Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If it's worth doing, do it right!!!

• 28-07-2019 8:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭

Hardly thought i'd slip away that easily, now some will be thinking what is he yammering on about now with his project 2021? The World Police and Fire Service Games take pace in Rotterdam in the summer of 2021, i hope to try and win an age group medal over the half marathon. To achieve such a thing i need to be in 1.21/22 half shape going on previous results.

I start a 12 week P&L plan tomorrow in the build up to the Amsterdam Half in October, hopefully i'll get some idea if i'm capable of a 1.22 Half in 12 weeks time or if i'm just kidding myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

That didn’t take long! Great to have you back. Super long term goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Just when you thought he was out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Sliabh Bawn 10k - 1st!!!!

While we were home the missus wanted to do a race together and this suited as it was only 30 minutes from my family home in Tang. I failed to tell her about the course route though!! Up and out the door and into a lovely sunny Saturday morning, quick drive to Ballyleague to collect race numbers and tshirts and then the bus journey up to the race start. Herself looked at me with disgust on a few occasions as we travelled up to Sliabh Bawn as the journey just kept rising and rising!!

Got out of the bus and strolled to the finish line to have a few words with ultraman who was on timing duty for the day, laugh a minute as always with him. I went and done a warm up and had been warned by Anto that the first two miles were straight up hill. Covered the first mile and turned back for race start, mother of god!! Met L doing her warm up and told her what to expect, wasn't best pleased. Back to the race start and a quick briefing of the route, what it was like and to be aware of the half and marathon runners already on the route.

Anto counted us down and bang on 11am we were off, a few runners moved ahead of me, i was happy to work into the race. Gradual climb then it flattened, this happened another two times before we rounded a corner and the first steep climb of the morning started, i had moved into first place at this stage with another runner few yards back. I powered up the climb and distanced the other runner, but what goes up must come down and he came back to me slightly on the downhill. Mile one beeped at 6.59 and an elevation gain of 203ft!!.

Into second mile and slight rise again before dropping down again along a gravel path to the second big climb in the first two miles, this one was longer and steeper than the first, passing walking marathoners who were after doing the climbs at least twice already and runners who had slowed to a shuffle. Turned right up to one of the big wind turbines and seen i had a bigger lead now, mile 2 came in at 6.43. A big drop awaited, and i just opened the tank and flew, i remember checking the watch at one stage and was running sub 5 minute pace, i passed a female runner at one point and she remarked how fast i was running.

Turned left at the foot of the drop and started climbing again, short sharp hills this time, kept occupied by passing half and marathon runners, mile 3 beeped in 6.12. Dropped down a bit again and turned left into the forest and ran along the trails for a while, felt the heat in here and slowed a bit to regain my breath somewhat, out of the forest and into another decent climb, legs less responsive on this one but i motored on still passing runners some urging me on, mile 4 beeped in 6.50.

Kept pushing and into another big drop straight into another hefty climb, pulled the pace right back as i was confident enough at this stage i had the win wrapped up, down and around another wind turbine and gave me a chance to see how far ahead i was. Only seen half and full runners coming before i turned away for another drag, mile 5 coming in at 7.11. We dropped down again and onto bark trail before rising again up towards another turn around at a wind turbine, enjoying the experience now and a few runners saying well done, turned right now and all uphill to the finish. I pushed on again to finish it out, mile 6 beeped at 6.48, pushed to the finish to be abused by Anto and my first race victory!!

Delighted with that and whatever about the field it was no weak route, beautiful setting but toughest race regarding hills i've ever ran.

Back to the flats of The Netherlands from next week on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Way to start a log
    So, only downhill from here then lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Fair f0cks there B. That first mile looks like it might even put the Inishbofin hills in the shade.

If I ever win a race, I'll probably start a new log as well :pac:

Best of luck with Project 2021. Tough target, but plenty of time to work your way up to that level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭MY BAD

Good to see you back logging. Well done in Sliabh Bawn. A few from our club did the half marathon back to back. Good luck with you half marathon goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Ah class - delighted to see this log. Best of luck with the goal!

Congrats on the win (and the gin:)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bluesquare

Well done on the win - sounds like a tough run but would make a nice walk !

