Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael the Dublin Party ?

• 29-09-2019 12:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭

Fine Gael losing thousands of members in rural Ireland according to today’s Indo .Hardly a surprise .
    Fine Gael closed most rural garda stations and seems to be soft or uninterested on tackling all the traveller gangs causing the bulk of rural crime . Very few jobs going to rural Ireland whereas there’s jobs announced in Dublin every second day . Hospitals downgraded , Post offices closing etc in regions etc but Fine Gael couldn’t give a toss once Dublin particularly South Dublin is booming !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Are you going with the old nonsensical definition of rural being anything outside Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

They have made a balls of rural Ireland closing Garda stations and reducing critical services. Also heaping immigrants into towns without local consultation.

And keeping Maria Bailey on the ticket as businesses and festivals close around the country due to issues with insurance premiums. Oktoberfest and Ballina Salmon festival two examples.

I never thought anyone could be worse than FF until FG came along. They don't give a **** about society whatsoever. A cold hearted party.

Major party split incoming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Are you going with the old nonsensical definition of rural being anything outside Dublin?

To be far Fine Gael do care somewhat about the greater Dublin Area ie Meath , Kildare , north Willow and South Louth but outside of that perhaps the rich parts of Cork and Limerick city are the only other places that Fine Gael care for .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

They don't care about th cities that much either. Homeless everywhere, public transport as bad as it was 10 years ago, lots of regulation and mandatory insurance for everything making it impossible to get anything done

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Nice, a Dublin bashing thread, sublime. You can blame the gubberment and the Dubs simultaneously , enjoy that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Nice, a Dublin bashing thread, sublime. You can blame the gubberment and the Dubs simultaneously , enjoy that.

I wonder does Luas Simon use the subsidised Luas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭PinotNero

You do realise that one of Fine Gaels strongest voting blocs is wealthy farmers, landowners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,905 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

If it is the Dublin party can we have our Metro and Bus Connects any time soon please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Fine Gael losing thousands of members in rural Ireland according to today’s Indo .Hardly a surprise .
    Fine Gael closed most rural garda stations and seems to be soft or uninterested on tackling all the traveller gangs causing the bulk of rural crime . Very few jobs going to rural Ireland whereas there’s jobs announced in Dublin every second day . Hospitals downgraded , Post offices closing etc in regions etc but Fine Gael couldn’t give a toss once Dublin particularly South Dublin is booming !

Rural Ireland is not ever going to be any better than it is now, i dont particularly like this government but the poor me howls from rural Ireland are tedious

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

They are seemingly "soft" on the travellers as well, so he can let posters dovetail their Dubs bashing with some traveller bashing as well, how thoughtful.

There are 31,000 travellers in Ireland, that means that 1/2 % of the Irish population manage to take up 50% of the racist bile posted on these threads. Quite an achievement if you ask me.

Being very much from Rural Ireland and not a traditional FG supporter, I honestly don't see them as any less interested, involved, or detrimental to our community, well being, or sense of worth, than when we had FF or various coalition governments in the past. In fact, from a local employment opportunity front, or the general prosperity of the area, they haven't done too bad a job at all. In over 55 years of voting, I have perhaps voted FG No. 1 on less than 5 occasions but, based on the possible candidates at present, I'd give them the vote next time.

They are seemingly "soft" on the travellers as well, so he can let posters dovetail their Dubs bashing with some traveller bashing as well, how thoughtful.

There are 31,000 travellers in Ireland, that means that 1/2 % of the Irish population manage to take up 50% of the racist bile posted on these threads. Quite an achievement if you ask me.

Yes indeed, the travellers work ferociously hard to maintain their reputation.

We see the results from the endless accounts of dealing with that 1% here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Rural police stations were closed because they are an inefficient use of limited policing resources. All the research backs this up, and it’s a trend that is observed in other European countries.

Rural Ireland seems to think the bubble years where any half acre site was delivering a hundred grand to a farmer and houses were threw up along any pot holed boreen, thus providing plenty of construction jobs for any flute who could walk and chew gum at the same time, was the norm, it was not

Rural police stations were closed because they are an inefficient use of limited policing resources. All the research backs this up, and it’s a trend that is observed in other European countries.

It's not like the response to any crime will come from a small station with one guard doing nothing most of the time

You are always going to have more opportunities and access to resources in cities. Move to a city OP. That's what the trend all over planet earth is nowadays.

