Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What posts.

• 04-08-2019 7:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭

Looking to fence off the boundary of 5 acres and was wondering what type of posts are best to use. Tanilised ones seem to last as long as wet paper so not much faith in them. What about the octoposts or the dpm ones. Will be putting sheep wire on it with 2 row hi tensile on top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,148 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Dupont wrote: »
    Looking to fence off the boundary of 5 acres and was wondering what type of posts are best to use. Tanilised ones seem to last as long as wet paper so not much faith in them. What about the octoposts or the dpm ones. Will be putting sheep wire on it with 2 row hi tensile on top
    Haven’t used the octo posts yet but others are happy with them, we’re using cresot here
    There’s an indented which has a guarantee, after using a few I’m not confident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭buffalobilly

put in some imported posts 4 years
    ago seen one broken this morning
    must check tomorrow if they are rotton
    4 years would not be long enough for
    a post that was costing €3.50 each

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Fencing a roadside boundary at the moment.
    6 foot posts, 4 inches diameter, 30 yr guarantee ( they say) 7.10 euro.
    Octo posts much the same price.
    Them light green "tanalised" are not worth bringing home, even if they were free.
    Hope the ones I have bought are longlasting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Have you decided against clipex? Since your talking sheep wire would seem a good choice. Not particularly attractive looking but be grand if ascetics not a concern. Personally would put in traditional wooden strainer or else concrete end posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

There should be standards for fencing posts. When you're buying posts, you should know exactly what kind of timber it is and what treatment it got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Could you get your hands on old telephone / ESB poles?

A long one would give 3-4 heavy posts.

We got heavy poles years ago, and some of the heavier ones got cut into quarters, and they are still good 10 years later...

Put in those green ones a few years ago, and they all going now... sickening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,335 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Could you get your hands on old telephone / ESB poles?

A long one would give 3-4 heavy posts.

We got heavy poles years ago, and some of the heavier ones got cut into quarters, and they are still good 10 years later...

Put in those green ones a few years ago, and they all going now... sickening...

Anyone use Balcas, I bought them two years ago at 3.80 to replace balcas stakes that were there 20 years.....that's some service. I can't get them local now, I get creosote ones off agriknives, they seem very good, haven't paid yet for this batch think the last ones cost €6.50 - 7.00. but they're flying out of his yard, I waited 3mths for the last batch and this batch I just happen to be passing his yard and he unloading, even though I didn't need them I got the trailer and got 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

I'm using 3" square larch posts at the moment. Last ones we used have survived 20 odd years. Hopefully these will do something similar. €500/pallet delivered for 5'. 120 I think in the pallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Fencing a roadside boundary at the moment.
    6 foot posts, 4 inches diameter, 30 yr guarantee ( they say) 7.10 euro.
    Octo posts much the same price.
    Them light green "tanalised" are not worth bringing home, even if they were free.
    Hope the ones I have bought are longlasting...

Are them posts from tyrellspass

Reggie. wrote: »
    Are them posts from tyrellspass

I think they came from Tyrrellspass, to Co. Fermanagh, and now back to Cavan.
    100 metre HT Tornado wire 120 euro including vat.
    Last year it was 90 euro plus vat, thought the slide in Sterling would have kept it down in price.

I think they came from Tyrrellspass, to Co. Fermanagh, and now back to Cavan.

that's them

wrangler wrote: »
    that's them

Still on the pull ....

fALz6nN.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭grange mac

Erm... What's goin on here.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

grange mac wrote: »
    Erm... What's goin on here.....

