Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ewe Lamb and Hoggett trade.

• 22-08-2019 4:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭

That time of year has come around,just wondering have many people bought or sold ewe lambs or hoggetts for breeding yet?.
    I have to buy around 20 hoggetts for a cousin who has no time to do it himself.He generally runs the Borris type ewe or mountain cross bred (cheviot ram crossed with mayo horned ewe).
    I havnt been in any sale in last fortnight but have heard that all types of hoggetts are a bit dearer (10-20 euro a head) than this time last year.Is that the case I wonder?

Fat and feeder cull ewes are a great trade so that is probably elevating the prices for hoggetts.

Anyone been out and seen any stock of good quality sold lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭Lambman

That time of year has come around,just wondering have many people bought or sold ewe lambs or hoggetts for breeding yet?.
    I have to buy around 20 hoggetts for a cousin who has no time to do it himself.He generally runs the Borris type ewe or mountain cross bred (cheviot ram crossed with mayo horned ewe).
    I havnt been in any sale in last fortnight but have heard that all types of hoggetts are a bit dearer (10-20 euro a head) than this time last year.Is that the case I wonder?

Fat and feeder cull ewes are a great trade so that is probably elevating the prices for hoggetts.

Anyone been out and seen any stock of good quality sold lately?
    I'd have it there 20 cheaper than last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭kk.man

Lambman wrote: »
    I'd have it there 20 cheaper than last year

It depends what part of the country you are in. In the south east they are 20 odd euro more expensive this year.

Anything I'd a picked out in the Mart for myself I'd a been able till take home for the right side off €140... I'd never pick a big heavy hogget in Fairness that's probably fed up I'd rather something lighter and have them coming till peak condition along with the breeding ewes who's lambs are only off just over 4 weeks now and are eating bare fields... no point putting a big well fed hogget with them till fail and be in worse condition than the ewes again at tupping time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭DJ98

What are 3 and 4 year old ewes making? (cheviots preferably)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Up here in NW all types of hoggetts are between 10 and 25 euro up on last year.
    Last Saturday in Dowra strong Suffolk’s were making around 160,plain but strong Hiltex cross making around 145 to 160,nice texels,a bit confined of themselves 145.
    Were no nice crossbred hoggetts there that would be a popular type of ewe in this part of World.
    One man who avg 135 for his hoggetts last year is on around 150 if an avg this year so far.
    There is no sense to the prices nice ewe lambs are making when you see the hoggett you can get for 50 euro more.

Last Saturday in Dowra strong Suffolk’s were making around 160,plain but strong Hiltex cross making around 145 to 160,nice texels,a bit confined of themselves 145.
    Were no nice crossbred hoggetts there that would be a popular type of ewe in this part of World.
    One man who avg 135 for his hoggetts last year is on around 150 if an avg this year so far.
    There is no sense to the prices nice ewe lambs are making when you see the hoggett you can get for 50 euro more.

Sorry for multiple posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Jimbo789

Anybody know how the Mayo Mule Hogget sale in Ballinrobe went today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Spoke to a friend of mine today. Said the same thing when he was in a mart down south today. Hogget trade up and stronger then last year.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

It's still slightly early for the hogget trade here in the North West but it's starting strong from what I've seen seen. Last year was a desperate bad year for the hogget trade imo, especially after what was available in the spring time to kill them. There were any amount of nice sheep sold at €100-€120 in October and lighter types were back as far as €80.

There seems good demand for nice stock of any color atm, €140-€160 seems to be the general run of it for good types of popular breeds. The hogget's topped €184 at the organic sale in Drumshanbo yesterday (Saturday), there's ​great demand for store lambs and cull ewes atm which seems to have lifted the confidence in sheep locally. I don't see the point in buying ewe lambs atm given that any good type lamb is €80+ and equivalent hogget's ready for the ram are circa €150. There's a lot of older lads locally that have finished lambing ewes and buy nice ewes lambs to run dry over the winter and sell as hogget's the following autumn. It's impossible to compete with them as there content to work off €50 a head of margin from purchase to sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

It's still slightly early for the hogget trade here in the North West but it's starting strong from what I've seen seen. Last year was a desperate bad year for the hogget trade imo, especially after what was available in the spring time to kill them. There were any amount of nice sheep sold at €100-€120 in October and lighter types were back as far as €80.