Thr only unusual thing about our developing divergence of wealth between urban and rural is how late the phenomenon occurred

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Thr only unusual thing about our developing divergence of wealth between urban and rural is how late the phenomenon occurred

All I see is mansions at the side of roads when in rural Ireland with various SUV things in the driveways so I'm not sure who are the wealthy ones?

Most look awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,591 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I wouldn't worry I'm sure they'll be voting for FG ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭touts

This government has operated a Dublin First policy for the past 10 years under both Enda and Leo. The policy of pumping all the jobs into Dublin means we now have an unsustainable housing crisis in Dublin. Meanwhile whole swaths of Rural Ireland are still in recession. Visit the likes of Tipperary Town and it looks like 2010 except more paint has flaked off the vacant shop fronts. Locating the Children's hospital in the center of Dublin was the biggest two fingers to rural Ireland where services are being cut and wards closed to pay for Dublin extravagance.

But it's not just FG. Under Fianna Fail the same was happening. In fact there is a pretty much unbroken line in policy over the last 30 years. Rural hospitals, post offices garda stations etc have all been downgraded in that time. It was under Fianna Fail that the concept of "centers of excellence" was introduced which basically saw health services cut in rural Ireland and instead moved to "centers of excellence" in cities. For example cardiac, cancer and mental health services were all cut in Tipperary and transferred to Waterford. But Waterford did not get the funding to cope with the extra volume let alone become a center of excellence. For example urgent cardiac care is still only between 9-5 Monday to Friday in Waterford. The money saved simply disappeared into the central HSE budget. And don't forget the motorway network only half of which has been built. Originally it was supposed to be a web linking all the major cities to each other. But the motorway network serving Dublin was built first on a trust us, we pinky promise to do the rest then basis. As soon as the roads into Dublin were finished the rest of the network was cancelled to prioritize the Luas, the M50 upgrade, new Dublin busses, the Luas interconnector, and now the Metro. Dublin always gets priority.

So who is to blame. Who has a vested interest in diverting as much money into Dublin as possible. Not FF or FG to be honest. They get decimated in the polls because of these policies. No it's the permanent government in Dublin. The unelected civil servants who run the country with Leo and Enda and Brian and Bertie as their scapegoats. The only way to solve this is to decentralise power by relocating departments out of Dublin. Charlie McCreevey tried that and was banished to Brussels for his trouble. But it will have to be forced through at some point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Many travellers don’t fill in census forms and nobody is bothering with following up with them about census forms considering all other stuff going on . 31,000 is very much understating traveller numbers , a smokescreen that’s suits them and their apologists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Definition of Rural from National Spatial Strategy (CSO and OECD use similar definitions)
    “Rural” is defined as District Electoral Divisions (DEDs) with no population centre above 1,500 people, with a population density below 150 per sq. km, and which are not part of an urban district or borough, ie it broadly refers to open countryside and rural villages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Many travellers don’t fill in census forms and nobody is bothering with following up with them about census forms considering all other stuff going on . 31,000 is very much understating traveller numbers , a smokescreen that’s suits them and their apologists

Apart from the Census there is an Annual Count of traveller families, and their accommodation. The traveller rights people use this in their campaigns. Where are you getting your figures from?

https://www.housing.gov.ie/housing/special-housing-needs/traveller-accommodation/traveller-accomodation-statistics

Also how many thousand FG members left according to the Indo, and over what period? Did it say where they went, e.g, Green Party?

And your contention that job announcements are nearly all for Dublin is incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Being very much from Rural Ireland and not a traditional FG supporter, I honestly don't see them as any less interested, involved, or detrimental to our community, well being, or sense of worth, than when we had FF or various coalition governments in the past. In fact, from a local employment opportunity front, or the general prosperity of the area, they haven't done too bad a job at all. In over 55 years of voting, I have perhaps voted FG No. 1 on less than 5 occasions but, based on the possible candidates at present, I'd give them the vote next time.

So rural neglect, homelessness crisis, disastrous housing policies, National Childrens Hospital overruns costing billions and wrong location, closure of rural POs, third highest carbon emissions in the EU and continuing biodiversity loss, huge insurance costs for businesses and individuals with little regulation, national broadband plan that continues to be an abysmal failure...

all this counts for nought to you so long as your area seems to be doing ok?

