and that predjudicial attitude of them being a "Northern Party" linked to the IRA is starting to fade, especially with a young generation coming up who don't remeber the 30 year war as much as the last generation did, just how younger people in the mid 1930's didn't have as much memories of Dev & others during the Anti-Treaty IRA campaign, who didn't have the Dev's "wading through Irish blood" speech stuck in their head, and those people who left SF & the IRA to join FF.

I think it's stupid not to vote for SF just because they were very remotely connected to a war that ended 23 years ago. If you like their policies & the people standing for them, well then vote for them.
    It would be like me not voting for FG because they were linked to a proto-Fascist organiztion 80 some years ago, if I agreed with their policies I would vote for them.

And FF & FG people (& some SF & Lab to be fair) are very vague in their answers to questions & reasons to vote for them, it's like when Noam Chomsky said Obama was very extremly vague on his political positions because he didn't want to give too much away. His slogan was "Hope & Change"? Hope for what & change for who? Well he gave Israel more money & military aid than any other president to help Gaza go back to the stone age, he supported the 2012 & 2014 attacks on Gaza which were genocidal in nature, increased the drone terror assassination campaign worldwide wiping out a group of people at a wedding party in Pakistan.

Leo does that a lot (not on the mlitary topics obviously) with cheap FG mantras, telling people there is a "recovery" & the homeless crisis is being solved, they are all lies, I know at least a dozen people who killed themselves in the last 5 years, two of them very close to me, one was a friend since childhood, the other was like a brother to me he was my cousin & we lived togther for a year or two, he was like the only person I could tell everything to & he broke up with his girlfriend & that fckued him up.

So I want a government that can sort out, help or reduce the economic problems, the unemployment problems, the high rate of suicide, the gangland killings, the homeless emergency, do things to reduce climate change, problems with hospitals (cheers Minister Harris), plus I'd like Ireland to stand up even more & speak out louder for the Palestinian people.
    Even tho I'm a Libertarian Socialist (anarcho socialist) I'm also a realist & I think Sinn Fein understand at least the social problems better than the Clongowes Boys club, who I believe don't give a **** about homeless or suicidal people or people in Dublin streets in alleyways sticking needles in their arms & swalling packs of Valium & Xanax in broad day light, aslong as the Ministers get their nice pay checks at the end of the week it's all good, even when it's all a terrible mess.

So I urge people to use that vote wisely, there wont be radical change no matter who wins, the EU, USA, IMF & World Bank will see to that, but we can put a step in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I would've voted SocDem, but they're not running a candidate in my constituency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

There is no need to game it out like that - vote for who you want. Your vote will either help elect the SF guy or be transferred to help the SD person after the SF guy is elected.

If there was any doubt at all, I'd give him my first preference. He's a shoe-in though. The Soc Dem candidate really needs number ones. I really want her to win a seat because apart from being a really good local councillor with tonnes of ability, there's a good chance that she'll take a seat from Fianna Fáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭garrettod

Hi

I know who I'll be giving my first two preference votes to, nether are sitting TDs, but both individuals have been in politics for years and been visibly active in my area, actively helping their constituents, over the last few years.

I also know who will be getting my lowest preference votes, one of them being an outgoing Minister, who has done nothing for his constituency, either in the most recent term, or in a couple of terms before that. Its long past time that he was shown the door.

The challenge remains with assigning priority votes to the rest of the candidates. With many 4 or even 5 seat constituencies now in existence, every vote counts!

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,525 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Hmmm. Mickey Mouse or varadkar ( 3 months away from Taoiseach pension ) what inspiring options. Will give sf , aontu and greens a vote. Given we are likely getting the axis of failure again. I would prefer fg to be the senior party

I see no point in a ff vote. We’ve been there. Lying useless incompetent. If voting for change , it should be sf, not ff!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Fccwontletmebe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭upinthesky

SF all the way, how could you not give someone else a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

I think it's stupid not to vote for SF just because they were very remotely connected to a war that ended 23 years ago. If you like their policies & the people standing for them, well then vote for them.

This is why in their ignorance quite a few of the 30ish and younger people may vote Sinn Fein.
    Remotely connected, me hole. Remotely connected?!!!
    The punishment beatings, tribal enforcements, maintaining drugs territories and driving people who challenge them into hiding did not end 23 years ago. Far from it.