There seems good demand for nice stock of any color atm, €140-€160 seems to be the general run of it for good types of popular breeds. The hogget's topped €184 at the organic sale in Drumshanbo yesterday (Saturday), there's ​great demand for store lambs and cull ewes atm which seems to have lifted the confidence in sheep locally. I don't see the point in buying ewe lambs atm given that any good type lamb is €80+ and equivalent hogget's ready for the ram are circa €150. There's a lot of older lads locally that have finished lambing ewes and buy nice ewes lambs to run dry over the winter and sell as hogget's the following autumn. It's impossible to compete with them as there content to work off €50 a head of margin from purchase to sale.

I suppose I am one of those ould lads :D

Just on the 50euro/head comment - would you consider that 50euro is too low a margin, and they should be charging more?
    If I had 50euro margin from every lamb I bought, I wouldn't think it too bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Jimbo789

I bought mule ewe lambs last year in Ballinrobe and sold them all on to the one man last week for average margin of slightly more than €50.

I went to Ballinrobe Saturday and didn’t buy anything because they were too dear.

I suppose I am one of those ould lads :D

Just on the 50euro/head comment - would you consider that 50euro is too low a margin, and they should be charging more?
    If I had 50euro margin from every lamb I bought, I wouldn't think it too bad...

The €50 a head comment wasn't meant in a derogatory sense although perhaps it came across that way in my post. I personally don't think that €50 a head is enough to compensate for running another bundle of sheep for 12 months that are in direct competition with the breeding ewes. I'd rather pay the premium and buy hogget's that can go straight into the main flock and reduce the labour input to a minimum.

That's not to say that others aren't happy to run ewe lambs to hogget's and they may be content with the financial return. However a quick breakdown of roughly €1 a week to run a ewe lamb from autumn to the following autumn doesn't stack up in my circumstances. I'm of the opinion I was better put the labour and fodder into my ewes which are the main sheep operation and have a slightly easier time of it. If I ever get out of ewes or cut back in numbers then my personal opinion may change on the subject. Breeding ewe lambs is something I've considered but I've yet to commit to it due to concerns over an increase in lambing complications and a need for more labour input.

I've been doing hoggets for a number of years here. I have calculated they are costing me 35 euro to keep from autumn to autumn.

However I usually keep some of my own ewe lambs from my flock and some ewe lambs from a mixed batch of stores. By doing this it helps with the margin.

This years hoggets have averaged 167 euro so far.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Breeding ewe lambs is something I've considered but I've yet to commit to it due to concerns over an increase in lambing complications and a need for more labour input.

Only you and your farm can decide if it's worth it.

But we tried it for two years and it didn't work out. You really do have to run the ewe lambs as a separate batch of animals, before and after lambing, so they're away from the main flock for a good portion of the year.

An alternative option I'm half-thinking about is lambing two different batches of mature ewes - one at Christmas and another in May, but again you're dealing with two different flocks so not straightforward.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Will be in the market for 12-15 hoggets tonight for a friend so I'll let yous know how I get on.

Gave €160 for 6 good framed Suffolk hoggets... Top price 210 alot off nice sheep not sold for between 125/150

That seems the general run of the trade atm, any harm to ask where? A neighbor has me asked to buy ewe lambs but there getting dearer by the hour and he's starting to suffer grass fever​. I've never seen as many men looking to buy store lambs, I can't see it paying to hold lambs to factory weights when average store's are making within €10-15 of the price on the hook.

What price are you seeing for nice ewe lambs Albert, stores now, not breeding ones...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Was speaking to a friend who got €80 for 36kg ewe lambs in mart the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

Gave €160 for 6 good framed Suffolk hoggets... Top price 210 alot off nice sheep not sold for between 125/150

What kinda trade were rams?

