Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best TV Show EVER - Boardsies Decide: Tournament Thread

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Yeah, so here is the list of shows that were nominated just once

Single Entries Nominations
    24 1
    Absolutely fabulous 1
    Alf. 1
    Always Sunny in Philadelphia 1
    Angel 1
    As Queer As Folk 1
    Babylon 5 1
    Back To The Future: The Animated Series 1
    Batman the Animated Series 1
    Big Brother 1
    Black Books 1
    Brooklyn Nine Nine 1
    Carnivale 1
    Charlie Jade 1
    Columbo 1
    Cracker 1
    Dark 1
    Dark Angel 1
    Dexter 1
    Eastenders 1
    Fair City 1
    Fargo 1
    Garth Marenghi's Dark Place 1
    Gilmore Girls 1
    Harper's Island 1
    Hart to hart 1
    Homicide Life on the Streets 1
    Hot Zone 1
    Killing Eve 1
    Knight Rider 1
    Knightmare 1
    Legion 1
    Lost 1
    M*A*S*H 1
    Macgyver 1
    Married With Children 1
    Masterchef 1
    Minder 1
    Mindhunter 1
    Mysterious Cities of Gold 1
    Nightstand 1
    Not the Nine O'Clock News 1
    One Tree Hill 1
    Orange is the New Black 1
    Peep Show 1
    Prison Break 1
    Red Dwarf 1
    Rescue Me 1
    Rome 1
    Scandal 1
    SEAL Team 1
    Sense8 1
    Sesame St 1
    Six Feet Under 1
    Sons of Anarchy 1
    Southland 1
    Spartacus 1
    Star Trek: The Original Series 1
    Stranger Things 1
    Suits 1
    The Big Bang Theory 1
    The Bridge 1
    The Crystal Maze 1
    The dukes of hazard 1
    The Fast Show 1
    The High Chaparral. 1
    The Killing (Danish version) 1
    The Mentalist 1
    The outer limits 1
    The Riordans. 1
    The Twilight Zone 1
    The Unit 1
    The Wonder years 1
    Thick Of It 1
    Thundercats 1
    Tiswas 1
    Utopia 1
    V 1
    Wayward Pines 1
    West World 1
    Will & Grace 1

Coupled with the multi nominations, this became our tournament!!!!

Few interesting tidbits:

The only non-seeds to make the last 16 were:

ER
    Reeling In The Years
    Frasier

None progressed into the quarter finals.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

So FT got nominated 7 seven times, BB 20 times and FT won, a travesty of justice.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Bounty Hunter might cover that too:)
    b0e508a50c6a00cb69059de8b47c4f54806df78817647b8f33ee1099b38ac9d4.jpg

:cool:

In all seriousness though good on ya Necro for running this.

Now to be a smarmy Internet and heres what should have happened mook

Semi Finals

The Sopranos vs Breaking Bad
    The Wire vs The Shield

Knocked out in my QFs

Game of Thrones
    The West Wing
    Father Ted
    Oz / The Simpsons / South Park / Lost/ Band of Brothers

Then the lower tiers

Rick & Morty, The Walking Dead, 24, Narcos, Better Call Saul, Mr Robot, Stranger things

The X-Files, The Office x2, Arresed Development, Bojack Horseman, Hannibal, Fargo

The Newsroom, Friday Night Lights, Spaced, Archer, Dexter,

Peep Show, Californication, Eastbound & Down, Blackadder, Only Fools & Horses, It's always Sunny in Philidelphia, Black Books

The Thick of It, Boardwalk Empire, Daredevil. Jusrified, Deadwood

Parks & Rec, Community, Friends, Brookyn 99, The Inbetweeners, The IT Crowd, Fawlty Towers, Bottom, Red Dwarf, Monthy Python, Brasseye, Alan Partridge

Sherlock, Orange is the New Black, Seinfeld, Shameless, The Bridge (Bron), Lillyhammer, Generation Kill, True Detective, God The Devil & Bob, the Life & Times of Tim, 11.22.63, Futurama,

but thats just off the top of my head :pac:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Spook_ie wrote:
    So FT got nominated 7 seven times, BB 20 times and FT won, a travesty of justice.

