Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has a conspiracy ever been proven?

• 12-08-2019 7:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Like.........ever? When was the last a widespread conspiracy theory turned out to be true and blew people's socks off?

I'm not doubting the existence of cover-ups, but I am doubting that the orchestrators would leave a trail of breadcrumbs or easter eggs for nerds to follow in the future in the hope of uncovering some sort of plot.

Maybe that billionaire sex trafficker was murdered, or maybe he offed himself because he was facing 45 years in prison. Maybe he didn't fancy dying in jail and decided to go out on his terms.

Why were there no guards watching? Because humans are stupid who makes massive mistakes all the time. We know better than most just how truly negligent people can be after the smear test scandal.

Nothing to see here lads. It's just a horrible human being who capitalised on human negligence and chose suicide over 45 years confinement.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Big corporates break the law to corner the market and are happy to pay billions of dollars in fines because, it's worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

It could have

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

What was the classic false flag people quote, the gulf of tolken I think?

To justify the American war on Vietnam?

Wasn't that true?
    I'm not too much a history buff to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Big corporates break the law to corner the market and are happy to pay billions of dollars in fines because, it's worth it.

Which corporations have paid billions in fines?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

MK Ultra, the CIA's secret mind control programme, sounds like a whacky conspiracy but was 100% a real thing.

sabat wrote: »
    MK Ultra, the CIA's secret mind control programme, sounds like a whacky conspiracy but was 100% a real thing.

Yeah, seems to have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

During prohibition the US govt did poison alcohol.

Really?

I've never heard of that.

Governments spying on citizens.

USA stole dead baby body parts from Nagasaki and Hiroshima to do radioactive testing.

The USA has already had its first female president - Edith Wilson.

USA infected people in Guatemala with numerous STDs.

They infected black people in the US with syphilis which lasted for decades. Never treated them even though penicillin had been proven effective against it.

Dalai Lama worked for the CIA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

The Chilean coup detas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

1973 Chilean coup d’etat? I wasn’t alive at the time so am not sure if it was considered a conspiracy theory that the CIA had a huge involvement in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

George Orwell's ones in the main.

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    George Orwell's ones in the main.

Not really, but hints of it.

poisonated wrote: »
    1973 Chilean coup d’etat? I wasn’t alive at the time so am not sure if it was considered a conspiracy theory that the CIA had a huge involvement in it?

I think it's well known that the USA and the West were behind many coups in that region.

Remember when Thatchers son got meddling in Africa?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

It’s hard to think of a US war that didn’t involve a false flag.

Here’s one they didn’t do but only because President Kennedy didn’t agree.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Northwoods

If they had done gone ahead with the false flag most people would now think the people accusing the US government of doing it as crackpots.

Operation Northwoods was a proposed false flag operation against the Cuban government that originated within the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) and the Joint Chiefs of Staff (JCS) of the United States government in 1962. The proposals called for the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) or other U.S. government operatives to commit acts of terrorism against American civilians and military targets, blaming them on the Cuban government, and using it to justify a war against Cuba. The possibilities detailed in the document included the possible assassination of Cuban émigrés, sinking boats of Cuban refugees on the high seas, hijacking planes, blowing up a U.S. ship, and orchestrating violent terrorism in U.S. cities.[2] The proposals were rejected by John F. Kennedy.[3][4][5]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

British state collusion with Loyalist paramilitaries was dubbed a conspiracy and Republican propaganda up until the Good Friday Agreement nearly. At times serving members of the police and military were actively murdering people covertly and intelligence units directly answerable to the government were setting up assassinations; an angle which was never reported on to any real degree north or south.

Now it's common knowledge that it was widespread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Every one of them is "proven" if you listen to the nutballs. Whether you believe their "proof " is another thing. Generally if it involves everything the "mainstream media" tells you is a lie but this lad on YouTube has it all figured out then you knows its 100% true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

Iran-Contra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,424 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

They infected black people in the US with syphilis which lasted for decades. Never treated them even though penicillin had been proven effective against it.

I thought they took, already, infected men but treated them with “placebos” to study the effects? Either way, it was a shítty thing to do.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Moomoomacshoe

The Chris Watts case, I followed it closely and there was a conspiracy that the kids could be seen in the cctv while Chris was loading the body of his poor murdered wife Shannan.
    I'm probably not explaining it very well(worth looking up) but conspiracy theory was rife,was all over youtube and eventually he admitted all ie. Conspiracy was true. It was a really eerie heartbreaking case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Area 51 absolutely never existed at all. Until they admitted it did.

Remote Viewing/Psi Ops programs were a real thing too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Reisers

Kenyan doping conspiracy theory

Every one of them is "proven" if you listen to the nutballs. Whether you believe their "proof " is another thing. Generally if it involves everything the "mainstream media" tells you is a lie but this lad on YouTube has it all figured out then you knows its 100% true.

One of the things that works is convincing simpler minded people that because some conspiracies are nonsense, all are. Whether this itself is a conspiracy is open to debate.

Area 51 absolutely never existed at all. Until they admitted it did.

Remote Viewing/Psi Ops programs were a real thing too.

The aliens stuff is nonsense though. That’s just a secret base for future technology.

Psi programs were tried but didn’t work.

The suez war.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suez_Crisis

Israel attacked Egypt first and France and Britain demanded a cease fire, and that the belligerents move 10 miles from the canal. In fact the whole thing was a joint Israeli/French/British operation from the start. In fact Britain was reluctant to include Israel, fearful of the Arab response so the hoax was formulated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Oops!

That the earth is round.

Oops! wrote: »
    That the earth is round.

