Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryan Tubridy comments about Greta Thunberg

• Registered Users Posts: 20,552 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

briany wrote: »
    The question is not about whether the planet changes. The question is how much of the change is due to human behaviour and how much is therefore avoidable by altering this behaviour.

Another interesting statistic about that 99.9% of species is that not a single one of them was able to comprehend their extinction or was in a position to do anything about it. Humans hold an exalted position in those terms. To say that it happened to all the other life, so why shouldn't it happen to us is extraordinarily fatalistic. It's akin to someone smoking, drinking, eating or drugging themselves to death, and if you suggest they should stop they say, "Hey, 100 percent of people die anyway."

Yes of course we change it but since the planet created us and we are part of the bio sphere and not a foreign entity its the planet changing itself, again we are NOT separate ,

The planet and nature will survive , will it be different than it is now YES but it has changed numerous times already, as extraordinary fatalistic as it sounds there WILL be a time where its not possible for human's live here anymore , It WILL happen no matter what ,

• Registered Users Posts: 33,121 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

you are correct of course SweetMaggie, but if you are honest you are involved in all this too.

As am I.

I like having heat in the house.
    I like that I have a car outside in case I need to drive anywhere.
    I like having a big TV.
    I like foreign holidays.

There are very few people who can't say they aren't guilty of adding to it all.

Except maybe that guy who lives off grid in the woods.

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭marcos_94

NIMAN wrote: »

I like having heat in the house.
    Great, take a look at solar heating, heat pumps, general improvements to your homes energy efficiency.
    I like that I have a car outside in case I need to drive anywhere.
    Thats fine, its good to see that affordable EVs are on the way, and before you try mention it, yes EVs are siginficantly greener through their life cycle than converntional ICE vehicles.
    I like having a big TV.
    Modern TVs are more energy efficient than old, but does one need to change TV every year?
    I like foreign holidays.
    While slower than road transport, aviation is slowly cleaning up its act, with the modern generation of aircraft being 10-15% more fuel efficient and emmitting less. Also, Aviaiton represents only between 2-3% of global emissions

Asking a countries population to give up all their comforts is not the way to get people motivated to work for the climate. Finding clean alternatives to our way of life is the approach being taken. Take a look at the likes of wind and solar, which in some countries is now cheaper to build than to keep existing coal plants running, and thats without subsidies

• Registered Users Posts: 13,555 ✭✭✭✭briany

Yes of course we change it but since the planet created us and we are part of the bio sphere and not a foreign entity its the planet changing itself, again we are NOT separate ,

The planet and nature will survive , will it be different than it is now YES but it has changed numerous times already, as extraordinary fatalistic as it sounds there WILL be a time where its not possible for human's live here anymore , It WILL happen no matter what ,

Your argument appears to be that because humans have arisen from nature then our actions are, by extension, a manifestation of nature, but there are many ways in which humans can sometimes behave which we would not describe as natural. Like some humans wilfully commit suicide and this completely contravenes the survival instinct present in every organism, and is therefore unnatural. It is a conscious decision to contravene natural patterns.
    Certainly, if humans knew they were a part of climate change and didn't bother to stop it, this could amount to the collective suicide of the species.

It's true that there will come a time when humans can no longer live on Earth. It's just it would be nice for us if we had the ability to inhabit other places just as good when that time came.

marcos_94 wrote: »
    Great, take a look at solar heating, heat pumps, general improvements to your homes energy efficiency.

Thats fine, its good to see that affordable EVs are on the way, and before you try mention it, yes EVs are siginficantly greener through their life cycle than converntional ICE vehicles.

Modern TVs are more energy efficient than old, but does one need to change TV every year?

While slower than road transport, aviation is slowly cleaning up its act, with the modern generation of aircraft being 10-15% more fuel efficient and emmitting less. Also, Aviaiton represents only between 2-3% of global emissions

Asking a countries population to give up all their comforts is not the way to get people motivated to work for the climate. Finding clean alternatives to our way of life is the approach being taken. Take a look at the likes of wind and solar, which in some countries is now cheaper to build than to keep existing coal plants running, and thats without subsidies

1) And who is going to give me the large amount of money to upgrade all these systems in my house? And then everyone who lives in the country too?

