Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Modified cars. What do people here in AH think of them?

• 25-07-2019 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,430 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

Me personally I hate them.

The ones I hate the most do are the stupid looking one with stupid oversized exhaust and some little spoilt brat driving it the obviously dos not care about anybody including him or herself.

If I was in Government there would be a law to ban them and if found driving one it would be 10 years in prison.

A car is designed the way it was for a reason.

If you can't afford a fast car designed by the car manufactures then tought sh.it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

There's no culture of it here in Ireland beyond knack bags with crap exhausts and cheap superficial body crap.

But proper mods are near invisible.. Real sleeper cars are the business.

Check out an Aussie crowd mighty car mods - they made a supercar out of a Mk7 Golf R.

2.5 second 0-60...

Yet it still largely looks stock.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

What's not to love about an exhaust that sounds like a jet engine on a Micra or Fiesta?

Knobs thinking they're cool doing handbrake turns in car parks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Wanker's, absolute ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The ones that have been lowered to such an extent that they have to crawl over speed ramps are hilarious.
    Don't know how they manage on anything other than a smooth road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

If it's done tastefully then I like it and I love something with a really good paint job that looks wet all the time.

I could never understand the thing of getting say a Corsa/nova or saxo etc and spending€20k on it but still only had a 1.2 or less.....

Why oh why....

We do need nicer cars here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,422 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

My 08 mondeo 2.0 diesel is modified, I've blocked the EGR, I think its grand.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

kneemos wrote: »
    The ones that have been lowered to such an extent that they have to crawl over speed ramps are hilarious.

It's great when they destroy them! Their little devastated rat faces.

Oh they are the devil's advocate ..,

I wants to pull them out and repeatedly run them over and then some...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,052 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Fart cans. Thank **** they’re a dying breed. To be replaced by GTI drivers unfortunately! :(

Those clowns usually just cut their springs too

You monster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

The only ones I hear around my area are 90’s Honda civics farting about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

lawred2 wrote: »
    Check out an Aussie crowd mighty car mods - they made a supercar out of a Mk7 Golf R.

2.5 second 0-60...

Yet it still largely looks stock.

They bolted 15k of parts onto a golf. A supercar it is not lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

AMKC wrote: »
    Me personally I hate them.

The ones I hate the most do are the stupid looking one with stupid oversized exhaust and some little spoilt brat driving it the obviously dos not care about anybody including him or herself.

If I was in Government there would be a law to ban them and if found driving one it would be 10 years in prison.

A car is designed the way it was for a reason.

If you can't afford a fast car designed by the car manufactures then tought sh.it.

Does your hate extend to LPG conversions, air suspensions and snorkels fitted to 4x4's?

I don't care much for fellas adding fart cannons and fake CB aerials but wouldn't tar everyone who drives a modified car with the same brush

kona wrote: »
    They bolted 15k of parts onto a golf. A supercar it is not lol.

Should have use quotation marks... Should have expected a pedant would be along to take me literally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

I was huge into it spent thousands on cars and modifications from 2006 to 2010 type r's evo's glanzas you name it.
    The scene kind of died in 2008 when recession hit never recovered.
    Im 31 now and i look back thinking what was i at the talk of the town i must of been!haha
    Great times were had all the same though.

I enjoy a tricycle with speakers attached. Breaks the cacophony of crows in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

lawred2 wrote: »
    Should have use quotation marks... Should have expected a pedant would be along to take me literally

Ooooooh your hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

One of my cars is way too low, a brace underneath it pulled a cats eye out of the road one night. One car has an exhaust coming out the front bumper, makes an awful amount of noise and another one has about 1200 worth of a body kit and stupidly over the top spoiler, to be honest I wouldn't have it any other way

kona wrote: »
    Ooooooh your hard.

Urm ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Theres fierce boooo out of her laaaaaad

No it's coooooooo
    Cooooo9ooooooooo lad

What's not to love about an exhaust that sounds like a jet engine on a Micra or Fiesta?

And people stare at them as they go by. They probably think its people admiring their car but really they are thinking what a knob head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,401 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Yeah it's grand. Causing even more cancer than your diesel car would as standard. Good man.

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Anyone with those goddamn ear-shattering exhausts are CLEARLY compensating for something, and failing HARD.

jaxxx wrote: »
    Anyone with those goddamn ear-shattering exhausts are CLEARLY compensating for something, and failing HARD.

