Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Weekend On One With Brendan O'Connor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Gerarardus........please understand that there is nothingwhich can be said these days that some stump won’t take offense to.

I’m offended by the use of the word “stump”. It’s tree-ist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Elmo wrote: »
    When did this happen? The initial discussion?

I looked up the BAI page and the most recent complaints are from the 14th of April, and I don't see the Brendan O'Connor complaint among them. Maybe this is another traunch of complaints that has not been published on the web page yet, given how slow the wheels normally move in these types of organisations?

https://www.bai.ie/en/latest-broadcasting-complaints-decisions-published-45/

The only complaint that was held up in the batch from 14th of April was the "transphobic" remark about JK Rowling that was made on Today FM, and I know that I heard about this in the news a few weeks back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I looked up the BAI page and the most recent complaints are from the 14th of April, and I don't see the Brendan O'Connor complaint among them. Maybe this is another traunch of complaints that has not been published on the web page yet, given how slow the wheels normally move in these types of organisations?

https://www.bai.ie/en/latest-broadcasting-complaints-decisions-published-45/

The only complaint that was held up in the batch from 14th of April was the "transphobic" remark about JK Rowling that was made on Today FM, and I know that I heard about this in the news a few weeks back.

while you may not like people complaining to the BAI, they don't get that many and when they do get them they make their judgment 6 months after the fact. BAI don't want complaints. They are not OFCOM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

I think she has modeled herself on everybody's pal, Luke O'Neill - the "friendly voice you can trust". When watching re-runs of Cheers, I half expect Luke O'Neill to sit down beside Norm and Cliff at the end of the bar.

My particular favourite part that Cliona contributed was her letting us all know that she recently bought a second home in Wexford for holidays.

She's one of the people all right, but it's not the average people of Ireland, its the people of rte D4 society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Cole

On the BAI complaint...I'm going from memory and I could be wrong, but I think it might have arisen from the movie review/recommendation slot that Brian Reddin often does. He recommended the western "Hombre" on TG4 that week and in doing so said the Paul Newman character was a "halfbreed"...but I'm fairly sure he meant it in air quotes, as in that's how Paul Newman's character was perceived and that was the term used back then...Reddin was clumsy in how he set up the plot. The movie actually addresses the issue of racism.

I remember it so clearly because, as well as enjoying a good a western, I could almost hear BOC squirm and was surprised that he didn't get Reddin to make it clearer that that's how he meant it...he's usually quick to add a qualification if he thinks something might be misinterpreted or cause offence.

wSMDgzHfFX65n5iLyxnegDXZHbc.jpg

PieOhMy wrote: »
    My particular favourite part that Cliona contributed was her letting us all know that she recently bought a second home in Wexford for holidays.

She's one of the people all right, but it's not the average people of Ireland, its the people of rte D4 society.

It was her "let them eat cake" moment. Just like when Joe Duffy asks callers "was dat your main holiday?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Cole wrote: »
    On the BAI complaint...I'm going from memory and I could be wrong, but I think it might have arisen from the movie review/recommendation slot that Brian Reddin often does used to do. He recommended the western "Hombre" on TG4 that week

fyp :D

Your description above of the their discussion of the movie Hombre certainly fits in with what I heard about the complaint alright. I think you are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭PVNevin

Mav11 wrote: »
    If vaccines or other such medicines were to be developed patent free, where is the motivation for private companies to engage in research?
    I think she has modeled herself on everybody's pal, Luke O'Neill - the "friendly voice you can trust". When watching re-runs of Cheers, I half expect Luke O'Neill to sit down beside Norm and Cliff at the end of the bar.

Liuke O'Neil being the one who said "Put Granny by the window" in response to warnings against opening up fro Xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I have long categorised Tom Jones in the absolute scumbag drawer

I wouldn't put Billy Connery much higher either, to be honest.
    Similar pattern of behaviour, until he could divest himself of wife Mk 1 and take up with a more attractive version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Cole wrote: »
    On the BAI complaint...I'm going from memory and I could be wrong, but I think it might have arisen from the movie review/recommendation slot that Brian Reddin often does. He recommended the western "Hombre" on TG4 that week and in doing so said the Paul Newman character was a "halfbreed"...but I'm fairly sure he meant it in air quotes, as in that's how Paul Newman's character was perceived and that was the term used back then...Reddin was clumsy in how he set up the plot. The movie actually addresses the issue of racism.

I remember it so clearly because, as well as enjoying a good a western, I could almost hear BOC squirm and was surprised that he didn't get Reddin to make it clearer that that's how he meant it...he's usually quick to add a qualification if he thinks something might be misinterpreted or cause offence.

wSMDgzHfFX65n5iLyxnegDXZHbc.jpg
    Ages since I saw that, and I always liked a Paul Newman movie. Got it downloading now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,050 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Radio on

Politicians whinging and complaining

Radio off

Radio on

Politicians whinging and complaining

Radio off

John Halligan commented to Brendan that he was an excellent broadcaster and RTE were similar regarding their standards in interviewing politicians.

I don't agree with the level of online abuse directed at some politicians (for example when it crosses the line into physical threats etc.) but these people are over-egging this a bit I feel.