Greentopia wrote: »
    So rural neglect, homelessness crisis, disastrous housing policies, National Childrens Hospital overruns costing billions and wrong location, closure of rural POs, third highest carbon emissions in the EU and continuing biodiversity loss, huge insurance costs for businesses and individuals with little regulation, national broadband plan that continues to be an abysmal failure...

Wow, relax!

I was responding to comments on rural for a start. No significant housing policy changes here nor any worse homelessness under the current government. Rural PO? We lost ours over twenty years ago and we survived absolutely fine. It seems it closed for a good reason - nobody used it. Insurance costs are no different to most of us rural compared to urban. Carbon emissions??? Come on! Are you in the correct thread?

I wasn't defending them but just saying it as it actually is here, in so far as the thread was presented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,398 ✭✭✭markpb

Governments don't create jobs, except for civil and public servants. They create the environment for companies to create jobs. Despite the state incentives for locating outside of Dublin and the high cost of employing people inside Dublin, companies keep locating there (and Cork). It's almost as if companies prefer locating in/near cities and not towns.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

FG are arrogant, incompetent, ignorant and out of touch with the electorate.

I wouldn't blame rural dwellers for thinking they have left them out in the cold but they aren't doing all that much for urban Ireland either.

No vision, no original thinking, not much of a backbone evident, no substance. Doing nothing to get rid of Maria Bailey. They are appalling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

Greentopia wrote: »

This mythical homeless crisis again.

Jesus the left wing media have really done a job on this nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

lola85 wrote: »

I've noticed everything which reflects badly on FG is mythical in your eyes. You claimed a photo showing patients lined up on trollies in a corridor was fake until the Cork Examiner link was posted that used the same photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,262 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

billions flow out of dublin to be redistributed to the rest of ireland every year. We have a disgrace of a transport "system". While FG the morons are to blame for a lot, they arent to blame for the global race of city from rural to urban areas :rolleyes:

the planning in dublin is appalling, but what do the country people want? if there is an easy solution to the appalling one off house planning, etc death of the local village etc, why arent they doing something about?

according to everybody in this country, they are all broke. Nobody has a cent to spare! They bemoan the post offices and garda stations going etc and the damage it inflicts on the community and I get that, I personally dont understand why they were closed, to save a total irrelevance money wise and I get that it damages the community. But here is the flip side of that, they say they dont want to pay more LPT (which is a pittance) many of those complaining are recipients of a welfare scheme of ridiculous largess, you cant have it both ways!

also total shocker that they companies locate in the only "city" of any scale we have here! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

As a Waterford man, I hope they get decimated in the next general election. I cannot speak for other counties outside Dublin but their treatment of Waterford is a disgrace. I am sitting here typing this knowing a heart attack will probably kill me as we have no cardiac care outside 9-5 Monday to Friday. It's a bloody disgrace. Despite having a good potential td in paudie Coffey here and some hard working councillors here the actions from the likes of Leo and Simon Harris mean they won't get anyone elected from that party come the next general election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

As a Waterford man, I hope they get decimated in the next general election. I cannot speak for other counties outside Dublin but their treatment of Waterford is a disgrace. I am sitting here typing this knowing a heart attack will probably kill me as we have no cardiac care outside 9-5 Monday to Friday. It's a bloody disgrace. Despite having a good potential td in paudie Coffey here and some hard working councillors here the actions from the likes of Leo and Simon Harris mean they won't get anyone elected from that party come the next general election.

Is that the same Paudie Coffey who appointed his driver to the board of Irish Water?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I lecture and work in policy analysis in housing and urban planning and we have a severe housing crisis on a scale and depth not seen since the 1960s. I would like to think that I know what I'm talking about.

The origins of the crisis lie in housing policies going back to the 1990s and the failure of successive governments and particularly the current one in addressing it properly.

Is that the same Paudie Coffey who appointed his driver to the board of Irish Water?

Not quite. He appointed a member of the board as his driver. But still naïve move at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,802 ✭✭✭pgj2015

It's not like the response to any crime will come from a small station with one guard doing nothing most of the time

really? if i am being attacked in my house in rural ireland, the old rural garda station is half a mile away, the guard is going to be able to help me a lot quicker than the guards in the station 20 miles away.

Might be alright for you if you live beside the Garda station but the cops in it are probably responsible for an area 20-30km in each direction.