Roughly €60-80 for 25-35kg, some of these would be mixed and more for all ewe lambs. The smaller the dearer and anything with real breeding potential would be a fiver more. There's lots of men looking for long keep lamb's atm, seen probably the finest pen of ****e I've ever seen in August sold last week, Cheviot and speckled ewe lambs not 20kg at €48.50. The comrade ram lambs weren't much heavier​ and made €43, total madness imo.

Inishowen mart... 11 rams there poor enough stock most went unsold... Any ewe lambs that were in tonight we're €8-10 back on Saturday even. Edit and it was sickening till see butchers bidding and getting the best off them around 50-55kg for 100-108

Was speaking to a friend who got €80 for 36kg ewe lambs in mart the other day.

Yea I got same on Saturday at mart. 36.2kg €80 mind you 41.6 only went €84 same kinda lambs outta same ram... Think I sent picture till Wrangler and ganmo

Was in Manorhamilton on Wednesday at Special hogget sale,trade was mixed early on but was quite lively for second half of sale.Prices were definitely up on same sale this time last year.Any crossbred hoggetts with strength and quality were 140+.saw nice Cheviots make over 170 and nice Suffolks were 180+.

Wasn't there but heard Hoggetts in Dowra last Saturday were not as good as other weeks, there was a special hogget sale on there today,followed by Special Lamb Sale tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭390kid

Was in Manorhamilton on Wednesday at Special hogget sale,trade was mixed early on but was quite lively for second half of sale.Prices were definitely up on same sale this time last year.Any crossbred hoggetts with strength and quality were 140+.saw nice Cheviots make over 170 and nice Suffolks were 180+.

Wasn't there but heard Hoggetts in Dowra last Saturday were not as good as other weeks, there was a special hogget sale on there today,followed by Special Lamb Sale tomorrow.
    A neighbor of mine was telling me there was prices of around 110 to 120 for ewe lambs even one pen 150!

390kid wrote: »

A neighbor of mine was telling me there was prices of around 110 to 120 for ewe lambs even one pen 150!

Those prices for ewe lambs would be the exception rather than the rule and will be the €180-200 hogget's this time next year. There's a few lads locally at it who do a good job on them and usually command top prices at the special sale's. It's a club as with everything else and the name on the pen can have a lot to do with it, that's not to say the stock aren't top quality but there's a certain level of favoritism to be seen buying from certain men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭390kid

Those prices for ewe lambs would be the exception rather than the rule and will be the €180-200 hogget's this time next year. There's a few lads locally at it who do a good job on them and usually command top prices at the special sale's. It's a club as with everything else and the name on the pen can have a lot to do with it, that's not to say the stock aren't top quality but there's a certain level of favoritism to be seen buying from certain men.

Aye think ya hit the nail on the head there alright. Some nice ewe lambs in Carrigallen last night for some very humble prices

I haven't done my sums exactly yet but sold the last of my ewe hoggets this week. It would appear I averaged 170 euros for them. I am mighty happy especially given beef at where it's at.

Some average kkman well done. What breed were they?

Manly Borris types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

kk.man wrote: »
    I haven't done my sums exactly yet but sold the last of my ewe hoggets this week. It would appear I averaged 170 euros for them. I am mighty happy especially given beef at where it's at.

Are their replacements going to b any dearer this year, some big money paid for sheep this year the kind spring in 2019 makes the 2018 forgettable hah

kk.man wrote: »

Are their replacements going to b any dearer this year, some big money paid for sheep this year the kind spring in 2019 makes the 2018 forgettable hah
    That's the question alright. Good ewe lambs on fire.

Good money being paid for the borris ewes every wear it seems. See a lot off men trying till source good cheviot rams aswell so more men jumping on the bandwagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

You have to be careful when buying nice quality ewe lambs and hoggetts as some fellas have them eating nuts all Summer along with their grass intake.
    They look like massive sheep in Mart but have unfair advantage over stock raised under ‘normal’ conditions in pens beside them.The unsuspecting buyer often gives top dollar for them only to witness them lose condition while out with the ram.