The moon is flat

At least the bit I saw Neil Armstrong walking on looked flat enough to me

The Chris Watts case, I followed it closely and there was a conspiracy that the kids could be seen in the cctv while Chris was loading the body of his poor murdered wife Shannan.
    I'm probably not explaining it very well(worth looking up) but conspiracy theory was rife,was all over youtube and eventually he admitted all ie. Conspiracy was true. It was a really eerie heartbreaking case.

I had a quick skim on wiki. That's not a conspiracy. That's just some guy lying about murdering his family.

You're nitpicking now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Reisers wrote: »
    You're nitpicking now

Hmm. Who did he conspire with?

Reisers wrote: »
    You're nitpicking now

So every time someone tells a lie it's a conspiracy?

....joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Hulk Hogan was the third man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Your Face wrote: »
    Hulk Hogan was the third man.

Well let me tell you brother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Moomoomacshoe

The conspiracy was that a child"s shadow could be seen in the cctv footage. Told you I wasnt explaining it well.:D

Unless you're saying the child is still secretly alive and was in on the murder of their mother and sibling, then again, no conspiracy. Just lies in the timeline or events of the murders by the father.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Failed invasion of Cuba in the 60s.
    Installation of Shah in Iran.
    Sabotage of Iranian nuclear research by targeting centrifuges (sufficient evidence to place it beyond reasonable doubt)
    Russian interference in American presidential election
    Institutional gaslighting in East Germany
    Weapons of Mass Destruction hoax to justify invasion of Iraq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I thought they took, already, infected men but treated them with “placebos” to study the effects? Either way, it was a shítty thing to do.

Not all of them were infected and none of them were told what the study was or that they were even being studied, just that they had been chosen to receive free healthcare. They didn't inform those infected that they had the disease so they weren't even aware of it and when penicillin became available as a cure they didn't offer it to them, instead opting to leave them unaware and untreated in order to study the effects of syphilis, leading to many of the men dying from a completely curable illness and their wives and children also being infected. And it went on for 30 or 40 years. Really ****ty thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Chuck Stuart in Boston drove his pregnant wife to a quiet area and she was shot in the passenger seat. She died the next day but hospital staff successfully delivered the baby

Stuart was also shot and was so badly injured he spent six weeks in hospital and missed the funeral of his wife

He claimed a black guy did it and the media went into overdrive with headlines getting angrier by the day. The police hauled multiple black men in for questioning and racial tensions in the city went up

Turned out Chuck shot his wife to get life assurance and had to shot himself to stage it

He killed himself jumping into a river before he saw a courtroom. There was an excellent made for TV move on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Operation Mockingbird

An awful lot of so-called 'think tanks' are little more than propaganda dissemination vehicles funded by who-the-hell-knows - essence that's people conspiring to influence public opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,987 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Chuck Stuart in Boston drove his pregnant wife to a quiet area and she was shot in the passenger seat. She died the next day but hospital staff successfully delivered the baby

Stuart was also shot and was so badly injured he spent six weeks in hospital and missed the funeral of his wife

He claimed a black guy did it and the media went into overdrive with headlines getting angrier by the day. The police hauled multiple black men in for questioning and racial tensions in the city went up

Turned out Chuck shot his wife to get life assurance and had to shot himself to stage it

He killed himself jumping into a river before he saw a courtroom. There was an excellent made for TV move on it
    An awful lot of so-called 'think tanks' are little more than propaganda dissemination vehicles funded by who-the-hell-knows - essence that's people conspiring to influence public opinion.
    These are not conspiracies.

"Conspiracy" is not just another word for "deception". A conspiracy involves an agreement, which must be secret, to do something illegal.

So one person cannot perpetrate a conspiracy; it takes a minimum of two people. They must both intend to commit a crime. They must agree about this. And they must intend and attempt to keep the fact of their agreement a secret.

Chuck Stuart wasn't involved in a conspiracy because he acted alone; there was no agreement with anyone. Think tanks which exist to advocate for policies that will advance private interests are not conspiracies because there is no illegality; advocating for policies which are in your interest is not illegal.

Has a conspiracy ever been proven? Yes, lots of times. A bunch of people agree to rob a bank/commit burglary/run a scam/evade tax by smuggling goods a border/whatever. They get found out. They get prosecuted and convicted. Their conspiracy has been detected and proven. Happens all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Peregrinus wrote: »
    A conspiracy involves an agreement, which must be secret, to do something illegal.

That's a criminal conspiracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

USA infected people in Guatemala with numerous STDs.

That was just Clinton on holiday. He got a bit carried away and the government had to clean up his mess.

That's a criminal conspiracy.
    It's pretty much any kind of conspiracy, if you change "illegal" to something like "wrongful" or "immoral". A group of people may make a secret plan together to throw me a surprise birthday party, but nobody would call that a conspiracy. It has to involve a secret agreement to do something wrong.

Not all covert action is a conspiracy.

Doesn't look like that was a conspiracy either, since there is no claim that the government secretly used toxic denaturing agents. The practice was "hotly debated in Congress", after all. Indeed, if the point was to deter people from drinking denatured alcohol, the more people that knew it was poisonous the more effective the practice would be.

So I think this one falls at the "secrecy" hurdle.

This thread, useful to begin with, has gone off track.

I think we should stick to government or corporate level conspiracies which is clearly what the op wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

It's been clearly debunked that the olsen twins are just one person the move across the screen so quick, your eyes don't even notice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

The Watergate conspiracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,955 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Maybe the Iran-Contra affair? There was a conspiracy, but I'm not sure if it fits the bill for a conspiracy theory.

Similar to Watergate, the story was broken by internal leaks to a news publication; there was no trail of breadcrumbs for the general public to discover.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)