2) I own an EV already.

3) My TV is about 6 years old. The one before that was about 8yrs old. It died. I don't change TV for the sake of it. I change them when they die.

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭marcos_94

1) And who is going to give me the large amount of money to upgrade all these systems in my house? And then everyone who lives in the country too?

2) I own an EV already.

3) My TV is about 6 years old. The one before that was about 8yrs old. It died. I don't change TV for the sake of it. I change them when they die.

1) Plenty of subsidies available at the moment. Im not/the government isnt asking you to do it right now. All im saying that as people naturally reach a stage where they want to get some work done on the house, that they consider a greener alternative.

2) great, thanks for letting me know.

3) I didnt suggest you did, I asked "does one need to change TV every year?", which appears to be the case with some people, same with cars.

Im not responding to your personal behaviours, but you brought up four things of modern life that people consider under threat as a result of combating climate change. Im just trying to put some reasonable information out there that is not the "world is ending, get rid of all your possessions" mindset that some have

• Registered Users Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

The problem I have with Tubbs is he dumbs down his important points to a level in which he thinks his listening and viewing public can understand. Maybe he is not intellectually advanced enough to phrase the tough questions in a more substantial light, but that is just my opinion.
    Very often this backfires in serious interviews, like the recent one with Tony Blair, and years ago with Gerry Adams.
    I think that in the Greta case, Tubbs was at best clumsy, and at worst patronizing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

IF people don't listen to scientists, what makes you think they are going to listen to an emotional 16yr old?

Nothing.

Although clearly it is impacting them already in a way that the scientists weren't as they feel the need to discredit and demean her while they just ignored the scientists.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 pen123

dvdman1 wrote: »
    "she needs to be brought home and watch a movie. Just go for a walk with your da or your ma"

An out of touch overpaid twat or he has a point?

Both.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,312 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

marcos_94 wrote: »

You seem to be well up on the eco stuff.
    So out of interest how much one it cost to develop a standard house, into a self sufficient eco-friendly house?
    Or how could a person get an EV instead of a non-EV if they are stretched for cash?
    Shouldn't there be decent subsidies?
    These are the type of things i would like Greta to mention/ask or answer instead of just telling us the world is dying, shouting and holding back the tears.

The thing is 'going Green' costs money - there is a reason why the majority of Greens you see in Ireland are comfortable middle class, well healed, but well meaning idealists.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,670 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

These are the type of things i would like Greta to mention/ask or answer instead of just telling us the world is dying, shouting and holding back the tears.

Why dont you look into it yourself if your that concerned about it? Here ill help

https://lmgtfy.com/?q=are+there+subsidies+for+electric+cars

You seem to be well up on the eco stuff.
    So out of interest how much one it cost to develop a standard house, into a self sufficient eco-friendly house?
    Or how could a person get an EV instead of a non-EV if they are stretched for cash?
    Shouldn't there be decent subsidies?

The thing is 'going Green' costs money - there is a reason why the majority of Greens you see in Ireland are comfortable middle class, well healed, but well meaning idealists.

I heard a guy on about this on the radio a couple of months back.

His firm specialised in retro-fitting homes....he said to do the full monty you'd be looking at e75,000.

Who has 75k to spend on their house!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

dvdman1 wrote: »
    "she needs to be brought home and watch a movie. Just go for a walk with your da or your ma"

An out of touch overpaid twat or he has a point?

That's a parent speaking.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Who has 75k to spend on their house!

I spent a couple of grand 3 years ago upgrading my gas heating system and installed a high efficiency gas boiler. I was told it was cleaner, more efficient than the old boiler, no dirty smoke from a chimney etc etc.

I thought I was doing the right thing and the SEAI gave a grant for the boiler and heating controls.

I am now told that gas is bad bad bad #keepitintheground, shouldnt be drilling it here, shouldnt be importing from abroad.