Brain cells or hairs in their ears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Brain cells or hairs in their ears

Either that or they're insecure about the size of their feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

jaxxx wrote: »

So every motorcyclist then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Darksoul

Mate used to drive a Toyota starlet turbo with a ridiculous big exchaust ,so bad driving through town and setting off the alarms as ya rev the exchaust backfires and the bloody alarms kept going off,was funny at the time,but absolutely stupid now that I think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Each to their own. I used to love f cking around with motorbikes years ago.

There's a gobsh1te of a taxi driver round here that modified his 15 yr old diesel Mercedes by putting an AMG badge on the boot. He drives round the town like a loon thinking it is an AMG. He's in his 60s FFS

sligojoek wrote: »

There's a gobsh1te of a taxi driver round here that modified his 15 yr old diesel Mercedes by putting an AMG badge on the boot. He drives round the town like a loon thinking it is an AMG. He's in his 60s FFS

That's small man syndrome.... It's ok there is no cure

I don't know how people actually think the big exhaust does anything other than make people laugh at you or roll their eyes.

I've never seen anyone compliment someone on having an ali-express satelite dish sticking out under the bumper. Looks woefully bad.

Also, if you ever feel the need to put a sticker on your car... stop. Don't do anything. Don't think. Don't move. Stop everything. You'll be glad of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

There is no substitute for the sound of real power.

One avenue of pleasure that has been closed off to me is, going down to Tipperary and taking my 1977 Honda CB-X out for a sunday. Standard exhaust zooming around country roads in 2nd 3rd and 4th gear. Then after that , sweep the motorway for speed vans, and try out 5th and 6th gear . No aftermarket pipes on c on boyracer cars can replicate that sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

I had to double check i wasnt in the Donald trump thread for a second.
    The amount of hate in here is crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,677 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Go on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't like modified cars? Don't come to Japan

pic9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I haven't the first clue about them. So i would probably just sound ill educated on them.

I honestly have no feelings either way which is I suspect how most people feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Darranj85

There is no substitute for the sound of real power.

One avenue of pleasure that has been closed off to me is, going down to Tipperary and taking my 1977 Honda CB-X out for a sunday. Standard exhaust zooming around country roads in 2nd 3rd and 4th gear. Then after that , sweep the motorway for speed vans, and try out 5th and 6th gear . No aftermarket pipes on c on boyracer cars can replicate that sound.

Thats one of the best sounding engines of all time. very jealous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,515 ✭✭✭Rawr

3153830022_large.jpg

When I was still living in Ireland I remember seeing the the odd 90's Micra done up like this (or some varient).

Just smacked of a despriate attempt to make the old hatchback they could just afford (or possibly inherited from an elderly relative) look more cutting edge. It just ended up looking sad. Especially if they added a racing spoiler and "mud flaps" (which tended to look like strips of red rubber they just stuck into the wheel-well. Flapping all over the place while they drove)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I do love the reaction one's get out of these cars. One of them goes by at about 50km/h and they yell he's flying it he's doing 160km/h just because there a tad noisy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Is it 2005 again? Because i haven't seen many driving around since then..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Depends on the modification really. Improving the turbo, intakes and filters and chipping the car is completely fine in my books, but all the spoilers, rims and skirts just look rubbish. There's a plethora of modern cars that look fantastic with stock pieces. The funny thing about these shít boxes is that the owner generally prices their car way above it's worth "I put 15 grand into her lad", talking about a 99 clio, :rolleyes:

You are an idiot if you put this much into a car. Especially when you think the value will magically go up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Noisy shïtboxes with silly glued on bits and stickers, a joke really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

It's funny how they speed up when going through a town/village when they see people standing talking, or pass by a walker while out in a rural area

"Look how great I am, I can make it go faster!!" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

The Fhast and the Fhurious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I’ve a modified car. You’d never know to look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,422 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

unkel wrote: »
    Yeah it's grand. Causing even more cancer than your diesel car would as standard. Good man.

Ah but you see, the DPF is still intact, so no cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

Theres alot worse thing lads/wans could be spending their money on tbh

Each to their own,i do like a tastefully done up.car inside and nice alloys etc....

If we all liked same thing,world would be wicked boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Funny when you see a youngfella in a fartcannon coming down the road looking like he just won a trollydash in Halfords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

_blaaz wrote: »
    Theres alot worse thing lads/wans could be spending their money on tbh

Each to their own,i do like a tastefully done up.car inside and nice alloys etc....

If we all liked same thing,world would be wicked boring
    still theres difference between real tune up, and dressing up corsa fiesta or some other crap with plastic and spray of paint on brake drums.

seen nice bmw 5 series 08 tinted all black wheels spaced out a bit, but the fck couldnt even drive 20mph over town without grinding all bottom over any inch crack on a road.