I don't know....but it looks like a piss take on Agri knives, which isn't surprising as the owner of Agri knives is a major bull ****ter..... :D

Where was it posted?

put in some imported posts 4 years
    ago seen one broken this morning
    must check tomorrow if they are rotton
    4 years would not be long enough for
    a post that was costing €3.50 each

That's about the life of them now unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Anyone use Balcas, I bought them two years ago at 3.80 to replace balcas stakes that were there 20 years.....that's some service. I can't get them local now, I get creosote ones off agriknives, they seem very good, haven't paid yet for this batch think the last ones cost €6.50 - 7.00. but they're flying out of his yard, I waited 3mths for the last batch and this batch I just happen to be passing his yard and he unloading, even though I didn't need them I got the trailer and got 100

Bought balcas stakes for a few years.Replaced 27 out of 40 around my brothers house a week ago including a strainer.They were put up about 8/9 years ago and totally gone at this stage.
    Found them no better than anything else in the last few years.

Used those octo posts on a few jobs this year.One lot were so saturated in "cresote" that we went through 2 pairs of gloves just driving them.They were also very very brittle as had to drive one in with a sledge and it split a foot down after 2/3 blows.Pure rubbish.Other batches of octo seem a bit better but not worth the price imo.
    Very difficult to get good stakes at the moment.Drove "cresoted" ones a farmer got in Farm relief for a TAMS job and they were ok but very rough and uneven.

As regards treatment the cresote or whatever it is used is noty the same as used on ESB/Telecom poles.It stings on your bare arm but nothing like after handling an ESB pole cut up as a strainer.Hard to beat them for strainers/gate posts etc.

See a kingpost here at home at the end of a post and rail entrance gone totally and it was put up 6 years ago and treated/painted every year since.Only thing holding it in place are the rails and the fact that the gate on that side is very rarely opened.

Saw a job done recently with the clipex system .Looks ok(ish) and was told that erecting and wiring it is a doddle and works out about similar to timber stake job;perhaps a euro or less a metre dearer if even that.You have to use its own dedicated sheepwire as 8/80/15 will not fit the post correctly.Need a adopter plate on the post cap(simple job) to drive them but I assume a consaw to chop anything that meets rock.

Bought balcas stakes for a few years.Replaced 27 out of 40 around my brothers house a week ago including a strainer.They were put up about 8/9 years ago and totally gone at this stage.
    Found them no better than anything else in the last few years.

Used those octo posts on a few jobs this year.One lot were so saturated in "cresote" that we went through 2 pairs of gloves just driving them.They were also very very brittle as had to drive one in with a sledge and it split a foot down after 2/3 blows.Pure rubbish.Other batches of octo seem a bit better but not worth the price imo.
    Very difficult to get good stakes at the moment.Drove "cresoted" ones a farmer got in Farm relief for a TAMS job and they were ok but very rough and uneven.

As regards treatment the cresote or whatever it is used is noty the same as used on ESB/Telecom poles.It stings on your bare arm but nothing like after handling an ESB pole cut up as a strainer.Hard to beat them for strainers/gate posts etc.

See a kingpost here at home at the end of a post and rail entrance gone totally and it was put up 6 years ago and treated/painted every year since.Only thing holding it in place are the rails and the fact that the gate on that side is very rarely opened.

Saw a job done recently with the clipex system .Looks ok(ish) and was told that erecting and wiring it is a doddle and works out about similar to timber stake job;perhaps a euro or less a metre dearer if even that.You have to use its own dedicated sheepwire as 8/80/15 will not fit the post correctly.Need a adopter plate on the post cap(simple job) to drive them but I assume a consaw to chop anything that meets rock.

I have PDM stakes put up 8 or 9 years ago not looking great but fencers tell me they're using a better preservative now, they got it hard to get a proper alternative to creosote. It's like every thing, something proven, tried and tested the desk drivers have to ban it. Nannyism at its best, they cant trust us to be careful.
    As I said my contractor specified the balcas in 2001 and I replaced 50 of 200 this year

that's them

Pity about the seller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

I have PDM stakes put up 8 or 9 years ago not looking great but fencers tell me they're using a better preservative now, they got it hard to get a proper alternative to creosote. It's like every thing, something proven, tried and tested the desk drivers have to ban it. Nannyism at its best, they cant trust us to be careful.
    As I said my contractor specified the balcas in 2001 and I replaced 50 of 200 this year