Edit - Jaysis I just noticed the "very" before remotely connected!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Sinn Fein are so very remotely connected to the 23 year ago troubles that their present leader spent the better part of 2 decades following Gerry Adams about like a lovelorn gangster moll, the same Gerry who formed the Unknowns who were responsible for the disappearances of many including Jean McConville.
    I swear the disappearance of truthful history is profoundly degrading our species' IQ in real time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Fianna Fail are 1/8 on Paddypower to win the most seats. It's unbelievable.

Long ago I vowed to never vote for either FF or FG. When I was in college it was the height of the recession. I went as a mature student after the place I was working in closed, about 200 of us lost jobs.

I got lucky enough to get a part time job working in a hotel to help keep me going as the grant would only cover my weekly rent.

Then in 2010 FF, in a brilliant attempt at job creation, lowered the minimum wage by a euro. Well it certainly created one job - they hired a Polish lad at the new lower rate and suddenly my hours were cut to nothing. (Nothing against the Polish btw, it's just the fact of what happened.)

During a class rep meeting that year, several of us were talking about how unhappy we were with the current gov, and how we were worried about them reintroducing college fees. A member of young Fine Gael told us we should vote FG to stop that happening, boasting that FG were the party that abolished them in the first place.

FG got in, and they promptly brought the college fees in. They also cut the grant. I took out a loan to finish 3rd year, but I'll never forget having to give up my place in the honours year to go on tbe dole, because it was the only way I could make my rent (I wasnt on back to education as I hadn't been out of work long enough to qualify).

I'll also never forget applying for a job after dropping out, not getting it, and then reapplying for the same job same company six months later and getting it. Except it wasn't a job. It was a Jobbridge internship. Another great job creation strategy by FFG.

But, they say people get the politicians they deserve, and I believe that. I mean we must be a nation of utter dimwits to keep voting in these 2 parties that are as corrupt and incompetent as each other. Anyone who thinks FF will do any better than FG at the housing, health or pension issues seriously deluded.

I think it's all by design, have the only options be so bad that nearly half the country doesn't bother voting because they're so fed up and disgusted, and then the only ones voting are the FG/FF cronies.

I actually hope we have another recession, and that it's even worse than the last one. Not only because it's what we deserve, but because that's the only way we will ever finally get rid of these 2 piles of shìte. Tho tbh even that is optimistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Not only because it's what we deserve, but because that's the only way we will ever finally get rid of these 2 piles of shìte. Tho tbh even that is optimistic.

You hit it on the head with the "what we deserve" bit.

Given the complete sh*tshow that was the 2000's it should have been a shoein for the creation of a new party to challenge the establishment, but Renua went and ballsed that up by sticking to some...out of touch views?

The last two elections felt like the last presedential one in the US. How bad did they have to be to lose to FF/FG? How bad did Hillary have to be to lose to Trump, who was dropping scandals left right and centre?

I want some change from what we have but i have no real choice other than to continue voting for the established two because Sinn Feins "everything 4 free hurr" economic policies frankly frighten me.

Christ. As bad as fg are , ff being the senior party is a baaaaaad outcome. We now have rampant populism, but also they sure as hell won’t address the issues , a leopard doesn’t change its spots !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭dvdman1

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I see no point in a ff vote. We’ve been there. Lying useless incompetent. If voting for change , it should be sf, not ff!!!

Id never vote SF
    Ask yourself how true are the following statments:

SF and mary take there orders directly from a back room ie the ira ex army council ? Even if this was a half true wouldn't we be voting for an irish hamas with bells n whistles, yes a bit exaggerated but an undermining of democracy and decency in our country.

Abolishing the special criminal court is a pledge of theres why? ...SF are the political wing of the IRA or used to be....have the ira and its members been involved in organised crime? Marting McGuinness while i have great respect for the man was convicted by this very court.

When you read there manifesto the figures dont add up. 100k homes built in that short space of time isn't possible even if we pulled ever bricky off every site in the country. Keeping pensions at 65, schools provision of nearly ever service expanding the public sector to levels never seen.
    Basically telling people everything they want to hear and no detailed breakdown of how its paid for.

SF claim to be the real Republican party but in reality very few supported the armed struggle which in reality has put our dream of a united Ireland back a generation..it has created huge resentment and horror on both sides.

Putting SF in government in the Republic will only mean longer before unionist wake up and work with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Fine Gael 1 and Greens 2.