Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you get a Christmas bonus?

• 02-10-2019 8:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭

In your job, do you get a Christmas bonus? Of course we all remember the bonus (and lack thereof) being a major plot point in National Lampon's Christmas Vacation, but in reality nowadays how prevalent is it? Do you get one or even expect one?

I don't get one in my current place. They pay for a party but really with non-drinkers and no-shows that probably comes to about £70 a head tops. So not exactly new swimming pool money. In fact in all the jobs I've had only one did so, it was when I worked in a pub during college.

Do you get a Christmas bonus? 298 votes

No
    69% 208 votes
    Yes
    20% 60 votes
    Not Applicable
    10% 30 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,092 ✭✭✭OU812

Used to get them & quite decent ones too but not in my current role although I do get a bonus end of Q1 based on the previous year’s performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Ferm001

Looked after well, €250 + Christmas night out, and then yearly target bonus at end January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

Not a christmas one per se but an end of year one based on annual review in January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭frash

Just waiting for the social welfare xmas bonus bashing to begin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Used to get 5% of my annual salary as a bonus at christmas and then it was moved to march. Then 2 years ago they changed it and cut it in half.... this company makes on average 6million profit a year ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

I don't think working people get a Christmas bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Get a performance related bonus, but not at Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Tefral

I get a 500 euro one for all voucher.

I found a pay slip from 2006 recently when I was cleaning out a filing cab. The xmas bonus was 1500 euro and i was only a junior. I'd love to know what the senior lads got.

God I miss the Celtic tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,636 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

I get one, they're great and all but you end up paying a fortune in tax.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

get an end of year bonus and a voucher yoke at de christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I’m an employer, and have never given bonuses. That said, I’ve had a bumper year, so might throw each of them 100 bob in an envelope. They’ll probably spend it on vodka and tobacco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭griffin100

I’m an employer, and have never given bonuses. That said, I’ve had a bumper year, so might throw each of them 100 bob in an envelope. They’ll probably spend it on vodka and tobacco.

My wife gives her staff One4All vouchers. No BIK issues up to €500, no employers tax contributions, and you can spend them pretty much everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

No, I'm not on the dole so therefore not eligible for a bonus.

bonus

/ˈbəʊnəs/

noun

noun: bonus; plural noun: bonuses

a sum of money added to a person's wages as a reward for good performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,683 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

griffin100 wrote: »
    My wife gives her staff One4All vouchers. No BIK issues up to €500, no employers tax contributions, and you can spend them pretty much everywhere.

I seem to remember an issue arising out of that last year.

Can’t remember what but our place stopped offering it due to some form of “tax” issue that hadn’t been processed correctly in the past.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,823 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Please do the employees will stay motivated if they think the boss will flash more cash :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Same as many here, bonus and additional compensation reviews take place in March each year, rather than Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

No Xmas bonus but we do get a decent party and the €500 tax free voucher (not a bonus per se as it’s my money but the company organizes it).

I do get an annual bonus in April which is c. 10% of my salary. This year I got 12% but next year will be lucky to get 8%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

michellie wrote: »
    Used to get 5% of my annual salary as a bonus at christmas and then it was moved to march. Then 2 years ago they changed it and cut it in half.... this company makes on average 6million profit a year ..

My company made a profit of 57€ million last year and not a sign of a bonus...and our Xmas party allowance of 40€ per staff member is in threat of being removed this year...and they wonder why money goes missing around the time People had their notice in to leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

No. Even worse: Like many, I get paid monthly around 25th of each month so at Christmas they pay us a week earlier. Fine and dandy, you get paid a little earlier but then it's 5 weeks to Jan payday. I'm tellin' ya, you're digging at the back of the freezer for that Ice-encrusted chicken-nugget like unearthing a mammoth by the end :D.

I'm surprised ANY company does these days. I'm surprised they are not afraid to: Oh, why is there a special focus on Christmas? What about other religions? Are we a christian organisation? Blah blah blah.

I do remember my dad getting a turkey and ham and my sister getting a hamper etc. at Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Please do the employees will stay motivated if they think the boss will flash more cash :pac:
    Sounds like you work for JohnnyFlash(TheCash)! ;)

We get a fancy hamper (too fancy for the likes of me!), a percentage of wages based on the company's performance (usually worth a few hundred Euros), and a Christmas party (which I haven't gone to in years).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I do! Social welfare recipient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

Nope.

30+ years in the public service and I have never received any kind of christmas bonus. We also have to pay for our own christmas lunch / parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

No bonus and it's not expected either.

The company does give us a few quid for the office to head out for dinner and drinks, so that's pretty sound at least.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

No Xmas bonus but we do get a decent party and the €500 tax free voucher (not a bonus per se as it’s my money but the company organizes it).

I do get an annual bonus in April which is c. 10% of my salary. This year I got 12% but next year will be lucky to get 8%.

Sounds like vodafone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Apiarist

We get an end of the year bonus of several % of yearly salary if the company as a whole meets self-set targets. Usually works out pretty good, though most of it goes to the Revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    My company made a profit of 57€ million last year and not a sign of a bonus...and our Xmas party allowance of 40€ per staff member is in threat of being removed this year...and they wonder why money goes missing around the time People had their notice in to leave

Yikes, a bitta decency goes a long way. Companies need to realise that. We get €55 per staff member at xmas and the same as you, it's often threatened to be removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I do! Social welfare recipient.