You have to be careful when buying nice quality ewe lambs and hoggetts as some fellas have them eating nuts all Summer along with their grass intake.
    They look like massive sheep in Mart but have unfair advantage over stock raised under ‘normal’ conditions in pens beside them.The unsuspecting buyer often gives top dollar for them only to witness them lose condition while out with the ram.

Sorry for multiple posts.

Good money being paid for the borris ewes every wear it seems. See a lot off men trying till source good cheviot rams aswell so more men jumping on the bandwagon.
    It's the other way around the cheviot ewe and the suffock ram.

I agree with hoggets being fed. They are certain sales I won't go to as my hoggets look small in comparison and I tell you mine are big and no way do them hoggets get that on grass alone. Those sales devalue my sheep but anyone buying mine they are getting genuine ewes.

Seen it up here aswell even the show and sale the twat off a judge give 1st prize lambs till a pen off 6 purebred texel ewe lambs that obviously had been fed from they were born say the man that bought them won't recognize them in a month unless he keeps pumping them with nuts.

This is something that's becoming more and more common in especially with lads that only run ewe lambs to sell as hogget's. I see a few lads locally that feed meal all summer to have the "best" pen come sale day, there's troughs thrown in the rushes and in backward spot's to try and hide the fact there getting feeding. I seen the dearest pen of hogget's from a recent sale and them inside the gate the following day roaring despite being assured they weren't being fed prior to sale. There's plenty of genuine stock about but there are some lads that have it all setup, lots of polling going on to achieve something stand out for the sales reports and offloading them afterwards to someone else for less it they get stuck with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

This is something that's becoming more and more common in especially with lads that only run ewe lambs to sell as hogget's. I see a few lads locally that feed meal all summer to have the "best" pen come sale day, there's troughs thrown in the rushes and in backward spot's to try and hide the fact there getting feeding. I seen the dearest pen of hogget's from a recent sale and them inside the gate the following day roaring despite being assured they weren't being fed prior to sale. There's plenty of genuine stock about but there are some lads that have it all setup, lots of polling going on to achieve something stand out for the sales reports and offloading them afterwards to someone else for less it they get stuck with them.

Hogget trade must be coming like the ram trade so!

Ard_MC wrote: »
    Hogget trade must be coming like the ram trade so!

I can only speak for myself, and I buy a few ewe lambs and sell as hoggets.

I don’t know if the feeding with ration is wholesale, I certainly don’t do it, for the simple reason that I am not sure it would pay.

On a year like this, with good prices - maybe it would. But 2 years ago, prices were poor, if you had put a few bags of ration into hoggets, you wouldn’t be long losing money...

But - like I say, I can only speak for definite for what happens on my own farm...

I'm not attempting to tar all hogget producer's with the one brush, the majority of sheep I see offered for sale are grass fed and genuine. Of course feeding meal is an extra cost and a gamble that may or may not pay off. It's often easy enough to recognize stock that have been well pumped up before sale and the ultimate decision is with the buyer.

As with the ram and bull trade I see plenty of lads that buy a bigger heavier type simply because if he's bigger he must be better despite the fact that it's taken plenty of feeding to achieve this advantage. There then left wondering when the beast in question melts without further feeding and blame the seller. If lads keep buying pumped up stock then of course breeders will produce them, bigger isn't always better imo. Having said that it a lot depends on whether you want a functional beast or the dearest one in the sale​.

I believe a lot off the bigger prices paid for hoggets heavy well fed hoggets are being paid by purebred men for ET. I know a local man that paid €230 for the cheviot x Suffolk hoggets till carry ET as there a big roomy ewe with milk which is what they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭thelegend1979

The practice of feeding breeding females is widespread. Local show and sale for speckled and suffolk ewe lambs and hoggets on Saturday saw the first prize speckled ewe lambs goin to plain texel ewe lambs that were clearly creep fed. Only made 110 but the owner was delighted.