So they need to be out and about.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    really? if i am being attacked in my house in rural ireland, the old rural garda station is half a mile away, the guard is going to be able to help me a lot quicker than the guards in the station 20 miles away.

You mean like when we had someone burgling our house twenty years ago and we phone the local station to be told "the car is away at the moment. He'll be at least a half hour...lock your bedroom door and shout that you've called the Gardaí"? As opposed to calling the station in the nearest town last year for our neighbour and they were there in well under 15 minutes.? Not everybody covered by the old stations were half a mile away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,802 ✭✭✭pgj2015

You mean like when we had someone burgling our house twenty years ago and we phone the local station to be told "the car is away at the moment. He'll be at least a half hour...lock your bedroom door and shout that you've called the Gardaí"? As opposed to calling the station in the nearest town last year for our neighbour and they were there in well under 15 minutes.? Not everybody covered by the old stations were half a mile away from them.

you were just unlucky, id still rather a garda station a few miles away than ringing one a half hour or more away. some garda stations in towns aren't even open 24 hours anymore.

id still rather a garda station a few miles away.

Wouldn't we all! Physically impossible though and impractical for us all to live within a few miles of a station.

I'm not defending the closing of stations but some of us in rural areas feel safer now than when we had a local station in name only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Wow, relax!

I was responding to comments on rural for a start. No significant housing policy changes here nor any worse homelessness under the current government. Rural PO? We lost ours over twenty years ago and we survived absolutely fine. It seems it closed for a good reason - nobody used it. Insurance costs are no different to most of us rural compared to urban. Carbon emissions??? Come on! Are you in the correct thread?

I wasn't defending them but just saying it as it actually is here, in so far as the thread was presented.

And I'm in rural Ireland too and see how neglected the part of the country I'm from-Waterford has been under FG.

Another poster from the county mentioned here about the lack of 24/7 cardiac services. FG have done nothing to provide this service for the people of the SE while people have literally died in an ambulance on the way to Cork University hospital because they had a heart attack outside the hours of Mon-Fri 9am-5pm.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/john-halligan-waterford-cath-lab-3459799-Jun2017/

Would you still be ok with giving them your vote in the next election if you or your family had to run that risk?

And no worse homelessness in rural Ireland? are you kidding me? I don't know where you are but I only have to walk around places in Waterford to see with my own eyes how much worse homelessness has gotten under FG and Eoghan Murphy.

Yes insurance costs are no worse here than in urban areas, but my point was to say that insurance costs have risen unsustainably across the country, not just rural Ireland. A big part of that is because of lack of regulation and lack of action by government in addressing the issue.

You're not defending them but you say you will give them your vote in the next election. I pointed out reasons why it makes no sense to do so given the piss poor job they've made of their tenure in office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Whatever happened to Enda Kenny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ittakestwo

Basically it's the private sector that is choosing to invest in Dublin over rural areas and governments are not interfering....and should they interfere?

The likes of Google and Facebook are not going to locate in a rural area and why should a government insist they do? And how can a government make them.

Governments recently have taken a policy of let the private sector decide and not interfere.

I would guess if you looked at the tax receipts and tax expenditure for every county in the country. Dublin will be the only one running a surplus.

People in rural areas seem to think they have an entitlement to sponge of the tax take of dublin.

Why should governments pump money into rural areas if they are not going to get it back in tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭Feisar

To be fair a bicycle would do a lot to prevent that heart attack.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,591 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Feisar wrote: »
    To be fair a bicycle would do a lot to prevent that heart attack.

Seriously? It won't stop hereditary heart attacks, i know lots of people who were fit and had heart attacks , nothing to do with cycling, :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

We need less hospitals in this country, not more of them. The idea that Waterford should have a specialist heart function when Cork is over the road is ludicrous. See what happens in places like Canada and even France - you centralise the expertise, not spread it out far too thinly to former TB hospitals in the sticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭Feisar

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Seriously? It won't stop hereditary heart attacks, i know lots of people who were fit and had heart attacks , nothing to do with cycling, :rolleyes::rolleyes:

What are you trying to convey with the rolleyes emoji?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

Fianna gael and fianna fail are *****.
    End of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

His post referred to inaction in relation to traveller gangs and their ravaging of rural Ireland is well documented. He didn't demand that FG should have sought to harass all 31,000 of them, as your post imagines.

A garda from a single manned station would not attend to an incident involving toddlers fighting in a playground, they wait for backup from the nearest larger station