Good luck with the long term goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Quality stuff. Welcome back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭healy1835

Welcome back Champ Champ :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Great to see this and the race report with your win!!! Some going on those hills!
    Best of luck with the HM goal :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Ah brilliant! Great goal to have to work towards, and what a way to start the log. Congrats on the win! Hope your wife has forgiven you for inflicting those hills on her ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

Congrats on your 1st place, very impressive!

Good luck with the 2021 Project. Have you an interim goal for October or do you need to be hitting 1:22 by then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Great to see you back logging. Congrats on the win .... sounds like it was a really tough course :eek:

Looking forward to following your journey to 2021 :D

ariana` wrote: »
    Congrats on your 1st place, very impressive!

Good luck with the 2021 Project. Have you an interim goal for October or do you need to be hitting 1:22 by then?

I’ve two years to get into hoped 1.21/1.22 shape, Amsterdam in October will tell me exactly how much work I need to do or weather i’m fooling myself. I will target the CPC here in Den Haag next March if Amsterdam goes well. After that I will concentrate on 5/10k stuff and build again towards summer 2021.

I think myself i’m capable of running 1.21/22 or I wouldn’t have made such a brash statement like I did opening the log, it’s been good enough for a medal in years gone past. Might not be in 2021 all I can do is my best on the day and see how I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Congrats on the race win B.

Loving the new log and the target. What's your HM PB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Haha, congrats man, you bossed it.

Great goal to work towards!!

Looking forward to following it.

Congrats on the race win B.

Loving the new log and the target. What's your HM PB?

1.26.11 J from March last year, like to think i’m a minute faster than than that now, another minute faster come October maybe!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Rocky Seven

Uv more fookin logs than Iv had usernames

Great to see ya Saturday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭coogy

Looking forward to following this one!

Well done on the 1st place too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Great to have you back logging. I have to say that's a great motivating long term target. It's well within your capabilities too. Looking forward to following your progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

Delighted to see this log! Looking forward to following. That's a great target to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Welcome back to the logs! And congrats on the win again. Will you be coachless for this 2021 journey?

Will be coachless alright P, what i’m doing by myself appears to be working in someway so i’ll continue as I am for now. It’s down to the man himself that I can interpret & follow a plan a whole lot better now. If I go astray though feel free to call me on it, same goes for anyone else who reads here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Congrats on the win B. Best of luck with the Project, it'll be great watching the training unfold and the way you are training and things are going for you, it'll be no bother to you.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Is this a bit weird, doing a race report request? But I'd be interested in reading about the South Dublin 10k pb :o

South Dublin 10k - 38:24(83rd/2560)

This was like being a teenager again, with a mix-up in car insurance my Dad had to escort me up to Grange Castle for this!! Being an ex-runner himself he was more excited than i was on the morning of the race. We left the Midlands in ample time as the auld lad isn't to hot when it comes to driving in cities but we were lucky we encountered no traffic. Plenty of chat on the way up to take my mind off the race which i was delighted with.

Got to Grange Castle with plenty of time to spare but there was already a sizeable crowd parked up. Got parked and i told the Da i was going doing a warm up, he strolled off by himself taking in the surrounds of a modern day race, last competitive race he ran he told me was DCM 1986:eek::eek::eek:. Few miles warm up where i bumped into aquinn and misterpaul of these parts for a chat, well aquinn talked, myself and misterpaul tried to squeeze a word in here and there!!! BackinBlack appeared and we had a chat with him before making our ways to race start.

Looked around for my Da but seen no sign of him, bumped into the bronzed Adonis himself, AMK, for a brief chat and the low down on the route before taking my place at the race start, the man on the mic at these races is really great craic. He appears to know everyone as they pass by his booth!! BinB and AMK soon joined me and i began to think i was way to far up but held firm. Shouted at healy1835 before we started but he was in the zone and never heard me.

More or less at 11am we were let off, loads of runners passed me in the first few hundred yards before we reached the first roundabout and turned right. My plan all along for this race was to take the first few miles conservative and if i felt good push on then. I remember the first two miles being downhill but from reading other reviews since it was slightly uphill, anyway down the Grange Castle road i'll call it and being passed by runners to my left and right, normally i'd respond and increase the pace somewhat to save face but let them off. I was feeling comfortable and got into a little group for first mile which beeped at 6.17. I felt good and the little group i was in was slowing so i pushed on a bit, we took a left here into Corkagh Park.

