Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Enquiring wrote: »
    Fair play to you Past30now but I don't think saying we've had use of this plan drawn up and funded for us for 20 years, now we think it's ok for the rest of you to get a go is going to cut it. Not with it having decimated the ladies and men's football championships and leaving Dublin GAA with an extraordinary level of finance available to them.

Ah enquiring, not even you can try to sell the idea that the ladies football was some sort of open utopia. How many winners in the last 17 years?

breezy1985 wrote: »
    The vast majority of the 33 counties involved will never win Sam so it honestly hilarious watching from the outside as the previous privileged few now bawl like babies about dominance.

Try being a Wicklow, Limerick or Leitrim football fan and shure theres always the club championship to get excited about

I’d thank this twice if I could. Funny how no one was worried about fixing inequality in the GAA for the entirety of the 20th century

What if the rest of the country wont go for it staying the way it is? I dont think holding the rest of the country to ransom is the way to go. Splitting Dublin is the prevaling idea here because it is the best fit for all the issues. Your not liking it doesnt change that reality.

Splitting Dublin being a pipe dream is the reality.

Plenty of good options have been given on here to help other counties raise their standards to Dublins level. Some counties are already embracing the opportunity, such as corks more professional approach to a sponsorship. Those are the counties likely to topple dublin, not a small group of internet users longing for a version of Gaelic football that existed 20 years ago and doesn’t anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Enquiring

tritium wrote: »
    Well for 7 of the decades since the 1920’s the most successful team has been Kerry, so I think that horse has long ago bolted.

(Won’t be long till someone comes back with the myth that everything was fine back in the good old days for...reasons...)

Did Kerry have their own development plan drawn up and funded for them to the tune of millions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭SheepsClothing

The vast majority of the 33 counties involved will never win Sam so it honestly hilarious watching from the outside as the previous privileged few now bawl like babies about dominance.

Try being a Wicklow, Limerick or Leitrim football fan and shure theres always the club championship to get excited about

The vast majority of counties actually had hope before this. Now there's only 4 teams who could even dream of getting within a score of Dublin.

Tipperary won the Munster Championship this year, Cavan in Ulster. There is no reason Limerick, Leitrim couldn't do the same with the right investment, but you're right about Wicklow and everybody else in Leinster, no chance.

If your only answer to the Dublin problem is to forget about intercounty altogether, then the sport is going to be in serious trouble.

Would funding those counties instead of the ones already with advantages not make more sense?

Ah enquiring, not even you can try to sell the idea that the ladies football was some sort of open utopia. How many winners in the last 17 years?

Did Cork have their own scheme drawn up and funded for them?

Did you manage to find any evidence that Dublin GAA were receiving less funding than everyone else prior to 2002?

Splitting Dublin being a pipe dream is the reality.

Plenty of good options have been given on here to help other counties raise their standards to Dublins level. Some counties are already embracing the opportunity, such as corks more professional approach to a sponsorship. Those are the counties likely to topple dublin, not a small group of internet users longing for a version of Gaelic football that existed 20 years ago and doesn’t anymore

Dublin spend close to 10 million per year just on wages and development. What other county comes close to that?

The vast majority of counties actually had hope before this. Now there's only 4 teams who could even dream of getting within a score of Dublin.

Tipperary won the Munster Championship this year, Cavan in Ulster. There is no reason Limerick, Leitrim couldn't do the same with the right investment, but you're right about Wicklow and everybody else in Leinster, no chance.

If your only answer to the Dublin problem is to forget about intercounty altogether, then the sport is going to be in serious trouble.

Over 20 counties have won provincials since the 90's. Minnows can become competitive if they get financial assistance. We know this because Dublin hurlers went from whipping boys to Leinster champions and All Ireland contenders after the Dublin only scheme was put in place.

Our games can be saved but it's up to all of us who want fair play to stand up and make it happen as those who are happy to compete on an uneven playing field won't be voting for change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,653 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Like **** you do. If even a quarter of the "true gaels" who claim they go to junior B club games, actually went to them, there would be no need for intercounty. You and all the other apologists would rather watch the sport wither and die at all levels, than reign in the sport killing dominance of Dublin.

Nobody grows up dreaming of scoring the winning point in a club championship game, no matter how much the "true gaels" of this country would try to convince people otherwise. The game will suffer in the long run from the death of intercounty.

To be fair that poster has a vested interest in this discussion with the money JP is pumping into Limerick.

Over 20 counties have won provincials since the 90's. Minnows can become competitive if they get financial assistance. We know this because Dublin hurlers went from whipping boys to Leinster champions and All Ireland contenders after the Dublin only scheme was put in place.

Our games can be saved but it's up to all of us who want fair play to stand up and make it happen as those who are happy to compete on an uneven playing field won't be voting for change.

A team like Monaghan could be model for everyone. Population of 61,000 and a match for any team in the championship, save for Dublin.

There's ways of bringing great competition to the championship and raising standards across the board, but not if you leave Dublin in as a single province sized team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,977 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The Dublin hurlers are not AI contenders and never have been in the 21st century they have 1 Leinster title and are roughly where they have always been other than that. And thanks for allowing smaller counties the odd prov football title every 50 years

Did Kerry have their own development plan drawn up and funded for them to the tune of millions?

Was I answering you?

No, no I wasn’t. I was answering a very specific point that one poster made

If you want to address that specific point feel free, otherwise I’ve no interest in taking the debate down one of your rabbit holes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

We know this because Dublin hurlers went from whipping boys to Leinster champions and All Ireland contenders after the Dublin only scheme was put in place.

