Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The eBike thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr.David

unkel wrote: »
    They sure look like a cool eBike. And from under €2k is pretty reasonable, although the performance is pretty poor, but I guess it would have to be, for a fully legal pedelec. The battery size at 0.5kWh is not the worst.

One positive is in the app you can select your region. And can select US which increases top speed to 32kph.

Range is pretty good I get about 75km on a charge on full assistance mode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭banchang

Mr.David wrote: »
    I bought a VanMoof s3 and love it, happy to answer any questions.

That's an import ? How did you get it under Bike2Work ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,660 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Mr.David wrote: »
    One positive is in the app you can select your region. And can select US which increases top speed to 32kph.

Range is pretty good I get about 75km on a charge on full assistance mode.

That means the motor can produce a lot more than 250W and thus the bike is not road legal :D

Nice one :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭conor_mc

banchang wrote: »

Don’t think being an import is the issue, your employer can buy a bike from anywhere just so long as they pay for it (as opposed to refund you). If they use bike2work scheme, my understanding is that VanMoof can now set this up for you with split invoice (1500 to employer/scheme, balance to you with link to online cc payment).

banchang wrote: »

Import yeah just ordered it direct. Couldn’t avail of bike 2 work but from looking around I couldn’t find another elec bike that would have same net cost (so 2750 gross) that I preferred

That means the motor can produce a lot more than 250W and thus the bike is not road legal :D

Nice one :p

Haha legal shmegal

It’s very easy to just change it back to Ireland region on the app if it was ever needed

I would find 25 to be too slow, 32 up a hill just makes all the difference :)

Yep, 32km/h is a far sweeter speed. The yanks got that one right.

Obviously if you do a home conversion, you could make it go 40km/h. Or 50. Or 100 :D

Yep, 32km/h is a far sweeter speed. The yanks got that one right.

Obviously if you do a home conversion, you could make it go 40km/h. Or 50. Or 100 :D

85 km/hr was enough for me :D

You're mad, lad! :D

It was mad but great craic, it was great the amount of People in cars just flabbergasted with their mouths wide open passing by as I rode in the hard shoulder, was so funny. I even thought about wearing some king of costume for the laugh, something like superman or Batman. I wish I had now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

I was the same, till the accident (came off > 50 kmh - I shared the pictures a while back).

I still have the bike, but my top speed runs are over and now I enjoy the scenery...

Economy IS the new speed for me.

SlowBlowin wrote: »
    I was the same, till the accident (came off > 50 kmh - I shared the pictures a while back).

I still have the bike, but my top speed runs are over and now I enjoy the scenery...

Economy IS the new speed for me.

Yep I remember, you lived to tell the tail. :D

Imagine coming off the bike at 80 something Km/hr ? :eek: think that's what made me decommission it, sad, I really really miss that bike......:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭fuse

Swytch bike kit released today - supposedly discounted to half price for release day at 450e
    Includes front powered wheel, battery pack, pedal sensor.
    Temped....
    https://www.swytchbike.com/p/universal-ebike-conversion-kit/

* edit it's a total of €611 after delivery, vat, import duties.

Be careful. This stuff might yet have to be manufactured in China. You might not get it until sometime next year. But price is much better. Last time I looked the kits in stock in the UK were GBP 999 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 kiely182

Yep I remember, you lived to tell the tail. :D

Imagine coming off the bike at 80 something Km/hr ? :eek: think that's what made me decommission it, sad, I really really miss that bike......:(

I had a bad accident myself a few weeks ago 60 kph at the end of a hill. Foot slipped off the pedals. It was all over in the blink of an eye. I've lost my nerve but still riding but only around 40 kph.

kiely182 wrote: »
    I had a bad accident myself a few weeks ago 60 kph at the end of a hill. Foot slipped off the pedals. It was all over in the blink of an eye. I've lost my nerve but still riding but only around 40 kph.

Lucky, nothing worse than hitting the road, I was lucky, I only really fell off my bikes at slow speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭BarryM

And just to let you know, that bike is not road legal in the EU. Not that any Garda would know though.

Are you suggesting that buying a "non-legal" bike is OK? Or just indicating that you are unlikely to be stopped?

BarryM wrote: »
    Are you suggesting that buying a "non-legal" bike is OK? Or just indicating that you are unlikely to be stopped?

Theres a lot worse things to be honest.