Runners who powered past me in the first half mile or so all came back to me, i remember Corkagh being very twisty but with plenty of support from folks. I was feeling strong now and kept pushing past runners, i past a Newry City runner on few occasions over about 800m, i overtook him and he appeared to make it his business to pass me again before he didn't. Mile two came in at 6.13 and feeling brand new!! Kept pushing on through the park and passing plenty of runners, i felt the pace upping but it didn't bother me, i was feeling strong and planned to make the most of the feeling while i could. Started to exit Corkagh as the greenery and nice paths gave way to more surburban thoroughfares. Kept pushing and mile 3 came in at 6.08.

Came to the 5k clock and i spied BinB about to pull over, gave him a holler to see if he was ok and he said he was suffering with a stitch:(:(. Turned left along Boot Road, last time i had been here i was giving directions on the route of a stolen car!! Knew it was a good drop down into Clondalkin village so didn't want to go crazy pace wise as there was still a while to go yet. Passed the Mill Centre, was here another Guard and myself helped crack one of the biggest Robbery cases in the history of the state*, downhill mile 4 was 6.05.

Moving along the 9th Lock Rd and i felt so strong, just after St Patricks Road we turned onto the Grand Canal, those that know me know i love running along canals. I powered on here, remember a few unfortunate runners pulled in and getting sick but i wasn't in the mood to feel sorry for them, for first time i realised that i may be on for a PB, felt great here as i was passing runner after runner which gave me great confidence, mile 5 clocked at 6.13.

I powered on knowing there was a climb to the left coming up off the canal path, got a HUGE shout out here from annapr and Annie Get Your Run which made the few hairs on my head stand on end and give me a real shot of adrenaline, i powered up the rise passing a few runners along the way. Right into Grange Castle Business Park where we started, mile 6 beeped at 6.06. The mickey dazzling started, a runner surged i followed, another pushed i followed again. Ah to hell with yiz i pushed to the end and didn't stop, last 0.2 in 5.13 pace. Massive shout form my Dad before crossing the line:D:D:D.

A 22 second PB!!!!!

Met AMK and KSU shortly after finishing, both finding it very humid and close. I don't think i remarked if found it that way but compared to Den Haag humidity wise it was practically freezing. Met the Da soon after and he put his big Connemara paws around me and said well done, what more do you want!!!

No more requests will be acceded to:P:P:P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Brilliant.. That is all.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Ah just spotted this and delighted to see it B. Best of luck with the 2021 goal. Looking forward to following your training and reading the race reports along the way.

Week 1/12 Amsterdam Half Prep!!

Monday 29.7.19

Rest Day. Back in Den Haag sans family, i promised myself a few drinks the night before to celebrate Sliabh Bawn, was more than a few!!

Tuesday 30.7.19

5.40 Miles Easy@8.17min/miles in 44min 43secs

This was supposed to be was a bonus run going on the plan, wasn't feeling the best but put it down to the heat and humidity!!

Wednesday 31.7.19

7.20 Miles Gen Aerobic + 8x100m strides@8.27 in 60min 47secs

Literally soaked through on my post run in the morning, waterproofs were of absolute no use either:(:(:(. Got home into running gear and out the door hoping to miss more biblical rain, from the outset i was off on this, just lethargic and breathing being laboured. Crap run.

Thursday 1.8.19

w/u, 15min LT(4min rec) 12min LT(4min rec), c/d

The first 15 mins LT got done, the 12 mins was 4 minutes old before i fell flat on my face into a ditch. Nothing else to be said.

Friday 2.8.19

Rest Day, enforced. Friday is light post wise, i struggled to cycle with 10kgs of post let alone my normal 40/50kgs. Came home fell asleep on couch for 3 hours, woke in pool of sweat and made my way to my bed!!

Saturday 3.8.19

9.65 Miles Gen Aerobic@8.19min/miles in 1hr 20min 15secs

Glorious day in Den Haag, into work early and got my loops out of the way before 1pm, home and out the gap. Lethargy was still evident but much less than earlier in the week. Sweated buckets on this due to the humidity, my shorts started out light blue but ended up dark navy.

