Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RWC 2019 Ireland v Japan Match Thread: Group A - Sat 28th Sep 08:15 Shizuoka

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Not looking like a bonus point even.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

This is just awful.

It's gonna be a long few days till the next game.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

NZ quarter final and an early trip home so it is now.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭shane.

Shocking performance but it's not a surprise really, this has been coming for a while

• Registered Users Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭troyzer

Eire actually means burden.

Éire is the Irish word for the 26 counties. It's deliberately being used to exclude fans and players from the north.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭leakyboots

No backplay from us, one out runners is all we have in their 22. Japanese backplay is stuff we can only dream of

• Registered Users Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

We are so slow and static. This is definitely the worst performance by an Irish rugby team.

• Registered Users Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Clegg wrote: »
    Sigh.

Fair play Japan. Caught us in the long grass Nd obvious prepped for this game like we did for Scotland.

Totally different conditions , we are no where near our last yr form .

• Registered Users Posts: 32,404 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Can't blame the ref. Ireland are very poor.
    Ireland have been poor.
    The referee has been horrendous....how many things has he let Japan away with?!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Credit to Japan, increasing the pressure and forcing Ireland to take risks and make errors
    Very disappointing the way we’ve crumbled

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Macdarack

I'd say Toner is only happy irish man in the world, and maybe Marmion

• Registered Users Posts: 17,912 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

None of them deserve to wear that jersey today and joe has shown hes simply out of touch with the current game.

Again the simplest word to use is arrogance

• Registered Users Posts: 4,793 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

In hindsight we got the selection wrong here. Too much of an ask for the Pack in this atmosphere

• Registered Users Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eclipsechaser

pjohnson wrote: »
    Can the ref be blamed for Earls knock on?

The Japanese guy held onto the ball when Earl's got his hands on it, causing the knock-on.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,354 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Schmidt looks like he’s gonna tear them a new one.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,135 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Earls saving the LBP could be huge for getting out of the group

• Registered Users Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Wake me up in four years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

this is the time you judge teams not during friendly matches in Chicago and the like.

Pure scutter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 352 ✭✭lord quackinton

This game I think shows a real weakness with the Irish team. We struggle to chase a lead.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Bigger shock than when they beat South Africa if they win this

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The cookies have really crumbled here.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Absolute disgrace Joe

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 14,262 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Eire useless

• Registered Users Posts: 12,188 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

VinLieger wrote: »
    None of them deserve to wear that jersey today and joe has shown hes simply out of touch with the current game.

Again the simplest word to use is arrogance

You realize it’s not the knockout stages yet right?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Nice reality check for Irish fans and team. They've never been good enough

• Registered Users Posts: 23,949 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

fullstop wrote: »
    Schmidt looks like he’s gonna tear them a new one.

He can tear himself one while he's at it. You have to respond tactically. We didn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,633 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Some scalping from Japan all the same. The Scotland game will be massive, there's a good chance Japan fan go on to top the group.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

What the **** RTE?
    It was horrible timing but I don't think it's RTE's fault. Be a bit silly for every country to have their own cameras broadcasting live.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,188 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Forward there???

• Registered Users Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Ireland haven’t scored for an hour🙈possibly the greatest embarrassment for Irish sport Ireland were 1/20 to win the match