Tommy Gorman back into RTE already with a documentary about RTE's second favourite subject (after death)......cancer.

At this stage it looks like RTE staffers only retire to get contract work.

Tommy Gorman back into RTE already with a documentary about RTE's second favourite subject (after death)......cancer.

We were beaten over the head, again, with death in an early program today on Radio 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

"Ireland Cancer and me" for heavens sake even some of us with it in our lives would like a break from it from time to time, give it a rest ffs

The RTE Radio App has failed for the third time now since 11am so I'm off to listen to a podcast instead.

"Ireland Cancer and me" for heavens sake even some of us with it in our lives would like a break from it from time to time, give it a rest ffs

???

The man has cancer. It's quite serious. Are you really accusing him of being on some kind if junket, for talking about his fatal illness? This is a bit much, now.

???

The man has cancer. It's quite serious. Are you really accusing him of being on some kind if junket, for talking about his fatal illness? This is a bit much, now.

Unfortunately he's not the only one with it, 9 times out of 10 when rte is turned on its either cancer or some other illness, what does all this achieve, damn all I'd say. Even people with cancer need a break from this constant emoting about the subject

???

No, I'm not accusing him of being on some kind of junket.

I'm rather referring to what seems to be becoming the norm for RTE staff members to retire only then to return almost immediately (Gorman retired only last month) to now do some other form of work, contract in Sean O'Rourke's case (obviously cancelled following Golfgate) and now Gorman one assumes has sold his documentary to RTE. The optics of these types of arrangements are not good IMO for an organisation whose finances are under such scrutiny and which is publicly funded. It smacks of a "jobs for the boys"/pension top up wink wink type of thing.

I bear no ill will whatsoever to Tommy Gorman and wish him all the very best in his recovery and treatment. My comments were purely in relation to this arrangement - the subject matter is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Cole

"books saved our lives"...got to love the hyperbole of the literary crew. Tubridy will have this quote framed for his wall...or maybe yer man stole it from him.

No, I'm not accusing him of being on some kind of junket.

I'm rather referring to what seems to be becoming the norm for RTE staff members to retire only then to return almost immediately (Gorman retired only last month) to now do some other form of work, contract in Sean O'Rourke's case (obviously cancelled following Golfgate) and now Gorman one assumes has sold his documentary to RTE. The optics of these types of arrangements are not good IMO for an organisation whose finances are under such scrutiny and which is publicly funded. It smacks of a "jobs for the boys"/pension top up wink wink type of thing.

I bear no ill will whatsoever to Tommy Gorman and wish him all the very best in his recovery and treatment. My comments were purely in relation to this arrangement - the subject matter is irrelevant.

Every day, there is a legitimate reason to criticise RTE.

Going after Tommy Gorman's presence on a radio programme, talking about his cancer, is not one of them, I would suggest. It doesn't make anyone look good, or sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭archfi

There are two strands here to the criticism above.
    The relentless tales of death and illness - and they are relentless across the whole spectrum of RTE's services - and the seemingly closed shop that RTE is/family of staff & contractors and the continuity of retired 'personalities' at the RTE/public purse.
    Both are legitimate.
    No one has abused or spoken ill of Tommie Gorman.

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

Going after Tommy Gorman's presence on a radio programme, talking about his cancer, is not one of them, I would suggest. It doesn't make anyone look good, or sensible.

Just for the record there, when I turned on BoC this morning the first four words I heard were "Ireland cancer and me" I immediately switched over to a more pleasant listening experience for a bank holiday weekend, I had no idea the segment was about Tommy Gorman until you mentioned him and furthermore that is irrelevant to the point of the ubiquitous emoting on disease and death on the national broadcaster

That’s not really what I did though. You are conflating the two issues and using an emotive argument by personalizing his cancer. I repeat that I have absolutely no ill will towards Gorman, but I’d make the same comment regarding RTE’s work practices in hiring/remunerating very recently departed employees if his documentary was about tiddlywinks.

And I do think you’re somewhat overdramatizing this point. I am not “going after” (as you put it) Gorman - my comments are clearly about RTÉ, can you not see that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,885 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

That’s not really what I did though. You are conflating the two issues and using an emotive argument by personalizing his cancer. I repeat that I have absolutely no ill will towards Gorman, but I’d make the same comment regarding RTE’s work practices in hiring/remunerating very recently departed employees if his documentary was about tiddlywinks.

And I do think you’re somewhat overdramatizing this point. I am not “going after” (as you put it) Gorman - my comments are clearly about RTÉ, can you not see that?

Come on, B, give it a rest. You’ll miss out on railing against the “doom and gloom” scientists on with Katie Hannon.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Brainless moaning about our public broadcaster is a hobby for some of the permanently outraged crew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

???

Does he have cancer? I know he had it twenty years ago, maybe more. Not sure he has now though.

Brainless moaning about our public broadcaster is a hobby for some of the permanently outraged crew.

Must disagree with you here, Doctor. The radio posters are the most intelligent users of this website, and they have extremely high standards, that's all. I do agree the cancer comments were insensitive though.

And again, my comments were aimed at RTÉ, not Tommy Gorman nor his cancer. Others (above) clearly agree.