Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trevor Deely case - new witness

• Registered Users Posts: 19,619 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    DNA was around since late 80’s.

Yeah it was around but my point was more that 20 years ago criminals were not DNA aware as they are today. Aware of their fingerprints yes, but not DNA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

He seems to deliberately look to his right when he exits BOI and opens up his umbrella (his destination is left). Might be nothing in it, but would make sense if he was a bit uneasy about MIB who for all he knows is still out there somewhere

I think it's around then though that he makes the call to his friend, which goes to voicemail. Wouldn't it have made sense to call him while in the office though? Especially when his colleague apparently made him wait for a few minutes when he first arrived, that was literally his cue right there to pass a couple of minutes

It could well be though that he made the call outside as he was apprehensive and simply wanted to distract himself or whatever. But then again he seemed to be absolutely normal chatting to his colleague , surely if MIB had said anything alarming he would have been uneasy . Maybe he brushed it off though but may have seen him again when he left and that really freaked him out, he could then have stopped to make the call or whatever and it could also potentially explain why he may have gone down Haddington rd, but I still don't think its that big a deal going that route over Pembroke rd, for all we know it may be the way he usually goes and simply grew accustomed to

It's just a pity the guy following him in CCTV and MIB never came forward if they were innocent. To be fair guy following him may not even remember , sure he could be hammered at that time for all we know .

It's horrible that no-one is any the wiser as to what may have happened after all these years . I really pray for the family's sake a real breakthrough happens

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

wyrn wrote: »
    A lot of this was covered in the previous thread. The CCTV was sent to the UK a few years ago because technology had allowed them to clean up the image. Here's a 2017 article that mentions it https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/trevor-deely-the-search-ends-and-continues-1.3230396

Uk specialists confirmed it was the same guy at the gates and following him by the atm

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

Uk specialists confirmed it was the same guy at the gates and following him by the atm

Really?

Thats a very big development if true.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

If it was, then sadly it doesn't take much to put 2 and 2 together as per my post above

Also it could be the reason for the 5 or so minute extra minutes it took him. He either was startled when he saw him outside again and took out his phone to distract himself while trying to build a distance or to hide away for a couple of minutes, or else he directly interacted with him again

If it were to be 100% confirmed they were the same guy, it would be a substantial breakthrough, however the foul play element would sadly appear more likely

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Do you have a link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Yeah it was around but my point was more that 20 years ago criminals were not DNA aware as they are today. Aware of their fingerprints yes, but not DNA.

True. I can't find a definite first case use in Ireland: a case was dismissed in 2003 because of only DNA evidence and a technical issue. I've asked in legal discussion forum also.

Muahahaha wrote: »

I suppose we all have our own niggles about this case but your post is part of what niggles at me: assuming out of all the possibilities that there is some sort of violent confrontation why is it necessary to dispose of the remains?

tdf7187 wrote: »
    Do you have a link?

Was in a documentary on YouTube

Cold case one called top 5s

Might not be true, only going what was stated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

I suppose we all have our own niggles about this case but your post is part of what niggles at me: assuming out of all the possibilities that there is some sort of violent confrontation why is it necessary to dispose of the remains?

It wasnt done by one man on his own mugging him. Or a one punch sort of assault. A criminal gang were operating in the area at the time controlling vice and drugs. Motivation for getting rid of the body would be to avoid Garda attention in the area.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

It wasnt done by one man on his own mugging him. Or a one punch sort of assault. A criminal gang were operating in the area at the time controlling vice and drugs. Motivation for getting rid of the body would be to avoid Garda attention in the area.

There was plenty of Garda attention in the area, but you're basically correct, a criminal gang of that type wouldn't want to draw too much attention on them if it was found that they hassling bank workers on nights out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,977 ✭✭✭wyrn

20Wheel wrote: »
    Really?

