Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget 2020, Another tenner or is it twenty

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

snowgal wrote: »
    I’m planning on this but only smoke silk cut purple. Is there a way to find out where they’re sold in EU? I did a search but not easy to find definite answers

You could ask in the Smoking forum: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=609

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Marhay70

snowgal wrote: »
    I’m planning on this but only smoke silk cut purple. Is there a way to find out where they’re sold in EU? I did a search but not easy to find definite answers

You don't have free rein to bring in as many cigarettes/tobacco as you like from other EU countries. The cheapest countries like Estonia and Lithuania are limited to 300 pp and even Spain and Portugal are, I think, 600pp. Just another anomaly like VRT.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

And the smokes get hit with another increase - surely reaching a point of utter pointlessness now? The black market is exploding and more and more people are simply bringing duty free back rather than pay the extortionate prices here.

I'm sure the revenue made from tobacco sales is not an insubstantial figure, but they might start seriously regretting all these billy big bollix increases when it starts taking a serious nosedive.

It's taking a nose dive anyway because fewer people than ever are smoking. The numbers have dropped 3% more from 2015 to just 20% of the population last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Married, co-habiting couple/single parent family aged up to 65 with dependents: €266.50 for medical card and €441 for GP visit card.

That's the threshold for the medical cards for one set of this society.

However, if over 70, from today that threshold is now increased to almost €1000 per week for the same subset.

Why does age matter Paschal, considering that group more than likely have no mortgages, childcare or education costs. They have however got free transport, fuel allowances, allowances for TV licences, etc.?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,548 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Married, co-habiting couple/single parent family aged up to 65 with dependents: €266.50 for medical card and €441 for GP visit card.

That's the threshold for the medical cards for one set of this society.

However, if over 70, from today that threshold is now increased to almost €1000 per week for the same subset.

Why does age matter Paschal, considering that group more than likely have no mortgages, childcare or education costs. They have however got free transport, fuel allowances, allowances for TV licences, etc.?

Mortgages and other expenses are added on to the basic rate. €441 becomes €1174.32 for a working couple, in the example here. And discretionary cards can be issued over that limit.

https://www2.hse.ie/services/medical-cards/medical-card-application-process/how-much-you-can-earn-and-still-qualify-for-a-medical-card.html

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

What another uninspiring budget, doing nothing for the middle classes that FG pretend to represent. Nothing of significance for housing /renting front either.

Did they announce any significant increase in third level spending or will they let it continue to be under resourced?

What another uninspiring budget, doing nothing for the middle classes that FG pretend to represent. Nothing of significance for housing /renting front either.

Did they announce any significant increase in third level spending or will they let it continue to be under resourced?

It used to be well resourced when only the middle classes sent their children to university. The lower classes have diluted the funding by getting in on the act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

Why do people expect something every budget?

That’s the nonsense that got us into trouble in the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Prefect_1998

2 euro increase, its a disgrace !!!

is this a joke ?

'It was an insult when all I saw was €2 a week, it's a disgrace' - Jobseeker's Allowance recipient on Budget 2020 disappointment

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/money/news/it-was-an-insult-when-all-i-saw-was-€2-a-week-its-a-disgrace-jobseekers-allowance-recipient-on-budget-2020-disappointment/ar-AAIstpv?li=BBr5KbJ

the guy interviewed said the below

'said that he was disheartened that he is set to be €2-a-week better off, which he says is not enough for him to maintain a social life while running his house and car.

do you agree that 2 increase is a joke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Still wondering why they have a double dole at Christmas when most businesses in retail and warehousing cant hire staff fast enough in December.

Spoken like someone who never had to be stuck in the system which is full of Catch 22s and gives no incentive for part time work.

If you go into the dole office in the beginning of December and say you got a part time job it would royally screw up your payments and you'd be running from pillar to post for nothing.

The full time dole is paid in advance while the part time one is paid in arrears. So you start work the first week, maybe you get paid on that Friday, maybe not til next friday, maybe not til the end of the month. But if you pick up your dole the first week you start, you'll get a letter eventually to say you were overpaid. And you might need that money for not just your normal bills but commuting and uniform costs to get to your job.

Then you'll have a delay while they change your payments to Xs and Os. And you'll be given forms to fill out your hours for the next week, which must be handed in by Wednesday to get your check for any days you didn't have work. This has to be signed by a manager at work and handed in to the dole office every week. If they dont have the roster up for next week by Wednesday you're screwed. Regardless, you'll still need to go into the dole office once and into the post office once each week in addition to your shifts, and possibly go into work on a day off too to get the form signed.

Oh, and if you're on Jobpath, part time work doesn't get you off the scheme, so you can continue to travel to those appointments as well. But don't forget you might earn up to 20 euro extra a week for this for less than two months, sure it's a pure gravy train!

Even i a minimum wage job theyll dock you about 32 euros a shift regardless of its length. Who do you think is going to get the shortest shifts, the temp or permanent staff? You could easily be down money for a day worked, and if you work more than 3, you get nothing from the dole. You could do 4 4 hour shifts at min wage and that would be all your income under this system.

You'll probably be expected to work Christmas Eve, then, when it's all over, you'll be shown the door. Sent back to the dole office, which won't open until January, and will be backlogged, so have fun starting the year with all your money gone and facing a delay to get back on the dole.

You'll be lucky to get payments back by the 3rd week of January. But one last thing, along with your first payment you'll get s letter explaining you were overpaid by about 100 euro that first week you started, how would you like to pay that back, in one go or in installments?