Balcas used to be a good stake perhaps 10/15 years ago but now no better that anything else.
    Bought "cresoted" stakes here for a job about 3 years ago.Nice profile stakes as it was along a farm entrence.Think they were balcas;NI stakes anyway.Not too cheap.From a major agri company so no fly by night chancers
    Took about 3 months for them to turn totally white.Must have been spray painted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

I started using creosote posts in 2010. Only PDM stocked local. No complaints so far. I'd be hoping for another 15 years anyway.

Pity about the seller

That's not fair, Don't think he'd do you any harm,
    Someone once said to me that ''you have to remember they're all mad except us'' Its so true,but you and I are so flawless though, we can criticise.

Bought two bundles of PDM posts a few years ago.
    Drove one bundle, left the other in the shed over the winter.
    Both sets dried out and cracks opened, showing the preservative only went in a few mm.
    White wood to be seen in deeper.
    Never bought them again.

Bought two bundles of PDM posts a few years ago.
    Drove one bundle, left the other in the shed over the winter.
    Both sets dried out and cracks opened, showing the preservative only went in a few mm.
    White wood to be seen in deeper.
    Never bought them again.

Yea my PDMs were 2012, White and cracking That's why Im dealing with Agriknives , don't know anything about them so not recommending, but at nearly 70 they won't have to last me long

That's not fair, Don't think he'd do you any harm,
    Someone once said to me that ''you have to remember they're all mad except us'' Its so true,but you and I are so flawless though, we can criticise.

It is fair as hes one of the most hatest men in the county

Yea my PDMs were 2012, White and cracking That's why Im dealing with Agriknives , don't know anything about them so not recommending, but at nearly 70 they won't have to last me long

Yep, I'm thinking the same way.
    Put it up as well as I possibly can, and the next huer can replace it....

Does that mean he would do you harm.
    Comes from a very sound family

Does that mean he would do you harm

Yep and he has to others. Haven't come across one local contractor that has anything good to say about him

Fair enough so, I'll take him as I meet him

The county? He’s hated internationally thanks to his behavior on forums...
    If I never drive a stake again, I certainly won’t be buying his.....

hopeso wrote: »

I was being conservative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭southkilkenny

I bought approx 20-30 off him approx 2 yrs ago, though only drove a few of them in the spring there. So too early to say. If claims of equivalent to English electricity board poles and their longevity do hold up, then happy days. Was decent enough to deal with for the bit I did anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭toleratethis

Tbh, I'd be interested in those stakes to try out, but like you say I won't buy from him. Going to give concrete a whirl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭Odelay

Balcas used to be a good stake perhaps 10/15 years ago but now no better that anything else.
    Bought "cresoted" stakes here for a job about 3 years ago.Nice profile stakes as it was along a farm entrence.Think they were balcas;NI stakes anyway.Not too cheap.From a major agri company so no fly by night chancers
    Took about 3 months for them to turn totally white.Must have been spray painted.

What do you use to drive them in with? Machine bucket or post driver?

Tbh, I'd be interested in those stakes to try out, but like you say I won't buy from him. Going to give concrete a whirl.

There's a crowd in Cork doing the black creosote stakes. They have ads on Donedeal. They're supposed to be a good stake. I'm thinking of giving them a ring, and see if they deliver......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Anybody use those recycled plastic posts from Clare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

I’ve used them all. Octo ****e. Any kind of tanilised ****e. Pdm gone to ****e. I think the most of them are only dipped in creosote. No depth of penetration through the stake. The tyrellspass ones are a different story. Yer man might be an arrogant twit but the posts are the best i’ve Ever used. Pick any random post out of the bundle for a H straining frame crossbar and when you cut the point off you can be guaranteed it will be black all the way through. And boy does it sting. I had to get a weedeater visor for driving them because of creosote splashing in my face