Does any body want to give me a few grand to rip the house apart again to replace it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

The problem I have with Tubbs is he dumbs down his important points to a level in which he thinks his listening and viewing public can understand. Maybe he is not intellectually advanced enough to phrase the tough questions in a more substantial light, but that is just my opinion.
    Very often this backfires in serious interviews, like the recent one with Tony Blair, and years ago with Gerry Adams.
    I think that in the Greta case, Tubbs was at best clumsy, and at worst patronizing.

The problem I have with Tubbs is that no matter who he's interviewing, he expects to do at least 50% of the talking.

A good interview is supposed to be about the guest, not the interviewer. but every time I hear Tubridy interviewing anyone, he cannot seem to stop himself telling the interviewee all about their own topic.

Well gas is a fossil fuel as well, so yes it is now bad bad bad.

But at least your new boiler is more efficient than the last one, so you are getting more from the same amount of fossil fuel so to speak.

New social housing in Derry isn't allowed to have chimneys. They are trying to stamp out people burning fuel at home. I'm not sure what the planning regs are for private homes, but I'd say its only a matter of time before they are banned there too.

20k probably would be a good investment in a house, but it also buys a lot of oil and gas.

That guy who said 75k would fully retrofit your home. He was asked how much would it save? He said if you use e1500 of oil now to heat your house annually it would drop to e500.
    So you spend 75k to save 1k annually.

So it pays for itself in 75years. That's a great buy, eh!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I spent a couple of grand 3 years ago upgrading my gas heating system and installed a high efficiency gas boiler. I was told it was cleaner, more efficient than the old boiler, no dirty smoke from a chimney etc etc.

I thought I was doing the right thing and the SEAI gave a grant for the boiler and heating controls.

I am now told that gas is bad bad bad #keepitintheground, shouldnt be drilling it here, shouldnt be importing from abroad.

Does any body want to give me a few grand to rip the house apart again to replace it?

A high efficiency gas boiler is indeed the right thing to have now and is better for the environment then a number of alternatives. We should also look towards moving away from fossil fuels in general but that will take time.

This shtick of “well doing it this way still has an effect on the environment therefore I will do it the dirtiest way possible instead” is pure juvenile nonsense. Gas is better than heating oil which is better than coal. Electric is better than gas, electric from renewables is even better. It is not, however a bloody purity test - we should just be aiming to get to the best solution as quickly as possible. It will involve intermediate steps.

None of this is a personal attack. As a society, country, planet we need to be more conscious of our impact.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭lalababa

Humans need to change their way of living. We consume too much of the wrong thing a me bobs. This is leading to pollution which is affecting the ozone layer and killing species and habitats.
    But sure f**k it, don't worry bout it.
    Johnny down the road brakes his hole in a competitive work place, selling **** to people that don't need it. He's doing well , has a new beamer and has just dropped 400k on a 3bed semi. And I'm f**ked if I'm not gonna do the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Weepsie wrote: »
    Does boards have a team of secret psychologists / psychiatrists who are able to diagnose aspergers from the comfort of their own home or something? If so, there are schools and parents up and down the country crying for your help.

It has been widely reported that she does.
    In fact, she tweets about it herself : https://mobile.twitter.com/gretathunberg/status/1112954917826842624?lang=en

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

I think she’s great and quite intelligent. Doubt she’ll ever have to work a minimum wage now. Nearly all the comments I’ve read on the journal and Irish websites make her out to be a drama queen and attention seeker. While every other international media site are singing her praises and encouraging her. Just shows what Irish people have become. Too afraid to stand up on our own and speak up . And whoever does is an idiot or cringeworthy. We only have the balls to do things in groups. Thanks a lot Catholic Church.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,555 ✭✭✭✭briany

lalababa wrote: »
    Humans need to change their way of living. We consume too much of the wrong thing a me bobs. This is leading to pollution which is affecting the ozone layer and killing species and habitats.
    But sure f**k it, don't worry bout it.
    Johnny down the road brakes his hole in a competitive work place, selling **** to people that don't need it. He's doing well , has a new beamer and has just dropped 400k on a 3bed semi. And I'm f**ked if I'm not gonna do the same.