Sunday 4.8.19

7.65 Miles Gen Aerobic@8.17min/miles in 63min 23secs

Best run of the week, bouncing off the road again and really really enjoyed this. It was an absolute belter of a morning in Holland. As i came around by Badhuisweg i contemplated heading up Pompstationweg for a longer run, but still conscious of not being well all week i headed for Madurodam instead and towards home.

38.30 miles for the week when it should have been 46 per plan. Best get the crap week out of the way in week 1 say than later in the plan, better week on the way as i feel i'm back to full strength now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

Balance is restored.

juke wrote: »
    Balance is restored.

As in my stupidity J.....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Great news, wish someone would have told me you'd started a new log.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Great to see you back logging again b.

Brilliant, love the race report! Well done again.
    OOnegative wrote: »
    Passed the Mill Centre, was here another Guard and myself helped crack one of the biggest Robbery cases in the history of the state*
    Ah now we need a report about this! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

A shiny new log with a race victory and a 10k PB to start with B, well done. The very best of luck with the long term goal.

Week 2/12 Amsterdam Half Prep!!

Monday 5.8.19

9.15 miles Gen Aerobic@8.26mi/miles in 1hr 17mins 07secs

Hot and Humid!!

Tuesday 6.8.19

7.10 miles Gen Aerobic(6x12sec hills + 8x100m strides)@8.19min/miles in 59mins 06secs

Wednesday 7.8.19

Rest

Thursday 8.8.19

11.10 miles Endurance @7.49min/miles in 1hr 26mins 45secs

Hot but minus the humidity for once, felt strong running this despite the heat.

Friday 9.8.19

w/u, 18min LT(4min rec), 14min LT(4min rec), c/d

85% humidity on this so paired the pace back, glad i did as i sweated buckets. Glad to get it done. 9.70 miles for session.

Saturday 10.8.19

5.05 miles Gen Aerobic@8.28min/miles in 42mins 45secs

Sunday 11.8.19

Rest, severely hungover:o:o:o.

42.40 miles for the week.

Week 3/12 Amsterdam Half Prep!!

Monday 12.8.19

Rest, still feeling effects of alcohol!!

Tuesday 13.8.19

8.40 miles Gen Aerobic@8.28 in 1hr 11min 11secs

Wednesday 14.8.19

Rest.

Thursday 15.8.19

12.10 miles Endurance@7.46min/miles in 1hr 34mins 01secs

Felt great on this despite the usual high humidity.

Friday 16.8.19

7.45 miles Gen Aerobic(8x100m strides + 6x12sec hills)@8.16min/miles in 61mins 36secs

Saturday 17.8.19

w/u, 20min LT(4min rec), 16min LT, c/d

Strongest i've felt on one of these LT runs, had to stop a few times for traffics lights or give way to cyclists but got back into pace very easily. Big confidence boost. 10.10 miles for session.

Sunday 18.8.19

12 miles Endurance with last mile@LT +30secs@7.39min/miles in 1hr 31mins 51secs

Tired starting out but once i got running I had to rein the pace back, felt very strong on this despite the usual humidity:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:.

50.05 miles for the week.

I've been struggling mentally again for past few weeks so the log suffered as a result. Have a fair idea what triggered the change and steps have been put in place to make sure it doesn't happen again. First real wobble in a longtime so it scared me somewhat to be honest, working day by day to get back to myself and it appears to be working. Will update the log twice weekly from here on in as i'm failing to remember details of runs and how i felt on same.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,665 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I keep a Word doc on my computer to throw stuff into during the week, before tidying it up for posting. Wipe it then and start over.

Mind yourself B, hope you're ok.

Week 4/12 Amsterdam Half Prep!!

Monday 19.8.19

Rest Day.

Tuesday 20.8.19

8.05 miles Gen Aerobic@8.28min/miles in 68mins 08secs

Just the heat to deal with on this one, second summer has arrive in the Netherlands. Out and through Park Zorgvliet, Scheveningense Bosjes, around Westbroekpark and looping back home the way i went.

Wednesday 21.8.19

6.25 miles Easy/Gen Aerobic@8.28min/miles in 52min 56secs

Same loop as yesterday more or less with a bit shaven off, lovely warm evening in Den Haag.