Cattlepen wrote: »
    I’ve used them all. Octo ****e. Any kind of tanilised ****e. Pdm gone to ****e. I think the most of them are only dipped in creosote. No depth of penetration through the stake. The tyrellspass ones are a different story. Yer man might be an arrogant twit but the posts are the best i’ve Ever used. Pick any random post out of the bundle for a H straining frame crossbar and when you cut the point off you can be guaranteed it will be black all the way through. And boy does it sting. I had to get a weedeater visor for driving them because of creosote splashing in my face

I'd buy them up the north before I'd go to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

If ye want good stakes I can send a load of Oak and Chestnut stakes. Easily over 30yrs lifespan.
    1.80m = €2.20 each + transport.
    2.0m = €2.50 + transport.

Cattlepen wrote: »

They're so dense as well, it's like driving a steel bar in the ground, he's a business man too, When I was collecting stakes during the winter he pointed to the empty slatted shed and said there's a shed that didn't lose money, In fact it was actually making money at the time for him for another use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭enricoh

Anyone try leave the posts in a 50 gallon drum with waste oil in it over the winter?
    Or is that an old wives tail?
    No doubt there'd be an issue if u had an inspection!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Concrete posts are popping up around here, bit of hassle bury Ing them. How much are they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Concrete posts are popping up around here, bit of hassle bury Ing them. How much are they

If you’ve old single slats around their not a bad job. A disc will cut through two maybe three before it’s worn out. Just dig a hole and concrete after that. Lifetime job for straining posts.

Tried the plastic posts from Superwood twenty years ago, or more.
    Hard to get driven (not really rigid), you'd need to make a hole with a bar first.
    Too hard to drive a staple into, they then brought out a version with a row of holes pierced into them to get the staple started, but invariably the post would turn a little during driving, and the holes didnt line up with the wire...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Hard to get driven, you'd need to make a hole with a bar first.
    Too hard to drive a staple into, they then brought out a version with a row of holes pierced into them to get the staple started, but invariably the post would turn a little during driving, and the holes didnt line up with the wire...
    He was on Twitter there last autumn and winter with them. And nothing since.

I was thinking he's either busy out supplying customers and doesn't need any more online publicity or he's gone wallop.

They'd be nice alternative to a timber post. Like what you say about the pilot hole. I'd imagine they wouldn't take much abuse with a post driver. Too shock absorbent. A post hole borer would be the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭toleratethis

There's a crowd in Cork doing the black creosote stakes. They have ads on Donedeal. They're supposed to be a good stake. I'm thinking of giving them a ring, and see if they deliver......

McNamaras?
    kevthegaff wrote: »

5 foot 6 posts with reinforcing rods were 6.15 inc vat last I checked. I see a few around here that have been up a long time. Also some metal posts from a former goat dairy been there 35 years I'd say, look perfect from the road all the time.

McNamaras?

5 foot 6 posts with reinforcing rods were 6.15 inc vat last I checked. I see a few around here that have been up a long time. Also some metal posts from a former goat dairy been there 35 years I'd say, look perfect from the road all the time.

Yes, I think it’s McNamaras......but I only know what I’ve heard

I'd buy them up the north before I'd go to him

Who sells them up there? And are they independent of him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Hard to get driven (not really rigid), you'd need to make a hole with a bar first.

OK, they were a bit awkward, but are they still functioning?

Who sells them up there? And are they independent of him?

I bought them from McCorry Agri in Fermanagh. Just across the road from Sean Quinns glass factory, a whole mile across the border....
    And they get them from Tyrrellspass anyway..

Jb1989 wrote: »
    OK, they were a bit awkward, but are they still functioning?

They never really functioned, as you couldnt drive a nail or a staple into them.
    Ended up in the garden with strings tied around them for peas or something.
    Still as good as the day they were bought, though...

I had bought pig slats off them for weaners, and they were a super job.