Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pope slapping the randy birds away !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Marhay70

If he was a professional football player, he'd be sent off the field for wearing those shoes. And she would have been sent off for grabbing him in the first instance.

Retaliation is the bigger crime, isn't that what the Bible says? Good Christians should take the blow and allow for another.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,073 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Marhay70 wrote: »
    He was putting his hand out for people to take it and she did, she just held it a bit more enthusiastically. Hardly a capital offence.
    What about all the usual c**p he spouts about tolerance, didn't show much of it there.

He had his back to her and walking away , she yanked his arm painfully and he winched .He was damn right to slap her hand off him .

• Registered Users Posts: 19,613 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Must be a bummer to be Gods representative on earth and then as a way of thanks God gives you arthritis. The Lord works in mysterious ways.

If you have a bad shoulder arthritis a sudden tug can be immensely painful and cause one to react like that without the mind giving thought to it. I remember my mother used to freak out if you pulled on her arm unexpectedly.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    He had his back to her and walking away , she yanked his arm painfully and he winched .

He left his hand out. Take a look at the actions of the woman as he approached her, she is obviously overcome with emotion at the prospect of touching him.
    Him being taken by surprise in no excuse for his reaction which goes against a basic tenet of Christianity, that you should not strike back, no matter what the provocation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

The wan looked like one of the N'Korea ladies you don't ever want bumping into you in busy public spaces.

By all accounts he did the proper thing, the fault lies with his security team and the shakey-grab-hand woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Must be a bummer to be Gods representative on earth and then as a way of thanks God gives you arthritis. The Lord works in mysterious ways.

He's only human, I'd get pretty p*ssed off if people were trying to paw me for a lucky touch every time I stepped outside the door.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Watched the video and knew straight off which one was going to be the problem. She's lucky the security guy didn't get to her first but also he should probably have been closer anyway.

Saw it earlier. There was something up with her alright. Everyone else is smiling, she's stern faced. Even blessing herself looks staged. She looks at the camera when doing it - it's like to blend in. She continues to shout after he gets away from her. Haven't seen any of the media reports translate what she shouts but it'd be interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,884 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Koreans and Catholicism. Where did that come from?

Met SO many (with their rice cookers lol) on the Camino. Nice folk but a tad obsessed with Il Papa.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

We’ve all seen the footage and it’s not really that bad. But in a lot of jobs if you slap out at another person you would not be kept. Should the pope be sacked??

There's threads in AH.. Off you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

We’ve all seen the footage and it’s not really that bad. But in a lot of jobs if you slap out at another person you would not be kept. Should the pope be sacked??

The woman who physically attacked an elderly octogenarian should be arrested for assault.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Love the people saying he was wrong to retaliate - if she'd punched him was he supposed to stand there and take it? Pure poppycock.

He has nothing to apologise for, perfectly natural reaction to being grabbed unexpectedly

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Moved from work and jobs

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Telly

No.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

She was out of order.
    Bad luck he’d obviously turned away to greet people on the other side of the aisle.
    She grabbed him, pulled him back and insisted on holding onto him when she shouldn’t. She was lucky he slapped her hand off, can clearly see a bodyguard in the background was just about to step in and I doubt he would have been as kind to her.

Love the people saying he was wrong to retaliate - if she'd punched him was he supposed to stand there and take it? Pure poppycock.

Exactly

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Pope can’t be sacked.
    He’s infallible so he obviously did no wrong.

But seriously, she was bang out of order and a slap on the hand was light compared to what would have happened if the bodyguard behind had stepped in.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Rose of Lima

Retaliation is the bigger crime, isn't that what the Bible says? Good Christians should take the blow and allow for another.

The Pope was walking away when she grabbed him, he wasn't expecting it. He looked as though it surprised him and hurt him. He batted her hand to release his hand. Calling that retaliation is absurd.

Your very obvious gripe with the Pope is skewing any hope of you looking at this situation in a reasonable way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

She likely didn't need his services other that a quick howya, cherry-bye wave, nod or smile.

Unlike this other lad, that he wanted to spend a bit longer with when strolling by, and manage to (possibly) bang out an quick aul 'exorcizāre' for free.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RcHJp-BKAuY

If you have a bad shoulder arthritis a sudden tug can be immensely painful and cause one to react like that without the mind giving thought to it. I remember my mother used to freak out if you pulled on her arm unexpectedly.

Did Jesus call down murder and mayhem on those who were crucifying him? No, his plea was that they be forgiven. Francis is supposed to be the nearest thing you can get to Jesus on this earth, he ceased to be a "normal person" when he took on the mantle of Pope.

The Pope was walking away when she grabbed him, he wasn't expecting it. He looked as though it surprised him and hurt him. He batted her hand to release his hand. Calling that retaliation is absurd.

Your very obvious gripe with the Pope is skewing any hope of you looking at this situation in a reasonable way.

I don't have any gripe with the Pope. The RCC puts him on a pedestal and depicts him as the nearest thing to Jesus on earth. Given what I've learned about Jesus over the years I don't see Him reacting in the same way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Did Jesus call down murder and mayhem on those who were crucifying him? No, his plea was that they be forgiven. Francis is supposed to be the nearest thing you can get to Jesus on this earth, he ceased to be a "normal person" when he took on the mantle of Pope.

Absolute tosh. The Pope himself has said that he is just a man. A man will feel pain and react.

He is also nothing like 'the nearest thing to Jesus', but the apostolic successor of Saint Peter and no more divine nor less human than any other man or woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Wonder what would've happened if she were a man instead!

_Brian wrote: »
    Pope can’t be sacked.
    He’s infallible so he obviously did no wrong.

But seriously, she was bang out of order and a slap on the hand was light compared to what would have happened if the bodyguard behind had stepped in.

The Pope himself is not infallible, it's his teachings which are supposed to be infallible and like a lot of doctrine in the RCC it is something which came relatively recently to the party.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

He was putting his hand out for people to take it and she did, she just held it a bit more enthusiastically. Hardly a capital offence.
    What about all the usual c**p he spouts about tolerance, didn't show much of it there.
    go and watch the video again . He had greeted a few people and one lady was holding his hand , he just started to turn away and the other women grabbed his hand , he did not offer it to her to shake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The Pope himself is not infallible, it's his teachings which are supposed to be infallible and like a lot of doctrine in the RCC it is something which came relatively recently to the party.

Not his teachings. Only when he speaks ex cathedra to define a doctrine concerning faith or morals to be held by the church. The solemn declaration of papal infallibility was in 1870 and only applied once since (Assumption of Mary; 1950).

Absolute tosh. The Pope himself has said that he is just a man. A man will feel pain and react.

He is also nothing like 'the nearest thing to Jesus', but the apostolic successor of Saint Peter and no more divine nor less human than any other man or woman.

I am not disputing that the Pope is just a man, any more than some would argue that Jesus was just a man during His time on earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

_Brian wrote: »
    Pope can’t be sacked.

Depends. Once he loses the dressing room, he's on borrowed time. The board probably has a replacement lined up already - more than likely Pardew or Allardyce. I've heard rumours that Guus Hiddink might be brought in for the rest of the season on a caretaker basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

go and watch the video again . He had greeted a few people and one lady was holding his hand , he just started to turn away and the other women grabbed his hand , he did not offer it to her to shake

If you look at the woman to her left, who had just held the popes hand, the look of shock on her face says it all.

Not his teachings. Only when he speaks ex cathedra to define a doctrine concerning faith or morals to be held by the church. The solemn declaration of papal infallibility was in 1870 and only applied once since (Assumption of Mary; 1950).
    Splitting hairs,