Yep. In fact quite a number of people who nominated shows never even voted on the thread :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Necro wrote: »
    Yep. In fact quite a number of people who nominated shows never even voted on the thread :pac:

Name n shame. :D

Ah to be fair, quite a few who didn't submit entries also got really involved in the thread, and thank you for that. Twas a lot of fun.

But now I'm retired, that was my magnum opus.

(Yeah, yeah I'll probably be back in a couple of months lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

:cool:

In all seriousness though good on ya Necro for running this.

Now to be a smarmy Internet and heres what should have happened mook

but thats just off the top of my head :pac:

You don't have firefly at all, so this is just poppycock.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,721 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Fair play to you Necro that was some serious work you put in and you definitely deserve to put the feet up.

Bualadh bos

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

sKeith wrote: »
    You don't have firefly at all, so this is just poppycock.

Bring back Necro :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 21,826 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Thanks Necro , brilliant game , with so many controversial winners in the heats , my favourite was Sesame Street :D

Think my picks were ,

Queer As Folk ,
    Six Feet Under ,
    Hill Street Blues (?)
    Big Brother :D
    Can't remember the last one tbh .

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Thanks Necro , brilliant game , with so many controversial winners in the heats , my favourite was Sesame Street :D

Think my picks were ,

Queer As Folk ,
    Six Feet Under ,
    Hill Street Blues (?)
    Big Brother :D
    Can't remember the last one tbh .

Dallas :)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,826 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Dallas :)

Ah , thank you !
    I miss BB and the threads :(

Anyhow , thanks again !

• Registered Users Posts: 17,394 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Ah to be fair, quite a few who didn't submit entries also got really involved in the thread, and thank you for that. Twas a lot of fun.

But now I'm retired, that was my magnum opus.

(Yeah, yeah I'll probably be back in a couple of months lol)

Too many people voted against shows because they had never seen them.

Booooooooooooooo.

Shenanigans.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Yep, thanks Necro. An enjoyable addition to my week. Never in this forum before. Ye run a tight ship... Bit mad though Ted

Well... I hope some of ye will stick around and try out some of the other games the forum has running currently or in a few short weeks :D

I'd just like you all to know when this thread started I joked about nominating Gilmore Girls. But that wasn't me who actually did it!! :D
    I was the one who nominated OITNB though.

I'd just like you all to know when this thread started I joked about nominating Gilmore Girls. But that wasn't me who actually did it!! :D
    I was the one who nominated OITNB though.

Can confirm that BuileBeag is telling the truth :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭appledrop

Yipeeeee Father Ted won!

Go On Go On Go On Go On Go On Go On!!!!!!!!!

I have to admit I tapped out when Chernobyl got beaten by Blackadder

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭tusk

tenor.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Voted for breaking bad, would have wanted sopranos or wire but delighted for father ted.

I never thought it would have got it.

True warrior.

Cream always rises to the top.

Hopefully it gets the recognition it deserves now and takes off in America and Bollywood’s areas of importance.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭tusk

Can officially vouch for utopia. On the last episode now. Very good

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Too many people voted against shows because they had never seen them.

Booooooooooooooo.

Shenanigans.

And too many voted for shows even though they had seen them (I'm looking at you Breaking Bad voters) which is equally frustrating.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Thanks Necro, that was a serious amount of work you put in.
    First time on this part of boards and it helped a few slow days at work pass.

Thanks Necro, that was a serious amount of work you put in.
    First time on this part of boards and it helped a few slow days at work pass.

Once you're in you can't get out.

You should join one of the sheep games, they're good craic. Clarabel is running one called sweet sheep at the moment. Go on... You know you want to.

I've downloaded a fair few TV shows as a result of this thread. West Wing is next.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

West Wing is class

• Registered Users Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Niska

Thanks for running Necro

Happy with the result!

Started a rewatch of Rome because of this thread.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Niska wrote: »
    Thanks for running Necro

Happy with the result!

Started a rewatch of Rome because of this thread.

Then my work here is done!

• Registered Users Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Remouad

quickbeam wrote: »
    Then my work here is done!

Thanks QB