I get £10 from the UK as a pensioner...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Not an xmas bonus, but an end of year one... 20%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

michellie wrote: »
    Yikes, a bitta decency goes a long way. Companies need to realise that. We get €55 per staff member at xmas and the same as you, it's often threatened to be removed

Thankfully a few of us are able to use our position within the company to secure tomers. Like in one of our branches, i know a lad who makes roughly 7 grand extra a year from tomers. Its all on the companies time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,092 ✭✭✭OU812

No. Even worse: Like many, I get paid monthly around 25th of each month so at Christmas they pay us a week earlier. Fine and dandy, you get paid a little earlier but then it's 5 weeks to Jan payday. I'm tellin' ya, you're digging at the back of the freezer for that Ice-encrusted chicken-nugget like unearthing a mammoth by the end :D.

Take a twelfth out of salary Jan- Nov & put it in a separate account. That way come December, you have a “13th” salary payment put away that you can use Dec-Jan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Akabusi

victor8600 wrote: »
    We get an end of the year bonus of several % of yearly salary if the company as a whole meets self-set targets. Usually works out pretty good, though most of it goes to the Revenue.

Same here, but I work for a large US Insurance company, it is at this time of year when I get very interested in hurricanes hitting the US. One big one hits and we'll get nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭mackey9387

Get 1 weeks wages. €250 of it is on a voucher the rest is paid in cash and we get a Christmas night out it's really good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Sugar Free wrote: »
    Same as many here, bonus and additional compensation reviews take place in March each year, rather than Christmas.

Yep , same here. March or April we get a percentage of our gross.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

They won't get much vodka or tobacco for that. A bob is a shilling, so 100 bob equals 5 pounds, or €6.35. I hope they remember to tug their forelocks appropriately when you give it to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,823 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Sounds like you work for JohnnyFlash(TheCash)! ;)

We get a fancy hamper (too fancy for the likes of me!), a percentage of wages based on the company's performance (usually worth a few hundred Euros), and a Christmas party (which I haven't gone to in years).

Was a pun on the name :pac: Im only a short term contract now until Xmas apparently we get vouchers which isnt too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Cordell

frash wrote: »
    Just waiting for the social welfare xmas bonus bashing to begin....

It's only fair :)

No bonus and no xmas party but something's gotten hold of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

I get a yearly personal KPI bonus 9.25% but its usually multiplied by regional which over the last few years is around 150-180% so works out to be really good. I am paid it in march but usually the figures are revealed at the end of year meeting which usually is 2 weeks before Christmas, so once the figures are in you can usually work out roughly what you are getting in March, and smash the credit card accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭maccored

nope. havent even had a payrise in yonks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

In the public sector, we get a €10 contribution to a Christmas party which is probably more generous that other parts of the sector. I got more when I was on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,526 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

no I dont! Margaret Ca$h does! its been reistated back to 100% of the normal weekly welfare payment, meanwhile in Britain, those dying on the streets on welfare, receive £10!

https://www.gov.uk/christmas-bonus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭begsbyOnaTrain

maccored wrote: »
    nope. havent even had a payrise in yonks

I hope you get a bonus or some symbol of thankfulness from your employer this Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

Christmas bonus is usually 10-15% of annual salary, performance based. You'd need to be a disaster to drop below 5% (you probably wouldn't see new year), to get more than 15%, you'd need to be the second coming of Christ.

Certainly takes a bite out of the January blues!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭fattymuatty

I work by myself for myself so no. My husband gets a 500e supervalue voucher, goes in and buys a pack of chewing gum and they give him the change in cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Bonus of up to 40% of salary (dependent on personal, divisional and overall company performance) is payable after year-end results have been audited and published.
    5% gets paid in December as an "advance" with the balance in payroll after results announcement.

There's also performance based share-options issued each year - can vary quite significantly from year to year, but can be quite lucrative in a good year. 5-year vesting period on them though, so not much use if cash is needed urgently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I don't get a Christmas bonus and never have, however i just signed a contract for a new job which has an awesome yearly bonus which just coincidentally is being paid in December.

I wont be eligible this December, but next year the mince pies are on me. I might even splash out for Tescos finest.

According to one article, 43% of Irish workers received a Christmas bonus in 2017. Given the economic growth in the intervening year, you'd expect that figure to have risen for 2018.

http://betterbusiness.ie/employers-failing-utilise-small-benefits-relief-research-suggests/

Currently the poll is showing that 32% receive a Christmas bonus, a fairly significant difference of 11%. Might be explained by the possibility that some people who responded to the poll aren't in work, whether they're in college or working in the home, or whatever.

We do pretty badly compared to some Europeans. Apparently, almost 90% of German employers pay a Christmas bonus. Probably just a voucher for Kaufland or a sensible pair of Jack Wolfskin hiking boots, but still.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,923 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Nothing, the scaldy c**ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Too early for this. We havent had the "Would you wear a Poppy" post and outrage yet