Thats a very big development if true.
    tdf7187 wrote: »
    Do you have a link?
    It's in the article linked below

wyrn wrote: »
    A lot of this was covered in the previous thread. The CCTV was sent to the UK a few years ago because technology had allowed them to clean up the image. Here's a 2017 article that mentions it https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/trevor-deely-the-search-ends-and-continues-1.3230396

At 4.14am, the last known sighting of Deely was captured on the CCTV camera outside the Bank of Ireland on Haddington Road (now a Milano’s Pizza). Moments later, the same camera also captures a man scurrying along, half-walking, half-running, in the same direction as Deely.

When the video of the enhanced footage was released in April, gardaí stated that they were satisfied that this man was the same person who was standing outside Deely’s office earlier, and who had spoken to him. That man has never been identified, and has never come forward, despite numerous appeals over many years.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

Yep. That could work as a reason for meddling with a body. As opposed to simply legging it.

If for example the perpetrator of a crime knew that he was already in the gardai bad books, and had reason to assume he was seen in the area of a crime, such as assuming the presence of cameras in the vicinity .

Then he might easily conclude that they'd come looking for him.

And maybe that's a reason to gamble with moving a body.

Whereas someone unknown to gardai has the luxury of simply running.

(fear of dna, CCTV, reputation, tying them to the crime. Running is not an option so cover it up)

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,588 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

Why is this thread allowed continue when the family asked the previous thread be closed?

Can anyone clear this up for me

In a documentary, it said nobody had met or saw any pics of this girl td was off to Alaska to see. He referred to her as Karen

In the documentary no emails were found to Karen , but to a Jamie

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

Can anyone clear this up for me

In a documentary, it said nobody had met or saw any pics of this girl td was off to Alaska to see. He referred to her as Karen

In the documentary no emails were found to Karen , but to a Jamie

I wouldn't put much currency into any Youtube or podcast documentaries as these yield no new information from verified sources - they just lift whatever has been published. The Donal McIntyre documentary has many inaccuracies.

Never seen the name Jamie mentioned but there's this odd capitalisation of the word 'janey'* from the Rosita Boland Irish Times piece:

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/the-disappearance-of-trevor-deely-part-1-1.2120358
    As Michael Deely tells it, Trevor had met a couple of girls from Alaska in Ireland through his friends in Naas and the nearby town of Kill. The girls were at university in Anchorage.

“He picked up the phone one day it seems, or got on to his email. He was into email; he’d have had all their emails. And he emailed these girls in Alaska to say he was free for these few days or something. I think the girl mailed back – Michele saw the reply to it – to say she was too busy at the moment, she was trying to get her exams, but Trevor sort of said, 'Oh, Janey, I’m only free now, and we’ll be very busy in the office, and I don’t know when I’ll get away again.’

*as in "oh jeez!" "ah jeepers!"

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭TwoMonthsOff

LLMMLL wrote: »
    Why is this thread allowed continue when the family asked the previous thread be closed?

Who said the family asked for the thread to be closed? I'd say that's bull**** tbh, if it was true the mods wouldn't have allowed this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭tara73

LLMMLL wrote: »

I ask myself this too. Basically it's the same stuff being written and speculated about like 2 years ago. It's just a question of time theories becoming very personal regarding TD and therefore hurtful to the family. why wait for this to happen...??

tara73 wrote: »
    I ask myself this too. Basically it's the same stuff being written and speculated about like 2 years ago. It's just a question of time theories becoming very personal regarding TD and therefore hurtful to the family. why wait for this to happen...??

So why print about the new witness?

Everybody just stop wondering and forget about it then?

tara73 wrote: »

I think the thread is just one way among many being used to raise the issue again to public consciousness around the time of anniversary of disappearance. If it has accomplished that well and good and I wouldn't like to see posters get into trouble for their human curiosity about a mystery that their minds naturally try to find a coherent explanation for. I don't agree in general that because things are hurtful or upsetting they can't be discussed but Boards is a private closed system and can largely do what it chooses to do.

