Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A new Irish Capital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Ballyconnell, Co. Cavan. Near the border, and they are very welcoming to new people.

But wait.... What border?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

swarlb wrote: »
    It's called being sarcastic.... Sorting Climate change would be infinitely easier, and probably less life threatening than trying to unify Ireland.
    You must be very young...

It's brilliant stuff. So sarcastic no one even noticed.

Ah life threatening, i've lived through most of the troubles, the Unionists have always been loyal to the half crown. We were unified up to the Government of Ireland Act 1920, 100 years ago. NI is a very minor problem and could be dealt with very quickly if GB withdrew it's support of Unionism. Climate Change on the other hand. Trying to coordinate a response to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

ted1 wrote: »

Theres more to it than just population though, LA has way bigger population than DC obviously but most of the difference comes down it having thousands of squares miles more of suburban sprawl, DC has a large urban core probably larger than LA's. DC feels like a much more important city when youre there, its also so close to Pilly, Baltimore, Boston and NYC and they form the north east megalopolis

Naggdefy wrote: »
    Let's get climate change sorted. I love the way you post that as if it's just something on a list to tick off. 3 and a half years on and Brexit isn't near sorted, and Climate change is an infinitely bigger more complex problem.

I love how you didn't get the clear and obvious joke.
    It's brilliant stuff. So sarcastic no one even noticed.

Everyone noticed. Just not you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

There's 6 million people in it's metro area though. Fairly huge.

Unlike, say, Athlone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭timmyntc

There's 6 million people in it's metro area though. Fairly huge.

Unlike, say, Athlone :D

There's also 320 million people in the USA though. Fairly huge.

Unlike, say, Ireland :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Dundalk and Newry. Two capitals. Oone for everybody in the audience. The EU would never think of something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Cali_girl wrote: »
    Not a single vote for Tara?
    Tara. Back to Tuatha Dé Danann with us all. A redo :)

Can't beat the Tara Special, 2 scones with all the trimmings and a coffee for a fiver, gets my vote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,703 ✭✭✭Feisar

Inquitus wrote: »
    Realistically, we would be looking at:

#1) New Flag
    #2) New National Anthem
    #3) New Dail setup, maybe keep devolution, who knows
    #3) Perhaps a more neutral Capital

As part of a re-unification, at least the Germans both had Berlin as their Capital!

Why do we need a new flag?

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Inquitus wrote: »
    Realistically, we would be looking at:

#1) New Flag
    #2) New National Anthem
    #3) New Dail setup, maybe keep devolution, who knows
    #3) Perhaps a more neutral Capital

Agree but there's a deal of 'sacred cows' to be slaughtered even in that short list. And no evidence I see that we have that sort of maturity yet. Will be a long drawn out process.

As for a capital, probably just a political capital, it'd have to be on the east coast and border country. If we were to be magnanimous, Armagh might suit not least for historical reasons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Dublin was the capital prior to partition so why can't it be the capital in the ( unlikely ) event of a United Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Kilteely, Co. Limerick. Tractors, high-sided trailers, cowboy boots - Ii's got the lot. 'Twould give a squez bullock the horn, 'twould. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

No issues with it being in a minor city

America (US)
    Canada
    Australia
    Spain.
    And many others have it in smaller cities.

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Dublin is grand. Mind Borris-in-Ossory would be a laugh.
    Stormont can be Ulster County Council HQ.

New flag, anthem and that. It's a very big deal to some folk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭MrAbyss

A Federalists State like Switzerland rather than a Republic. People in Dublin can't be held accountable for the untold suffering of Rural Irerland if they are being controlled from Galway or Cork. Rural TDs can no longer point the finger eastwards for a cheap and easy vote.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭MrAbyss

A Federalists State like Switzerland rather than a Republic.

People in Dublin can't be held accountable for the untold suffering of Rural Ireland if they are being controlled from Galway or Cork. Rural TDs can no longer point the finger eastwards for a cheap and easy vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I was thinking that a Capital mid way between Dublin and Belfast might be an inspired idea but would it lead to a long strung out urban sprawl a Dubfast? An unlikely unloved offspring of both - I imagine a kind of Foster/Varadkar offspring. The same idea looking to the West - perhaps somewhere between Limerick and Galway a Limway? Offspring of Willie O’Dea and Michael D anyone?
    Then there’s Cork City, though a great idea, it is probably too far south for some. What about Derry/Londonderry, it’s a kind of northern Cork. The name could be changed say to Royalderry or Newderry? An unthreatening place where Dubs, Culchies and all three traditions of our Northern brethren would take to. Link it up with Cork by a new transnational highway/bikeway to really open up the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,753 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Kilkenny, it is a former capital of Ireland, and a beautiful location to bring leaders of other nations.