There's plenty of escooters on our streets now that go well above legal limits and I can't see People giving them up after spending 500 euros or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

Started looking into e cargo bikes as wifey has been ‘learning’ to drive for the last 3 years and I think it’s a lost cause. Sometimes below I would think would give her ( and more importantly me) more freedom. Wish we had the same laws as in mainland Europe or I could just get a Twizy.

https://www.butchersandbicycles.com/mk1e-vario

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

80sDiesel wrote: »
    Started looking into e cargo bikes as wifey has been ‘learning’ to drive for the last 3 years and I think it’s a lost cause. Sometimes below I would think would give her ( and more importantly me) more freedom. Wish we had the same laws as in mainland Europe or I could just get a Twizy.

https://www.butchersandbicycles.com/mk1e-vario

I couldn't imagine having to drive the missus everywhere it would drive me insane, you do it though that's why she won't bother, I wouldn't haha :D

Ecargo bikes are great but expensive and I don't think She will thank you for sending her out in all weathers on a cargo bike :D

Ecargo bikes need a good bit of power too. I'm not sure I would buy one powered by a 50 Nm Bosch motor you'd want one of the newer motors or get a cargo bike and convert it with a high torque Geared hub such as a MAC 12T, using a direct drive motor would make the bike difficult to pedal without power, of course a Bafang BBSHD would do the job nicely too.

The Twizy is great, it's a pity Renault never updated it, some kind of fast charging and a 7 Kw AC charger would be nice upgrades, oh, and factory installed windows and heat lol.

I like the Twizy too, but they are crazy expensive, you won't find one for under €5k and then there is the monthly lease. You'd have to be insane to buy one.

80sDiesel wrote: »
    Started looking into e cargo bikes as wifey has been ‘learning’ to drive for the last 3 years and I think it’s a lost cause.

Did she try in an automatic car? Much easier and barely a drawback these days as all cars will be automatic soon anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

Did she try in an automatic car? Much easier and barely a drawback these days as all cars will be automatic soon anyway.

Can drive a manual fine ( taught her even though I pleaded to get an auto instead) but it’s the lack of spatial awareness and interest that prevents her finishing her mandatory lessons and going for test.

A dog and a e cargo bike ( the 3 wheels is a must as 2 wheel bikes pose further challenges) might just be my ticket to partial freedom. ( weather permitting :) )

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

I like the Twizy too, but they are crazy expensive, you won't find one for under €5k and then there is the monthly lease. You'd have to be insane to buy one.

Forgot about the monthly battery lease, jaysus yeah that would be mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

Why not a trailer instead of a cargo bike?

Because she needs a 3 wheeler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

Because she needs a 3 wheeler
    Ah, I missed that bit

Theres a lot worse things to be honest.

There's plenty of escooters on our streets now that go well above legal limits and I can't see People giving them up after spending 500 euros or more.

It is pretty typical. pass legislation and then don't bother to control it. Same with planning, except if someone objects, same with littering.......

OTOH, hard to control unless a license is supposed to be obviously displayed, say on an annual number plate.

BarryM wrote: »
    It is pretty typical. pass legislation and then don't bother to control it. Same with planning, except if someone objects, same with littering.......

OTOH, hard to control unless a license is supposed to be obviously displayed, say on an annual number plate.

I've absolutely no problem with e-scooters requiring license and insurance but they should, in my opinion, not have to require motor tax.

Ebikes can go up to 50 Km/hr and require insurance and tax but the legal limits are just ridiculous, 25 Km/hr cutoff is too low should be at least 32 like in the USA ( 20 Mph ) they're allowed throttle and all which is really convenient if your legs are tired or you have knee issues like I do, on a Bosch powered ebike for instance, if my dodgy knees start giving me pain up a hill I have to get off and walk now where's the sense in this ? you'd think that an Ebike would assist you ? they do but you need to put pressure on the pedals to get power out and if you can't due to knee pain you're walking it's madness this E.U bollocks!

I've absolutely no problem with e-scooters requiring license and insurance but they should, in my opinion, not have to require motor tax.

Ebikes can go up to 50 Km/hr and require insurance and tax but the legal limits are just ridiculous, 25 Km/hr cutoff is too low should be at least 32 like in the USA ( 20 Mph ) they're allowed throttle and all which is really convenient if your legs are tired or you have knee issues like I do, on a Bosch powered ebike for instance, if my dodgy knees start giving me pain up a hill I have to get off and walk now where's the sense in this ? you'd think that an Ebike would assist you ? they do but you need to put pressure on the pedals to get power out and if you can't due to knee pain you're walking it's madness this E.U bollocks!

I don't have great knees, but where I live there are several hills with bends on them and I always have to walk, some of them. Anybody any advice on how to manage a hill with a bend?