Thursday 22.8.19

8.65 Gen Aerobic + 8x100m strides@8.20min/miles in 1hr 12mins 08secs

Legs were dead on this, not sure if new runners are required or its the extra walking delivering the mail, have been assigned extra loops lately as i'm to ´efficient´. It was hot, hot, hot out mid afternoon.

Friday 23.8.19

Rest Day, visitors arrived from home so no chance to run.

Saturday 24.8.19

10.30 miles Gen Aerobic@8.29min/miles in 1hr 27mins 24secs

Out before work on this one, first few miles are always a slog on runs in the morning but once i loosened out i enjoy it. Out and through Bosjes Van Poot and Westduinpark before heading back for the harbour and onto Westbroekpark. Few runners out and all had a friendly ´Hoi´ for me. Looped back through Scheveningense Bosjes and back home. Young lad came to work with me then and delivered the mail with me.

Sunday 25.8.19

Kerkpolderloop 5k - 18.30.10(4th/90)

Not bore ye with a full blown report on this, seeing it was a stepback week plan wise i said i'd give this a bash. Up and caught the tram to Delft and walked the 2k or so to race start. At 8am i knew it was going to be hot, got to race HQ and changed and done a decent warm up, back to the start line and a quick briefing in Dutch. I could decipher from my limited understanding that it was already 25 degrees out, and it felt it. Bang on 10.15am we were away, few runners went out quick and they turned out to be the 3 that finished ahead of me, one a female runner who won that had a beautiful running style.

First mile went to plan and moved into 3rd for a time until more or less half way through the second mile the legs had enough, i tried to force the pace a few time but they were not having it, paired the pace back and the runner i had passed overtook me again. Finished out mile two and just ran tempo pace for the rest of the race. The legs had nothing more to give and that's all i had on the morning, ran the best race i could. Mile splits were 5.47, 5.59, 6.17 and 5.18 for last bit. Had a chat with the runner who finished ahead of me, he was Spanish and found it very warm so it must have been. Turns out it was a diverse top 4, first two runners were Australian, 3rd Spanish and 4th a pasty Irishman. Great event for €2, chip timing accurate route and Tropical weather. 6.80 miles for the morning.

40.05 miles for the week and i'm way behind updating again.

My humour has improved again, its like the old tv's that had the built in rabbit ears. The picture is fuzzy to begin with and you have to adjust it till the picture gets clearer but even the slightest adjustment can knock the picture off again till you eventually get it perfect and all is clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Good stuff Barry :D

Nice one B! Like the aside there about the Spanish lad feeling warm. You may well be acclimitising, and I hope you are, but reading between the lines here I think you nailed it. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 crockmac

Great event for €2, chip timing accurate route and Tropical weather.

That's outstanding value all right.

I'm still new to these parts, but it's great to see the new log and some inspiring results. Fair play.

Week 5/12 Amsterdam Half Prep!!

Monday 26.8.19

Rest Day.

Tuesday 27.8.19

8.10 miles Gen Aerobic@8.28min/miles in 68mins 32secs

It was over 30 degrees heading out at 5pm on this, but thankfully no humidity to deal with. Usual jaunt around the neighbourhood, serious amount of sweating took place!!

Wednesday 28.8.19

8.10 miles Gen Aerobic & 2(6x100m strides)@8.15min/miles in 66mins 53secs

Humid, humid, humid is i can say on this one. Unreal amount of sweat but an enjoyable run none the less.

Thursday 29.8.19

11.20 miles Endurance@7.48min/miles in 1hr 27mins 21secs

Again another humid run, headed for Ooostduinpark on up Pompstationweg and up the Col de Scheveningen where i turned around and retraced my steps back home. Felt great on this once more despite the humidity,

Friday 30.8.19

w/u, 22min LT(4mins rec), 18min LT, c/d

Another warm day out so i headed to Zuiderpark where i knew i'd get some shade from the tree cover in the park. From knowledge of running here the Garmin tends to be 2-3 secs off pace wise so took that into consideration also. Toughest run i had in a long while, just a mental slog to get the LT stuff done. Ask me to run a 10 mile race at that pace i wouldn't doubt myself, but do it as a solo session with recovery period inbetween it becomes an issue:rolleyes:. Got it done but it was hard work, splits on the LT sections were:

22min - 6.28, 6.26, 6.23, 6.19(3.41miles)

18min - 6.26, 6.23, 6.29(2.78miles)

10.65 miles for the session.