A fair few suggestions. A poll opened now

Be grand to free up Dublin again: no more politicians or traffic blocking protesters rambling round the place. Cut down on the civil service brigade too.
    Us locals could finally have space to enjoy all those nice Baggot Street pubs again too :) More I think about this, the better an idea it really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭mehico

Armagh could make a good new capital, between the two bigger cities of Dublin and Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Belfast maybe? They do have that very impressive looking building (Stormont) which would be good as seat of a united Ireland Dail/Parliament. Much better than Leinster Hse. anyway.
    Unionists would probably like it (much as they might detest concept of a united Ireland) so could add that to the post unification mollifying measures along with the changes to the flag, anthem, governing structures etc...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

It would need to be a city, so that rules Kilkenny out.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

That list is deceiving. Each “incorporated area” is actually only part of a larger city.

For instance Mesa and Phoenix are both in the top 20 odd. There is nothing separating Mesa and Phoenix but an imaginary line. The greater Phoenix area is: Mesa, Scottsdale, Tempe, Chandler, Gilbert, Phoenix and a few more I can’t remember. That’s not even including the commuter towns like San Tam valley or apache junction.

It’s like listing Dublin, Swords and Tallaght as different cities.

DC is a much bigger city than what’s officially DC.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,934 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

saabsaab wrote: »
    As a Capital city for a UI I feel that both sides in Belfast won't like to take 'orders' from Dublin and vice versa.

No difference then from parts of the existing country we have having issues with "them up there in Dublin" :rolleyes:

Far bigger issues to sort with the idea of a "united" Ireland than where the capital should be, but why wouldn't it be Dublin? NI would be joining the rest of the country, not vice versa but far more importantly, think of the potential effect in the greater Dublin region on existing employment and investment if the idea of moving the capital was seriously considered.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    No difference then from parts of the existing country we have having issues with "them up there in Dublin" :rolleyes:

Far bigger issues to sort with the idea of a "united" Ireland than where the capital should be, but why wouldn't it be Dublin? NI would be joining the rest of the country, not vice versa but far more importantly, think of the potential effect in the greater Dublin region on existing employment and investment if the idea of moving the capital was seriously considered.

There are indeed bigger issues but this may a way of solving some of them. Dublin is facing some huge problems anyway like running out of water, lack of housing, lack of space for housing within a reasonable distance, traffic issues and crime. As for the effect on employment in Dublin it may aid employment in the rest of the country and also ease the pressure on the Dublin region, a win win situation as acknowledged by a previous Dublin poster. Also I would say that it would not be as simple as NI joining us it would be an Ireland United within a United Ireland.

Kilkenny.

The true capital of the island of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

United ireland not happening so not worth discussing

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Waterford.

Well located in the South East, good transport infrastructure, been neglected by successive govts fpr the past 30 years, needs a full university and could easily treble in size.

Very unlikely to happen, though...

Ps: Belfast-born Dub here, so no vested interesy.

Just because a UI hasn't happened doesn't mean it won't especially with Brexit. I predict many changes for these islands in the next 10 years or so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

Inishowen was once arguably the capital of the island at a stage when the Ui Neill had their bass their, the Ui Neill was the most powerful overkingdom on the island

Ireland could follow the EU's example and have the capital in Dublin, but for one week each month, pack the whole thing up in to storage boxes and ship it all up to Belfast.

Sounds like a remarkably sensible thing to do, especially for Belfast hotels.

A mobile Capital! Would it work here?

Anyway the poll set up earlier is ending soon so get your vote in now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,525 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Cali_girl wrote: »
    Not a single vote for Tara?
    Tara. Back to Tuatha Dé Danann with us all. A redo :)

Hauptstadt Irland.

http://archiseek.com/2012/1942-new-capital-city-for-ireland-at-tara/

Very interesting post. A new Irish Order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Would make sense to build an equivalent of Brasilia/Canberra somewhere in the midlands. Planned garden city centred around a parliamentary district, all brand new government buildings, top class Unis heck even a domed cafe/pub district where punters can sit outside all year around.

Reckon we should do it now when credit is as cheap as it ever will be. High speed bullet train connecting all other cities and streets designed for modern public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭Archeron

I imagine a kind of Foster/Varadkar offspring.