Can't you just be grateful that you don't have to rely on a bonus for Christmas and deal with this stupid system? Do you think if the bonus was cancelled, the savings would go back into your wages? Keep in mind that it was cancelled before, and it went to the bank bailouts.

Seriously, if you ever had to be unemployed you wouldn't begrudge people this, which also goes to those disabled, and goes right back into the economy. It all gets spent, probably in the same businesses you smug worker bees are employed by. Ask any retailer with a brain if they'd want the bonus cancelled at Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Ireland two big parties are neo-liberal, their goal is to appease the wealthy of society and big corporations not the middle class.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A grand a week after tax couple getting medical cards????

Don’t care what age they are

On that whack they can afford their own medical expenses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

2 euro increase, its a disgrace !!!

is this a joke ?

'It was an insult when all I saw was €2 a week, it's a disgrace' - Jobseeker's Allowance recipient on Budget 2020 disappointment

http://www.msn.com/en-ie/money/news/...5KbJ&ocid=iehp

the guy interviewed said the below

'said that he was disheartened that he is set to be €2-a-week better off, which he says is not enough for him to maintain a social life while running his house and car.

do you agree that 2 increase is a joke?

I think that prick should get a ****ing job.

He's like a poor man's P Flynn. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 33,034 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

So people are queueing at petrol stations tonight to fill up before price increases at midnight.

All to save maybe 2 euro?

https://www.independent.ie/business/budget/motorists-queuing-at-petrol-stations-in-bid-to-beat-price-hikes-at-midnight-38576013.html

Edit: in fact, it would be closer to 1 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

NIMAN wrote: »
    So people are queueing at petrol stations tonight to fill up before price increases at midnight.

Fair play to them, I hope they keep the engines running while they are queuing. I’m here reading boards by the light of my plastic and rubber bonfire in the back garden :) XR and the climate loons can suck a fat one

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

NIMAN wrote: »

Leaving their engines running while they wait in line

• Registered Users Posts: 4,836 ✭✭✭enricoh

Leaving their engines running while they wait in line

Off to crispy creme after that to get 12 donuts for e32!

A grand a week after tax couple getting medical cards????

Don’t care what age they are

On that whack they can afford their own medical expenses

Yeah how dare they be ambitious in life and contribute the most to society through taxes and expect something back.

They need to sit on their holes so someone else can pay for it.

That will teach them!!

Sure that grand is all for them to keep for themselves.

No mortgage.

No childcare.

No insurance.

No groceries.

No utility bills.

No property tax.

They keep it all for themselves!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

But who do you vote for. We seem to be locked into these type of policies no matter whoes in government.

We have only had FG and FF as the main government parties in power. It's time for the other parties to be given a chance, FF and FG have each destroyed the country in different ways in recent times. Other parties need to be given a vote at the expense of FF and FG in the next election.

lola85 wrote: »
    Why do people expect something every budget?

That’s the nonsense that got us into trouble in the past.

Sorry but it's not much to expect a break on being taxed to the hilt without at least some return on that. Plus investment in a sector that desparately needs it...

We have only had FG and FF as the main government parties in power. It's time for the other parties to be given a chance, FF and FG have each destroyed the country in different ways in recent times. Other parties need to be given a vote at the expense of FF and FG in the next election.

We are in the unique position of having a party which has elected members here and in another jurisdiction. So we can judge them on their performance in government elsewhere. It is not encouraging.

Other parties have been part of coalitions here, since the era of single party governments ended 40 years ago. Some others refuse to go into government, because they know that it leads to losing popularity.

Sorry but it's not much to expect a break on being taxed to the hilt without at least some return on that. Plus investment in a sector that desparately needs it...

USC anyone? The temporary measure that’s still here. Why the fook it’s called universal is anyone’s guess.

It is simply a newer name for a combination of levies which have been around for decades. Nothing temporary about it.

Taxes to the hilt in one of the least taxed countries in the EU?

FF again.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Marhay70 wrote: »
    You don't have free rein to bring in as many cigarettes/tobacco as you like from other EU countries. The cheapest countries like Estonia and Lithuania are limited to 300 pp and even Spain and Portugal are, I think, 600pp. Just another anomaly like VRT.

Not true at all. Once they're for personal consumption you can actually bring in almost whatever you want. Such is the joy of being a member of the EU. For someone that smokes 40 a day then 1000 cigarettes is less than 4 weeks supply. I brought 600 cigarettes and 10 x 50g pouches from Estonia in 2017. Close enough to the same from Luxembourg this year and Belgium last year. No problem. My sister in law was stopped about a month ago with 2000 cigarettes from Spain. Again, no problem. Different ball game obviously if you're flying out every week and bringing that amount back but on an occasional basis it's not a problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

FF again.

Why are FG still charging us this ?

Didn't they say they'll get rid of it ?

Incrementally I suppose bit by bit
    It'll be changed to a carbon levy or something

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Sweet FA for mental health services, as per usual. No votes for FG there...

If a no-deal Brexit is a bad as is feared, €1.2 billion will not be nearly enough to mitigate the fallout for us. The housing measures announced are way too blunt and modest in scope - and not properly thought out in terms of their unintended spillover effects - in their supposed role in augmenting current policy measures to tackle the housing affordability and supply crisis.

Taxes to the hilt in one of the least taxed countries in the EU?

All relative when you compare on return on money including investment and the cost of living compared to elsewhere.