Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Judgement day for Maria Bailey.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭Allinall

Read today that Leo signed off on former Taoiseach having their allowances reinstated at €300,000 per annum. Meanwhile a child in Temple Street Hospital had his chemo cancelled because there was no bed for him.
    I’m disgusted at that.

What allowances? Genuine question.

I thought they got their pensions, a driver and a guard outside their house.

We’re any of those taken away at some point?

What was reinstated?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Allinall wrote: »

What was reinstated?

Printing, secretaries, free airport VIP lounges for life. Enda removed everything in 2012 apparently.
    Varadkar reinstated everything in 2017.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

What was reinstated?

1.7 millions spent on 5 traveller houses in Thurles but still empty until co co provide stables - outrageous

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

1.7 millions spent on 5 traveller houses in Thurles but still empty until co co provide stables - outrageous

You serious? Those houses still empty? Surely there are 5 families somewhere in Tipperary that would love a roof over their heads?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Surely there are 5 families somewhere in Tipperary that would love a roof over their heads?
    there are but they'd be burnt out if they took them

• Registered Users Posts: 7,845 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Totally agree, what were the council thinking when they didn't build stables for each house as well?

It's not like this hasn't happened before.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,481 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

there are but they'd be burnt out if they took them

So at what point is society going to say...we have had enough of this bullsh!t?

A sect that is a law on to themselves, who contribute nothing to this society and terrorise anyone who stands up to them.

There has to come a point at which we collectively say "enough".

Where is that point?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

So at what point is society going to say...we have had enough of this bullsh!t?

A sect that is a law on to themselves, who contribute nothing to this society and terrorise anyone who stands up to them.

There has to come a point at which we collectively say "enough".

Where is that point?
    no time soon. orwellian special status and hate speech laws will see to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

What was reinstated?

I wonder does Bertie or Enda bother with a guard outside their house? Hardly much need when they weren't killed already......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Bullocks wrote: »
    I wonder does Bertie or Enda bother with a guard outside their house? Hardly much need when they weren't killed already......

Can you think of a more sh*t job

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Is the guards outside the house of former Taoiseach just when they retire from politics or immediately after they're not in the position anymore?

Whatever about Enda etc who were well into their 60's, Leo is currently 40. If FG have a bad election in the Spring and he isn't Taoiseach anymore, imagine what it will cost to keep guards outside his home for possibly another 50+ years if he lives to a good age.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Can you think of a more sh*t job

I'd say standing outside Berties house could be a bit of craic :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,287 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Is the guards outside the house of former Taoiseach just when they retire from politics or immediately after they're not in the position anymore?

Whatever about Enda etc who were well into their 60's, Leo is currently 40. If FG have a bad election in the Spring and he isn't Taoiseach anymore, imagine what it will cost to keep guards outside his home for possibly another 50+ years if he lives to a good age.

Think Taoiseach has one for life as do presidents not positive though. Minister for defence too but only whilst in office and for a short while after. Friend of mines dad had one after he was minister and two weeks after they lost their guard in the garden their house was broken into.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,513 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Surely the job of protecting those ministers should be done by the army?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,496 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Surely the job of protecting those ministers should be done by the army?

To what end?
    The army have no powers of arrest and the vast majority of interventions made by a CP officer will be a direction to leave the area, which a member of the DF has no statutory footing to make.
    Whilst they are an aid to the civil power, they are not a close protection unit nor should they be treated as one.

The bottom line is, whichever branch provides the protection the cost will be borne by the state so it's pointless which of the budget headings it comes under.

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Surely instead of such a huge expense and use of Garda resources, they could just be given a once-off payoff of say 100k that would allow them to install whatever security measures (walls, gates, alarms, cameras) necessary themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,287 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Surely instead of such a huge expense and use of Garda resources, they could just be given a payoff of say 100k that would allow them to install whatever security measures (walls, gates, cameras) necessary themselves.

Well I would think the argument should be at what point it’s no longer necessary. Cosgraves house had a guard outside it until a while after he died. I hardly think he was under any threat.

Regarding EK, I have seen him traipsing around Dublin many times, nearly always alone. Perhaps there were plain clothes Gardaí behind, but it didn’t seem that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,970 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Regarding EK, I have seen him traipsing around Dublin many times, nearly always alone. Perhaps there were plain clothes Gardaí behind, but it didn’t seem that way.

Enda usually goes without, doesnt like it.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,223 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

When you see the nonsense posted on social media about Taoisigh, you understand why.
    Bullocks wrote: »

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

https://www.independent.ie/videos/irish-news/it-seems-that-the-cure-for-whiplash-is-a-compensation-payment-leo-varadkar-on-reforming-insurance-industry-38771101.html
    "It seems that the cure for whiplash is a compensation payment" - Leo Varadkar on reforming insurance industry
    If only there was somebody he could ask to be sure...

https://www.broadsheet.ie/2019/06/05/whiplash-away/

Ak0BpDQ.jpg?1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭171170

And shameless Ratso Farrell lets the Insurance Industry have it between the eyes!

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/insurance-sector-telling-us-porky-pies-for-quite-some-time-fine-gael-td-alan-farrell-38796987.html

Is there anything more revolting than a publicly exposed chancer trying to be sanctimonious?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Farrell epitomises how arrogant and dysfunctional Fine Gael have become. They are now a party of self serving dimwits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Farrell epitomises how arrogant and dysfunctional Fine Gael have become. They are now a party of self serving dimwits.

Noonan is pretty sharp IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭HBC08

171170 wrote: »
    And shameless Ratso Farrell lets the Insurance Industry have it between the eyes!

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/insurance-sector-telling-us-porky-pies-for-quite-some-time-fine-gael-td-alan-farrell-38796987.html

Is there anything more revolting than a publicly exposed chancer trying to be sanctimonious?

Jesus.Just read that link,its gone beyond a joke at this stage.
    How is this lying chancer coming out with this?
    Is there nobody there to call him out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Another headache for working parents in the new year, the government sat on their hands despite representation made about the looming crisis.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/creches-affected-by-insurer-leaving-the-market-will-face-rises-in-the-region-of-100-971274.html

HBC08 wrote: »
    Jesus.Just read that link,its gone beyond a joke at this stage.
    How is this lying chancer coming out with this?
    Is there nobody there to call him out?

The voters of Malahide (where he lives) and the rest of Fingal, hopefully.

Hence his bout of populist, hypocritical sanctimoniousness as the election looms, the little piece of manure.

Another headache for working parents in the new year, the government sat on their hands despite representation made about the looming crisis.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/creches-affected-by-insurer-leaving-the-market-will-face-rises-in-the-region-of-100-971274.html

So Plumbo wants the government to throw piles of taxpayers' money at the Insurance industry! :eek: Has Plumbo lost his few remaining marbles, we ask ourselves in bewilderment!

Typical of this government, reactive
    , not proactive.

As for Farrell? Sincerely the voters in North Dublin smeii the roses come the next election. Notice Madigan is keeping very quiet of late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

171170 wrote: »
    So Plumbo wants the government to throw piles of taxpayers' money at the Insurance industry! :eek: Has Plumbo lost his few remaining marbles, we ask ourselves in bewilderment!

When you stoop to attacking the poster instead of the post it's easy to dismiss you.