Ewww..... That's put me off my dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I think it's far more likely that a United Ireland would involve the Dáil and Stormon in a federal, two-state arrangement under one Head of State, and that perhaps the Irish Presidency would be completely overhauled (in terms of location, title, etc) in order to accommodate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭twinytwo

I think it's far more likely that a United Ireland would involve the Dáil and Stormon in a federal, two-state arrangement under one Head of State, and that perhaps the Irish Presidency would be completely overhauled (in terms of location, title, etc) in order to accommodate that.

If a UI ever happened, history has shown the DUP should be given as little say in anything as possible. No need to change the anything, the Irish in NI won't mind.. for everyone else if they don't like it the UK is that way >>>>>

Poll is finished now. Interesting to see the results - 63% showing a preference for a Capital other than Dublin. However, it has the highest individual share of the options. Athlone put in a good showing even beating Cork!
    I wonder if a political party put a new Capital idea forward as a policy how would it fare?

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Tipp Town.

I'd rather pledge allegiance to Elizabeth.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Aegir wrote: »
    Ireland could follow the EU's example and have the capital in Dublin, but for one week each month, pack the whole thing up in to storage boxes and ship it all up to Belfast.

Sounds like a remarkably sensible thing to do, especially for Belfast hotels.

They’re full to the door now ( at weekends anyway). As are the restaurants. Good buzz about the city now too.

The recent election results show a greater number of non-unionist MPs elected for the first time ever looks like a UI isn't too far off and this may be an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,934 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The recent election results show a greater number of non-unionist MPs elected for the first time ever looks like a UI isn't too far off and this may be an issue.

I for one hope it doesn't happen.

Or have you forgotten in the midst of the romanticism that we have serious issues here now that we can't get a handle on, the largely unknown economic effects of Brexit to consider, the waste, incompetence and corruption that is the hallmark of our political system, a justice and police authority that can't even deal with low life scum effectively etc .

And you want to add in NI's political, economic and security issues as well? For what? What benefit would a UI actually be to either the North or the Republic?

Or have you forgotten in the midst of the romanticism that we have serious issues here now that we can't get a handle on, the largely unknown economic effects of Brexit to consider, the waste, incompetence and corruption that is the hallmark of our political system, a justice and police authority that can't even deal with low life scum effectively etc .

And you want to add in NI's political, economic and security issues as well? For what? What benefit would a UI actually be to either the North or the Republic?

You have a legitimate concern with all of this but on the other hand the resources of the six would also be available too. I'm sure that to offset the costs involved there would be money provided from the EU for this purpose for several years and perhaps some from Westminster.
    Also long term having a failed statelet on our (and now EU borders) would not be in the 26 counties interest from a security and economic standpoint.
    There would be new opportunities in an all Ireland context economies of scale I believe that's where a new Capital would come into its own, new people, new ideas amd a new way of doing things.
    Whatever you or I think the weight of History will make a United Ireland happen sometime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Yawlboy

Cobh AKA Queenstown :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭Ready4Boarding

Whatever you or I think the weight of History will make a United Ireland happen sometime soon.

God, I fcuking hate Irish nationalism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Nift

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_with_multiple_capitals

An easy enough solution would be joint capitals in Belfast and Dublin.

There won't be a United Ireland anytime soon, particularly when Southern Republicans realise the chages that are needed. SF are already realistic about this, in fairness to them

You either have a joint/shared culture or you start again. So that means celebrating the battle of the boyne, 1916, or scrapping that stuff altogether, new flag, new anthem, joint capitals. Its so messy that its highly unlikely.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peace_lines

People should remember that both communties want these walls as they fear the other.

People think Brexit is a mess? Try re-unification of two peoples that can't stand each other.

We need to put ourselves in their shoes. A united Ireland could be the end of their identity / culture. We need to facilitate their mindset as painful as it is. We stil lget comments along the lines of "go back to Scotland/england" on the journal, facebook etc.

Some Ulster Unionists will spill blood to protect their orange/unionism. Its inevitable. We had lads here happily bomb women and children, and passes given to some very vile people who still operate today in crime. it is not beyond imagination that a united ireland brings about the armalite again.. People need to be careful for what they wish for.

the fact that nearly every suggestion here was in the Republic speaks for itself imo. In a United Ireland, there won't be a Republic. Are people prepared for that? Down in inner city Dublin, West Belfast, parts of bray, Moyross, North Cork, Finglas, parts of Cavan and Donegal and lots of other places? Not a ****ing chance.

The arsehole of Kerry. Then we can put and end to idiots blaming all government decisions on them up in Dublin like every TD is from Dublin.

It's about righting a wrong. It will give the people proper representation in their own government not beholden to Westminster. It'll solve the hard/soft border issue and Irish language issue ;)