There is a problem with almost any public advocate of 'green' living which is that they're called a hypocrite if they're so much as found to be drinking out of a Styrofoam coffee cup, and forget about it if they've ever been found to use a modern emission-producing form of travel to get anywhere such as a car or a plane.

But it would be virtually impossible to go around publicly advocating for a greener form of living without also participating to some degree in modern society. And if you literally do eschew all the mod-cons, and go around drinking river water out of a clay jug, wearing clothes you knitted yourself and walking everywhere or riding around on a hand-crafted fairtrade bicycle, then you're just called a hippie wingnut, so there's no real winning with the critics.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

shes being manipulated and put out in the public eye which would be distressing for any child, let alone one with aspergers. Her parents should be ashamed of themselves for either manipulating her themselves or allowing others with interests to do so.

Its a clever move by the climate alarmist lobby, even somebody like tubbs being torn apart for having the audacity to point out that this isnt right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

Them young ones would make u sick !
    They’ve been given everything growing up from being driven to school , fast convenient food (packaged) ,mobile phones all heavy carbon footprints

If they took the Americans off the road with there v8’s gas guzzler, and made air travel expensive it might be a cure !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18 ub52

Maybe if Greta and her fellow children walked or cycled to school and did not get dropped of in a car by mum, it would help reduce carbon emissions?
    Just one idea that could be implemented in the morning without a change in law.
    At the end of the day its obvious this young girl is being manipulated by adults, i find it sad, i would not be surpassed if the child has some type of nervous break down in the coming months, her parents will have a lot to answer when it happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

I wish people would stand up and admit that we are all the ones doing the damage to the planet.

We like our cheap flights, our new cars, our out of season fruits all year round, our multiple devices charged and connected 24*7*365.

That all takes it toll.

This is a big part of the problem I have with the outrage against Tubs (as much as I don't like him), is that it could possibly be viewed as a cop out.

To really make an impact on the environment we have to change how we live our lives, are people ready to do this?

The best way to get a read on if people take the message seriously will be the up and coming election. Will we see more green focused parties get in or just more of the same? if we go on the polls from the weekend it looks like FF may be white washed.

The budget is out in two weeks that will also be another indicator and how its received, are the electorate happy to pay more? Are they happy with water charges being introduced with proper metering ect.

Lots of things for us to consider collectively.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18 ub52

Calhoun wrote: »
    This is a big part of the problem I have with the outrage against Tubs (as much as I don't like him), is that it could possibly be viewed as a cop out.

To really make an impact on the environment we have to change how we live our lives, are people ready to do this?

The best way to get a read on if people take the message seriously will be the up and coming election. Will we see more green focused parties get in or just more of the same? if we go on the polls from the weekend it looks like FF may be white washed.

The budget is out in two weeks that will also be another indicator and how its received, are the electorate happy to pay more? Are they happy with water charges being introduced with proper metering ect.

If everyone in Ireland tomorrow went back to a stone age existence it would not have any impact on climate change, i go so far as to say if Thanos clicked his fingers and erases all of the Irish from the planet, no change will be made.
    The fact is China is the big polluter, until they change anything we do is just a government money grab.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭megaten

ub52 wrote: »
    Maybe if Greta and her fellow children walked or cycled to school and did not get dropped of in a car by mum, it would help reduce carbon emissions?
    Just one idea that could be implemented in the morning without a change in law.
    At the end of the day its obvious this young girl is being manipulated by adults, i find it sad, i would not be surpassed if the child has some type of nervous break down in the coming months, her parents will have a lot to answer when it happens.

Why do you want a child to have a nervous breakdown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

He is a despicable person. He's okay using a missing child's mobile messaging service for a scoop leading the parents and police to believe she may be alive because she checked her messages.

Was Tubbs as critical of Malala Yousafzai? She should be out for a walk with her Ma or Da?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Calhoun wrote: »

The Budget will be set up to allow for a no-deal Brexit so don't expect anything much out of it on any score.