I have no intention of getting into a tit for tat, but the correlation between the funding of GPO's and the success of the Dublin Hurling team eight years ago is a false narrative. If you take the 1993 boys as an example, the GPO programme was only in it's infancy when these lads were beginning to play underage games. The Ciaran Kilkenny/Jack McCaffrey/Paul Mannions etc would have had very little interaction with their club GPO's as juvenile footballers and hurlers. The county development squads that they were part of would have had much more impact, than the GPO in Castleknock/Clontarf/Crokes etc.

The lads playing hurling for Dublin in 2013 would almost all be older again, in some cases 10 or 15 years older. The GPO programme can't have had anything like a significant impact on that team.

The Dublin hurlers are not AI contenders and never have been in the 21st century they have 1 Leinster title and are roughly where they have always been other than that. And thanks for allowing smaller counties the odd prov football title every 50 years

They have been. They went from losing to Westmeath and getting hammered regularly to winning a national league and Leinster championship. They're now competing at the top table. This would have been unimaginable prior to the funding.

Do you think over funding the smaller counties instead of the bigger counties might help them?

In 2013, Dublin were Leinster champions and were leading Cork in the semi final when Ryan O'Dwyer was sent off. Cork lost to Clare in the final replay that year. If that doesn't make you a contender, what does?

Was I answering you?

No, no I wasn’t. I was answering a very specific point that one poster made

If you want to address that specific point feel free, otherwise I’ve no interest in taking the debate down one of your rabbit holes

So Kerry didn't have their own development plan drawn up and paid for them. Same as the Cork ladies. On the other hand, Dublin did have their own plan drawn up and funded for them. Hence why there's calls for splitting Dublin and not the others.

Past30Now wrote: »
    I have no intention of getting into a tit for tat, but the correlation between the funding of GPO's and the success of the Dublin Hurling team eight years ago is a false narrative. If you take the 1993 boys as an example, the GPO programme was only in it's infancy when these lads were beginning to play underage games. The Ciaran Kilkenny/Jack McCaffrey/Paul Mannions etc would have had very little interaction with their club GPO's as juvenile footballers and hurlers. The county development squads that they were part of would have had much more impact, than the GPO in Castleknock/Clontarf/Crokes etc.

The lads playing hurling for Dublin in 2013 would almost all be older again, in some cases 10 or 15 years older. The GPO programme can't have had anything like a significant impact on that team.

Dublin had a major upturn in results at underage hurling throughout the noughties. They won a number of titles at minor and u21 level having not been challenging seriously for decades. These players obviously moved up to senior and made Dublin competitive at the top level. This shows that it can be done for other minnows. Fund them and their standards will improve.

So Kerry didn't have their own development plan drawn up and paid for them. Same as the Cork ladies. On the other hand, Dublin did have their own plan drawn up and funded for them. Hence why there's calls for splitting Dublin and not the others.

Again, would you like to address the actual point that the poster I responded to made?

I have. You have been told repeatedly why the split must happen.

And I take it you have no evidence for your claim that Dublin received less funding than everyone else prior to 2002?

I have. You have been told repeatedly why the split must happen.

And I take it you have no evidence for your claim that Dublin received less funding than everyone else prior to 2002?

And you’ve been told repeatedly why you’re wrong

And evidence provided as to why you’re wrong

It’s up to you if you want to repeatedly ignore that

And you’ve been told repeatedly why you’re wrong

And evidence provided as to why you’re wrong

It’s up to you if you want to repeatedly ignore that

You've never even mentioned the close to 10 million per year Dublin now spend on wages and development alone nevermind come up with an argument as to why it should continue.

Even the Leinster council chairman has backed up the assertion that the funding has decimated the championship. Your only efforts to defend the funding disparity have been based in deflection and the untruth that Dublin received less funding than everyone else prior to 2002.

On the other hand, hard evidence has been provided to show just how much Dublin were over funded since 2002 and the effects that has had on and off the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭ooter

Jaysus, still using cork as a funding stick to beat Dublin with, the irony is staggering.
    So is the defence that dublin are some sort of force in senior hurling, jaw dropping.
    Laois beat them

JeffKenna wrote: »
    To be fair that poster has a vested interest in this discussion with the money JP is pumping into Limerick.

To be fair money from CC and money from your sponsor are 2 very different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭superbluedub

But it will happen. The sport can't survive the level of dominance Dublin football can produce.

My question for the naysayers is, how bad will it need to get, before you are willing to countenance a split? 10 in a row? A majority of championships every decade?

But it wont happen any time soon ;)You mean how good will it need to get before you are willing to countenance a split :D The sport survived Kerry winning 81 Munster titles and 37 All Ireland titles , Dublins run will end soon enough unfortunately

Dublin had a major upturn in results at underage hurling throughout the noughties. They won a number of titles at minor and u21 level having not been challenging seriously for decades. These players obviously moved up to senior and made Dublin competitive at the top level. This shows that it can be done for other minnows. Fund them and their standards will improve.

I agree a plan should be put in place with money to back it that small counties can avail of. They had one back in the day which Offaly got great use out of just before winning hurling All Ireland's.

You have to have the money but you also have to be able to use it. Limerick didnt just sign players like they were Man City that success had to be built up slowly

I think you know the answer to this one ;)

In 2013, Dublin were Leinster champions and were leading Cork in the semi final when Ryan O'Dwyer was sent off. Cork lost to Clare in the final replay that year. If that doesn't make you a contender, what does?

In 2013 ? That was 8 years ago :rolleyes:

They have been. They went from losing to Westmeath and getting hammered regularly to winning a national league and Leinster championship. They're now competing at the top table. This would have been unimaginable prior to the funding.

Do you think over funding the smaller counties instead of the bigger counties might help them?

That was 8 years ago;)

Laois will be happy to hear they are now "top table"