Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

People being killed by one punch to the head seems more and more common

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Anto Lynch

Classy guy. I doubt you will be contributing much more to this conversation (thankfully)

Thats rich coming from a racist.

Anto Lynch wrote: »

Please explain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Please explain...
    Classy guy. I doubt you will be contributing much more to this conversation (thankfully)

Mod: Both of you - quit the sniping, and throwing accusations about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It seems more likely that the guy in question tried to chat her up, she told him to jog on, which started the argument.

Given the OP's preponderance of wrong information, I'd take his claim with a large pinch of salt.

Any road, no, more people aren't dying from single punches, we're just more vigilant about following up on them. 30 years ago the Gardai would have been faster just disperse it as a "drunken brawl" and send the other guy to hospital without taking any names. When he dies the next day, he was killed because he "got into a fight".

Random attacks were also far harder to solve given the lack of CCTV and other media to track people's movements.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭Problem Of Motivation

He got five years for manslaughter so don't know where you're getting that €100 fine from...

(Should have been more than five IMO as he was out on bail for another unprovoked assault at the time but that's neither here nor there...)
    Well that was what I heard from his mother on Joe Duffy. Must have been appealed or something

seamus wrote: »
    It seems more likely that the guy in question tried to chat her up, she told him to jog on, which started the argument.

Given the OP's preponderance of wrong information, I'd take his claim with a large pinch of salt.

Any road, no, more people aren't dying from single punches, we're just more vigilant about following up on them. 30 years ago the Gardai would have been faster just disperse it as a "drunken brawl" and send the other guy to hospital without taking any names. When he dies the next day, he was killed because he "got into a fight".

Random attacks were also far harder to solve given the lack of CCTV and other media to track people's movements.
    Do you remember the one in Monaghan? It was the one where somebody corrected you when you thought Monaghan was in the North. Remember that thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

People being killed by one punch to the head seems more and more common

Media love to sensationalize things. Might have been one punch that eventually caused death, but the 20 previous punches and 20 kicks probably contributed too :-[

thomasm wrote: »
    Pure speculation and grossly unfair on the girl in question who is suffering enough I'm sure without stuff being invented to make her feel worse FFS
    You would bloody well have to wonder what she was doing over talking to your man. He hardly looked like any other guy. She'd should have known by the look of him that he was scum.

bcklschaps wrote: »
    Might have been one punch that eventually caused death, but the 20 previous punches and 20 kicks probably contributed too :-[
    Not in any of the cases I'm referring to.

You would bloody well have to wonder what she was doing over talking to your man. He hardly looked like any other guy. She'd should have known by the look of him that he was scum.

Jesus. Blaming anyone except the guy who punched the other guy is ridiculous and insensitive

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Limpy

If you kill a person with one punch, Will the max sentence be manslaughter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

There was a programme about this last year, the shocking thing was a few of the lads who had hit someone and killed them didn't seem bothered about it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭johnsparkexile

If your going to talk about the case at least have the decency to read about it first, The girlfriend was/ is entirely blameless in all of this.

A man, who was on bail for assault when he punched and killed a talented musician at least twice into the head in an unprovoked attack, was jailed for five years for his manslaughter.

Craig McGrath (25), from Rathfaddan Park in Waterford city, was sentenced on Friday afternoon by Judge Eugene O’Kelly. McGrath pleaded guilty before Waterford Circuit Criminal Court in March to the manslaughter on July 13, 2018 of Damien O’Brien (27) arising from an assault that occurred on July 7, 2018 at the junction of John Street and Manor Street. McGrath, who has 24 previous convictions, was on bail for a charge of assault causing harm to Kiefer Dowling on August 18, 2017 at Shortts, John Street at the time that he punched Mr O’Brien.

Mr O’Brien from Kilmacow, Co Kilkenny sustained a broken eye socket, broken nose and broken jaw as a result of the punches before he fell and was fatally injured when he hit his head off the ground. He was transferred to Cork University Hospital (CUH) in a critical condition before he tragically died on July 13, 2018.

CCTV of both incidents were shown in court. Detective Garda Seamus Halpin of Waterford Garda Station outlined the facts of the case. On the night Mr O’Brien, who had been living with his girlfriend Catherine Smith in the city, had played a gig with his band in the Hub Bar before continuing to socialise with his girlfriend afterwards. They were at the junction of John Street and Manor Street when Catherine met Evan Maloney who was in the company of McGrath. There was some messing about a house party, but it was Catherine’s intention to go home with her boyfriend. In her statement, Catherine said they later walked passed them again and McGrath made a derogatory comment to her. Mr O’Brien had words with McGrath. “A couple of seconds later this fella punched Damien into the face twice. I remember Damien falling to the ground and hearing a thud when his head hit the ground. The fella that hit him, hit him in a very aggressive manner. I don’t remember him saying anything.”

Jesus. Blaming anyone except the guy who punched the other guy is ridiculous and insensitive
    Well answer me this - if you forgot to lock your car and it got stolen, what do you think would be the first thing your parents would say?

Its not the punch that kills in most cases, Its the head cracking off the ground.

Happens a lot in Australia they call it "king punching".

Most of time its a sucker punch, pure scum to do that to anyone.
    But isn't it natural to put out your hands to stop your fall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Not when your unconscious on the way down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

It's the back of the head that hits the ground in a lot of cases. Very hard to use your hands to protect the back of the head.

Well answer me this - if you forgot to lock your car and it got stolen, what do you think would be the first thing your parents would say?

They'd probably NOT say that a girl talking to a boy makes her somewhat culpable for her boyfriends death.

Because my parents aren't mental.

It's the back of the head that hits the ground in a lot of cases. Very hard to use your hands to protect the back of the head.
    No but I mean using your hands to break the fall.

There needs to be much more serious penalties for violence. This nonsense of €100 fine for violently punching someone. Why not a €10,000 fine taken from them by whatever means necessary.

If your punched in the face it takes about half a second for your brain to slow down. In that half a second your body falls back causing the back of the head to hit off the floor. Your hands are literally useless.

Ive accepted your trolling. Well done.
    Bear in mind Thomas Kellys familys not only had to bury an 18 year old son on his first night in the the city. His father was a keen campaigner to change licensing laws in that city and as a result his younger son was bullied so much in school about his families desire to change those laws he took his own life in 2016.
    I feel very strongly about this but it's obviously a bit funny in your life that's ok.
    https://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/tv-and-radio/stuart-kelly-took-his-own-life-after-hazing-death-threats-parents-tell-60-minutes-20170710-gx7v1e.html
    Read that story and get back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I was this guy..... I was talking to a group mix of girls and guys.... Never met and was only in the county for the weekend....

I was taken from behind where the guy took it upon himself to try and nock me out... It failed and his friends came running over even appologise for what happened, thought no more about it till boom I got a thump again as he had come back for round 2....

I ended up having to go hospital to get bleeding to stop and was still like what happened, no pain or anything just my white shirt was now red....

I will say the cops on the night were great and picked me up and brought me up to find him....

Mad part was he tried again in the station and they had to put him down....

Never knew him or crossed him and he left the country not long after so was never done in court.

This was back in 2007.... So dangerous though