I'm going to wait and see if the latest "significant" announcement leads to anything. Tbh, I don't trust media and I don't think it will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 957 ✭✭✭80j2lc5y7u6qs9

i was trying to find a map to mark his route but could not get one with all the locations, baggot bridge is not shown on one. Prob not zoomed in enough Has anyone got one. I was trying to see all the locations in one map.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

i was trying to find a map to mark his route but could not get one with all the locations, baggot bridge is not shown on one. Prob not zoomed in enough Has anyone got one. I was trying to see all the locations in one map.

www.google.com

Select 'maps'

I know, I never heard of it either.

So why print about the new witness?

Everybody just stop wondering and forget about it then?

not at all. but do you just want to wonder and think about it or do you want this case to be solved? as I said previously, with such a stupid headline and article, nothing is gained!

if the guards are really behind this, why not doing it professionally and with respect regarding the family of TD and actually all people who care and would like this case to be resolved?

why not putting it up on TV, this series which show and explains crimes happened in Ireland and with this acvtively asking people to come forward and help the case. Same could be done in the newspapers.

And did AGS ever offer potential witnesses the possibility to go into the witness security programme? Never read it. Woud make much sense here I think...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

1. is where his job was - the CCTV gate footage

2. is where the Haddington Rd ATM CCTV footage is from

3. is where his apartment was

Baggot St bridge crosses the canal between 1 & 2

Hfd4Ub3.png

It’s the annual anniversary which in turn becomes the annual appeal

Maybe there is a new witness but it’s more to appeal to the public

Threads like this are a positive ,once modded respectfully. People well may be asking the same questions but there’s a small chance someone could read this thread and something triggers. It’s a very small possibility but at this stage anything is worth a shot.

I don't agree in general that because things are hurtful or upsetting they can't be discussed but Boards is a private closed system and can largely do what it chooses to do.

I think so too, but I also think it can only go to a certain limit so I think it's very, very decent boards close threads or even delete some stuff if it gets out of hand or too insulting/speculative. Put yourself in the shoes of the close relatives of these missing people, do you want strangers on the internet assuming weird/nasty things about your missing son or daughter on the internet?

Also I mentioned earlier defamation. I think that's why boards have to be careful also what people post here and rightly so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 957 ✭✭✭80j2lc5y7u6qs9

what would you guys that know the area consider the best route from baggot st bridge to his flat?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,619 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I find it bizarre too but as others have said maybe the criminal gang were known by Gardai to be operating in the area and didnt want heat brought upon them. It does make sense because without a body it is a missing persons case rather than a murder investigation. I still find it strange especially if you believe that whatever happened was a one off encounter between Trevor and the gang and no planning or pre-meditation went into it.

I watched that Youtube Cold Case doc on it and the guy narrating said that the electricity in Trevors apartment had gone on the blink on the days leading up to the Xmas party and he had called in someone to fix it. Said that Gardai failed to investigate if it was just his apartment or the entire block. Has anyone read that info anywhere? Was certainly news to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

It’s the annual anniversary which in turn becomes the annual appeal

Maybe there is a new witness but it’s more to appeal to the public

Threads like this are a positive ,once modded respectfully. People well may be asking the same questions but there’s a small chance someone could read this thread and something triggers. It’s a very small possibility but at this stage anything is worth a shot.

It must be so sad for his family to have no answers after all these years. There was a link posted earlier to a youtube video that showed three men standing outside the gate and looking in after TD had gone inside. Didn't see it before, its at 19.28
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hS6GUgJ4y0E
    Hope the gardai get some information to help his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Letwin_Larry

an argument could easily take place, if say he was propositioned by a "working girl" and told her he was not interested. if said lady took offence or somehow felt her reputation had been impuned and/or felt a deep sense of rejection. wouldn't take much for it to escalate, especially if said lady's minder was close at hand.

actually a friend of mine from my college days had exactly that experience on his way home from work in NYC. he was chased by a group of "working girls" and was lucky not to have been knifed.

i worked in that area through the '90s and prostitution was always there. there's a street/alley there and we would joke "it aint called Lad Lane for nothing".