Saturday 31.8.19

3.30 miles Recovery@8.55min/miles in 29mins 31secs

Just the 28 degrees today!! My legs were feeling effects of yesterdays sessions so was glad of the recovery pace miles.

Sunday 1.2.19

Rest Day, zero window for a run.

Monday 2.2.19

14 miles Endurance with last 3@LT@7.29min/miles in 1hr 44mins 45secs

Cheating a little on this but its within the day period i work off for a week so i'm counting it:P:P:P. Out late afternoon into the sun but for first time there was a cooling breeze to accompany it. Ran the first 7 miles out towards Monster into said cooling breeze and felt great. Turned around and felt the benefit of the breeze at my back straight away. Shared the cycle lane with the bikes on the way back with no issues as always. Knew the LT miles would be the lumpiest part of my route but was looking forward to them. Into pace no bother and they flew by, i felt super strong despite the previous 11 miles in the legs. Splits for last 3 were:

6.24, 6.23, 6.21.

Take another 10 at that pace in 7 weeks!!

55.35 miles for the week. Good weeks running and a few confidence building runs in there, chomping at the bit again!!!

Nice going B.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Nice going B.

Cheers D, feeling good(hope those aren’t famous last words!!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

You're banging out great training runs on a regular basis B. Long may it continue.

Week 6/12 Amsterdam Half Prep!!

Tuesday 3.9.19

4.15 miles Recovery@8.54min/miles in 36mins 54secs

Easy jaunt around Bosjes Van Poot and Westduinpark to loosen the legs out after previous days longer run. Legs woke up after mile or so, glad the pace was slow.

Wednesday 4.9.19

9.15 miles Gen Aerobic@8.27min/miles in 1hr 17mins 27secs

Bit of an urban trot this evening, headed in towards the city centre to check the Malieveld out for a potential venue for a session. Perfectly flat square of a kilometre in length ideal for running sessions, ventured on into Haagsche Bos and some of the lovely little lakes within it. Enjoyable run.

Thursday 5.9.19

7.35 miles Gen Aerobic + 6x12secs Hills & 8x100m strides@8.14min/miles in 60mins 31secs

Usual route for this session around Scheveningse Bosjes and Park Zorgvliet, nice little hill here for doing the hills, short and sharp. Was suppose to be session day but it was blowing an absolute gale and would have been pointless, tired on this, sleep not great of late.

Friday 6.9.19

Rest Day, badly needed to.

Saturday 7.9.19

12.40 miles Endurance@7.44min/miles in 1hr 35mins 57secs

On out towards Monster before turning off in Ockenburgh and taking in a few laps of the hills, there was a triathlon on using the hills also for the mountain bike route. They were more than happy to share the route with me. My hips tightened up towards the end of this, first time in a while for that to happen.

Sunday 8.9.19

w/u, 3x1,200m +3x1k@5k(2mins rec), c/d

Left this till afternoon time, few drinks the evening before so wanted the effects to wear off a bit. Into town again and to the Malieveld to do this, had the entire place to myself. Into the session after the warm up, first one as always hurt but after that i was comfortable enough. Drinks the evening before made this slighlty tougher but never a question of being under pressure in anyway. Paces for intervals came in as follows:

5.50, 5.52, 5.50, 5.50, 5.49, 5.47.

Nice session and a location i'll use again. 10.20 miles for the session.

Monday 9.9.19

15 miles Endurance@7.46min/miles in 1hr 56mins 35secs

Off into Oostduinpark and its wonderful surrounds for this, out and back route that took me onto some trails i had never ran on before. Glorious morning for a run in Den Haag, slightly cool and sunny with limited humidity. Body feeling good after previous days session and finished this strong.

58.25 miles for my week and feeling strong at the end of it. Half way through the plan and all going as I hoped, not sure about my fitness level but will find that out in a few weeks with a race in the schedule. Dreaded 40 minute Tempo on the cards this week, mind battle starting already. Good weeks running again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭MY BAD

Are you following a plan or is it all self coaching?